DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: slide 18, die cushion assembly 74.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "28" and "70" have both been used to designate the spring. It is noted that the specification recites that numeral 28 is designating the bolster, however in figure 1 it is designating with spring 70.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liasi et al (US 7,578,192) in view of Sinnige et al (US 2023/0205180).
In reference to claim 1, Liasi et al discloses a die for stamping sheet metal, the die comprising
a first portion (62) with a convex bead [see replicated figure 3 below],
a second portion (64) with a concave channel [see replicated figure 3 below], and
at least one accelerometer (126) positioned on the first portion (62) [see figure 3; col. 7 lines 28-33],
Replicated Figure 3
wherein when a sheet metal (78) is positioned between the first portion (62) and the second portion (64), the first portion and the second portion are configured to be brought together so that the convex bead mates with the concave channel to apply a blank holding force to the sheet metal to clamp the sheet metal [see col. 4 lines 43-60], and wherein the at least one accelerometer measure a time domain parameter [see figure 6; col. 6 lines 8-15] during placement of the sheet metal.
Liasi et al discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein the at least one accelerometer is positioned near the concave channel of the second portion.
However, Sinnige et al teaches of positioning a plurality of accelerometers on and around tooling elements of part-processing devise to measure machine vibrations and determine performance impacts of the part-processing device [see paragraph 0082].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the placement of the accelerometer of Liasi et al to be placed around the first and second portions (i.e. around the forming portions, convex and concave beads, of the first and second portions) in order to obtain an accurate measurement of vibrations within the first and second portions during placement and stamping of the sheet metal.
In reference to claim 2, Liasi et al further discloses the first portion (62) comprises a pre-formed convex shape, and the second portion (64) comprises a pre-formed concave shape [see figure above].
In reference to claim 3, Liasi et al further discloses when the first portion and the second portion are brought together to clamp the sheet metal, a part is produced with a shape defined by the pre-formed concave shape and the pre-formed convex shape.
In reference to claim 4, the combination of Liasi et al and Sinnige et al further discloses the at least one accelerometer comprises a plurality of accelerometers positioned about a periphery of the concave channel.
In reference to claims 5 and 6, the claimed subject matter is within an if clause and therefore is only required if the condition is met.
In reference to claim 7, Liasi et al further discloses a bolster (unlabeled), the second portion (64) being secured to the bolster [see figure 3].
In reference to claim 8, Liasi et al discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein an accelerometer is positioned on the bolster. Sinnige et al teaches of the desire to place a plurality of accelerometers on and around tool processing devices for the purpose of monitoring vibrations within the machine. Therefore it would have been obvious to place accelerometers on the bolster of the press in order to monitor vibrations caused during the stamping process.
In reference to claim 9, the combination further discloses the at least another accelerometer comprises a second plurality of accelerometers.
In reference to claim 10, Liasi et al discloses a die for stamping sheet metal, the die comprising
a first portion (62) with a convex bead [see replicated figure 3 above],
a second portion (64) with a concave channel [see replicated figure 3 above],
a bolster (unlabeled), the second portion (64) being secured to the bolster [see figure 3], and
at least one accelerometer (126, 128) positioned on parts of the die,
wherein when a sheet metal (78) is positioned between the first portion and the second portion, the first portion and the second portion are configured to be brought together so that the convex bead mates with the concave channel to apply a blank holding force to the sheet metal to clamp the sheet metal [see col. 4 lines 43-60], and wherein the at least one accelerometer measure a time domain parameter [see figure 6; col. 6 lines 8-15] during placement of the sheet metal.
Liasi et al discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein at least one accelerometer is positioned on the bolster.
However, Sinnige et al teaches of the desire to place a plurality of accelerometers on and around tool processing devices for the purpose of monitoring vibrations within the machine [see paragraph 0082].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place accelerometers on the bolster of the press in order to monitor vibrations caused during the stamping process.
In reference to claim 11, Liasi et al further discloses at least another accelerometer is positioned on the first portion to measure vibrations within the tool. Liasi et al discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein the at least another accelerometer is positioned near the concave channel.
However, Sinnige et al teaches of positioning a plurality of accelerometers on and around tooling elements of part-processing devise to measure machine vibrations and determine performance impacts of the part-processing device [see paragraph 0082].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the placement of the accelerometer of Liasi et al to be placed around the first and second portions (i.e. around the forming portions, convex and concave beads, of the first and second portions) in order to obtain an accurate measurement of vibrations within the first and second portions during placement and stamping of the sheet metal.
In reference to claim 12, Liasi et al further discloses the first portion (62) comprises a pre-formed convex shape, and the second portion (64) comprises a pre-formed concave shape [see figure above].
In reference to claim 13, Liasi et al further discloses when the first portion and the second portion are brought together to clamp the sheet metal, a part is produced with a shape defined by the pre-formed concave shape and the pre-formed convex shape.
In reference to claim 14, the combination further discloses the at least one accelerometer comprises a plurality of accelerometers positioned on the bolster.
In reference to claims 15 and 16, the claimed subject matter is within an if clause and therefore is only required if the condition is met.
In reference to claim 17, Liasi et al discloses a system for stamping sheet metal, the system comprising
a first portion (62) with a convex bead [see replicated figure 3 above],
a second portion (64) with a concave channel [see replicated figure 3 above], and
at least one accelerometer (126) positioned on the first portion (62) [see figure 3; col. 7 lines 28-33],
a processing unit (134) that communicates with the accelerometer,
wherein when a sheet metal (78) is positioned between the first portion (62) and the second portion (64), the first portion and the second portion are configured to be brought together so that the convex bead mates with the concave channel to apply a blank holding force to the sheet metal to clamp the sheet metal [see col. 4 lines 43-60], and wherein the at least one accelerometer measure a time domain parameter [see figure 6; col. 6 lines 8-15] during placement of the sheet metal.
Liasi et al discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein the at least one accelerometer is a plurality of accelerometers positioned near the concave channel of the second portion.
However, Sinnige et al teaches of positioning a plurality of accelerometers on and around tooling elements of part-processing devise to measure machine vibrations and determine performance impacts of the part-processing device [see paragraph 0082].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the placement of the accelerometer of Liasi et al to be placed around the first and second portions (i.e. around the forming portions, convex and concave beads, of the first and second portions) in order to obtain an accurate measurement of vibrations within the first and second portions during placement and stamping of the sheet metal.
In reference to claim 18, Liasi et al further disclose the first portion comprises a pre-formed convex shape, and the second portion comprises a pre-formed concave shape, and wherein when the first portion and the second portion are brought together to clamp the sheet metal, a part is produced with a shape defined by the pre-formed concave shape and the pre-formed convex shape.
In reference to claim 19 and 20, the claimed subject matter is within an if clause and therefore is only required if the condition is met.
Conclusion
/Debra M Sullivan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725