DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to pending claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC§ 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 8, 9, 12, 14, 15, 17, 18, 31-33, 35, 37-40 and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al (US 2023/0276226 A1) in view of Rungta et al(US 2021/0084516 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 37, Li ‘226 teaches, an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE)([0144], [0202], Figs. 1, 2, 5, wireless terminal (UE)) comprising: one or more memories)( [0144], [0202], [0203] Figs. 1, 2, 5, wireless terminal (UE) comprising memory 520); and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories( [0144], [0202], [0203] Figs. 1, 2, 5, wireless terminal (UE) comprising processor 500 communicatively coupled to the memory 520) the one or more processors configured to cause the UE to:
transmit an indication that the UE performs measurement of one or more reference signals during one or more discontinuous reception (DRX) inactive times of one or more DRX cycles([0146], [0149]-[0152] and Fig. 2, the terminal(UE) transmitting capability information to a bases station. The capability information including UE’s capability of processing positioning signal (i.e. positioning reference signal) during DRX period (active and inactive DRX period)); and
receive, responsive to the indication, the one or more reference signals during a DRX inactive time, of the one or more DRX inactive times, of a DRX cycle of the one or more DRX cycles ([0180], [0186], [0188] and Figs. 2, 3, in response to the terminal transmitting capability information, the terminal receives positioning reference signal during inactive DRX period).
Li ‘226 does not explicitly teach, the one or more reference signals corresponding to a subset of all reference signal occasions configured in the DRX inactive time, wherein the subset excludes one or more reference signal occasions in which one or more corresponding reference signals are not received by the UE.
Rungta ‘516 teaches, the one or more reference signals corresponding to a subset of all reference signal occasions configured in the DRX inactive time([0072], [0075], [0076] and Figs. 3-4, multiple periodic CSI-RS resources are scheduled during the DRX inactive periods, but the UE intentionally skips monitoring some of the occasions to save power. The UE is triggered to move to a limited active mode to measure only a specific occurrence (e.g. measuring CSI-1 while skipping others, which reads on measuring subset of all configured CSI-RS occasions),
wherein the subset excludes one or more reference signal occasions in which one or more corresponding reference signals are not received by the UE ([0073], [0076], [0120] and Figs. 4, 12, skipping at least one scheduled channel measurement based on the UE being in the inactive mode, thereby not receiving the signal. The UE maintains a counter of these missed/skipped CSI-RS occasions (e.g. CSI-0). The subset of received signals (e.g. CSI-1) actively leaves out the occasions the UE intentionally skipped (did not receive)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Li ‘226 by incorporating the teaching of Rungta ‘516, since such modification would provide improved methods/systems supporting channel measurement techniques in discontinuous reception (DRX) scenarios, as suggested by Rungta ‘516([0005]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Li ‘226 and Rungta ‘516 teaches, all of the claim limitations above, Li ‘226 further teaches, wherein the one or more reference signals include at least one of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs), channel state information reference signals (CSI-RSs), or positioning reference signals(([0180], [0186], [0188] and Figs. 2, 3, in response to the terminal transmitting capability information, the terminal receives positioning reference signal during inactive period of DRX, notice the claim limitation is written in alternative form thus examiner is required to show only one of the alternative claim limitations).
Regarding claim 4, Li ‘226 teaches all claim limitations above except, wherein the one or more reference signals include periodic CSI-RSs or semi-persistent CSI-RSs.
Rungta ‘516 teaches, wherein the one or more reference signals include periodic CSI-RSs or semi-persistent CSI-RSs([0028], [0063], [0069] and Figs. 3-4, UE being configured to receive periodic CSI-RS from a base station).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Li ‘226 by incorporating the teaching of Rungta ‘516, since such modification would provide improved methods/systems supporting channel measurement techniques in discontinuous reception (DRX) scenarios, as suggested by Rungta ‘516([0005]).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Li ‘226 teaches all claim limitations above except, wherein the indication indicates that the UE is configured to perform measurement of the one or more reference signals for at least one of time and frequency tracking, beam management, radio link monitoring, or beam failure detection.
Rungta ‘516 teaches, wherein the indication indicates that the UE is configured to perform measurement of the one or more reference signals for at least one of time and frequency tracking, beam management, radio link monitoring, or beam failure detection ([0028], [0063], [0069] and Figs. 3-4, UE being configured to receive CSI-RS from a base station for radio link monitoring).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Li ‘226 by incorporating the teaching of Rungta ‘516, since such modification would provide improved methods/systems supporting channel measurement techniques in discontinuous reception (DRX) scenarios, as suggested by Rungta ‘516([0005]).
Regarding claims 12 and 39, Li ‘226 teaches, an apparatus for wireless communication at a network node([0233]-[0245] and Fig. 7, base station ), comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories([0233]-[0235], base station comprising memory 720), the one or more processors([0233]-[0235], base station comprising memory 720 communicatively coupled to processor 700 configured to cause the network node to:
receive an indication that a user equipment (UE) performs measurement of one or more reference signals during one or more discontinuous reception (DRX) inactive times of one or more DRX cycle ([0146], [0149]-[0152] and Fig. 2, the base station receiving from a terminal(UE) capability information. The capability information including UE’s capability of processing positioning signal (i.e. positioning reference signal) during DRX period (active and inactive DRX period)); and
transmit, responsive to the indication, the one or more reference signals during a DRX inactive time, of the one or more DRX inactive times, of a DRX cycle of the one or more DRX cycles ([0180], [0186], [0188] and Figs. 2, 3, in response to the base station receiving from the terminal capability information, the base station transmitting positioning reference signal during inactive period of DRX).
Li ‘226 does not explicitly teach, the one or more reference signals corresponding to a subset of all reference signal occasions configured in the DRX inactive time, wherein the subset excludes one or more reference signal occasions in which one or more corresponding reference signals are not received by the UE.
Rungta ‘516 teaches, the one or more reference signals corresponding to a subset of all reference signal occasions configured in the DRX inactive time ([0072], [0075], [0076] and Figs. 3-4, multiple periodic CSI-RS resources are scheduled during the DRX inactive periods, but the UE intentionally skips monitoring some of the occasions to save power. The UE is triggered to move to a limited active mode to measure only a specific occurrence (e.g. measuring CSI-1 while skipping others, which reads on measuring subset of all configured CSI-RS occasions),
wherein the subset excludes one or more reference signal occasions in which one or more corresponding reference signals are not received by the UE([0073], [0076], [0120] and Figs. 4, 12, skipping at least one scheduled channel measurement based on the UE being in the inactive mode, thereby not receiving the signal. The UE maintains a counter of these missed/skipped CSI-RS occasions (e.g. CSI-0). The subset of received signals (e.g. CSI-1) actively leaves out the occasions the UE intentionally skipped (did not receive)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Li ‘226 by incorporating the teaching of Rungta ‘516, since such modification would provide improved methods/systems supporting channel measurement techniques in discontinuous reception (DRX) scenarios, as suggested by Rungta ‘516([0005]).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Li ‘226 and Rungta ‘516 teaches all of the claim limitations above, Li ‘226 further teaches, wherein the one or more reference signals include at least one of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs), channel state information reference signals (CSI-RSs), or positioning reference signals(([0180], [0186], [0188] and Figs. 2, 3, in response to the terminal transmitting capability information, the terminal receives positioning reference signal during inactive period of DRX, notice the claim limitation is written in alternative form thus examiner is required to show only one of the alternative claim limitations).
Regarding claim 8, Li ‘226 teaches all claim limitations above except, wherein the subset of reference signal occasions is referenced from a first reference signal occasion after an end of a DRX active time of the DRX cycle of the one or more DRX cycles.
Rungta ‘516 teaches, wherein the subset of reference signal occasions is referenced from a first reference signal occasion after an end of a DRX active time of the DRX cycle of the one or more DRX cycles ([0005], [0076]. [0078] and Fig. 4, after an on-duration (active time) DRX cycle performing a firs measurement).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Li ‘226 by incorporating the teaching of Rungta ‘516, since such modification would provide improved methods/systems supporting channel measurement techniques in discontinuous reception (DRX) scenarios, as suggested by Rungta ‘516([0005]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Li ‘226 and Rungta ‘516 teaches, all of the claim limitations above, Rungta ‘516 further teaches, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: receive information that identifies the subset of reference signal occasions ([0083], [0095], [0099] and Figs. 4-5, the UE receiving reference signal measurement occasions information related to DRX active and inactive).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Li ‘226 by incorporating the teaching of Rungta ‘516, since such modification would provide improved methods/systems supporting channel measurement techniques in discontinuous reception (DRX) scenarios, as suggested by Rungta ‘516([0005]).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Li ‘226 and Rungta ‘516 teaches, all of the claim limitations above, Rungta ‘516 further teaches, wherein the one or more reference signals correspond to a subset of reference signal occasions overlapping in time with the DRX inactive time ([0005], [0076]. [0078] and Fig. 4, the UE configured to measure some/subset of CSI-RS that are overlapping with the DRX inactive period, while skipping some of the CSI-RS that are overlapping with the DRX inactive), wherein the subset of reference signal occasions is referenced from a first reference signal occasion after an end of a DRX active time of the DRX cycle of the one or more DRX cycles ([0005], [0076]. [0078] and Fig. 4, after an on-duration (active time) DRX cycle performing a firs measurement).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Li ‘226 by incorporating the teaching of Rungta ‘516, since such modification would provide improved methods/systems supporting channel measurement techniques in discontinuous reception (DRX) scenarios, as suggested by Rungta ‘516([0005]).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Li ‘226 and Rungta ‘516 teaches, all of the claim limitations above, Rungta ‘516 further teaches, wherein the one or more reference signals correspond to a subset of reference signal occasions overlapping in time with the DRX inactive time([0005], [0076]. [0078] and Fig. 4, the UE configured to measure some/subset of CSI-RS that are overlapping with the DRX inactive period, while skipping some of the CSI-RS that are overlapping with the DRX inactive), and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to: transmit information that identifies the subset of reference signal occasions([0083], [0095], [0099] and Figs. 4-5, the UE receiving reference signal measurement occasions information related to DRX active and inactive).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Li ‘226 by incorporating the teaching of Rungta ‘516, since such modification would provide improved methods/systems supporting channel measurement techniques in discontinuous reception (DRX) scenarios, as suggested by Rungta ‘516([0005]).
Regarding claim 31, the combination of Li ‘226 and Rungta ‘516 teaches, all of the claim limitations above, Rungta ‘516 further teaches, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to transmit, responsive to the indication, periodic channel state information reference signals (CSI-RSs) during the DRX inactive time ([0028], [0063], [0069] and Figs. 3-4, UE being configured to receive periodic CSI-RS from a base station).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Li ‘226 by incorporating the teaching of Rungta ‘516, since such modification would provide improved methods/systems supporting channel measurement techniques in discontinuous reception (DRX) scenarios, as suggested by Rungta ‘516([0005]).
Regarding claims 32, the combination of Li ‘226 and Rungta ‘516 teaches, all of the claim limitations above, Rungta ‘516 further teaches, to cause the network node to transmit, responsive to the indication, semi-persistent channel state information reference signals (CSI-RSs) during the DRX inactive time ([0028], [0063], [0069] and Figs. 3-4, base station configured to transmit semi-persistent CSI RS to the terminal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Li ‘226 by incorporating the teaching of Rungta ‘516, since such modification would provide improved methods/systems supporting channel measurement techniques in discontinuous reception (DRX) scenarios, as suggested by Rungta ‘516([0005]).
Regarding claim 33, the combination of Li ‘226 and Rungta ‘516 teaches, all of the claim limitations above, Rungta ‘516 further teaches, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to transmit information that identifies a pattern of reference signal occasions during the DRX inactive time ([0028], [0063], [0069] and Figs. 3-4, base station transmitting periodicity of CSI-RS to UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Li ‘226 by incorporating the teaching of Rungta ‘516, since such modification would provide improved methods/systems supporting channel measurement techniques in discontinuous reception (DRX) scenarios, as suggested by Rungta ‘516([0005]).
Regarding claims 35, the combination of Li ‘226 and Rungta ‘516 teaches, all of the claim limitations above, Rungta ‘516 further teaches, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to transmit a reference signal during a DRX inactive time for use by the UE in at least one of beam management, radio link monitoring, or beam failure detection ([0028], [0063], [0069] and Figs. 3-4, UE being configured to receive CSI-RS from a base station for radio link monitoring).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Li ‘226 by incorporating the teaching of Rungta ‘516, since such modification would provide improved methods/systems supporting channel measurement techniques in discontinuous reception (DRX) scenarios, as suggested by Rungta ‘516([0005]).
Regarding claims 38 and 40, the combination of Li ‘226 and Rungta ‘516 teaches, all of the claim limitations above, Rungta ‘516 further teaches, wherein the one or more reference signals correspond to at least one of: radio link monitoring or beam failure detection ([0028], [0063], [0069] and Figs. 3-4, UE being configured to receive CSI-RS from a base station for radio link monitoring).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Li ‘226 by incorporating the teaching of Rungta ‘516, since such modification would provide improved methods/systems supporting channel measurement techniques in discontinuous reception (DRX) scenarios, as suggested by Rungta ‘516([0005]).
Regarding claim 42, the combination of Li ‘226 and Rungta ‘516 teaches, all of the claim limitations above, Rungta ‘516 further teaches, wherein the one or more reference signal occasions excluded from the subset are before a time interval before a start of a DRX on duration of a subsequent DRX cycle([0080], [0098] and Fig. 6, activating measurement components only for scheduled measurements that fall within a predetermined time window before the start of a subsequent DRX ON duration, which inherently excludes those that occur before that time interval).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Li ‘226 by incorporating the teaching of Rungta ‘516, since such modification would provide improved methods/systems supporting channel measurement techniques in discontinuous reception (DRX) scenarios, as suggested by Rungta ‘516([0005]).
Claims 2, 10, 11, 13, 16, 19, 20, 34 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li ‘226 and Rungta ‘516 as applied to claims above, and further in view of Bao et al (US 2021/0410098 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Li ‘226 teaches, wherein the indication is a first indication, and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to([0146], [0149]-[0152] and Fig. 2, the terminal(UE) transmitting capability information to a bases station. The capability information including UE’s capability of processing positioning signal (i.e. positioning reference signal) during DRX period (active and inactive DRX period)).
The combination of Li ‘226 and Rungta ‘516 does not explicitly teach, receive a second indication to skip at least one of transmission or reception during the one or more DRX inactive times of the one or more DRX cycles.
Bao ‘098 teaches, receive a second indication to skip at least one of transmission or reception during the one or more DRX inactive times of the one or more DRX cycles ([0141], [0150] and Figs. 9, 12, the UE receiving configuration to skip DL-PRS occasion during the inactive DRX cycle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Li ‘226 by incorporating the teaching of Bao ‘093, since such modification would substantially enhance signaling efficiencies and reduce latency, as suggested by Bao ‘098([0003]).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Li ‘226 and Rungta ‘516 teaches all claim limitations above except, wherein the one or more reference signals correspond to all reference signal occasions overlapping in time with the DRX inactive time.
Bao ‘098 teaches, wherein the one or more reference signals correspond to all reference signal occasions overlapping in time with the DRX inactive time ([0135], [0141] and Figs. 8-9, UE configured to measure all DL-PRS occasions overlapping with the DRX inactive (DRX OFF time).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Li ‘226 by incorporating the teaching of Bao ‘093, since such modification would substantially enhance signaling efficiencies and reduce latency, as suggested by Bao ‘098([0003]).
Regarding claims 10 and 19, the combination of Li ‘226 and Rungta ‘516 teaches all claim limitations above except, wherein the one or more reference signals correspond to reference signal occasions within a particular time interval before a start of a DRX on duration of a subsequent DRX cycle.
Bao ‘098 teaches, wherein the one or more reference signals correspond to reference signal occasions within a particular time interval before a start of a DRX on duration of a subsequent DRX cycle ([0135], [0141] and Figs. 8-9, UE configured to measure all DL-PRS occasions overlapping with the DRX inactive (DRX OFF time) before the DRX ON duration as shown in Fig. 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Li ‘226 by incorporating the teaching of Bao ‘093, since such modification would substantially enhance signaling efficiencies and reduce latency, as suggested by Bao ‘098([0003]).
Regarding claims 11 and 20, the combination of Li ‘226 and Rungta ‘516 teaches all claim limitations above except, wherein the indication identifies one or more reference signal resources in which the UE is to perform measurement of the one or more reference signals.
Bao ‘098 teaches, wherein the indication identifies one or more reference signal resources in which the UE is to perform measurement of the one or more reference signals ([0109], [0148] and Fig. 12, UE transmitting measurement and reporting configuration 1220 to the network in order to indicate resources associated with PRS to be processed/monitored during the DRX inactive period).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Li ‘226 by incorporating the teaching of Bao ‘093, since such modification would substantially enhance signaling efficiencies and reduce latency, as suggested by Bao ‘098([0003]).
Regarding claim 13, Li ‘226 teaches, wherein the indication is a first indication, and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to([0146], [0149]-[0152] and Fig. 2, the terminal(UE) transmitting capability information to a bases station. The capability information including UE’s capability of processing positioning signal (i.e. positioning reference signal) during DRX period (active and inactive DRX period)).
The combination of Li ‘226 and Rungta ‘516 teaches all claim limitations above except, transmit a second indication to skip at least one of transmission or reception during the one or more DRX inactive times of the one or more DRX cycles.
Bao ‘098 teaches, transmit a second indication to skip at least one of transmission or reception during the one or more DRX inactive times of the one or more DRX cycles ([0141], [0150] and Figs. 9, 12, network device transmitting configuration to skip DL-PRS occasion during the inactive DRX cycle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Li ‘226 by incorporating the teaching of Bao ‘093, since such modification would substantially enhance signaling efficiencies and reduce latency, as suggested by Bao ‘098([0003]).
Regarding claim 34, the combination of Li ‘226 and Rungta ‘516 teaches all claim limitations above except, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to transmit a reference signal during a DRX inactive time for use by the UE in beam management.
Bao ‘098 teaches, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to transmit a reference signal during a DRX inactive time for use by the UE in beam management ([0117]- [0118] DL PRS in DRX inactive time being used for beam management).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Li ‘226 by incorporating the teaching of Bao ‘093, since such modification would substantially enhance signaling efficiencies and reduce latency, as suggested by Bao ‘098([0003]).
Regarding claim 36, the combination of Li ‘226 and Rungta ‘516 teaches all claim limitations above except, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to transmit a communication indicating an activation of a time duration for the DRX cycle of the one or more DRX cycles.
Bao ‘098 teaches, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to transmit a communication indicating an activation of a time duration for the DRX cycle of the one or more DRX cycles ([0152], [0156], [0181], network device transmitting trigger/activation message for the DRX cycle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Li ‘226 by incorporating the teaching of Bao ‘093, since such modification would substantially enhance signaling efficiencies and reduce latency, as suggested by Bao ‘098([0003]).
Claim 41 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li ‘226 and Rungta ‘516 as applied to claims above, and further in view of Kim et al(US 2026/0040326 A1).
Regarding claim 41, the combination of Li ‘226 and Rungta ‘516 teaches all claim limitations above except, wherein the one or more reference signal occasions excluded from the subset are based on corresponding index numbers of the one or more reference signal occasions.
Kim ‘326 teaches, wherein the one or more reference signal occasions excluded from the subset are based on corresponding index numbers of the one or more reference signal occasions([0262], [0263], excluding reference signal occasions based on index number, “if SSB index set A is set to {0, 1} and SSB index set B is set to {0, 1, 2, 3}, the terminal may apply SSB index set A if it is not the active time of the base station, and apply SSB index set B if it is the active time of the base station, and perform measurement”) .
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Li ‘226 by incorporating the teaching of Kim ‘326, since such modification would provide an efficient method for dynamically turning on/off at least one SSB (synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block) in a wireless communication system, as suggested by ([0008]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AWET HAILE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474