DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 34-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Evatt et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0111499) in view of Evatt et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0214959), hereinafter referred to as Evatt II.
Regarding Claim 34, Evatt teaches a pocket hole jig (Fig. 1, 10) comprising:
a housing (Fig. 1, 12) including a plurality of first lock structures (Fig. 5, 34);
an axle (Fig. 5, 24) coupled to the housing (Fig. 1, 12) ([0018]: The posts 24 of the gimbal 14 are received in the recesses 18 of the body 12);
a drill bit guide (Fig. 1, 14) coupled to the axle (Fig. 5, 24) ([0018]: The posts 24 of the gimbal 14), the drill bit guide (Fig. 1, 14) defining a guide axis (Fig. 2, 33); and
a spring-loaded bushing (Fig. 1, 16) coupled to the drill bit guide (Fig. 1, 14) ([0019]: the posts 28 may be biased into engagement with the recesses 34 (e.g., by a spring disposed between the drill guide 16 and the gimbal 14)), the spring-loaded bushing (Fig. 1, 16) including at least one second lock structure (Fig. 5, 28),
wherein the spring-loaded bushing (Fig. 1, 16) is translatable along the drill bit guide (Fig. 1, 14) between an engaged position where the at least one second lock structure (Fig. 5, 28) is engaged with one of the plurality of first lock structures (Fig. 5, 34) to maintain the guide axis at a fixed angle relative to a workpiece ([0019]: the drill guide 16 is received in the aperture 26 of the gimbal 14 so that the drill guide 16 pivots with the gimbal 14 relative to the body 12. Posts 28 of the drill guide 16 are received in slots 20 of the body 12. The slots 20 include recesses 34 for each of the indicia 22. The posts 28 are received in the recesses 34 to releasably retain the gimbal 14 and the drill guide 16 and the position indicated by the indicator 30.) and a disengaged position where the spring-loaded bushing (Fig. 1, 16) is translatable along the drill bit guide (Fig. 1, 14) and the drill bit guide (Fig. 1, 14) is rotatable about the axle ([0019]: The posts 28, recesses 34, and slots 20 are sized so that the posts 28 can move within the slots 20 by pivoting the gimbal 14 about posts 24 between both ends of the slots 20, but yet the recesses 34 hold the posts 28 of the drill guide 16, and therefore the drill guide 16 and the gimbal 14 in the desired position relative to the body 12.).
Evatt does not teach a pivoting nose fence coupled to the housing about a pivot axis and
reconfigurable between a stored position and a deployed position via rotation about the pivot axis.
Evatt II teaches a pivoting nose fence (Fig. 1, 50) coupled to the housing (Fig. 1, 20) about a pivot axis and reconfigurable between a stored position (Position of the nose fence shown in Fig. 1) and a deployed position (Position of the nose fence shown in Fig. 4) via rotation about the pivot axis ([0029]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a pivoting nose fence of Evatt II at a nose end of the housing (12) of Evatt in order to accurately position the pocket hole jig onto the workpiece.
Regarding Claim 35, Evatt/Evatt II teach the pocket hole jig of claim 34, further comprising an indicator (Evatt Fig. 5, 22) configured to indicate a correct setting for the pocket hole jig in view of a size of the workpiece (Evatt [0020]: The indicator 30 and indicia 22 … in a workpiece 41 having a thickness 42 that corresponds to the selected indicia 22.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-19 and 21-33 are allowed.
Claims 36-37 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: None of the references of record teach the previously indicated allowable subject matter in claim 20 in combination with remaining limitations in claims 17 and 27.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Williams (U.S. Patent No. 2423164) teaches a housing (3), a drill bit guide (13), a bushing (16), however, the bushing is not spring loaded.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUN S YOO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725 10/14/2026