CTFR 18/501,684 CTFR 99012 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. This Office Action is responsive to the Applicant' s communication filed January 22, 2026. In view of this communication, claims 1-14 are now pending in the application. Response to Arguments 07-37 AIA Applicant's arguments filed January 22, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. 07-37-13 AIA In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller , 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In this case, while Zhang does not disclose “a shape in which a maximum value of a first width, which is a dimension in a circumferential direction of the stator core, is greater than a maximum value of a second width, which is a dimension in the axial direction of the stator core”, Kim does disclose “a shape in which a maximum value of a first width, which is a dimension in a circumferential direction of the stator core, is greater than a maximum value of a second width, which is a dimension in the axial direction of the stator core”, along with reasoning for implementing both the shape and orientation of the first hole. Thus, this argument is not persuasive and the previous grounds of rejection are maintained. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 10, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-7, and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (CN 113612322 B, hereafter referred to as Zhang) in view of Kim et al. (KR 102122238 B1, hereafter referred to as Kim) . Regarding Claim 1, Zhang discloses (see Figures 1-5) a motor (Abstract: “The invention claims an oil cooling motor radiating structure and motor”) comprising: a rotor (Annotated Figure 1, Page 11, ¶ 3: “a plurality of silicon steel sheet 30 are coaxially arranged with the stator iron core 2, so as to install the oil injection component 3 on the two ends of the stator iron core 2, and will not obstruct the rotation of the motor rotor.”); a stator (Annotated Figure 1) comprising a stator core (2, Page 7, ¶ 8) and a coil (6, Page 7, ¶ 9); a housing (1, Page 7, ¶ 8) that houses the rotor (Annotated Figure 1) and the stator (Annotated Figure 1); and a first annular member (3, Page 7, ¶ 8) that provides a seal between a first end face (Annotated Figure 1) of the stator core (2, Page 7, ¶ 8) in an axial direction of the stator core (2, Page 7, ¶ 8) and an inner wall surface (Annotated Figure 1) of the housing (1, Page 7, ¶ 8), wherein the first annular member (3, Page 7, ¶ 8) is arranged so as to surround an outer periphery of a first coil end (7, Page 7, ¶ 10) of the coil (6, Page 7, ¶ 9) protruding from the first end face (Annotated Figure 1) of the stator core (2, Page 7, ¶ 8), the first annular member (3, Page 7, ¶ 8) comprises a plurality of first holes (40, Page 7, ¶ 12) through which refrigerant is injected toward the first coil end (7, Page 7, ¶ 10), and at least one opening of the plurality of first holes (40, Page 7, ¶ 12) has a shape in which a maximum value of a first width is greater than a maximum value of a second width (Page 10, ¶ 2: “the section shape of the oil injection hole 40 can be round, or square, or oval, or rhombus, or other shapes). PNG media_image1.png 534 444 media_image1.png Greyscale PNG media_image2.png 350 320 media_image2.png Greyscale PNG media_image3.png 426 378 media_image3.png Greyscale PNG media_image4.png 716 312 media_image4.png Greyscale Zhang does not explicitly disclose disclose a shape in which a maximum value of a first width, which is a dimension in a circumferential direction of the stator core, is greater than a maximum value of a second width, which is a dimension in the axial direction of the stator core. However, Kim, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figures 7-10) a shape in which a maximum value of a first width, which is a dimension in a circumferential direction of the stator core (121, Page 3, ¶ 10), is greater than a maximum value of a second width, which is a dimension in the axial direction of the stator core (121, Page 3, ¶ 10) (Page 8, ¶ 2: “8 is a conceptual view showing a plurality of injection holes 235 formed in an elliptical shape”). PNG media_image5.png 420 396 media_image5.png Greyscale PNG media_image6.png 668 382 media_image6.png Greyscale It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the motor disclosed by Zhang such that a shape in which a maximum value of a first width, which is a dimension in a circumferential direction of the stator core, is greater than a maximum value of a second width, which is a dimension in the axial direction of the stator core, as disclosed by Kim, in order to improve cooling efficiency (Page 2, ¶ 7-8: “In the conventional motor cooling method, an indirect cooling method in which the motor is indirectly cooled by circulating cooling water inside the housing and a direct cooling method in which oil is directly cooled by spraying oil to a stator or a rotor are adopted. The direct cooling method has an advantage of higher cooling efficiency and better cooling performance than the indirect cooling method”). Regarding Claim 2/1, Zhang in view of Kim has been discussed above. Additionally, Zhang teaches that the at least one opening comprises a center portion including a center of the at least one opening in the circumferential direction, and a pair of end portions located opposite to each other in the circumferential direction with the center portion interposed therebetween, and in each of the pair of end portions, the second width decreases from an end of the end portion closer to the center portion toward another end of the end portion farther from the center portion (Page 10, ¶ 2: “the section shape of the oil injection hole 40 can be round, or square, or oval, or rhombus, or other shapes, according to the actual requirement to select, here not to be the specific requirement.”). Regarding Claim 3/2/1, Zhang in view of Kim has been discussed above. Additionally, Zhang teaches that the maximum value of the second width is a value at the center of the at least one opening in the circumferential direction (Page 10, ¶ 2: “the section shape of the oil injection hole 40 can be round, or square, or oval, or rhombus, or other shapes, according to the actual requirement to select, here not to be the specific requirement.”). Regarding Claim 4/3/2/1, Zhang has been discussed above. Additionally, Zhang teaches that in the center portion, the second width decreases from the center toward ends of the center portion in the circumferential direction (Page 10, ¶ 2: “the section shape of the oil injection hole 40 can be round, or square, or oval, or rhombus, or other shapes, according to the actual requirement to select, here not to be the specific requirement.”). Regarding Claim 5/4/3/2/1, Zhang in view of Kim has been discussed above. Zhang does not explicitly disclose that the at least one opening is elliptical in shape. However, Kim, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figures 7-10) that the at least one opening is elliptical in shape (Page 8, ¶ 2: “8 is a conceptual view showing a plurality of injection holes 235 formed in an elliptical shape”). PNG media_image5.png 420 396 media_image5.png Greyscale PNG media_image6.png 668 382 media_image6.png Greyscale It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the motor disclosed by Zhang in view of Kim such that the at least one opening is elliptical in shape, as further disclosed by Kim, in order to improve cooling efficiency (Page 2, ¶ 7-8: “In the conventional motor cooling method, an indirect cooling method in which the motor is indirectly cooled by circulating cooling water inside the housing and a direct cooling method in which oil is directly cooled by spraying oil to a stator or a rotor are adopted. The direct cooling method has an advantage of higher cooling efficiency and better cooling performance than the indirect cooling method”). Regarding Claim 6/3/2/1, Zhang in view of Kim has been discussed above. Zhang does not explicitly disclose that in the center portion, the second width is constant in the circumferential direction. However, Kim, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figures 8-10) that in the center portion, the second width is constant in the circumferential direction (Page 8, ¶ 5: “The oval-shaped injection hole 235 means that the width of the injection hole 135 is constant and extends in the circumferential direction, and both ends of the injection hole 235 are formed in a semicircular shape.”). PNG media_image6.png 668 382 media_image6.png Greyscale It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the motor disclosed by Zhang in view of Kim such that in the center portion, the second width is constant in the circumferential direction, as further disclosed by Kim, in order to improve cooling efficiency (Page 2, ¶ 7-8: “In the conventional motor cooling method, an indirect cooling method in which the motor is indirectly cooled by circulating cooling water inside the housing and a direct cooling method in which oil is directly cooled by spraying oil to a stator or a rotor are adopted. The direct cooling method has an advantage of higher cooling efficiency and better cooling performance than the indirect cooling method”). Regarding Claim 7/6/3/2/1, Zhang in view of Kim has been discussed above. Additionally, Zhang discloses that the at least one opening is oval in shape (Page 10, ¶ 2: “the section shape of the oil injection hole 40 can be round, or square, or oval, or rhombus, or other shapes, according to the actual requirement to select, here not to be the specific requirement.”). Regarding Claim 10/1, Zhang in view of Kim has been discussed above. Additionally, the drawings of Zhang appear to disclose (see Figure 5) that the maximum value of the first width is at least 1.5 times the maximum value of the second width (Page 10, ¶ 3: “As shown in FIG. 4-7, each of the oil injection hole 40 has a certain width (the width of the oil injection hole 40 is vertical to the oil inlet end to the oil outlet end direction), the width of the plurality of oil injection holes 40 can be the same, also can be not the same, or part of the oil injection hole 40 have the same width, part of the oil injection hole 40 width is not the same, according to the actual requirement to select, here not to be the specific requirement. each oil injection hole 40 has a certain height, the height of the oil injection hole 40 is vertical to the width of the oil injection hole 40, the height and width of the oil injection hole 40 is the main size of the section of the oil injection hole 40, the height of the plurality of oil injection holes 40 may be the same, or may be different, or, a plurality of oil injection holes 40 parts are the same, parts are not the same, according to the actual requirement to select, here not to be the specific requirement.”). PNG media_image7.png 336 294 media_image7.png Greyscale Regarding Claim 11/1, Zhang in view of Kim has been discussed above. Additionally, Zhang discloses (see Figure 1) that the housing comprises a supply port (7, Page 7, ¶ 10) through which the refrigerant is supplied from outside, and a flow path (5, Page 7, ¶ 9) is defined in an outer circumferential surface of the stator core (2, Page 7, ¶ 8), and the flow path (5, Page 7, ¶ 9) allowing the refrigerant supplied through the supply port (7, Page 7, ¶ 10) to flow toward the first annular member (3, Page 7, ¶ 8). PNG media_image1.png 534 444 media_image1.png Greyscale Regarding Claim 12/11/1, Zhang in view of Kim has been discussed above. Additionally, Zhang discloses (see Figures 4-5) that the flow path (5, Page 7, ¶ 9) comprises a plurality of channels (4, Page 7, ¶ 9) extending in the axial direction, and the maximum value of the first width is greater than or equal to a width of the plurality of channels (4, Page 7, ¶ 9) in the circumferential direction (Page 10, ¶ 4: “along the oil inlet end of the oil injection channel 4 to the oil outlet end direction, the width of the plurality of oil injection holes 40 along the circumferential direction of the stator iron core 2 is gradually increased, so that the width of the cross section of the oil injection channel 4 is gradually increased, so that the cooling medium is sprayed in a fan-shaped state”). PNG media_image4.png 716 312 media_image4.png Greyscale Regarding Claim 13/1, Zhang in view of Kim has been discussed above. Additionally, Zhang discloses that the motor (Abstract: “The invention claims an oil cooling motor radiating structure and motor”) further comprises a second annular member (Annotated Figure 1) that provides a seal between a second end face (Annotated Figure 1) of the stator core (2, Page 7, ¶ 8) and the inner wall surface (Annotated Figure 1) of the housing (1, Page 7, ¶ 8), the second end face (Annotated Figure 1) being opposite to the first end face (Annotated Figure 1) of the stator core (2, Page 7, ¶ 8) in the axial direction, the second annular member (Annotated Figure 1) is arranged so as to surround an outer periphery of a second coil end (Annotated Figure 1) of the coil (6, Page 7, ¶ 9) protruding from the second end face (Annotated Figure 1) of the stator core (2, Page 7, ¶ 8), the second annular member (Annotated Figure 1) comprises a plurality of second holes (40, Page 7, ¶ 12) through which the refrigerant is injected toward the second coil end (Annotated Figure 1), and at least one opening of the plurality of second holes (40, Page 7, ¶ 12) has a shape in which a maximum value of a first width is greater than a maximum value of a second width (Page 10, ¶ 2: “the section shape of the oil injection hole 40 can be round, or square, or oval, or rhombus, or other shapes). PNG media_image8.png 534 564 media_image8.png Greyscale Zhang does not explicitly disclose a shape in which a maximum value of a first width, which is a dimension in a circumferential direction of the stator core, is greater than a maximum value of a second width, which is a dimension in the axial direction of the stator core. However, Kim, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figures 7-10) a shape in which a maximum value of a first width, which is a dimension in a circumferential direction of the stator core (121, Page 3, ¶ 10), is greater than a maximum value of a second width, which is a dimension in the axial direction of the stator core (121, Page 3, ¶ 10) (Page 8, ¶ 2: “8 is a conceptual view showing a plurality of injection holes 235 formed in an elliptical shape”). PNG media_image5.png 420 396 media_image5.png Greyscale PNG media_image6.png 668 382 media_image6.png Greyscale It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the motor disclosed by Zhang in view of Kim such that a shape in which a maximum value of a first width, which is a dimension in a circumferential direction of the stator core, is greater than a maximum value of a second width, which is a dimension in the axial direction of the stator core, as further disclosed by Kim, in order to improve cooling efficiency (Page 2, ¶ 7-8: “In the conventional motor cooling method, an indirect cooling method in which the motor is indirectly cooled by circulating cooling water inside the housing and a direct cooling method in which oil is directly cooled by spraying oil to a stator or a rotor are adopted. The direct cooling method has an advantage of higher cooling efficiency and better cooling performance than the indirect cooling method”). Regarding Claim 14/1 , Zhang in view of Kim has been discussed above. Additionally, Zhang further discloses (see Figures 1-2) that the plurality of first holes (40, Page 7, ¶ 12) open toward a radial direction (see Figure 2 below, angle α) . PNG media_image2.png 350 320 media_image2.png Greyscale PNG media_image3.png 426 378 media_image3.png Greyscale 07-22-aia AIA Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Kim as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Kimoto et al. (JP 6227215 B1, hereafter referred to as Kimoto) . Regarding Claim 8/2/1, Zhang in view of Kim has been discussed above. Zhang in view of Kim does not explicitly disclose that in the center portion, the second width increases from the center toward ends of the center portion in the circumferential direction. However, Kimoto, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figures 8 and 33) that in the center portion, the second width increases from the center toward ends of the center portion in the circumferential direction (Page 14, ¶ 2: “Further, the cross-sectional shape of each through-hole is a round through-hole 201 having a cylindrical shape, a quadrangular through-hole 202, a triangular through-hole 203, a trapezoidal through-hole 204 or a star-shaped through-hole 205 having a polygonal shape.”). PNG media_image9.png 292 278 media_image9.png Greyscale PNG media_image10.png 170 256 media_image10.png Greyscale It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the motor disclosed by Zhang in view of Kim such that in the center portion, the second width increases from the center toward ends of the center portion in the circumferential direction, as disclosed by Kimoto, in order to evenly distribute cooling oil to the coil ends (Page 5, ¶ 2: “Therefore, since the cooling oil 104 scattered from the rotor 8 is evenly scattered from the first through hole 101 of each unit to the stator coil end portion 12, the rotating electrical machine can be uniformly cooled.”) 07-22-aia AIA Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Kim as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Minemura et al. (US 8629586 B2, hereafter referred to as Minemura) . Regarding Claim 9/1, Zhang in view of Kim has been discussed above. Zhang in view of Kim does not explicitly disclose that the at least one opening has a polygonal shape with each corner rounded. However, Minemura, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figures 5-6) that the at least one opening has a polygonal shape with each corner rounded (C13L45-49: “The first and second outlets 4a and 4b of the third embodiment are of a circular shape, but different in open area from each other. The first and second outlets 4a and 4b may alternatively be of another shape, for example, a polygonal shape such as oval or triangle.”). PNG media_image11.png 624 378 media_image11.png Greyscale It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the motor disclosed by Zhang in view of Kim such that the at least one opening has a polygonal shape with each corner rounded, as disclosed by Minemoto, in order to ensure even distribution of coolant to the coil ends (Abstract: “This enables the coolant to be emitted to almost the whole of the coil end even when the electric rotating machine is titled in a direction in which the rotor turns.”) Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CHARLIE FRANK MANN whose telephone number is (703)756-1275. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 7:30AM - 4:30PM PST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Oluseye Iwarere can be reached at (571) 270-5112. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /C.F.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2834 /ALEXANDER A SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/501,684 Page 2 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/501,684 Page 3 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/501,684 Page 4 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/501,684 Page 5 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/501,684 Page 6 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/501,684 Page 7 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/501,684 Page 8 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/501,684 Page 9 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/501,684 Page 10 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/501,684 Page 11 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/501,684 Page 12 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/501,684 Page 13 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/501,684 Page 14 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/501,684 Page 15 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/501,684 Page 16 Art Unit: 2834