Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-11, 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Shin (11197137) in view of Wang (2023/0413049).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
Regarding claim 1, Shin discloses a method implemented by a wireless transmit receive unit (WTRU) – User equipment 100 is the equivalent of a WTRU comprising: sending a registration request message to a network, wherein the registration request message indicates that the WTRU does not have a home network (the registration request includes a preconfigured temporary ID (bIMSI) which indicates that the UE does not have a home network, Col; 10-23-33 and Col 17;4-15 and Figure 4, step 405) Shin further discloses receiving a registration accept message, wherein the registration accept message includes an address of a provisioning server (Col 10;60-Col. 11;5 and Col 17;45-50, receiving the provisioning profile include the second server id after the initial access/registration attempt, Figure 4, step 411). Shin discloses the use of temporary credentials which are received (Figure 4, step 413) but does not disclose sending a request for temporary credentials to the provisioning server using the address of the provisioning server.
However, Wang teaches in an analogous art, the use of a WTRU (102)in which a registration request (LTS subscription request) includes temporary credentials (para 110-112) and that the request for registration involves receiving a provisioning server’s address (para 157, PVS address returned to the UE) and using that address for temporary credentials (para 160-162). Also see Figure 6, steps S608 and S610. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a request for temporary credentials to allow for a user to temporarily register in a local network, as taught by Wang.
Regarding claim 8, Shin discloses a WTRU (user equipment 200, Figure 2) comprising a processor (processing unit 210) and a transceiver (network interface 250) for performing the registration process as discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claims 2 and 9, Shin discloses registering with the onboarding network using the temporary credentials (Co; 11;5-45 – use of temporary credentials/bIMSI for registration, i.e. – PLMN selection).
Regarding claims 3 and 10, Shin discloses wherein the WTRU is authenticated with a default credentials server prior to receiving the registration accept message (Figure 4, Step 409, authentication and authorization for the UE is performed before the obtaining of the second server/temporary profile).
Regarding claims 4 and 11, Wang further teaches that the sending the request message for the temporary credentials occurs after the WTRU establishes a user plane connection (Figure 7, para 135 refers to PDU session establishment which is a user plane connection initially for LTS network registration/temporary credentials.
Regarding claims 6, and 13 Wang further teaches wherein the WTRU is an IoT device (para 26).
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Wang further teaches wherein the temporary credentials are
dynamically created by the network based on the registration request message (para 81 and 87 subscription information is dynamically provisioned and provisioning is based on the registration request/onboarding).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Claim(s) 5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin and Wang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shan (2019/0182718).
Regarding claims 5 and 12, the combination of Shin and Wang discloses all the limitations except wherein the registration request message includes a WTRU identifier, including a SUPI or SUCI (permanent or concealed identifier). However, Shan in an analogous art, teaches the use of registration messages in which a WTRU (UE 204) use a SUPI or SUCI (subscriber permanent or concealed identifier – paragraph 28). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include SUPI or SUCI identifiers in order to allow for 5g compatibility for registration process.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Salmela (2009/0217364) discloses the managing of credentials for temporary access.
Slavov (2009/0253409) disclose the use of a subscription and provisioning server for registration using a identifier without a home network (PMSI).
WILLIAM GEORGE TROST IV
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2641
/WILLIAM G TROST IV/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641