Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 12, 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al. (US 2014/0033518) in view of Lewis et al (US 2024/0138074).
Regarding claim 1, Ito discloses, a baking system (Fig. 2(d), "baking system") comprising: a receiving base (Fig. 2(b), "lower plate member 6" [0029]) operable to receive (Fig. 2(c), "a lower plate member 6 is placed on an upper face of the lower heater plate 5, and a substrate-placing table 7 is placed on an upper face of the lower plate member" [0030]) a processing unit assembly (Fig. 2(b), "substrate A," "a semiconductor, a resistance and/or a condenser element B," "insulating or electroconductive adhesive C," and "pressurizing release film D" [0002] and [0035]) including a processing unit (Fig. 2(b), "semiconductor element B" [0002]), a thermal solution (Fig. 2(b), "condenser" of the "element B" [0002]), and a thermal interface material (Fig. 2(b), "insulating or electroconductive adhesive C" [0002]) operable to couple ("a semiconductor, a resistance and/or a condenser to a substrate is to be bonded or sealed to a substrate, they are bonded together with use of an insulating adhesive or an electroconductive adhesive between the substrate and the element" [0002]) the processing unit (Fig. 2(b), "semiconductor element B" [0002]) and the thermal solution (Fig. 2(b), "condenser" of the "element B" [0002]);
Ito does not explicitly disclose an air flow assembly received in the portable housing and in fluid communication with the receiving base, the air flow assembly including an inlet conduit, wherein the inlet conduit is operable to receive heated air and direct the heated air towards the receiving base to heat the processing unit assembly and cure the thermal interface material.
However, Lewis discloses a baking system (Annotated Fig. 6, “Baking System”) wherein the receiving base (Annotated Fig. 6, “Receiving Base”) forms an inlet aperture (Annotated Fig. 6 “heated gas 76 through a nozzle” [0043]) in fluid communication with the bottom portion (Annotated Fig. 6, “Bottom Portion”) such that the heated air (Annotated Fig. 6, “heated gas 76” [0043]) from the bottom portion (Annotated Fig. 6, “Bottom Portion”) flows towards (“forcing a heated gas 76 through a nozzle which is lowered close to the board 55” [0043]) the processing unit assembly (Annotated Fig. 6, “component 50,” “board 55,” “solder paste 35, 60” [0043-0044]) from below through the inlet aperture (Annotated Fig. 6 “nozzle” [0043]).
It would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ito to incorporate the teachings of Lewis to have inlet aperture in fluid communication with the bottom portion such that the heated air from the bottom portion flows towards the processing unit assembly. Doing so allows for solder paste, adhesive, or thermal interface material to be heated with both a heating element and heating gas, thus ensuring sufficient bonding between processing unit assembly parts, or heating of solder paste, adhesive, or thermal interface material so that parts of the processing unit assembly can be repaired or replaces, as recognized by Lewis (“A BGA rework station 70 is a machine that can be used to refinish, or repair printed circuit boards (PCBs) with ball grid array (BGA) packaging and surface-mounted devices (SMDs). These rework stations allow the technicians to remove defected parts, reinstall incorrectly placed parts or replace any missing part in the PCBs. Generally, the BGA rework station works by forcing a heated gas 76 through a nozzle which is lowered close to the board 55. Additionally, in the embodiment depicted in FIG. 6, the BGA rework station 70 includes backside heating elements 75. The backside heating element 70 can work in combination with the heating gas 76 to increase the temperature of the solder 30, 65” [0043]).
Ito discloses, regarding claims 2-4, an exhaust conduit (Annotated Fig. 2(b), “vacuuming/pressurizing opening 16” [0029]) in communication with the upper portion (Annotated Fig. 2(b), “upper heater plate 11” and “upper frame member 12” [0029]), the exhaust conduit (Annotated Fig. 2(b), “vacuuming/pressurizing opening 16” [0029]) operable to provide evacuation of air, humidity, and/or liquid (“In the upper frame member 12 is provided a vacuuming/pressurizing opening 16 for vacuuming/pressurizing the vacuum chamber” [0035]) from the outer chamber (Annotated Fig. 2(b), “upper frame member 12” [0029]).
Regarding claim 12, Ito discloses a system (Fig. 1, “a vacuum thermally bonding apparatus” [0006]) comprising:
a processing unit assembly (Annotated Fig. 2(b), “substrate A,” “a semiconductor, a resistance and/or a condenser element B,” “insulating or electroconductive adhesive C,” and “pressurizing release film D” [0002] and [0035]) including a processing unit (Annotated Fig. 2(b), “semiconductor element B” [0002]), a thermal solution (Annotated Fig. 2(b), “condenser” of the “element B” [0002]), and a thermal interface material (Annotated Fig. 2(b), “insulating or electroconductive adhesive C” [0002]) operable to couple (“a semiconductor, a resistance and/or a condenser to a substrate is to be bonded or sealed to a substrate, they are bonded together with use of an insulating adhesive or an electroconductive adhesive between the substrate and the element” [0002]) the processing unit (Annotated Fig. 2(b), “semiconductor element B” [0002]) and the thermal solution (Annotated Fig. 2(b), “condenser” of the “element B” [0002]); and
a baking system including (Annotated Fig. 2(d),”baking system”):
a receiving base (Annotated Fig. 2(b), “lower plate member 6” [0029]) operable to receive (Annotated Fig. 2(c), “a lower plate member 6 is placed on an upper face of the lower heater plate 5, and a substrate-placing table 7 is placed on an upper face of the lower plate member” [0030]) the processing unit assembly (Annotated Fig. 2(b), “substrate A,” “a semiconductor, a resistance and/or a condenser element B,” “insulating or electroconductive adhesive C,” and “pressurizing release film D” [0002] and [0035]);
an upper portion (Annotated Fig. 2(b), “upper heater plate 11” and “upper frame member 12” [0029]) operable to provide heat (“The upper heater 11 functions as a heater for softening a film” [0031]) to the processing unit assembly (Annotated Fig. 2(b), “substrate A,” “a semiconductor, a resistance and/or a condenser element B,” “insulating or electroconductive adhesive C,” and “pressurizing release film D” [0002] and [0035]) to cure the thermal interface material (Annotated Fig. 2(b), “insulating or electroconductive adhesive C” [0002]), wherein the upper portion (Annotated Fig. 2(b), “upper heater plate 11” and “upper frame member 12” [0029]) directs heat (“The upper heater 11 functions as a heater for softening a film” [0031]) to the processing unit assembly (Annotated Fig. 2(b), “substrate A,” “a semiconductor, a resistance and/or a condenser element B,” “insulating or electroconductive adhesive C,” and “pressurizing release film D” [0002] and [0035]) from above the processing unit assembly (Annotated Fig. 2(b), “substrate A,” “a semiconductor, a resistance and/or a condenser element B,” “insulating or electroconductive adhesive C,” and “pressurizing release film D” [0002] and [0035]); and
a bottom portion (Annotated Fig. 2(b), “lower heater plate 5” [0029]) operable to provide heat (“the lower heater plate 5 functions as a heater” [0031]) to the processing unit assembly (Annotated Fig. 2(b), “substrate A,” “a semiconductor, a resistance and/or a condenser element B,” “insulating or electroconductive adhesive C,” and “pressurizing release film D” [0002] and [0035]) to cure (“the lower heater plate 5 functions as a heater for preheating a substrate or thermally curing an adhesive” [0031]) the thermal interface material (Annotated Fig. 2(b), “insulating or electroconductive adhesive C” [0002]), wherein the bottom portion (Annotated Fig. 2(b), “lower heater plate 5” [0029]) directs heat to the processing unit assembly (Annotated Fig. 2(b), “substrate A,” “a semiconductor, a resistance and/or a condenser element B,” “insulating or electroconductive adhesive C,” and “pressurizing release film D” [0002] and [0035]) from below the processing unit assembly (Annotated Fig. 2(b), “substrate A,” “a semiconductor, a resistance and/or a condenser element B,” “insulating or electroconductive adhesive C,” and “pressurizing release film D” [0002] and [0035]) opposite the upper portion (Annotated Fig. 2(b), “upper heater plate 11” and “upper frame member 12” [0029]).
Ito does not explicitly disclose an air flow assembly received in the portable housing and in fluid communication with the receiving base, the air flow assembly including an inlet conduit, wherein the inlet conduit is operable to receive heated air and direct the heated air towards the receiving base to heat the processing unit assembly and cure the thermal interface material.
However, Lewis discloses a baking system (Annotated Fig. 6, “Baking System”) wherein the receiving base (Annotated Fig. 6, “Receiving Base”) forms an inlet aperture (Annotated Fig. 6 “heated gas 76 through a nozzle” [0043]) in fluid communication with the bottom portion (Annotated Fig. 6, “Bottom Portion”) such that the heated air (Annotated Fig. 6, “heated gas 76” [0043]) from the bottom portion (Annotated Fig. 6, “Bottom Portion”) flows towards (“forcing a heated gas 76 through a nozzle which is lowered close to the board 55” [0043]) the processing unit assembly (Annotated Fig. 6, “component 50,” “board 55,” “solder paste 35, 60” [0043-0044]) from below through the inlet aperture (Annotated Fig. 6 “nozzle” [0043]).
It would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ito to incorporate the teachings of Lewis to have inlet aperture in fluid communication with the bottom portion such that the heated air from the bottom portion flows towards the processing unit assembly. Doing so allows for solder paste, adhesive, or thermal interface material to be heated with both a heating element and heating gas, thus ensuring sufficient bonding between processing unit assembly parts, or heating of solder paste, adhesive, or thermal interface material so that parts of the processing unit assembly can be repaired or replaces, as recognized by Lewis (“A BGA rework station 70 is a machine that can be used to refinish, or repair printed circuit boards (PCBs) with ball grid array (BGA) packaging and surface-mounted devices (SMDs). These rework stations allow the technicians to remove defected parts, reinstall incorrectly placed parts or replace any missing part in the PCBs. Generally, the BGA rework station works by forcing a heated gas 76 through a nozzle which is lowered close to the board 55. Additionally, in the embodiment depicted in FIG. 6, the BGA rework station 70 includes backside heating elements 75. The backside heating element 70 can work in combination with the heating gas 76 to increase the temperature of the solder 30, 65” [0043]).
Ito discloses, regarding claims 15 an exhaust conduit (Annotated Fig. 2(b), “vacuuming/pressurizing opening 16” [0029]) in communication with the upper portion (Annotated Fig. 2(b), “upper heater plate 11” and “upper frame member 12” [0029]), the exhaust conduit (Annotated Fig. 2(b), “vacuuming/pressurizing opening 16” [0029]) operable to provide evacuation of air, humidity, and/or liquid (“In the upper frame member 12 is provided a vacuuming/pressurizing opening 16 for vacuuming/pressurizing the vacuum chamber” [0035]) from the outer chamber (Annotated Fig. 2(b), “upper frame member 12” [0029]).
Claim(s) 5-6, 16, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al. (US 2014/0033518) in view of Lewis et al (US 2024/0138074) and Lamb et al (US 7,063,759).
The teachings of Ito have been discussed above. Ito fails to disclose a flow adapter, the flow adapter operable to direct the heated air to flow across the processing unit assembly to uniformly heat the processing unit assembly and cure the thermal interface material.
Lamb discloses a flow adapter 302 in device for moving heated air across a material to be heated. (See Abstract). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, to adapt Ito in view of Lamp to provide a flow adapter for evenly dispersing heated air across the surface of a structure.
Claim(s) 7-9, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al. (US 2014/0033518) in view of Lewis et al (US 2024/0138074) and Wenzel (US 2016/0273843).
The teachings of Ito have been discussed above. Ito fails to disclose an insulative layer received in the portable housing being operable to receive a conduit in the base.
Wenzel discloses a heating assembly having an enclosure 50. The enclosure 50 comprises an insulating 58 and is operable to receive a conduit 48 in the base as shown in Fig 2. (See Paragraph [0027], [0030]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, to adapt Ito in view of Wenzel to provide the insulative layer in the portable housing for thermally isolating the enclosure during a heating operation.
Regarding claims 8 and 9, it would have been obvious to provide the insulation being a high density foam or anti-static and non-conductive since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Claim(s) 10-13, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al. (US 2014/0033518) in view of Lewis et al (US 2024/0138074) and Bivens (US 2004/0177928).
The teachings of Ito have been discussed above. Ito fails to disclose a thermocouple, coupled to a controller, operable to measure the temperature of the thermal interface material; the controller is operable to determine when the thermal interface material is cured; the controller is operable to indicate to a user that the thermal interface material is cured.
Bivens discloses a curing system for providing heat to a surface to be cured. The device includes a thermocouple, 62, 64 (temperature sensor), (See Paragraph [0028]). The temperature sensors monitor the temperature of the item being heated. (See Paragraph [0028]) The controller 36 is connected to the thermocouple received the measured temperature. (See Paragraph [0032])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to adapt Ito in view of Bivens to provide the thermocouple and controller for monitoring the temperature of the item being heated and control the heating elements appropriately.
Regarding claims 12-13, Bivens discloses the controller 36 displays the status of the curing process, which would include when the element is cured and would provide a visual cue on the video display 88 indicating to the user when the process is complete. (See Paragraph [0034])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to adapt Ito in view of Bivens to provide the controller is operable to determine when the thermal interface material is cured; the controller is operable to indicate to a user that the thermal interface material is cured for tracking the curing cycle, stopping the heating elements when the curing is complete and displaying when the process is complete.
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al. (US 2014/0033518) in view of Lewis et al (US 2024/0138074) and Garcia et al (US 6,018,614).
The teachings of Ito have been discussed above. Ito fails to disclose a heating gun and a removable heating device.
However, Garcia discloses a portable heater module 16 connected to a controller, with a heated air supply connected via airflow tube 34. (See Column 3, Line 50 – Column 4, Line 55) Hose 34 is able to be disconnected from the heater supply. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to adapt Ito in view of Garcia to provide the removable heating device for making the device portable and the heat gun as this is an obvious alternative for provided heated air.
Conclusion
/BRIAN W JENNISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761