DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-8 are allowed.
Claim 1 is directed towards a method of making a sintered ceramic body, comprising: providing a green body comprising an yttria- stabilized zirconia ceramic material stabilized by 5.0 mol% to 7.1 mol% yttria, heating the green body for a sufficient time to transform the green body into a bisqued body comprising the ceramic material, wherein the bisque body comprises less than or equal to 1% monoclinic phase, and sintering the bisque body for a sufficient time to transform the bisque body into a sintered body, wherein the ceramic material of the sintered body comprises at least 98% theoretical density and has an average grain size greater than or equal to 8 µm.
The closest prior art is Fujisaki et al. (US20170143458, hereinafter referred to as Fujisaki). Fujisaki discloses a production method for a colored translucent zirconia sintered body (see Fujisaki at claim 7). Fujisaki discloses a green body (see Fujisaki at claim 7). Fujisaki discloses the monoclinic phase ratio ... not greater than 1% (see Fujisaki at [0103]). However, per instant claim 1, Fujisaki fails to disclose or make obvious an average grain size greater than or equal to 8 µm (see Fujisaki at [0025], disclosing an average crystal grain size is from 0.3 to 5.0 μm). As such, the cited prior art neither teaches nor fairly suggests the method of making a sintered ceramic body as claimed in independent claim 1.
All claims not specifically addressed are allowed due to their dependence on an allowed claim, or because they contain all of the allowable limitations of an allowed claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujisaki et al. (US20170143458, hereinafter referred to as Fujisaki).
Regarding claim 9, Fujisaki discloses a method of making a sintered ceramic body (see Fujisaki at claim 7, disclosing a production method for a colored translucent zirconia sintered body.), comprising: providing a green body (see Fujisaki at claim 7, disclosing a green body.) comprising a shaded yttria-stabilized zirconia ceramic material stabilized by 5.5 mol% to 6.5 mol% yttria (see Fujisaki at Table 2, working example 1, disclosing an example comprising 5.38 mol% Y2O3) and a metal-containing component as a coloring agent (see Fujisaki at the Abstract, disclosing less than 0.25 mol % of erbia, less than 2,000 ppm of iron oxide in terms of Fe2O3, less than 0.01 wt. % of cobalt oxide in terms of CoO, all of which are colorants per instant claim 6.), heating the green body to transform the green body into a bisqued body comprising the ceramic material (see Fujisaki at [0163]-[0167], disclosing heating), wherein the bisqued body comprises less than or equal to 1% monoclinic phase (see Fujisaki at [0103], disclosing the monoclinic phase ratio ... not greater than 1%), and heating the bisqued body to transform the bisqued body into a sintered body (see Fujisaki at the Abstract, disclosing a sintered body) comprising the ceramic material having at least 98% theoretical density (see Fujisaki at Table 2, working example 1, disclosing an example with a relative density of 99.93%.) and having an average grain size greater than or equal to 1 µm (see Fujisaki at [0025], disclosing an average crystal grain size is from 0.3 to 5.0 μm, which overlaps with the claimed range.) In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05).
While Fujisaki does not explicitly disclose a transmittance greater than 58% at 700 nm (when measured on a 1 mm thick sintered body), this is a function of the amount of monoclinic phase as evidenced by the instant specification at [0024] and Fig. 8. Because the sintered body of Fujisaki has substantially identical monoclinic phase as the instantly claimed body, the sintered body of Fujisaki would inherently possess the claimed transmittance at 700 nm. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established (see MPEP 2112.01(I) first paragraph).
Regarding claim 10, Fujisaki discloses the ceramic material is stabilized by 5.8 mol% to 6.3 mol% yttria (see Fujisaki at the Abstract, disclosing 4.0 mol % and not greater than 6.5 mol % of yttria, which overlaps with the claimed range.) In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 11, while Fujisaki does not explicitly disclose the transmittance of the ceramic material of the sintered body is greater than 60% at 700 nm (when measured on a 1 mm thick sintered body), this is a function of the amount of monoclinic phase as evidenced by the instant specification at [0024] and Fig. 8. Because the sintered body of Fujisaki has substantially identical monoclinic phase as the instantly claimed body, the sintered body of Fujisaki would inherently possess the claimed transmittance at 700 nm. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established (see MPEP 2112.01(I) first paragraph).
Regarding claim 12, while Fujisaki does not explicitly disclose the transmittance is ceramic material of the sintered body is greater than 62% at 700 nm (when measured on a 1 mm thick sintered body), this is a function of the amount of monoclinic phase as evidenced by the instant specification at [0024] and Fig. 8. Because the sintered body of Fujisaki has substantially identical monoclinic phase as the instantly claimed body, the sintered body of Fujisaki would inherently possess the claimed transmittance at 700 nm. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established (see MPEP 2112.01(I) first paragraph).
Conclusion
CAMERON K MILLER
Examiner
Art Unit 1731
/CAMERON K MILLER/Examiner, Art Unit 1731