DETAILED ACTION
a. Claims 1-20 in the present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, are being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
b. This is a first action on the merits based on Applicant’s claims submitted on 11/03/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/23/2024 and 03/14/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 10, and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities: undefined acronym. The acronym "BWP" has not been defined in the claims. The first instance of this acronym should read "bandwidth part (BWP)". Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 8-10, 12, 13, 15, and 17-19 are objected to because of the following informalities: undefined acronym. The acronym "SCG" has not been defined in the claims. The first instance of this acronym should read "secondary cell group (SCG)". Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 3 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities: undefined acronym. The acronyms "CPC", “SR”, “BFR” have not been defined in the claims. The first instance of this acronym should read "conditional primary secondary cell change (CPC)", “scheduling request (SR)”, and “beam failure recovery (BFR)”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 4 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities: undefined acronym. The acronyms "TA", “sTAG” have not been defined in the claims. The first instance of this acronym should read "time alignment (TA)" and “secondary timing advance group (sTAG). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-11, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vivo NPL “UE behavior when SCG is deactivated” 3GPP R2-2102872, April 12th - April 20th, 2021 (hereinafter “Vivo”), and in view of CATT NPL “BWP switching with on-going Random Access procedure” 3GPP R2-1813847, 8th – 12th October 2018 (hereinafter “CATT”), and further in view of Mattam et al. US Pub 2022/0132333, claiming foreign application priority 2020-10-22 (hereinafter “Mattam”).
Regarding claim 1
Vivo discloses a processing method for random access (“perform random access upon reception of the next SCG activation indication from the MCG” on page 2, section 1), comprising:
performing, by a terminal (i.e. “UE” on page 1, section 1), a first operation in a case that a first condition is satisfied (“The UE behaviour when the SCG activation is indicated to the UE via the MCG” on page 2, section 1), during a process of performing a first random access on a secondary cell group SCG by the terminal, wherein the first condition comprises at least one of the following: the terminal initiates a second random access (“-option 1) similar to reconfiguration with sync, i.e. the UE always initiates random access to the PSCell.” On page 2, section 1); wherein
the first operation is one of the following:
continuing performing the first random access (“-option 1) similar to reconfiguration with sync, i.e. the UE always initiates random access to the PSCell.” On page 2, section 1); and
stopping performing the first random access (“ option 2) in certain cases:
- the UE does not initiate random access and monitors PDCCH on the PSCell (at the latest after the specified processing time).” On page 2, section 1).
Vivo does not specifically teach the terminal receives first configuration information, wherein the first configuration information is used for triggering bandwidth part BWP switching and/or a third random access.
In an analogous art, CATT discloses the terminal receives first configuration information (“UE receives a BWP switching command (e.g. on PDCCH)”), wherein the first configuration information is used for triggering bandwidth part BWP switching and/or a third random access (“in case a UE receives a BWP switching command (e.g. on PDCCH) while a Random Access procedure is on-going, it choses either to continue the Random Access and delay the BWP switch, or to interrupt and postpone the Random Access procedure after the BWP switch” on page 1, section 2).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Vivo’s method for determining UE behavior when SCG is deactivated, to include CATT’s method for BWP switching with on-going random access procedure, in order to avoid wrong UE behavior (CATT [Introduction]).
Vivo and CATT do not specifically teach the terminal receives an SCG deactivation command.
In an analogous art, Mattam discloses the terminal (i.e. “UE”) receives an SCG deactivation command (“Upon receiving confirmation or deactivation command from the network, UE undertakes SCG deactivation.” [0321]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Vivo’s method for determining UE behavior when SCG is deactivated, as modified by CATT, to include Mattam’s method performed by the UE on a secondary cell group (SCG) activation and deactivation, in order to maximize resource efficiency (Mattam [0006-0007]). Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated the ability to incorporate Mattam’s method performed by the UE on a secondary cell group (SCG) activation and deactivation into Vivo’s method for determining UE behavior when SCG is deactivated since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 2
Vivo, as modified by CATT and Mattam, previously discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein in a case of the first condition being that the terminal initiates a second random access,
Vivo further discloses at least one of the first random access and the second random access is triggered (via RRC messages) when the SCG is in deactivated state (“While the SCG is deactivated, PSCell mobility is supported.
- When the SCG is in deactivated state, the UE can receive an SCG RRCReconfiguration message embedded in an MCG RRC(Connection)Reconfiguration message on SRB1, like when the SCG is activated, and then the UE
- processes the SCG RRCReconfiguration message according to Rel-15/16 procedures (FFS if any restriction/difference)
- sends an SCG RRCReconfigurationComplete message in the MCG RRC(Connection)ReconfigurationComplete message according to Rel-15/16 procedures
- The SCG RRCReconfiguration can change the PSCell. FFS if the UE does RACH towards the target PSCell, in that case.” On page 5, section 2.7)
Regarding claim 5
Vivo, as modified by CATT and Mattam, previously discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein in a case of the first condition being that the terminal receives an SCG deactivation command,
if the first operation is continuing performing the first random access, the method further comprises:
Mattam further discloses the terminal ignores the SCG deactivation command or deactivates the SCG after the first random access is completed (“Referring to FIG. 7, as an option 1, at operations 701 and 703, if the MCG Failure is detected while SCG is in the deactivated/suspended state, the UE should trigger the RACH procedure with a previously stored configuration of the SCG. Accordingly, NW 601 may provide the RACH configuration which needs to be applied along with the deactivation command or UE 107 may use the same RACH configuration shared by NW 601 while configuring/adding SCG.” [0192]); or
if the first operation is stopping performing the first random access, the method further comprises:
the terminal deactivates the SCG according to the SCG deactivation command (“Network configures UE for the UE assistance information for the purpose of indicating SCG deactivation request and provides relevant configurations e.g., prohibit timer Txxx and/or other timer Tyyy/parameters configurations etc. Upon sending UE assistance information message for SCG deactivation, UE starts/restarts timer Txxx. Upon receiving confirmation or deactivation command from the network, UE undertakes SCG deactivation. Prohibit timer Txxx is stopped. If no response is received, UE can trigger again sending of UE assistance information guided by a timer e.g., prohibit timer Txxx expiry so as to avoid unnecessary frequent requests. If rejection is received from network, UE stops the prohibit timer and does not request again, until new cause for SCG deactivation is triggered or a new timer Tyyy is utilized to guide the request of the SCG deactivation again to the network.” [0321]).
Regarding claim 6
Vivo, as modified by CATT and Mattam, previously discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein during the process of performing the first random access on the secondary cell group SCG, if the terminal receives the first configuration information, the terminal stops performing the first random access, comprising:
Vivo further discloses stopping performing, by the terminal, the first random access in a case that a fourth condition is satisfied (“Option 1: When SCG is deactivated, the UE stops CPC.
Option 2: When SCG is deactivated, the UE can apply CPC configuration if the execution condition is satisfied, but delay RACH until there is data needs to be sent on the SCG.” On page 6, section 2.7); wherein
the fourth condition comprises at least one of the following:
the first configuration information comprises dedicated random access resources (“It is most likely to keep timeAlignmentTimer running when the SCG is deactivated in order to skip RACH upon SCG activation, thus it would be good that UE can perform periodic CSI-RS measurements until timeAlignmentTimer expires. Considering CSI-RS result is delay sensitive, if it is reported to SN via MN, the results may be inaccurate due to inter-node latency, hence PUCCH resources should be kept upon SCG deactivation until timeAlignmentTimer expires.” On page , section 2.3);
the first configuration information triggers a primary secondary cell change (“Option 1: When SCG is deactivated, the UE stops CPC.
Option 2: When SCG is deactivated, the UE can apply CPC configuration if the execution condition is satisfied, but delay RACH until there is data needs to be sent on the SCG.” On page 6, section 2.7); and
the first configuration information triggers SCG activation (“The UE behaviour when the SCG activation is indicated to the UE via the MCG is one or more of the following options:
- option 1) similar to reconfiguration with sync, i.e. the UE always initiates random access to the PSCell.” On pages 1-2, section 1).
Regarding claim 7
Vivo, as modified by CATT and Mattam, previously discloses the method according to claim 6, wherein that the terminal receives the first configuration information comprises:
Mattam further discloses receiving, by the terminal, the first configuration information in a case that the SCG is in deactivated state (“it is indicated to the UE by the network entity whether to continue or stop monitoring of at least one of RLM and BFD upon SCG deactivation. This can be indicated along with the SCG deactivation message. When it is indicated and no new configurations are provided for the at least one of RLM and BFD, UE pursues after the SCG deactivation at least one of RLC and BFD with utilizing existing configurations for RLM and BFD, that is, configurations which were applicable as before SCG deactivation.” [0126]).
Regarding claim 8
Vivo, as modified by CATT and Mattam, previously discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein during the process of performing the first random access on the secondary cell group SCG, if the terminal receives the first configuration information, after the terminal stops performing the first random access, the method further comprises at least one of the following:
CATT further discloses performing, by the terminal, BWP switching based on the first configuration information (“If the MAC entity receives a PDCCH for BWP switching for a Serving Cell while a Random Access procedure associated with that Serving Cell is ongoing in the MAC entity, it is up to UE implementation whether to switch BWP or ignore the PDCCH for BWP switching” on page 2, section 5.15);
initiating, by the terminal, a third random access based on the first configuration information (“if the MAC entity decides to perform BWP switching, the MAC entity shall stop the ongoing Random Access procedure and initiate a Random Access procedure after performing the BWP switching” on page 2, section 5.15); and
performing, by the terminal, BWP switching based on the first configuration information and initiating, by the terminal, a random access on the switched-to BWP (“Proposal 1: Rel-15 NR should allow running concurrently a Random Access procedure initiated on a FDD SCell and a DL BWP switch on this SCell.” On page 2, section 2; see also Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9
Vivo, as modified by CATT and Mattam, previously discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein during the process of performing the first random access on the secondary cell group SCG, if the terminal receives the first configuration information, after the terminal continues performing the first random access, the method further comprises:
CATT further discloses skipping the BWP switching; or, performing the BWP switching after the first random access is completed (“If the MAC entity receives a PDCCH for BWP switching for a Serving Cell while a Random Access procedure associated with that Serving Cell is ongoing in the MAC entity, it is up to UE implementation whether to switch BWP or ignore the PDCCH for BWP switching, except for the PDCCH reception for BWP switching addressed to the C-RNTI for successful Random Access procedure completion (as specified in subclauses 5.1.4 and 5.1.5) in which case the UE shall perform BWP switching to a BWP indicated by the PDCCH. Upon reception of the PDCCH for BWP switching other than successful contention resolution, if the MAC entity decides to perform BWP switching, the MAC entity shall stop the ongoing Random Access procedure and initiate a Random Access procedure after performing the BWP switching; if the MAC decides to ignore the PDCCH for BWP switching, the MAC entity shall continue with the ongoing Random Access procedure on the Serving Cell.” On page 2, section 5.15).
Regarding claim 10
Mattam discloses a terminal (“UE 107” in Fig. 3; [0052]), comprising a processor (“processor 301” in Fig. 3; [0054]), a memory (“a storage unit or a memory unit 305” in Fig. 3; [0054]), and a program or instructions stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor (“the unit for processing at least one function or operation and may be implemented in hardware, software, or a combination of hardware and software.” [0053]), wherein the program or instructions are executed by the processor to implement steps of:
performing a first operation in a case that a first condition is satisfied, during a process of performing a first random access on a secondary cell group SCG, wherein the first condition comprises at least one of the following: the terminal initiates a second random access, the terminal receives first configuration information, and the terminal receives an SCG deactivation command, wherein the first configuration information is used for triggering bandwidth part BWP switching and/or a third random access; wherein
the first operation is one of the following:
continuing performing the first random access; and
stopping performing the first random access (as afore-mentioned in Claim 1 discussion).
The scope and subject matter of apparatus claim 10 is drawn to the apparatus of using the corresponding method claimed in claim 1. Therefore apparatus claim 10 corresponds to method claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 1 rejection above.
Regarding claim 11
The terminal according to claim 10, wherein in a case of the first condition being that the terminal initiates a second random access,
at least one of the first random access and the second random access is triggered when the SCG is in deactivated state.
The scope and subject matter of apparatus claim 11 is drawn to the apparatus of using the corresponding method claimed in claim 2. Therefore apparatus claim 11 corresponds to method claim 2 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 2 rejection above.
Regarding claim 14
The terminal according to claim 10, wherein in a case of the first condition being that the terminal receives an SCG deactivation command,
if the first operation is continuing performing the first random access, the program or instructions are executed by the processor to implement steps of:
ignoring the SCG deactivation command or deactivates the SCG after the first random access is completed; or
if the first operation is stopping performing the first random access, the program or instructions are executed by the processor to implement steps of:
deactivating the SCG according to the SCG deactivation command.
The scope and subject matter of apparatus claim 14 is drawn to the apparatus of using the corresponding method claimed in claim 5. Therefore apparatus claim 14 corresponds to method claim 5 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 5 rejection above.
Regarding claim 15
The terminal according to claim 10, wherein during the process of performing the first random access on the secondary cell group SCG, if the terminal receives the first configuration information, the terminal stops performing the first random access, the program or instructions are executed by the processor to implement steps of:
stopping performing the first random access in a case that a fourth condition is satisfied; wherein
the fourth condition comprises at least one of the following:
the first configuration information comprises dedicated random access resources;
the first configuration information triggers a primary secondary cell change; and
the first configuration information triggers SCG activation.
The scope and subject matter of apparatus claim 15 is drawn to the apparatus of using the corresponding method claimed in claim 6. Therefore apparatus claim 15 corresponds to method claim 6 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 6 rejection above.
Regarding claim 16
The terminal according to claim 15, wherein that the terminal receives the first configuration information, the program or instructions are executed by the processor to implement steps of:
receiving the first configuration information in a case that the SCG is in deactivated state.
The scope and subject matter of apparatus claim 16 is drawn to the apparatus of using the corresponding method claimed in claim 7. Therefore apparatus claim 16 corresponds to method claim 7 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 7 rejection above.
Regarding claim 17
The terminal according to claim 10, wherein during the process of performing the first random access on the secondary cell group SCG, if the terminal receives the first configuration information, after the terminal stops performing the first random access, the program or instructions are executed by the processor to implement at least one of the following steps of:
performing BWP switching based on the first configuration information;
initiating a third random access based on the first configuration information; and
performing BWP switching based on the first configuration information and initiating, by the terminal, a random access on the switched-to BWP.
The scope and subject matter of apparatus claim 17 is drawn to the apparatus of using the corresponding method claimed in claim 8. Therefore apparatus claim 17 corresponds to method claim 8 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 8 rejection above.
Regarding claim 18
The terminal according to claim 10, wherein during the process of performing the first random access on the secondary cell group SCG, if the terminal receives the first configuration information, after the terminal continues performing the first random access, the program or instructions are executed by the processor to implement steps of:
skipping the BWP switching; or,
performing the BWP switching after the first random access is completed.
The scope and subject matter of apparatus claim 18 is drawn to the apparatus of using the corresponding method claimed in claim 9. Therefore apparatus claim 18 corresponds to method claim 9 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 9 rejection above.
Regarding claim 19
A non-transitory readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory readable storage medium stores a program or instructions, and the program or instructions are executed by a processor to implement steps of:
performing a first operation in a case that a first condition is satisfied, during a process of performing a first random access on a secondary cell group SCG, wherein the first condition comprises at least one of the following: the terminal initiates a second random access, the terminal receives first configuration information, and the terminal receives an SCG deactivation command, wherein the first configuration information is used for triggering bandwidth part BWP switching and/or a third random access; wherein
the first operation is one of the following:
continuing performing the first random access; and
stopping performing the first random access.
The scope and subject matter of non-transitory computer readable medium claim 19 is drawn to the computer program product of using the corresponding method claimed in claim 1. Therefore computer program product claim 19 corresponds to method claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 1 rejection above.
Regarding claim 20
The non-transitory readable storage medium according to claim 19, wherein in a case of the first condition being that the terminal initiates a second random access,
at least one of the first random access and the second random access is triggered when the SCG is in deactivated state.
The scope and subject matter of non-transitory computer readable medium claim 20 is drawn to the computer program product of using the corresponding method claimed in claim 2. Therefore computer program product claim 20 corresponds to method claim 2 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 2 rejection above.
Claims 3, 4, 12, and 13 and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vivo, in view of CATT and Mattam, and further in view of Zhang et al. US Pub 2021/0051767 (hereinafter “Zhang”).
Regarding claim 3
Vivo, as modified by CATT and Mattam, previously discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein during the process of performing the first random access on the secondary cell group SCG, in a case that the terminal initiates the second random access, the terminal stops performing the first random access, comprising:
Vivo further discloses stopping, by the terminal (i.e. “UE”), performing the first random access in a case that a second condition is satisfied (“satisfies the corresponding CPC execution condition”), if the second random access is triggered by a conditional primary secondary cell change CPC being executed (“If at least one CPC candidate PSCell satisfies the corresponding CPC execution condition, the UE detaches from the source PSCell, applies the stored corresponding configuration for that selected candidate PSCell and synchronizes to that candidate PSCell. The UE completes the CPC execution procedure by sending an RRCReconfigurationComplete message to the new PSCell.” On pages 5-6, section 2.7); wherein
the second condition comprises at least one of the following:
the first random access is triggered by uplink data arrival at the SCG and the SCG being not uplink synchronized when the SCG is in deactivated state (“When SCG is deactivated, all transmission on the DRBs, SRB3 and the SCG leg of the split bearer should be suspended. For the split bearer, the transmission path in downlink is selected by the network. For uplink, if the primary path is configured at SCG leg before the SCG is switched to deactivated, then the UE shall switch its primary path from SCG leg to MCG leg automatically. And upon the SCG is activated, the UE can transition the path back to SCG automatically.” On page 4, section 2.4);
Mattam further discloses the second condition comprises at least one of the following:
the first random access is triggered by uplink data arrival at the SCG when the SCG is in deactivated state (“Further, uplink data processing may not be prohibited during SCG deactivation e.g., for acknowledged mode (AM) DRBs, even though transmission is suspended during SCG deactivation” [0079]); and
the first random access is triggered by beam failure recovery BFR (“continuing monitoring for detection of a beam failure in cells in the SCG, and triggering a beam failure recovery (BFR) process based on a detection of the beam failure associated with a secondary cell (SCell) or initiate a random access channel (RACH) process based on a detection of the beam failure associated with a primary secondary cell (PSCell), or suspending MAC configurations and stop the monitoring for the detection of the beam failure in cells in the SCG.” [Claim 6 text]).
Vivo, CATT, and Mattam do not specifically teach the second condition comprises at least one of the following: the first random access is triggered by uplink data arrival at the SCG and the terminal having no uplink resource for scheduling request SR transmission when the SCG is in deactivated state.
In an analogous art, Zhang discloses the first random access is triggered by uplink data arrival at the SCG and the terminal having no uplink resource for scheduling request SR transmission when the SCG is in deactivated state (“in the deactivated state, UE is not required to perform the following operations on the primary cell (PCell) of the SCG: monitor Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH); transmit SRS or CSI report; perform RLM; transmit scheduling request (SR);” [0194] and furthermore “If, in the SCG deactivated state, the UE determines that an amount of uplink data available for transmission to the SN is greater than an amount threshold, the UE may activate the SCG directly, e.g., by transmitting a scheduling request to the SN. In response to receiving a grant of uplink resources from the SN, the UE may transmit (or start transmitting) the uplink data to the SN. The scheduling request and uplink data transmission as indicated at 1422.” [0230];
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Vivo’s method for determining UE behavior when SCG is deactivated, as modified by CATT and Mattam, to include Zhang’s method performed by the UE on a secondary cell group (SCG) activation and deactivation, in order to save power when transitioning to a mode of reduced activity (e.g., processing and/or RF activity) relative to the secondary cell group (SCG) (Zhang [Abstract]). Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated the ability to incorporate Zhang’s method performed by the UE on a secondary cell group (SCG) activation and deactivation into Vivo’s method for determining UE behavior when SCG is deactivated since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 4
Vivo, as modified by CATT and Mattam, previously discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein during the process of performing the first random access on the secondary cell group SCG, if the terminal receives an SCG deactivation command, the terminal performs the first operation, comprising:
Vivo further discloses performing, by the terminal, the first operation in a case that a third condition is satisfied, wherein the third condition comprises at least one of the following:
the first random access is triggered by uplink data arrival at the SCG when the SCG and the terminal not uplink synchronized (“When SCG is deactivated, all transmission on the DRBs, SRB3 and the SCG leg of the split bearer should be suspended. For the split bearer, the transmission path in downlink is selected by the network. For uplink, if the primary path is configured at SCG leg before the SCG is switched to deactivated, then the UE shall switch its primary path from SCG leg to MCG leg automatically. And upon the SCG is activated, the UE can transition the path back to SCG automatically.” On page 4, section 2.4); and
the first random access is triggered by a request of the terminal for activation of the SCG (“In Rel-15/16, the SCG is always activated at SCG addition, and the UE shall perform random access towards the target PSCell so that synchronization of the SN radio resource configuration can be performed.” On page 5, section 2.6);
the first random access is triggered by a CPC being executed (“If at least one CPC candidate PSCell satisfies the corresponding CPC execution condition, the UE detaches from the source PSCell, applies the stored corresponding configuration for that selected candidate PSCell and synchronizes to that candidate PSCell. The UE completes the CPC execution procedure by sending an RRCReconfigurationComplete message to the new PSCell.” On pages 5-6, section 2.7);
Mattam further discloses the first random access is triggered by BFR (“continuing monitoring for detection of a beam failure in cells in the SCG, and triggering a beam failure recovery (BFR) process based on a detection of the beam failure associated with a secondary cell (SCell) or initiate a random access channel (RACH) process based on a detection of the beam failure associated with a primary secondary cell (PSCell), or suspending MAC configurations and stop the monitoring for the detection of the beam failure in cells in the SCG.” [Claim 6 text]);
CATT further discloses the first random access is triggered by establishment of time alignment TA for a secondary timing advance group sTAG (“In NR, as in LTE, a Random Access procedure initiated on the SCell is triggered by a PDCCH order for obtaining timing advance alignment for an sTAG.” On page 1, section 2).
Vivo, CATT, and Mattam do not specifically teach the first random access is triggered by uplink data arrival at the SCG and the terminal having no uplink resource for SR transmission; the first random access is triggered by SR failure on the SCG.
In an analogous art, Zhang discloses the first random access is triggered by uplink data arrival at the SCG and the terminal having no uplink resource for scheduling request SR transmission (“in the deactivated state, UE is not required to perform the following operations on the primary cell (PCell) of the SCG: monitor Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH); transmit SRS or CSI report; perform RLM; transmit scheduling request (SR);” [0194] and furthermore “If, in the SCG deactivated state, the UE determines that an amount of uplink data available for transmission to the SN is greater than an amount threshold, the UE may activate the SCG directly, e.g., by transmitting a scheduling request to the SN. In response to receiving a grant of uplink resources from the SN, the UE may transmit (or start transmitting) the uplink data to the SN. The scheduling request and uplink data transmission as indicated at 1422.” [0230];
the first random access is triggered by SR failure on the SCG (“In response to determining that uplink data is available for transmission to the SCG, the UE may trigger reporting of buffer status report (BSR), e.g., by initiating a random access procedure (RACH) and asserting a scheduling request (SR) as part of the random access procedure. In response to initiating RACH and asserting the scheduling request, the UE may enter the SCG activated state 1324.” [0225]);
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Vivo’s method for determining UE behavior when SCG is deactivated, as modified by CATT and Mattam, to include Zhang’s method performed by the UE on a secondary cell group (SCG) activation and deactivation, in order to save power when transitioning to a mode of reduced activity (e.g., processing and/or RF activity) relative to the secondary cell group (SCG) (Zhang [Abstract]). Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated the ability to incorporate Zhang’s method performed by the UE on a secondary cell group (SCG) activation and deactivation into Vivo’s method for determining UE behavior when SCG is deactivated since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 12
The terminal according to claim 10, wherein during the process of performing the first random access on the secondary cell group SCG, in a case that the terminal initiates the second random access, the terminal stops performing the first random access, the program or instructions are executed by the processor to implement steps of:
stopping performing the first random access in a case that a second condition is satisfied, if the second random access is triggered by a conditional primary secondary cell change CPC being executed; wherein
the second condition comprises at least one of the following:
the first random access is triggered by uplink data arrival at the SCG when the SCG is in deactivated state;
the first random access is triggered by uplink data arrival at the SCG and the SCG being not uplink synchronized when the SCG is in deactivated state;
the first random access is triggered by uplink data arrival at the SCG and the terminal having no uplink resource for scheduling request SR transmission when the SCG is in deactivated state; and
the first random access is triggered by beam failure recovery BFR.
The scope and subject matter of apparatus claim 12 is drawn to the apparatus of using the corresponding method claimed in claim 3. Therefore apparatus claim 12 corresponds to method claim 3 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 3 rejection above.
Regarding claim 13
The terminal according to claim 10, wherein during the process of performing the first random access on the secondary cell group SCG, if the terminal receives an SCG deactivation command, the terminal performs the first operation, the program or instructions are executed by the processor to implement steps of:
performing the first operation in a case that a third condition is satisfied, wherein the third condition comprises at least one of the following:
the first random access is triggered by uplink data arrival at the SCG when the SCG and the terminal not uplink synchronized;
the first random access is triggered by uplink data arrival at the SCG and the terminal having no uplink resource for SR transmission;
the first random access is triggered by a request of the terminal for activation of the SCG;
the first random access is triggered by SR failure on the SCG;
the first random access is triggered by BFR;
the first random access is triggered by a CPC being executed; and
the first random access is triggered by establishment of time alignment TA for a secondary timing advance group sTAG.
The scope and subject matter of apparatus claim 13 is drawn to the apparatus of using the corresponding method claimed in claim 4. Therefore apparatus claim 13 corresponds to method claim 4 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 4 rejection above.
Conclusion
/CHUONG M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411