DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/3/23, 5/13/24, and 7/22/25 were filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 11/3/23. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2008/0199755 A1 (US’755) in view of US 2018/0366754 A1 (US’754).
As to Claim 1:
US’755 discloses an ionomer (solid ionically conductive polymer) comprising a compound (polymer) containing repeat units of a quaternary ammonium and configured for ionic conduction, wherein the polymer may conduct by anionic conduction and may be formed from polymerization of a dienyl quaternary ammonium monomer; the monomer comprises a group of sub-formula (I) or preferably sub-formula (II), where R¹ is hydrogen or hydrocarbyl, Z is an anion of charge m, and X², X³, Y², and Y³ are independently selected from hydrogen and fluorine (US’755, [0006], [0010]–[0018]). US’755 further discloses that the polymer may be produced by cyclopolymerization of the starting material under UV radiation, thermal radiation, chemical initiators, or electron beam initiation (US’755, [0023]–[0026]).
US’755 discloses units where the substituent R¹ (equivalent to R₁ and R₃ of the present application) is a hydrocarbyl group, including alkyl groups, and further discloses that Zᵐ⁻ may be a halide ion, triflate, PF₆⁻, HSO₄⁻, H₂PO₄⁻, BF₄⁻, NO₃⁻, or a carboxylic acid ester, including a carboxylic acid ester having an alkyl or per-fluorinated alkyl group of greater than five carbon atoms, most preferably octanoate or per-fluoro octanoate (US’755, [0012], [0018], [0027]–[0028], [0037]). US’755 further discloses that R⁶ or R⁶′ may comprise an optionally substituted hydrocarbyl group, a perhaloalkyl group, or a perfluoroalkyl group, and identifies bridging groups including alkylene and fluorinated alkylene-type groups, including polytetrafluoroethylene and polyvinylidenefluoride repeat-unit structures (US’755, [0040]–[0048], [0051]–[0053]). Accordingly, US’755 discloses crosslinked units (m units) where the rings are linked by a bridging group R⁶ (equivalent to R₂ of the present application) which is defined as an alkylene or perfluorinated alkylene chain (US’755, [0040]–[0048], [0051]–[0053]).
However, US’755 does not explicitly disclose that the counterion (anion) associated with the quaternary ammonium site is a hydroxide (OH⁻) ion. US’755 instead identifies anions such as PF₆⁻, BF₄⁻, NO₃⁻, and triflate (US’755, [0037]).
US’754 teaches an electrolyte membrane for fuel cells comprising a structural unit containing a cyclic quaternary ammonium salt (US’754, [0001]–[0011], [0024]–[0027]). Specifically, US’754 discloses that the graft chain has a structural unit containing a cyclic quaternary ammonium salt, and that the structural unit containing a cyclic quaternary ammonium salt may be a structural unit represented by formula (1), where R¹ to R⁴ are each independently a hydrogen atom or an alkyl group having 1 to 8 carbon atoms, and X¹⁻ is a halide ion, a hydroxide ion, or an anion of an organic or inorganic acid (US’754, [0024]–[0026], [0033]–[0035]).
US’754 further discloses that examples of functional groups having anion-exchange ability include quaternary ammonium groups and quaternary ammonium salt groups, and that the graft chain preferably has a structural unit containing a cyclic quaternary ammonium salt, including a structural unit derived from diallyldimethylammonium chloride (DADMAC) (US’754, [0043], [0054]–[0057]). US’754 also discloses that, for electrolyte membranes, the counter anion of the quaternary ammonium group may be exchanged where necessary, and X¹⁻ and X²⁻ may each independently be a halide ion, a hydroxide ion, or an anion of an organic or inorganic acid, with hydroxide ion being preferred when the electrolyte membrane is used (US’754, [0059]).
US’755 and US’754 are analogous arts because both are directed to the same technical field of solid ionically conductive polymers and electrolyte membranes for use in energy devices such as fuel cells. US’755 expressly relates to solid ionically conductive polymers, structures, and fuel cells incorporating the same (US’755, [0002]), and US’754 expressly relates to electrolyte membranes, methods for producing the same, and membrane-electrode assemblies for fuel cells that include the electrolyte membrane (US’754, [0001]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to utilize the hydroxide counterion for anion exchange as taught by US’754 in the cyclopolymerized diallylamine-based backbone taught by US’755. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine these teachings to produce a high-performance anion exchange membrane for fuel cells, as US’754 explicitly identifies the hydroxide form of the cyclic quaternary ammonium salt as suitable for use when the electrolyte membrane is used and teaches that the conducting ionic species in the electrolyte membrane is a hydroxide ion, while US’755 teaches solid ionically conductive polymers having repeat units of quaternary ammonium and conducting by anionic conduction (US’754, [0041], [0059]; US’755, [0006], [0010]). The resulting combination would yield the ionomer comprising the compound of Formula 1 as claimed.
As to Claim 6:
US'755 discloses an ionomer (solid ionically conductive polymer) (US'755, [0002], [0005]–[0007]); and the use of said ionomer in an ionically conductive membrane for a fuel cell, including a structure of the solid ionically conductive polymer disposed between an anode and a cathode, where the fuel cell may further comprise a first catalyst material contacting a first side of the structure and a second catalyst material contacting a second side of the structure (US'755, [0057]–[0070]).
However, US'755 does not explicitly disclose the physical configuration of a membrane electrode assembly (MEA) comprising a cathode electrode, an anode electrode positioned opposite to the cathode electrode, and an electrolyte membrane positioned between the cathode electrode and the anode electrode.
US'754 teaches a membrane-electrode assembly for fuel cells (US'754, [0001], [0011], [0017]–[0019], [0027]). This assembly is explicitly configured with an electrolyte membrane positioned between electrodes (anode and cathode) to facilitate ion exchange and power generation (US'754, [0017]–[0019], [0027]). US'754 further specifies that the electrolyte membrane in this assembly configuration comprises an ionomer having structural units with cyclic quaternary ammonium salts, including a graft chain having a structural unit containing a cyclic quaternary ammonium salt represented by formula (1), wherein X¹⁻ may be a halide ion, a hydroxide ion (OH⁻), or an anion of an organic or inorganic acid (US'754, [0024]–[0027], [0054]–[0059]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the ionomer taught by US'755 into the membrane electrode assembly (MEA) configuration taught by US'754. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine these teachings because US'754 demonstrates that arranging an electrolyte membrane between opposing cathode and anode electrodes is a standard and necessary architecture for utilizing such ionomers in functional fuel cells, thereby achieving the desired electrochemical performance taught in both references (US'755, [0005]–[0007], [0057]–[0070]; US'754, [0001], [0011], [0016]–[0019], [0024]–[0027], [0054]–[0059]).
As to Claim 8:
US'755 discloses a fuel cell comprising a solid ionically conductive polymer (ionomer) and an ionically conductive membrane; where the ionomer comprises a compound containing a saturated nitrogen-containing heterocyclic ring structure (pyrrolidinium ring) formed by the cyclopolymerization of diallyl quaternary ammonium monomers (US'755, [0002], [0005]–[0007], [0010]–[0018], [0057]–[0070]).
However, US'755 does not explicitly disclose the specific internal configuration of a membrane electrode assembly (MEA) as defined in Claim 6 (comprising a cathode, an anode, and the membrane) or the hydroxide (OH⁻) counterion for the cyclic ammonium site.
US'754 teaches a fuel cell comprising a membrane-electrode assembly (MEA) for electrochemical power generation (US'754, [0001], [0011], [0017]–[0019], [0027]). US'754 further discloses that the membrane-electrode assembly consists of an electrolyte membrane and that the structural unit of said membrane is a cyclic quaternary ammonium salt consisting of a saturated 5-membered nitrogen ring associated with a hydroxide (OH⁻) counterion (US'754, [0024]–[0027], [0054]–[0059]). US'754 also describes the assembly configuration where the electrolyte membrane is positioned between electrodes to facilitate ion conduction (US'754, [0017]–[0019], [0027]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the cyclopolymerized ionomer taught by US'755 into the membrane electrode assembly (MEA) and fuel cell architecture taught by US'754, and to utilize the hydroxide counterion for the cyclic ammonium site as taught by US'754. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine these teachings to arrive at a functional fuel cell as claimed, as US'754 provides the standard device architecture and anion-exchange chemistry required to utilize the ionically conductive polymers of US'755 for their intended purpose in an electrochemical system (US'755, [0005]–[0007], [0010]–[0018], [0057]–[0070]; US'754, [0001], [0011], [0016]–[0019], [0024]–[0027], [0054]–[0059]).
Claims 2 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2008/0199755 A1 (US’755) in view of US 2018/0366754 A1 (US’754), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of JP 2009143975 A (JP'975).
As to Claim 2:
US'755 discloses an ionomer (solid ionically conductive polymer) (US'755, [0005]–[0007]); comprising a compound (polymer) containing a saturated nitrogen-containing heterocyclic ring structure (pyrrolidinium ring) formed by the cyclopolymerization of dienyl quaternary ammonium monomers (US'755, [0010]–[0018]); units where the substituent R¹ (equivalent to R₁ and R₃ of the present application) is a hydrocarbyl group or a perfluorinated alkyl group (US'755, [0011]–[0018], [0027]–[0028], [0037]); and crosslinked units (m units) where the rings are linked by a bridging group R⁶ (equivalent to R₂ of the present application) which is defined as an alkylene or perfluorinated alkylene chain (US'755, [0040]–[0048], [0051]–[0053]).
However, US'755 does not explicitly disclose that the counterion associated with the quaternary ammonium site is a hydroxide (OH⁻) ion, nor does it explicitly disclose that the molecular weight of the repeating unit of the compound is 150 to 667.
US'754 teaches an electrolyte membrane for fuel cells where the structural unit is a cyclic quaternary ammonium salt (saturated 5-membered ring) and specifically identifies the counterion (X¹⁻) as a hydroxide (OH⁻) ion (US'754, [0001]–[0002], [0024]–[0027], [0056]–[0059]). JP'975 teaches a crosslinked polymer electrolyte having a saturated 5-membered cyclic quaternary ammonium salt structure. JP'975 explicitly discloses specific substituents for this ring structure, including alkyl groups having 1 to 10 carbon atoms. Selecting a repeating unit with these substituents (for example, alkyl chains within the C₁–C₁₀ range as taught by JP'975) inherently results in a repeating unit molecular weight that falls within the claimed range of 150 to 667 (JP'975, pp. 3–6, 14–15).
The primary reference US'755 and the secondary references US'754 and JP'975 are analogous arts because they are each directed to the development of ionically conductive polymers and solid electrolyte membranes for fuel cells, and they all utilize identical cyclic quaternary ammonium building blocks to achieve high heat resistance and electrochemical stability; US'754, [0001]; JP'975, Abstract (US'755, [0002], [0005]–[0006]; US'754, [0001]–[0002]; JP'975, Abstract, pp. 1–2).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to utilize the hydroxide counterion for anion exchange as taught by US'754 in the cyclopolymerized backbone taught by US'755, and further to optimize the molecular weight of the repeating unit within the range of 150 to 667 by selecting substituents as taught by JP'975. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to select these specific molecular weights through the routine selection of known starting monomers and alkyl substituents to tailor the mechanical properties, solubility, and ion exchange capacity of the electrolyte membrane for practical use in fuel cells or water electrolysis devices (US'755, [0005]–[0010], [0027]–[0028], [0046]–[0048]; US'754, [0001]–[0002], [0024]–[0027], [0056]–[0059]; JP'975, pp. 3–6, 14–15).
As to Claim 4:
US'755 discloses an ionomer (solid ionically conductive polymer) (US'755, [0005]–[0007]); comprising a compound (polymer) containing a saturated nitrogen-containing heterocyclic ring structure (pyrrolidinium ring) formed by the cyclopolymerization of diallyl quaternary ammonium starting materials (US'755, [0010]–[0018], [0023]–[0026]); and crosslinked units (m units) where the rings are linked by a bridging group R⁶ (equivalent to R₂ of the present application) which is defined as an alkylene or perfluorinated alkylene chain (US'755, [0040]–[0048], [0051]–[0053]).
However, US'755 does not explicitly disclose the hydroxide (OH⁻) counterion or the specific ratio range of 0 to 1 for the crosslinked (m) and non-crosslinked (n) units.
US'754 teaches an electrolyte membrane for fuel cells where the structural unit is a cyclic quaternary ammonium salt (saturated 5-membered ring) and specifically identifies the counterion (X¹⁻) as a hydroxide (OH⁻) ion (US'754, [0001]–[0002], [0024]–[0027], [0056]–[0059]). JP'975 teaches a crosslinked polymer electrolyte comprising an OH-type quaternary ammonium salt structure in a saturated 5-membered ring. JP'975 explicitly discloses that the molar ratio of non-crosslinked units to crosslinked units in such a polymer can be adjusted in ranges such as 95:5 to 70:30. Applying the ratio teachings of JP'975 (molar ratio of non-crosslinked to crosslinked units of 95:5 to 70:30) results in a ratio of crosslinked (m) to non-crosslinked (n) units of approximately 0.05 to 0.43, which falls within the claimed ratio range of 0 to 1 (JP'975, Abstract, pp. 3–6, 10–12, 14–15).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to utilize the hydroxide counterion for anion exchange as taught by US'754 in the cyclopolymerized diallylamine-based backbone taught by US'755, and further to optimize the ratio of crosslinked (m) to non-crosslinked (n) repeating units within the range of 0 to 1 as taught by the molar ratios in JP'975. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to arrive at this specific ratio through routine optimization to balance the mechanical strength and water insolubility provided by crosslinking against the desired ion exchange capacity and conductivity required for the specific fuel cell or water electrolysis application, utilizing performance ranges already recognized in the art for similar crosslinked cyclic quaternary ammonium polymers (US'755, [0005]–[0007], [0057]–[0061]; US'754, [0001]–[0002], [0016], [0037]–[0039], [0056]–[0059]; JP'975, pp. 6–12).
As to Claim 5:
US'755 discloses an ionomer (solid ionically conductive polymer) (US'755, [0005]–[0007]); comprising a compound (polymer) containing a saturated nitrogen-containing heterocyclic ring structure (pyrrolidinium ring) formed by the cyclopolymerization of diallyl quaternary ammonium starting materials (US'755, [0010]–[0018], [0023]–[0026]); units where the substituent R¹ (equivalent to R₁ and R₃ of the present application) is a hydrocarbyl group or a perfluorinated alkyl group (US'755, [0011]–[0018], [0027]–[0028], [0037]); and crosslinked units (m units) where the rings are linked by a bridging group R⁶ (equivalent to R₂ of the present application) which is defined as an alkylene or perfluorinated alkylene chain (US'755, [0040]–[0048], [0051]–[0053]).
However, US'755 does not explicitly disclose the hydroxide (OH⁻) counterion or the specific limitation wherein the variable x (representing the number of carbon atoms in the alkyl, fluoroalkyl, or alkylene chains) is an integer from 0 to 20.
US'754 teaches an electrolyte membrane for fuel cells where the structural unit is a cyclic quaternary ammonium salt (saturated 5-membered ring) and specifically identifies the counterion (X¹⁻) as a hydroxide (OH⁻) ion (US'754, [0001]–[0002], [0024]–[0027], [0056]–[0059]). JP'975 teaches a crosslinked polymer electrolyte having a saturated 5-membered cyclic quaternary ammonium salt structure. JP'975 explicitly discloses that the substituents on the ring structure (corresponding to R₁, R₃ and the R₂ bridge) can represent alkyl groups having 1 to 10 carbon atoms. The selection of an alkyl chain length where x is 0 to 9 (corresponding to the C₁–C₁₀ chains of JP'975) falls within the claimed integer range of 0 to 20 (JP'975, pp. 3–5, 14–15).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to utilize the hydroxide counterion for anion exchange as taught by US'754 in the cyclopolymerized diallylamine-based backbone taught by US'755, and further to select the length of the alkyl or alkylene chains (represented by the variable x) within the range of 0 to 20 as taught by the C₁–C₁₀ alkyl substituent range in JP'975. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to arrive at this integer range through routine optimization of the ionomer's physical properties, such as hydrophobicity and mechanical stability, by selecting known alkyl chain lengths already recognized in the prior art for use in similar electrochemical environments (US'755, [0005]–[0011], [0027]–[0028], [0046]–[0048], [0051]–[0053]; US'754, [0016], [0024]–[0027], [0056]–[0059]; JP'975, pp. 3–6, 14–15).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2008/0199755 A1 (US’755) in view of US 2018/0366754 A1 (US’754), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of CN 103408443 B (CN’443).
As to Claim 3:
US'755 discloses an ionomer (solid ionically conductive polymer) (US'755, [0002], [0005]–[0007]); comprising a compound (polymer) containing a saturated nitrogen-containing heterocyclic ring structure (pyrrolidinium ring) formed by the cyclopolymerization of diallyl quaternary ammonium starting materials (US'755, [0010]–[0018], [0023]–[0026]); units where the substituents R¹ and R² (equivalent to R₁ and R₃ of the present application) are independently selected from hydrocarbyl groups and perfluorinated alkyl groups (US'755, [0011]–[0018], [0027]–[0028], [0037]); and crosslinked units (m units) where the rings are linked by a bridging group R⁶ (equivalent to R₂ of the present application) which can be a perfluorinated alkylene chain (US'755, [0040]–[0048], [0051]–[0053]).
However, US'755 does not explicitly disclose the hydroxide (OH⁻) counterion or the specific limitation wherein the fluorine atom content of the compound is 0 to 67 F%.
US'754 teaches an electrolyte membrane for fuel cells where the structural unit is a cyclic quaternary ammonium salt (saturated 5-membered ring) and specifically identifies the counterion (X¹⁻) as a hydroxide (OH⁻) ion (US'754, [0001], [0024]–[0027], [0056]–[0059]). CN'443 teaches a propylamine water-soluble polymer modified with fluorine-containing diene monomers. Specifically, CN'443 teaches the intentional incorporation of fluorine-containing units into the cyclic amine backbone to improve thermal stability and adjust hydrophobic association. Given the teachings of US'755 to use perfluorinated alkyl and alkylene groups as substituents and the teachings of CN'443 to utilize fluorine modification for stability, the selection of a fluorine content within the range of 0 to 67 F% is a result of utilizing the fluorine-containing substituents already recognized in the art for these specific cyclic polymers (US'754, [0024]–[0027], [0056]–[0059]; CN'443, [0001]–[0004], [0008]–[0017], [0027]–[0031], [0047]–[0057]).
The primary reference US'755 and the secondary references US'754 and CN'443 are analogous arts because they are each directed to the technical field of manufacturing ionically conductive polymers and electrolyte membranes for energy conversion devices, and they all utilize identical saturated nitrogen-containing cyclic chemistries to achieve necessary durability and ion conduction (US'755, [0002]; US'754, [0001]; CN'443, Abstract, [0001]–[0004]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to utilize the hydroxide counterion for anion exchange as taught by US'754 in the cyclopolymerized diallylamine-based backbone taught by US'755, and further to adjust the fluorine atom content of the compound within the range of 0 to 67 F% as suggested by the fluorine modification taught in CN'443. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to arrive at this specific fluorine content through routine optimization of the ionomer's hydrophobic properties and alkaline stability, utilizing the perfluorinated substituents and modification techniques already recognized in the art for similar cyclopolymerized quaternary ammonium systems to tailor the membrane for high-performance fuel cell or water electrolysis applications (US'755, [0005]–[0011], [0037], [0051]–[0053]; US'754, [0016], [0024]–[0027], [0056]–[0059]; CN'443, [0002]–[0004], [0008]–[0017], [0027]–[0031], [0047]–[0057]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2008/0199755 A1 (US '755) in view of US 2018/0366754 A1 (US '754), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of JPWO2017022775 A1 (JP’775).
As to Claim 7:
US'755 discloses an ionomer (solid ionically conductive polymer) (US'755, [0002], [0005]–[0007]); comprising a compound (polymer) containing a saturated nitrogen-containing heterocyclic ring structure (pyrrolidinium ring) formed by the cyclopolymerization of diallyl quaternary ammonium starting materials (US'755, [0010]–[0018], [0023]–[0026]); and an ionically conductive membrane comprising said ionomer (US'755, [0057]–[0061], [0069]–[0070]; claims 23–28, 35–36).
However, US'755 does not explicitly disclose the hydroxide (OH⁻) counterion, the specific arrangement of a membrane electrode assembly (MEA) as defined in Claim 6, or the application of the MEA in a water electrolysis device.
US'754 teaches a membrane-electrode assembly (MEA) for electrochemical power generation wherein an electrolyte membrane is positioned between electrodes (US'754, [0001], [0011], [0016]–[0019], [0027]). US'754 further discloses that the structural unit of the electrolyte membrane is a cyclic quaternary ammonium salt consisting of a saturated 5-membered nitrogen ring associated with a hydroxide (OH⁻) counterion (US'754, [0024]–[0027], [0056]–[0059]). JP'775 teaches an anion exchanger, catalyst electrode layer, and a membrane-electrode assembly (JP'775, Abstract, pp. 1, 8–10, 17–18). JP'775 explicitly teaches that such a membrane-electrode assembly is utilized in an anion exchange membrane water electrolysis device (JP'775, pp. 17–18).
The primary reference US'755 and the secondary references US'754 and JP'775 are analogous arts because they are each directed to the technical field of manufacturing ion-conductive polymers and electrolyte membranes for electrochemical energy devices, such as fuel cells and electrolyzers, and they utilize similar quaternized cyclic amine chemistry to facilitate ion exchange; US'754, [0001]; JP'775, Abstract (US'755, [0002]; US'754, [0001], [0011], [0016]–[0019], [0027]; JP'775, Abstract, pp. 1–2, 17–18).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to utilize the hydroxide counterion and membrane electrode assembly (MEA) configuration as taught by US'754 in combination with the cyclopolymerized backbone of US'755, and further to apply the resulting MEA to a water electrolysis device as taught by JP'775. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine these teachings because JP'775 demonstrates that anion exchange membranes and MEAs based on quaternized cyclic polymers are suitable and interchangeable components for both fuel cells and water electrolysis systems, and utilizing the specific saturated backbone of US'755 would predictably provide the durability required for the electrochemical environment of a water electrolysis device (US'755, [0005]–[0007], [0057]–[0061], [0069]–[0070]; US'754, [0001], [0011], [0016]–[0019], [0024]–[0027], [0056]–[0059]; JP'775, Abstract, pp. 1, 3–5, 8–11, 17–18).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20070178348 A1 discloses a fuel cell comprises membrane/electrode assembly (4) with anode, cathode, and polymer electrolyte membrane (1) between the anode and cathode.
/JIMMY VO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1723
/JIMMY VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723