Current Status of 18/501,729
This Office Action is responsive to the amended claims of 07/15/2026.
Claims 115-117, 123, 126, 128-132, 134-136 are examined on the merits.
Claims 115-117, 123, 126, 128-132, and 134-136 read on the elected species and Markush extensions.
Claims 118-120, 122, 124-125, 133 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/15/2024.
Priority
This application is a national stage entry of PCT/US2022/072693, filed 6/1/2022, which claims priority to 63/364,360, filed 5/9/2022, 63/362,438, filed 4/4/2022, and 63/196,008, filed 6/2/2021.
The instant claims find support from 63/196,008. Therefore, the effective filing date is 6/2/2021.
Response to Arguments
Applicants and Examiner had an interview on 7/2/2026. Applicants have submitted remarks and new claim amendments in light of that discussion.
Applicants’ claim amendments and Remarks of 7/15/2026 are acknowledged and have been considered.
Any rejection and/or objection not specifically addressed or modified below is herein withdrawn.
In regard to the obviousness rejection, this rejection is maintained. Applicants have specified the scope of PRMT5 inhibitors to specific compounds and formulas. However, COTTRELL’s PRMT5 inhibitor still falls within the scope of instant claim 115.
COTTRELL teaches compound
(top of table 1 on page 105 with a CAS# 2641523-22-8). This maps to instant formula II of claim 115 wherein X-1, X2, X3-, and X4 are all CRx, and Rx for each is H, L is -oxo, A is a heterocycle (with O and N atoms), N is 0, and R1 is 5 membered heteroaryl substituted with 0 substituents of R4.
Response to Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103- Maintained
Claims 115-117, 126, and 128-132, and 134-136 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ALAM (WO 2020123395), further in view of COTTRELL (WO 2021/086879 A1).
ALAM teaches compound A
used in a method of treating cancer (compound 167 on page 59 and paragraphs [0008-0009]).
ALAM teaches that compound A is a MAT2A inhibitor (paragraph [0008]). This teaches a MAT2A inhibitor limitations recited by instant claims 115-116.
ALAM teaches treating pancreatic cancer (reference claim 54). This teaches claim 128.
ALAM teaches treating solid tumors (paragraph [00239]), which teaches claim 129.
ALAM teaches treating cancers characterized by reduced or absence of MTAP activity (paragraph [0008]), which teaches claim 136.
ALAM teaches oral administration (paragraph [00262]), which teaches claim 130.
COTTRELL teaches a method of treating MTAP-deficient cancer (claims 100 and 104) by administering a compound of COTTRELL. This teaches claim 136.
COTTRELL teaches that MTAP-deficient cancer as including MTAP deletion cancers (paragraph [0114]).
COTTRELL teaches compound
(top of table 1 on page 105 with a CAS# 2641523-22-8). COTTRELL teaches the compounds of Table 1 are PRMT5 inhibitors (paragraph [0452]). This maps to instant formula II of claim 115 wherein X-1, X2, X3-, and X4 are all CRx, and Rx for each is H, L is -oxo, A is a heterocycle (with O and N atoms), N is 0, and R1 is 5 membered heteroaryl substituted with 0 substituents of R4. This helps teach claim 117 (where R1is 5 membered heteroaryl, m is 0, X1-4 is CH, L is C(=O), and A is heterocycle).
While ALAM teaches a MAT2A inhibitor (compound A)
used in a method of treating MTAP deletion pancreatic cancer (compound 167 on page 59 and paragraphs [0008-0009], and ref. claim 54), ALAM does not teach PRMT5 inhibitors.
While COTTRELL PRTM5 inhibitors with the formula
(top of table 1 on page 105 with a CAS# 2641523-22-8) being used to treat MTAP-deficient cancer (claims 100 and 104), COTTRELL does not teach MAT2A inhibitors.
The artisan would find it obvious to combine a MAT2A inhibitor (like compound A from ALAM page 59 and paragraphs [0008-0009]) and a PRMT5 inhibitor (like the Compound from COTTRELL page 105). The artisan would be motivated to combine ALAM’s compound A and COTTRELL’s PRMT5 Compound because each are known to be used for the same purpose, treating MTAP deletion pancreatic cancers (ALAM’s claim 54 and paragraph [0008]; COTTRELL claim 100 and paragraph [0114]). The artisan would expect that the combination of ALAM’s compound A and COTTRELL’s Compound to result in a function MTAP-deletion cancer treatment (ALAM’s claim 54 and paragraph [0008]; COTTRELL claim 100 and paragraph [0114]). It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose. See MPEP 2144.06(I). This teaches claims 115-117, 128-130.
The artisan would have expected to administer the combination of the two compositions above either sequentially or simultaneously from the natural conclusion that there are physically only two ways to administer two compounds, together at the same time or one after another. It would have been obvious to administer ALAM’s compound A and COTTRELL’s PRMT5 Compound separately via separate formulations. This teaches claim 135.
There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the time of invention, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference. Chemical properties are inherent to their compounds. See MPEP 2112 (II). Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties. A chemical compound, a PRMT5 inhibitor, and its properties, binding in an MTA-cooperative manner, are inseparable. See MPEP 2112.01 (II). This teaches claim 134.
The artisan would be motivated to treat MTAP deletion pancreatic cancers with Compound A and COTTRELL’s Compound either sequentially or concurrently. The artisan would have expected to administer Compound A and COTTRELL’s Compound either sequentially or concurrently from the natural conclusion that there are physically only two ways to administer two compounds, together at the same time or one after another. This rejects claim 131-132 and 136.
Claims 115-117, 123, 126 and 128-132, 134-136 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ALAM (WO 2020123395), further in view of ALLEN (WO2021/163344, whose PCT application PCT/US2021/017682 is published 2/11/2021. This date is before the EFD.).
ALAM teaches compound A
used in a method of treating cancer (compound 167 on page 59 and paragraphs [0008-0009]).
ALAM teaches that compound A is a MAT2A inhibitor (paragraph [0008]). This teaches a MAT2A inhibitor limitations recited by instant claims 115-116.
ALAM teaches treating pancreatic cancer (reference claim 54). This teaches claim 128.
ALAM teaches treating solid tumors (paragraph [00239]), which teaches claim 129.
ALAM teaches treating cancers characterized by reduced or absence of MTAP activity (paragraph [0008]), which teaches claim 136.
ALAM teaches oral administration (paragraph [00262]), which teaches claim 130.
ALLEN teaches a method of treating cancer (claims 20-23 of ‘344) by administering a compound of ALLEN (PRMT5 inhibitors, title of ‘344). ALLEN teaches treating MTAP-deficient cancer (paragraph [0003 of ‘344]). This teaches claim 136.
ALLEN teaches pancreatic cancer (paragraph [0024]).
ALLEN teaches that MTAP-deficient cancer as including MTAP deletion cancers (paragraph [0003] of ‘344).
ALLEN teaches Compound F (compound 533 on page 182 of WO 2021/163344 and compound 533 on page 179 of PCT/US2021/017682). This teaches claims 121 (page 217 sixth compound), 123, and 126.
While ALAM teaches a MAT2A inhibitor (compound A)
used in a method of treating MTAP deletion pancreatic cancer (compound 167 on page 59 and paragraphs [0008-0009], and ref. claim 54), ALAM does not teach PRMT5 inhibitors.
While ALLEN PRTM5 inhibitors being used to treat MTAP-deficient cancer (claims 20-23), ALLEN does not teach MAT2A inhibitors.
The artisan would find it obvious to combine a MAT2A inhibitor (like compound A from ALAM page 59 and paragraphs [0008-0009]) and a PRMT5 inhibitor (like ALLEN’s compound 533 on page 182 of WO 2021/163344). The artisan would be motivated to combine ALAM’s compound A and ALLEN’s PRMT5 Compound because each are known to be used for the same purpose, treating MTAP deletion pancreatic cancers (ALAM’s claim 54 and paragraph [0008]; ALLEN’s claim 20 and paragraph [0024]). The artisan would expect that the combination of ALAM’s compound A and ALLEN’s Compound to result in a function MTAP-deletion cancer treatment (ALAM’s claim 54 and paragraph [0008]; ALLEN claim 20 and paragraph [0003]). It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose. See MPEP 2144.06(I). This teaches claims115, 117, 123, 126, 128-130 and 136.
The artisan would be motivated to treat MTAP deletion pancreatic cancers with Compound A and ALLEN’s Compound either sequentially or concurrently. The artisan would have expected to administer Compound A and ALLEN’s Compound either sequentially or concurrently from the natural conclusion that there are physically only two ways to administer two compounds, together at the same time or one after another. This rejects claim 131-132 and 135.
There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the time of invention, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference. Chemical properties are inherent to their compounds. See MPEP 2112 (II). Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties. A chemical compound, a PRMT5 inhibitor, and its properties, binding in an MTA-cooperative manner, are inseparable. See MPEP 2112.01 (II). This teaches claim 134.
Double Patenting- Maintained
Claims 115, 128, 129, 130, and 131-132, 134-136 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12115163. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the applications are not distinct.
Ref. Claim 1 anticipates a method of treating cancer using a MAT2A inhibitor and a PRMT5 inhibitor. Ref Claim 3 anticipates a compound of formula I (the same as instant claim 115’s formula I). Ref. Claim 1 anticipates unexamined instant claim 104 (page 142 of the instant claims, right col. 4th compound).
Ref. claim 6 anticipates the cancer is characterized by a reduction or absence of MTAP gene expression. This anticipates claim 136.
Ref. Claim 7 anticipates pancreatic cancer. This anticipates claim 128.
Ref. Claim 8 anticipates a solid tumor. This anticipates claim 129.
Ref. claim 9 anticipates oral administration. This anticipates claim 130.
Ref. claim 10 and 11anticipates concurrently and sequentially administered the compounds. This anticipates claim 131-132 and 135.
There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the time of invention, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference. Chemical properties are inherent to their compounds. See MPEP 2112 (II). Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties. A chemical compound, a PRMT5 inhibitor, and its properties, binding in an MTA-cooperative manner, are inseparable. See MPEP 2112.01 (II). This teaches claim 134.
All claims are rejected; no claims are allowed.
Conclusion
/G.A.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1625 /Andrew D Kosar/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1625