Detailed Action
The Amendments and Remarks filed 9/3/26 in response to the Office Action of 4/6/26 are acknowledged and have been entered.
Claims 1-21 are pending.
Claims 15 and 18 have been amended by Applicant.
Claims 1-21 are currently under examination.
Rejections Withdrawn
The rejection of claim 18 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, is withdrawn.
Rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) is withdrawn.
Rejections Maintained
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-7 and 12-21 remain rejected because claims 3-7, 12, 13, and 16 recite “bicistronic chimeric receptor”. The term “bicistronic chimeric receptor” is not used in the art. The specification uses the term “bicistronic chimeric receptor” and indicates possible examples of a “bicistronic chimeric receptor”. However, the metes-and-bounds of the claims are unclear because it is unclear which chimeric receptors would (or would not) be considered “bicistronic”. A “cistron” is a region of DNA. A “bicistronic vector” is a DNA vector comprising two open reading frames (ORFs). However, it is unclear whether a “bicistronic chimeric receptor” is (1) just any chimeric receptor that binds a bicistronic construct, (2) just any chimeric receptor that may be made by a bicistronic vector, or (3) just any chimeric receptor that is made by a bicistronic vector. Neither the specification nor the claims define the term “bicistronic chimeric receptor”.
Response to Arguments
In the Reply of 9/3/26, Applicant argues a person of ordinary skill would understand the scope of the claimed subject matter with reasonable certainty because claim 3 recites:
Applicant further argues that the Examiner’s own interpretation recognizes a definite understanding of the claim language and the ability to articulate a definitive claim construction confirms the claim language conveys a reasonable certain scope to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
The amendments to the claims and the arguments found in the Reply of 9/3/26 have been carefully considered, but are not deemed persuasive. In regards to the argument that a person of ordinary skill would understand the scope of the claimed subject matter with reasonable certainty based on recitation of claim 3, the examiner disagrees for the reasons stated above.
In regards to the argument that the Examiner’s own interpretation recognizes a definite understanding of the claim language and the ability to articulate a definitive claim construction confirms the claim language conveys a reasonable certain scope to a person of ordinary skill in the art, the examiner disagrees. The 9/3/26 Reply does not agree with the Examiner’s claim interpretation (At page 6 of the Reply, see: “…this interpretation is broader than reasonable in light of the claim language itself.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-11 remain rejected because claims recite “tricistronic chimeric receptor”. The term “tricistronic chimeric receptor” is not used in the art. The specification uses the term “tricistronic chimeric receptor” and indicates possible examples of a “tricistronic chimeric receptor”. However, the metes-and-bounds of the claims are unclear because it is unclear which chimeric receptors would (or would not) be considered “tricistronic”. A “cistron” is a region of DNA. A “tricistronic vector” is a DNA vector comprising three open reading frames (ORFs). However, it is unclear whether a “tricistronic chimeric receptor” is (1) just any chimeric receptor that binds a tricistronic construct, (2) just any chimeric receptor that may be made by a tricistronic vector, or (3) just any chimeric receptor that is made by a tricistronic vector. Neither the specification nor the claims define the term “tricistronic chimeric receptor”.
Response to Arguments
In the Reply of 9/3/26, Applicant argues a person of ordinary skill would understand the scope of the claimed subject matter with reasonable certainty because claim 8 recites:
Applicant further argues that the Examiner’s own interpretation recognizes a definite understanding of the claim language and the ability to articulate a definitive claim construction confirms the claim language conveys a reasonable certain scope to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
The amendments to the claims and the arguments found in the Reply of 9/3/26 have been carefully considered, but are not deemed persuasive. In regards to the argument that a person of ordinary skill would understand the scope of the claimed subject matter with reasonable certainty based on recitation of claim 8, the examiner disagrees for the reasons stated above.
In regards to the argument that the Examiner’s own interpretation recognizes a definite understanding of the claim language and the ability to articulate a definitive claim construction confirms the claim language conveys a reasonable certain scope to a person of ordinary skill in the art, the examiner disagrees. The 9/3/26 Reply does not agree with the Examiner’s claim interpretation (At page 6 of the Reply, see: “…this interpretation is broader than reasonable in light of the claim language itself.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 and 15-21 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Wang et al (WO 2021/004400 A1; 1/14/2021).
Google Patents provides an English translation of Wang et al at: https://patents.google.com/patent/WO2021004400A1/en?oq=2021004400
Wang et al teaches a modified immune cell comprising a CD3 antibody receptor complex comprising a first CD3 recombinant protein and a second CD3 recombinant protein, wherein: the first CD3 recombinant protein comprises (1) a first CD3 epsilon extracellular domain, (2) a first transmembrane domain, (3) a first intracellular domain; and the second CD3 recombinant protein comprises (1) a second CD3 gamma or CD3 epsilon extracellular domain, (2) a second transmembrane domain, and (3) a second intracellular domain (see second full paragraph under Summary of the invention, in particular). Wang et al further teaches said modified immune cell comprising a third CD3 recombinant protein comprising (1) a third CD3 gamma or CD3 delta extracellular domain, (2) a third transmembrane domain, and (3) a third intracellular domain. (see thirty-first full paragraph under Summary of the invention, in particular). Wang et al further teaches said immune cell wherein the first and third extracellular domains are different (see thirty-second full paragraph under Summary of the invention, in particular). Wang et al further teaches said immune cell wherein the immune cell is a natural killer (NK) cell or T cell (see definition of “immune cell” under Definition of Terms, in particular). Wang et al further teaches said immune cell wherein the immune cell does not express a T cell receptor (Abstract, in particular). Wang et al further teaches said immune cell wherein the transmembrane domains are selected from a group comprising CD8a, NKG2D, DAP10, CD3e, CD3d , and CD3g (see eleventh full paragraph under Summary of the invention and definitions of “first CD3 recombinant protein” and “second CD3 recombinant protein” under Definition of Terms, in particular). Wang et al further teaches said immune cell wherein the signaling domain can be CD3z and can form a T cell receptor-CD3 complex with T cell receptor subunits CD3g, CD3d, and CD3e (see eighteenth paragraph under Definition of terms, in particular) and wherein the signaling domain can further comprise an intracellular costimulatory signal transduction domain comprising 4-1BB (claims 14 and 22, in particular), 2B4, or OX40 (line 16 under Summary of the invention, in particular). Wang et al further teaches a polynucleotide vector encoding the CD3 antibody receptor complex and cells comprising said vector (see eight to eleventh paragraphs prior to Description of the drawings, in particular). The extracellular domains of the CD3 antibody receptor complex of Wang et al is capable of binding any T cell engager specific for CD3. Wang et al further teaches the modified immune cell can be combined with anti-CD3 and anti-CD19 bispecific antibodies to kill tumor cells (first paragraph under Summary of the invention, in particular). Wang et al further teaches a method of treating tumors comprising administering a subject with tumors the modified immune cells in a pharmaceutical composition comprising the bispecific antibodies (see Method and use section before Example section, in particular). Such a method induces an “immune response” to the tumors within the subject because the bispecific antibody links the modified immune cell to tumor cells.
Wang et al does not demonstrate every claimed embodiment; however, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, with a reasonable expectation of success, to treat a subject with cancer comprising generating and administering just any modified immune cell with just any CD3 recombinant proteins encompassed by Wang et al in combination with a bispecific antibody that binds CD3 and a tumor antigen (such as CD19) a tumor of the subject because Wang et al teaches a method of treating tumors comprising administering to a subject with tumors such modified immune cells in a pharmaceutical composition comprising such bispecific antibodies (see Method and use section before Example section, in particular). This is an example of some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. See MPEP 2143.
Response to Arguments
In the Reply of 9/3/26, Applicant argues Wang does not anticipate the claims.
The amendments to the claims and the arguments found in the Reply of 9/3/26 have been carefully considered, but are not deemed persuasive. In regards to the argument that Wang does not anticipate the claims, the examiner agrees. Therefore, the claims are no longer rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Wang et al. However, the claims remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Wang et al for the reasons stated above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-21 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (WO 2021/004400 A1; 1/14/2021) as applied to claims 1-13 and 15-21 above, and further in view of Szymczak et al (Nature Biotechnology, 2004, 22(5): 589-594) and Kamiya et al (JCI, 2019, 129(5): 2094-2106).
Teachings of Wang et al are discussed above.
Wang et al does not specifically teach a method wherein the modified immune cells of Wang et al that are NK cells do not express NKG2A. However, these deficiencies are made up in the teachings of Szymczak et al and Kamiya et al.
Szymczak et al teaches use of multicistronic vectors to express CD3 signaling complex proteins (Fig. 1, in particular).
Kamiya et al teaches that tumors can become resistant to NK cells and that blocking expression of NKG2A in NK cells overcomes such tumor resistance to the NK cells (Abstract, in particular).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, with a reasonable expectation of success, to perform a combined method comprising the method rendered obvious by Wang et al to treat a subject with cancer comprising generating and administering a modified NK immune cell with just any CD3 recombinant proteins encompassed by Wang et al expressed by multicistronic vectors in combination with a bispecific antibody of Wang et al that binds CD3 and a tumor antigen (such as CD19) of the subject wherein the modified NK cell has blocked NKG2A expression because Wang et al teaches treating cancer in subjects by administering to the subjects such modified NK immune cells that are targeted to tumors using the bispecific antibodies specific for tumor antigen and recombinantly expressed CD3 proteins, Szymczak et al teaches use of multicistronic vectors to express CD3 proteins in cells (Fig. 1, in particular), and Kamiya et al teaches that tumors can become resistant to NK cells and that blocking expression of NKG2A in NK cells overcomes such tumor resistance to the NK cells (Abstract, in particular). This is an example of Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. See MPEP 2143. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, absent unexpected results.
Response to Arguments
In the Reply of 9/3/26, Applicant argues Wang does not disclose the claimed engineered receptor architecture or the specific combinations of extracellular domains, transmembrane domains, and intracellular signaling domains. Applicant further agues Szymczak does not supply structural limitations missing from Wang, Szymczak does not teach engineered receptors, domain-swapped receptor architecture, Szymczak does not teach heterologous extracellular domains, Szymczak does not teach heterologous transmembrane domains, Szymczak does not teach heterologous intracellular signaling domains, Szymczak does not teach recited domain combinations, Szymczak does not teach the engineered receptor architecture being expressed, Szymczak does not teach Applicant’s receptor system, and Szymczak does not teach claimed multicistronic receptor architecture. Applicant further argues Kamiya contains no teaching regarding Applicant’s engineered receptor architecture and does not teach claimed multicistronic receptor architecture. Applicant further argues the rejection is based on impermissible hindsight because cited references provide no teaching, suggestion, or technical rationale supporting claimed design choices.
The amendments to the claims and the arguments found in the Reply of 9/3/26 have been carefully considered, but are not deemed persuasive. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In regards to the argument that the rejection is based on impermissible hindsight because cited references provide no teaching, suggestion, or technical rationale supporting claimed design choices, the examiner disagrees. The examiner maintains one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated (based on teachings of Wang et al), with a reasonable expectation of success, to treat a subject with cancer comprising generating and administering just any modified immune cell with just any CD3 recombinant proteins encompassed by Wang et al in combination with a bispecific antibody that binds CD3 and a tumor antigen (such as CD19) a tumor of the subject because Wang et al teaches a method of treating tumors comprising administering to a subject with tumors such modified immune cells in a pharmaceutical composition comprising such bispecific antibodies (see Method and use section before Example section, in particular). This is an example of some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. See MPEP 2143.
Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, with a reasonable expectation of success, to perform a combined method comprising the method rendered obvious by Wang et al to treat a subject with cancer comprising generating and administering a modified NK immune cell with just any CD3 recombinant proteins encompassed by Wang et al expressed by multicistronic vectors in combination with a bispecific antibody of Wang et al that binds CD3 and a tumor antigen (such as CD19) of the subject wherein the modified NK cell has blocked NKG2A expression because Wang et al teaches treating cancer in subjects by administering to the subjects such modified NK immune cells that are targeted to tumors using the bispecific antibodies specific for tumor antigen and recombinantly expressed CD3 proteins, Szymczak et al teaches use of multicistronic vectors to express CD3 proteins in cells (Fig. 1, in particular), and Kamiya et al teaches that tumors can become resistant to NK cells and that blocking expression of NKG2A in NK cells overcomes such tumor resistance to the NK cells (Abstract, in particular). This is also an example of Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. See MPEP 2143.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEAN E AEDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1642