DETAILED ACTION
Response to Election/Restriction
Applicant's election with without traverse of Group I, claims 1-20 in the reply filed on December 19, 2025 is acknowledged. Claims 21-30 has been canceled. New claims 31-40 are added.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC§ 102
Claims 1, 3, 12, 14, 37 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li et al (US 2023/0276226 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 37, Li ‘226 teaches, an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE)([0144], [0202], Figs. 1, 2, 5, wireless terminal (UE)) comprising: one or more memories)( [0144], [0202], [0203] Figs. 1, 2, 5, wireless terminal (UE) comprising memory 520); and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories( [0144], [0202], [0203] Figs. 1, 2, 5, wireless terminal (UE) comprising processor 500 communicatively coupled to the memory 520) the one or more processors configured to cause the UE to:
transmit an indication that the UE performs measurement of one or more reference signals during one or more discontinuous reception (DRX) inactive times of one or more DRX cycles([0146], [0149]-[0152] and Fig. 2, the terminal(UE) transmitting capability information to a bases station. The capability information including UE’s capability of processing positioning signal (i.e. positioning reference signal) during DRX period (active and inactive DRX period)); and
receive, responsive to the indication, the one or more reference signals during a DRX inactive time, of the one or more DRX inactive times, of a DRX cycle of the one or more DRX cycles ([0180], [0186], [0188] and Figs. 2, 3, in response to the terminal transmitting capability information, the terminal receives positioning reference signal during inactive DRX period).
Regarding claim 3, Li ‘226 teaches, all of the claim limitations above, Li ‘226 further teaches, wherein the one or more reference signals include at least one of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs), channel state information reference signals (CSI-RSs), or positioning reference signals(([0180], [0186], [0188] and Figs. 2, 3, in response to the terminal transmitting capability information, the terminal receives positioning reference signal during inactive period of DRX, notice the claim limitation is written in alternative form thus examiner is required to show only one of the alternative claim limitations).
Regarding claims 12 and 39, Li ‘226 teaches, an apparatus for wireless communication at a network node([0233]-[0245] and Fig. 7, base station ), comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories([0233]-[0235], base station comprising memory 720), the one or more processors([0233]-[0235], base station comprising memory 720 communicatively coupled to processor 700 configured to cause the network node to:
receive an indication that a user equipment (UE) performs measurement of one or more reference signals during one or more discontinuous reception (DRX) inactive times of one or more DRX cycle ([0146], [0149]-[0152] and Fig. 2, the base station receiving from a terminal(UE) capability information. The capability information including UE’s capability of processing positioning signal (i.e. positioning reference signal) during DRX period (active and inactive DRX period)); and
transmit, responsive to the indication, the one or more reference signals during a DRX inactive time, of the one or more DRX inactive times, of a DRX cycle of the one or more DRX cycles ([0180], [0186], [0188] and Figs. 2, 3, in response to the base station receiving from the terminal capability information, the base station transmitting positioning reference signal during inactive period of DRX).
Regarding claim 14, Li ‘226 teaches, all of the claim limitations above, Li ‘226 further teaches, wherein the one or more reference signals include at least one of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs), channel state information reference signals (CSI-RSs), or positioning reference signals(([0180], [0186], [0188] and Figs. 2, 3, in response to the terminal transmitting capability information, the terminal receives positioning reference signal during inactive period of DRX, notice the claim limitation is written in alternative form thus examiner is required to show only one of the alternative claim limitations).
Claim Rejections – 35 USC§ 103
Claims 2, 6, 10, 11, 13, 16, 19, 20, 34 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li ‘226 in view of Bao et al (US 2021/0410098 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Li ‘226 teaches, wherein the indication is a first indication, and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to([0146], [0149]-[0152] and Fig. 2, the terminal(UE) transmitting capability information to a bases station. The capability information including UE’s capability of processing positioning signal (i.e. positioning reference signal) during DRX period (active and inactive DRX period)).
Li ‘226 does not explicitly teach, receive a second indication to skip at least one of transmission or reception during the one or more DRX inactive times of the one or more DRX cycles.
Bao ‘098 teaches, receive a second indication to skip at least one of transmission or reception during the one or more DRX inactive times of the one or more DRX cycles ([0141], [0150] and Figs. 9, 12, the UE receiving configuration to skip DL-PRS occasion during the inactive DRX cycle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Li ‘226 by incorporating the teaching of Bao ‘093, since such modification would substantially enhance signaling efficiencies and reduce latency, as suggested by Bao ‘098([0003]).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Li ‘226 teaches all claim limitations above except, wherein the one or more reference signals correspond to all reference signal occasions overlapping in time with the DRX inactive time.
Bao ‘098 teaches, wherein the one or more reference signals correspond to all reference signal occasions overlapping in time with the DRX inactive time([0135], [0141] and Figs. 8-9, UE configured to measure all DL-PRS occasions overlapping with the DRX inactive(DRX OFF time).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Li ‘226 by incorporating the teaching of Bao ‘093, since such modification would substantially enhance signaling efficiencies and reduce latency, as suggested by Bao ‘098([0003]).
Regarding claims 10 and 19, Li ‘226 teaches all claim limitations above except, wherein the one or more reference signals correspond to reference signal occasions within a particular time interval before a start of a DRX on duration of a subsequent DRX cycle.
Bao ‘098 teaches, wherein the one or more reference signals correspond to reference signal occasions within a particular time interval before a start of a DRX on duration of a subsequent DRX cycle([0135], [0141] and Figs. 8-9, UE configured to measure all DL-PRS occasions overlapping with the DRX inactive(DRX OFF time) before the DRX ON duration as shown in Fig. 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Li ‘226 by incorporating the teaching of Bao ‘093, since such modification would substantially enhance signaling efficiencies and reduce latency, as suggested by Bao ‘098([0003]).
Regarding claims 11 and 20, Li ‘226 teaches all claim limitations above except, wherein the indication identifies one or more reference signal resources in which the UE is to perform measurement of the one or more reference signals.
Bao ‘098 teaches, wherein the indication identifies one or more reference signal resources in which the UE is to perform measurement of the one or more reference signals ([0109], [0148] and Fig. 12, UE transmitting measurement and reporting configuration 1220 to the network in order to indicate resources associated with PRS to be processed/monitored during the DRX inactive period).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Li ‘226 by incorporating the teaching of Bao ‘093, since such modification would substantially enhance signaling efficiencies and reduce latency, as suggested by Bao ‘098([0003]).
Regarding claim 13, Li ‘226 teaches, wherein the indication is a first indication, and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to([0146], [0149]-[0152] and Fig. 2, the terminal(UE) transmitting capability information to a bases station. The capability information including UE’s capability of processing positioning signal (i.e. positioning reference signal) during DRX period (active and inactive DRX period)).
Li ‘226 does not explicitly teach, transmit a second indication to skip at least one of transmission or reception during the one or more DRX inactive times of the one or more DRX cycles.
Bao ‘098 teaches, transmit a second indication to skip at least one of transmission or reception during the one or more DRX inactive times of the one or more DRX cycles ([0141], [0150] and Figs. 9, 12, network device transmitting configuration to skip DL-PRS occasion during the inactive DRX cycle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Li ‘226 by incorporating the teaching of Bao ‘093, since such modification would substantially enhance signaling efficiencies and reduce latency, as suggested by Bao ‘098([0003]).
Regarding claim 34, Li ‘226 teaches all claim limitations above except, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to transmit a reference signal during a DRX inactive time for use by the UE in beam management.
Bao ‘098 teaches, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to transmit a reference signal during a DRX inactive time for use by the UE in beam management ([0117]- [0118] DL PRS in DRX inactive time being used for beam management).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Li ‘226 by incorporating the teaching of Bao ‘093, since such modification would substantially enhance signaling efficiencies and reduce latency, as suggested by Bao ‘098([0003]).
Regarding claim 36, Li ‘226 teaches all claim limitations above except, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to transmit a communication indicating an activation of a time duration for the DRX cycle of the one or more DRX cycles.
Bao ‘098 teaches, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to transmit a communication indicating an activation of a time duration for the DRX cycle of the one or more DRX cycles ([0152], [0156], [0181], network device transmitting trigger/activation message for the DRX cycle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Li ‘226 by incorporating the teaching of Bao ‘093, since such modification would substantially enhance signaling efficiencies and reduce latency, as suggested by Bao ‘098([0003]).
Claims 4, 5, 7-9, 15, 17, 18, 31-33, 35, 38 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li ‘226 in view of Rungta et al(US 2021/0084516 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Li ‘226 teaches all claim limitations above except, wherein the one or more reference signals include periodic CSI-RSs or semi-persistent CSI-RSs.
Rungta ‘516 teaches, wherein the one or more reference signals include periodic CSI-RSs or semi-persistent CSI-RSs([0028], [0063], [0069] and Figs. 3-4, UE being configured to receive periodic CSI-RS from a base station).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Li ‘226 by incorporating the teaching of Rungta ‘516, since such modification would provide improved methods/systems supporting channel measurement techniques in discontinuous reception (DRX) scenarios, as suggested by Rungta ‘516([0005]).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Li ‘226 teaches all claim limitations above except, wherein the indication indicates that the UE is configured to perform measurement of the one or more reference signals for at least one of time and frequency tracking, beam management, radio link monitoring, or beam failure detection.
Rungta ‘516 teaches, wherein the indication indicates that the UE is configured to perform measurement of the one or more reference signals for at least one of time and frequency tracking, beam management, radio link monitoring, or beam failure detection([0028], [0063], [0069] and Figs. 3-4, UE being configured to receive CSI-RS from a base station for radio link monitoring).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Li ‘226 by incorporating the teaching of Rungta ‘516, since such modification would provide improved methods/systems supporting channel measurement techniques in discontinuous reception (DRX) scenarios, as suggested by Rungta ‘516([0005]).
Regarding claim 7, Li ‘226 teaches all claim limitations above except, wherein the one or more reference signals correspond to a subset of reference signal occasions overlapping in time with the DRX inactive time.
Rungta ‘516 teaches, wherein the one or more reference signals correspond to a subset of reference signal occasions overlapping in time with the DRX inactive time ([0005], [0076]. [0078] and Fig. 4, the UE configured to measure some/subset of CSI-RS that are overlapping with the DRX inactive period, while skipping some of the CSI-RS that are overlapping with the DRX inactive).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Li ‘226 by incorporating the teaching of Rungta ‘516, since such modification would provide improved methods/systems supporting channel measurement techniques in discontinuous reception (DRX) scenarios, as suggested by Rungta ‘516([0005]).
Regarding claim 8, Li ‘226 teaches all claim limitations above except, wherein the subset of reference signal occasions is referenced from a first reference signal occasion after an end of a DRX active time of the DRX cycle of the one or more DRX cycles.
Rungta ‘516 teaches, wherein the subset of reference signal occasions is referenced from a first reference signal occasion after an end of a DRX active time of the DRX cycle of the one or more DRX cycles ([0005], [0076]. [0078] and Fig. 4, after an on-duration (active time) DRX cycle performing a firs measurement).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Li ‘226 by incorporating the teaching of Rungta ‘516, since such modification would provide improved methods/systems supporting channel measurement techniques in discontinuous reception (DRX) scenarios, as suggested by Rungta ‘516([0005]).
Regarding claim 9, Li ‘226 teaches all claim limitations above except, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: receive information that identifies the subset of reference signal occasions.
Rungta ‘516 teaches, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: receive information that identifies the subset of reference signal occasions([0083], [0095], [0099] and Figs. 4-5, the UE receiving reference signal measurement occasions information related to DRX active and inactive).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Li ‘226 by incorporating the teaching of Rungta ‘516, since such modification would provide improved methods/systems supporting channel measurement techniques in discontinuous reception (DRX) scenarios, as suggested by Rungta ‘516([0005]).
Regarding claim 17, Li ‘226 teaches all claim limitations above except, wherein the one or more reference signals correspond to a subset of reference signal occasions overlapping in time with the DRX inactive time, and the subset of reference signal occasions is referenced from a first reference signal occasion after an end of a DRX active time of the DRX cycle of the one or more DRX cycles.
Rungta ‘516 teaches, wherein the one or more reference signals correspond to a subset of reference signal occasions overlapping in time with the DRX inactive time ([0005], [0076]. [0078] and Fig. 4, the UE configured to measure some/subset of CSI-RS that are overlapping with the DRX inactive period, while skipping some of the CSI-RS that are overlapping with the DRX inactive), wherein the subset of reference signal occasions is referenced from a first reference signal occasion after an end of a DRX active time of the DRX cycle of the one or more DRX cycles ([0005], [0076]. [0078] and Fig. 4, after an on-duration (active time) DRX cycle performing a firs measurement).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Li ‘226 by incorporating the teaching of Rungta ‘516, since such modification would provide improved methods/systems supporting channel measurement techniques in discontinuous reception (DRX) scenarios, as suggested by Rungta ‘516([0005]).
Regarding claim 18, Li ‘226 teaches all claim limitations above except, wherein the one or more reference signals correspond to a subset of reference signal occasions overlapping in time with the DRX inactive time, and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to: transmit information that identifies the subset of reference signal occasions.
Rungta ‘516 teaches, wherein the one or more reference signals correspond to a subset of reference signal occasions overlapping in time with the DRX inactive time([0005], [0076]. [0078] and Fig. 4, the UE configured to measure some/subset of CSI-RS that are overlapping with the DRX inactive period, while skipping some of the CSI-RS that are overlapping with the DRX inactive), and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to: transmit information that identifies the subset of reference signal occasions([0083], [0095], [0099] and Figs. 4-5, the UE receiving reference signal measurement occasions information related to DRX active and inactive).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Li ‘226 by incorporating the teaching of Rungta ‘516, since such modification would provide improved methods/systems supporting channel measurement techniques in discontinuous reception (DRX) scenarios, as suggested by Rungta ‘516([0005]).
Regarding claim 31, Li ‘226 teaches all claim limitations above except, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to transmit, responsive to the indication, periodic channel state information reference signals (CSI-RSs) during the DRX inactive time.
Rungta ‘516 teaches, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to transmit, responsive to the indication, periodic channel state information reference signals (CSI-RSs) during the DRX inactive time ([0028], [0063], [0069] and Figs. 3-4, UE being configured to receive periodic CSI-RS from a base station).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Li ‘226 by incorporating the teaching of Rungta ‘516, since such modification would provide improved methods/systems supporting channel measurement techniques in discontinuous reception (DRX) scenarios, as suggested by Rungta ‘516([0005]).
Regarding claims 32, Li ‘226 teaches all claim limitations above except, further configured to cause the network node to transmit, responsive to the indication, semi-persistent channel state information reference signals (CSI-RSs) during the DRX inactive time.
Rungta ‘516 teaches, further configured to cause the network node to transmit, responsive to the indication, semi-persistent channel state information reference signals (CSI-RSs) during the DRX inactive time ([0028], [0063], [0069] and Figs. 3-4, base station configured to transmit semi-persistent CSI RS to the terminal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Li ‘226 by incorporating the teaching of Rungta ‘516, since such modification would provide improved methods/systems supporting channel measurement techniques in discontinuous reception (DRX) scenarios, as suggested by Rungta ‘516([0005]).
Regarding claim 33, Li ‘226 teaches all claim limitations above except, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to transmit information that identifies a pattern of reference signal occasions during the DRX inactive time.
Rungta ‘516 teaches, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to transmit information that identifies a pattern of reference signal occasions during the DRX inactive time ([0028], [0063], [0069] and Figs. 3-4, base station transmitting periodicity of CSI-RS to UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Li ‘226 by incorporating the teaching of Rungta ‘516, since such modification would provide improved methods/systems supporting channel measurement techniques in discontinuous reception (DRX) scenarios, as suggested by Rungta ‘516([0005]).
Regarding claims 35, Li ‘226 teaches all claim limitations above except, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to transmit a reference signal during a DRX inactive time for use by the UE in at least one of beam management, radio link monitoring, or beam failure detection.
Rungta ‘516 teaches, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to transmit a reference signal during a DRX inactive time for use by the UE in at least one of beam management, radio link monitoring, or beam failure detection ([0028], [0063], [0069] and Figs. 3-4, UE being configured to receive CSI-RS from a base station for radio link monitoring).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Li ‘226 by incorporating the teaching of Rungta ‘516, since such modification would provide improved methods/systems supporting channel measurement techniques in discontinuous reception (DRX) scenarios, as suggested by Rungta ‘516([0005]).
Regarding claims 38 and 40, Li ‘226 teaches all claim limitations above except, wherein the one or more reference signals correspond to at least one of: radio link monitoring or beam failure detection.
Rungta ‘516 teaches, wherein the one or more reference signals correspond to at least one of: radio link monitoring or beam failure detection ([0028], [0063], [0069] and Figs. 3-4, UE being configured to receive CSI-RS from a base station for radio link monitoring).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Li ‘226 by incorporating the teaching of Rungta ‘516, since such modification would provide improved methods/systems supporting channel measurement techniques in discontinuous reception (DRX) scenarios, as suggested by Rungta ‘516([0005]).
Internet Communications
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, which can be found: http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; or (3) EFS WEB. Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
/AWET HAILE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474