DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s remarks received on 06/15/2026 with respect to the amended independent claims have been acknowledged and are moot in view of a new ground of rejection necessitated by the corresponding amendment. Currently claims 1-20 are rejected.
Response to Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1, 2, 7, 8, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia et al (US Pub: 2013/0294689) and in further view of Deselaers et al (US Pub: 2015/0169204) and Yoneda (US Pub: 2020/0051223).
Regarding claim 1 (currently amended), Jia et al teaches: A method for utilizing a gain map to manage edits to different versions of an image, the method comprising, at a computing device: accessing an enhanced image that includes a high dynamic range (HDR) image and the gain map [p0004 (Luminance ratio functions as a gain map.)]; extracting the HDR image and the gain map from the enhanced image [p0076]; generating a standard dynamic range (SDR) image using the HDR image and the gain map [p0029, p0091 (TM based image is SDR image.)]; generating a second gain map by comparing the HDR image against the SDR image or vice- versa [fig. 3A: 306, p0087]; and embedding the second gain map into the HDR image or the SDR image [p0096, p0101].
Jia et al does not disclose receiving modification instruction. In the same field of endeavor, Deselaers et al teaches: receiving and applying first modification instructions against the HDR image [fig. 2].
Jia et al renders both TM base and reconstructed HDR in one process. Because TM base is derived from HDR, when HDR is modified, TM base changes correspondingly. Therefore, given Deselaers et al’s prescription on receiving instruction on adjusting HDR image, the combined teaching of Jia et al and Deselaers et al would have made the following obvious to a skilled in the art: generating second modification instructions based on at least the first modification instructions; applying the second modification instructions to the SDR image.
Deselaers in view of Jia et al does not generate second modification instruction based on comparison of HDR and SDR image. In the same field of endeavor, Yoneda teaches: performing a comparison of the HDR image and the SDR image, generating second modification instructions using the first modification instruction and a result of the comparison [p0057, p0061, p0063, p0066, p0068]. Jia et al supplies actual HDR/SDR comparison and computes luminance ratios by dividing HDR values by corresponding TM image luminance value [p0087]. Yoneda teaches using HDR/SDR difference to readjust the pre-existing modification parameter into a second modification parameter and applying it in other dynamic range mode. Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of all to use Jia et al’s HDR/TM comparison in performing Yoneda’s readjustment to allow modification made to HDR image to be represented in corresponding SDR/TM image for maintaining consistency between two dynamic range version.
Regarding claim 2 (currently amended), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Jia et al further teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein embedding the second gain map into the HDR image includes storing meta indicative of the second gain map in the HDR image [p0004].
Claim 7 (currently amended) has been analyzed and rejected with regard to claim 1 and in accordance with Jia et al’s further teaching on: A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium configured to store instructions that, when executed by at least one processor included in a computing device, cause the computing device to utilize a gain map to manage edits to different versions of an image, by carrying out steps [p0108].
Regarding claim 8 (currently amended), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 7 has been incorporated herein. Claim 8 has been analyzed and rejected in regard to claim 2.
Claim 14 (currently amended) has been analyzed and rejected with regard to claim 1 and in accordance with Jia et al’s further teaching on: A computing device configured to utilize a gain map to manage edits to different versions of an image, the computing device comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the computing device to carry out steps [p0103].
Regarding claim 15 (currently amended), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 14 was incorporated herein. Claim 15 has been analyzed and rejected in regard to claim 2.
5. Claims 3, 9, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia et al (US Pub: 2013/0294689), Deselaers et al (US Pub: 2015/0169204), and Yoneda (US Pub: 2020/0051223); and in further view of Pahalawatta et al (US Pub: 2011/0164113).
Regarding claim 3 (previously presented), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Jia et al in view of Deselaers et al does not specify interleaving a pixel between two pixels. In the same field of endeavor, Pahalawatta et al further teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein embedding the second gain map into the HDR image includes interleaving a given pixel of the second gain map between two pixels of the HDR image [p0020, p0054]. Therefore, given Pahalawatta et al’s prescription on embedding two image data sets into one frame by pixel interleaving, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of all to use Pahalawatta et al’s interleaving to Jia et al’s pixel luminance ratio data in image raster as a package mechanism to simplify decoding path with improved compatibility.
Regarding claim 9 (previously presented), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 7 has been incorporated herein. Claim 9 has been analyzed and rejected in regard to claim 3.
Regarding claim 16 (previously presented), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 14 was incorporated herein. Claim 16 has been analyzed and rejected in regard to claim 3.
6. Claims 4, 10, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia et al (US Pub: 2013/0294689), Deselaers et al (US Pub: 2015/0169204), and Yoneda (US Pub: 2020/0051223); and in further view of Kainz et al (Nvidia Developer: GPU Gems, September, 2027).
Regarding claim 4 (previously presented), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Jia et al in view of Deselaers et al does not disclose embedding a pixel as an additional channel. In the same field of endeavor, Kainz et al teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein embedding the second gain map into the HDR image includes embedding a particular pixel of the second gain map into a corresponding pixel of the HDR image as an additional channel of the corresponding pixel [26.2.2]. Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of all to store gain value as additional channel a the same pixel coordinate for proper alignment and avoiding registration errors.
Regarding claim 10 (previously presented), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 7 was incorporated herein. Claim 10 has been analyzed and rejected in regard to claim 4.
Regarding claim 17 (previously presented), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 14 was incorporated herein. Claim 17 has been analyzed and rejected in regard to claim 4.
7. Claims 5, 11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia et al (US Pub: 2013/0294689), Deselaers et al (US Pub: 2015/0169204), and Yoneda (US Pub: 2020/0051223); and in further view of Shunock et al (US Pub: 2014/0236720).
Regarding claim 5 (previously presented), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Jia et al in view of Deselaers et al does not disclose applying a markup to an image. In the same field of endeavor, Shunock et al teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein applying the first modification instructions against the HDR image includes applying a markup to the HDR image [abstract]. Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of all to apply a markup such as annotation or label to HDR image as editing instruction per design choice.
Regarding claim 11 (previously presented), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 7 was incorporated herein. Claim 11 has been analyzed and rejected in regard to claim 5.
Regarding claim 18 (previously presented), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 14 was incorporated herein. Claim 18 has been analyzed and rejected in regard to claim 5.
8. Claims 6, 12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia et al (US Pub: 2013/0294689), Deselaers et al (US Pub: 2015/0169204), and Yoneda (US Pub: 2020/0051223); and in further view of Albouze et al (US Pub: 2013/0239051).
Regarding claim 6 (previously presented), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Jia et al in view of Deselaers et al does not disclose applying a filter to an image. In the same field of endeavor, Albouze et al teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein applying the first modification instructions against the HDR image includes applying a filter to the HDR image [p0010]. Therefore, given Albouze et al’s prescription on applying filter to an image, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of all to instruct filter application to HDR image for effectively controlling the output.
Regarding claim 12 (previously presented), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 7 was incorporated herein. Claim 12 has been analyzed and rejected in regard to claim 6.
Regarding claim 19 (previously presented), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 14 was incorporated herein. Claim 19 has been analyzed and rejected in regard to claim 6.
9. Claims 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia et al (US Pub: 2013/0294689), Deselaers et al (US Pub: 2015/0169204), and Yoneda (US Pub: 2020/0051223); and in further view of Kadu et al (US Pub: 2018/0007356).
Regarding claim 13 (previously presented), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 7 has been incorporated herein. Jia et al in view of Deselaers et al does not adjust instruction based on difference between HDR and SDR. In the same field of endeavor, Kadu et al teaches: The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 7, wherein generating the second modification instructions includes adjusting the first modification instructions based on differences between the HDR image and the SDR image [abstract, p0105]. Therefore, given Kadu et al’s teaching on modified forward reshaping function, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of all to adjust instruction based on difference between HDR and SDR to generate a new curve to reduce artifacts due to trim process.
Regarding claim 20 (previously presented), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 14 was incorporated herein. Claim 20 has been analyzed and rejected in regard to claim 13.
Conclusion
10. There is a new ground of rejection necessitated by the corresponding amendment presented in this Office Action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP 706.07(a).
Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
Contact
/Fan Zhang/
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2682