DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the Request to Continued Examination (RCE) 04/24/2026.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Pub. No. 2016/0268900; (hereinafter Miyazaki)
Regarding claim 1, Miyazaki [e.g. Figs. 3 and 5; Fig. 3 corresponds to the dead time producing circuit 12 of Fig. 5] discloses a power converter, comprising: a first transistor [e.g. Fig. 5; 21] having a control input [e.g. gate] and first and second terminals [e.g. upper and lower terminals, respectively]; a second transistor [e.g. Fig. 5; 31] having a control input [e.g. gate] and first and second terminals [e.g. upper and lower terminals, respectively], the first terminal of the second transistor coupled to the second terminal of the first transistor at a switch terminal [e.g. VLX (4)]; a third transistor [e.g. Fig. 5; 22] having a control input [e.g. gate] and first and second terminals [e.g. upper and lower terminals, respectively], the second terminal of the third transistor coupled to the switch terminal [e.g. VLX as shown]; a logic circuit [e.g. Fig. 3; 126-128 and 130-132] having a first input [e.g. at lower input of 130], first output [e.g. PP2], and a second output [e.g. PN1], the first input of the logic circuit coupled to the switch terminal [e.g. Fig. 3; via DLY2b (134) and Dead Time Control Circuit 40, see Fig. 5 and paragraph 042], the first output coupled to the control input of the third transistor [e.g. Fig. 5; gate of 22], and the second output coupled to the control input of the second transistor [e.g. Fig. 5; gate of 31]; and a delay circuit [e.g. Fig. 3; DLY1a(123), DLY1b (124) and DLY2a (133)] having a first input [e.g. Fig. 5; input from dead time control circuit 40; paragraph 042], and a first output [e.g. PP1], the first input of the delay circuit coupled to the switch terminal [e.g. Fig. 5; VLX (4) via dead time control circuit 40], the first output of the delay circuit [e.g. PP1] coupled to the control input of the first transistor [e.g. Fig. 5; 21].
Regarding claim 22, Miyazaki [e.g. Fig. 5] discloses wherein the first terminal of the first transistor is coupled to a voltage input terminal [e.g. Vin].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
nonobviousness.
Claims 21 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyazaki in view of US Pub. No. 2017/0237332; (hereinafter Takahashi)
Regarding claim 21, Miyazaki [e.g. Fig. 5] discloses further comprising: a first inductor [e.g. 6] having a first terminal and a second terminal, the first terminal of the first inductor coupled to the switch terminal [e.g. left terminal connected to VLX].
Miyazaki fails to disclose a second inductor having a first terminal and a second terminal, the first terminal of the second inductor coupled to the first terminal of the third transistor, and the second terminal of the second inductor coupled to the second terminal of the first inductor.
Takahashi [e.g. Fig. 1] teaches a second inductor [e.g. L2] having a first terminal [e.g. left side terminal] and a second terminal [e.g. right side terminal], the first terminal of the second inductor coupled to the first terminal [e.g. upper terminal] of the third transistor [e.g. S3], and the second terminal of the second inductor coupled to the second terminal of the first inductor [e.g. via Ds].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Miyazaki by a second inductor having a first terminal and a second terminal, the first terminal of the second inductor coupled to the first terminal of the third transistor, and the second terminal of the second inductor coupled to the second terminal of the first inductor as taught by Takahashi in order of being able to reduce switching losses by enabling zero voltage switching by providing a resonant circuit.
Regarding claim 27, Miyazaki fails to disclose wherein the first, second, and third transistors are n- channel field effect transistors (NFETs).
Takahashi [e.g. Fig. 1] teaches wherein the first [e.g. S1], second [e.g. S2], and third [e.g. S3] transistors are n-channel field effect transistors (NFETs) [e.g. see transistor symbol with the source terminal arrow pointing IN; paragraphs 065 and 077].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Miyazaki by wherein the first, second, and third transistors are n- channel field effect transistors (NFETs) as taught by Takahashi in order of being able to reduce switching losses.
Examiner's Note
Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 – 9 and 23 – 26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The primary reason for the indication of the allowability of claim 2 is the inclusion therein, in combination as currently claimed as a whole, of the limitation of “wherein the delay circuit has a second input and a second output and comprises: a counter having a control input and a counter output; and a delay element having a signal input, a delay control input, and a delay output, the signal input coupled to the second input, the delay control input coupled to the counter output, and the delay output coupled to the second output of the delay circuit”.
The primary reason for the indication of the allowability of claim 23 is the inclusion therein, in combination as currently claimed as a whole, of the limitation of “wherein the logic circuit and the delay circuit are configurable to: turn on the second transistor; turn on the third transistor for a configurable delay period while the second transistor is in an on state; turn off the second transistor upon expiration of the configurable delay period; and after the second transistor is turned off, turn on the first transistor and update the configurable delay period based on a comparison of a voltage proportional to a voltage at the switch terminal to a voltage proportional to a voltage at the voltage input terminal”.
Claims 3 – 9 and 24 – 26 are objected to because inherent dependency on claims 2 and 23, respectively.
Conclusion
/ALEX TORRES-RIVERA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838