DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 5, 2026 have been fully considered.
The foreign priority is acknowledged with a certified copy being filed January 28, 2025.
The applicant argues that Shi does not disclose or teach that the pair of velocity enhancing openings are horizontally offset from each other. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Figures 6 and 7a show instances of (16) which are mapped to the velocity enhancing openings as offset in the left/right direction. The left/right direction in these figures can be reasonably interpreted as the horizontal direction.
The rejection is therefore substantially maintained with the only changes to the rejection being to address the amended limitation. Therefore, the rejections are final and the changes are necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shi et al. (CN207882840) hereinafter Shi.
An English translation of Shi with paragraph numbers is provided.
Regarding claim 1, Shi discloses:
A liquid cooling pump unit {[0007]}, comprising:
a water block unit {see description of elements below} comprising,
a water block set {Figures 2 and 7B (3)}, and
a flow plate, assembled to and in fluid communication with the water block set {Figures 2, 6, 7A, and 7B (5) is in fluid communication with (3) via heat exchange chamber (8); [0031]}, and
a pump unit {see description of elements below}comprising,
a chamber body, mounted to and in fluid communication with the water block unit {Figure 7A (2) and (4) are in communication with the water block unit [0031]},
the chamber body comprising a chamber bottom {Figures 6 and 7A, the chamber body comprises a chamber bottom (4) and the portion of (2) that connects (4) to the rest of (2)}
having a chamber side {Figure 6, the chamber side is the upper side that faces pump chamber (7)} comprising
pair of velocity enhancing openings {Figures 6and 7A, (4) on both sides has openings (16) since they go entirely through (4). The examiner finds that velocity enhancing openings and the corresponding last limitation of claim 1 to be a claimed function/property as discussed in MPEP 2112.01. The configuration of the openings are other components/features are substantially identical to the claimed openings and other components/features. The function/property of the openings being velocity enhancing are presumed inherent as discussed in MPEP 2112.01. It is noted that [0039]-[0040] of the instant application describes how the pair of openings are velocity enhancing based on the increased turbulence of the two separate flow origins. The configuration of the openings of Shi would behave in an identical manner. It is noted by the examiner that the velocity enhancing openings are not disclosed as performing their function via specific dimensional relationships or converging geometries}, and
a block cover side opposite the chamber side {Figure 6, the block cover side is the lower side that faces towards the heat exchanger chamber (8)},
a liquid flow wall section {Annotated Figure 1 (I)} having:
an inlet port and an outlet port {Figure 2 (10) connected to the inlet and (11) is connected to the outlet},
an opposing wall section {Annotated Figure 1 (II)}, and
a pair of side wall sections {Annotated Figure 1 (III)},
each of the pair of side wall sections is between the liquid flow wall section and the opposing wall section on opposite edges of the liquid flow wall section and the opposing wall section, respectively {Annotated Figure 1, both instances of (III) are between (I) and (II); the instances of (III) are on opposite edges of the liquid flow wall and opposing wall sections},
the liquid flow wall section, the opposing wall section, and the pair of side wall sections extend vertically from the chamber side {Annotated Figure 1, (I), (II), and (III) extend vertically from (4) and portion of (2) that connects to (4) which forms the chamber side described above}, and
a rotor assembly unit, mounted to and in fluid communication with the chamber body {Figures 2 and 6, (9) is in fluid communication with the chamber body defined by (2) and (4)},
wherein the block cover side is mounted to the water block set and the flow plate is between the chamber body and water block set {Figure 6, the block cover side which is the portion of (4) which faces (8) indirectly mounted to the water block set (3) via (2). The flow plate (5) is between (2)/(4) and (3) as shown in Figures 2 and 7B},
wherein the inlet port is configured for a working fluid to flow to the chamber body and the outlet port is configured for the working fluid to flow out of the chamber body {Figure 2, (10) and the corresponding inlet port in (2) are configured for working fluid to enter the chamber body; (11) and the corresponding outlet port in (2) are configured for working fluid to exit the chamber body [0031]},
wherein the rotor assembly unit is configured to increase a pressure and a flow of the working fluid flowing through the water block unit {Figure 2 (9) is an impeller which by definition and the implicit understanding of the functionality of an impeller, increases the pressure and increases the flow rate of the working fluid; working fluid is delivered to the block; [0029]/[0031], see MPEP 2144.01}, and
wherein the pair of velocity enhancing openings is configured so that the working fluid flows from the rotor assembly unit to the water block unit via the pair of velocity enhancing openings and the flow plate {Figures 7A/7B, working fluid flows the rotor out through the pair of openings (16) then out through (18) of the flow plate (5) into the heat exchange chamber (8) of the water block unit (3); [0031]}, and
the pair of velocity enhancing openings being horizontally offset from each other and also configured to increase a velocity of the flow of working fluid to the water block unit {Figures 6 and 7a show instances of (16) which are mapped to the velocity enhancing openings as offset in the left/right direction. The examiner considers the left/right direction in these figures to be reasonably interpreted as the horizontal direction. Velocity enhancing openings are discussed earlier in the rejection with regard to the this function/property, for purposes of brevity please see above}.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi et al. (CN207882840) hereinafter Shi.
An English translation of Shi with paragraph numbers is provided.
Regarding claim 1, Shi discloses:
A liquid cooling pump unit {[0007]}, comprising:
a water block unit {see description of elements below} comprising,
a water block set {Figures 2 and 7B (3)}, and
a flow plate, assembled to and in fluid communication with the water block set {Figures 2, 6, 7A, and 7B (5) is in fluid communication with (3) via heat exchange chamber (8); [0031]}, and
a pump unit {see description of elements below}comprising,
a chamber body, mounted to and in fluid communication with the water block unit {Figure 7A (2) and (4) are in communication with the water block unit [0031]}
the chamber body comprising a chamber bottom {Figures 6 and 7A, the chamber body comprises a chamber bottom (4) and the portion of (2) that connects (4) to the rest of (2)}
having a chamber side {Figure 6, the chamber side is the upper side that faces pump chamber (7)} comprising
pair of openings {Figures 6and 7A, (4) on both sides has openings (16) since they go entirely through (4). The examiner finds that velocity enhancing openings and the corresponding last limitation of claim 1 to be a claimed function/property as discussed in MPEP 2112.01. The configuration of the openings are other components/features are substantially identical to the claimed openings and other components/features. The function/property of the openings being velocity enhancing are presumed inherent as discussed in MPEP 2112.01. It is noted that [0039]-[0040] of the instant application describes how the pair of openings are velocity enhancing based on the increased turbulence of the two separate flow origins. The configuration of the openings of Shi would behave in an identical manner. It is noted by the examiner that the velocity enhancing openings are not disclosed as performing their function via specific dimensional relationships or converging geometries}, and
a block cover side opposite the chamber side {Figure 6, the block cover side is the lower side that faces towards the heat exchanger chamber (8)},
a liquid flow wall section {Annotated Figure 1 (I)} having:
an inlet port and an outlet port {Figure 2 (10) connected to the inlet and (11) is connected to the outlet},
an opposing wall section {Annotated Figure 1 (II)}, and
a pair of side wall sections {Annotated Figure 1 (III)},
each of the pair of side wall sections is between the liquid flow wall section and the opposing wall section on opposite edges of the liquid flow wall section and the opposing wall section, respectively {Annotated Figure 1, both instances of (III) are between (I) and (II); the instances of (III) are on opposite edges of the liquid flow wall and opposing wall sections},
the liquid flow wall section, the opposing wall section, and the pair of side wall sections extend vertically from the chamber side {Annotated Figure 1, (I), (II), and (III) extend vertically from (4) and portion of (2) that connects to (4) which forms the chamber side described above}, and
a rotor assembly unit, mounted to and in fluid communication with the chamber body {Figures 2 and 6, (9) is in fluid communication with the chamber body defined by (2) and (4)},
wherein the block cover side is mounted to the water block set and the flow plate is between the chamber body and water block set {Figure 6, the block cover side which is the portion of (4) which faces (8) indirectly mounted to the water block set (3) via (2). The flow plate (5) is between (2)/(4) and (3) as shown in Figures 2 and 7B},
wherein the inlet port is configured for a working fluid to flow to the chamber body and the outlet port is configured for the working fluid to flow out of the chamber body {Figure 2, (10) and the corresponding inlet port in (2) are configured for working fluid to enter the chamber body; (11) and the corresponding outlet port in (2) are configured for working fluid to exit the chamber body [0031]},
wherein the rotor assembly unit is configured to increase a pressure and a flow of the working fluid flowing through the water block unit {Figure 2 (9) is an impeller which by definition and the implicit understanding of the functionality of an impeller, increases the pressure and increases the flow rate of the working fluid; working fluid is delivered to the block; [0029]/[0031], see MPEP 2144.01}, and
wherein the pair of openings is configured so that the working fluid flows from the rotor assembly unit to the water block unit via the pair of openings and the flow plate {Figures 7A/7B, working fluid flows the rotor out through the pair of openings (16) then out through (18) of the flow plate (5) into the heat exchange chamber (8) of the water block unit (3); [0031]}
the pair of velocity enhancing openings being horizontally offset from each other {Figures 6 and 7a show instances of (16) which are mapped to the velocity enhancing openings as offset in the left/right direction. The examiner considers the left/right direction in these figures to be reasonably interpreted as the horizontal direction}.
Shi does not explicitly disclose that the pair of openings are velocity enhancing openings that are configured to increase a velocity of the flow of working fluid to the water block unit.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the openings of Shi be velocity enhancing openings which increase the velocity of the flow of working fluid which flows to the water block unit. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to perform and modifications necessary as increasing the velocity and/or turbulence increases the convective cooling properties of the flow in the heat exchanging chamber (8).
In addition, the examiner finds that openings being velocity enhancing openings that increase the velocity of the working fluid to be a function/property as discussed in MPEP 2112.01. The configuration of the openings are other components/features are substantially identical to the claimed openings and other components/features. The function/property of the openings being velocity enhancing are presumed inherent as discussed in MPEP 2112.01. It is noted that [0039]-[0040] of the instant application describes how the pair of openings are velocity enhancing based on the increased turbulence of the two separate flow origins. The configuration of the openings of Shi would behave in an identical manner. It is noted by the examiner that the velocity enhancing openings are not disclosed as performing their function via specific dimensional relationships or converging geometries.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The closest prior art is Shi. Shi discloses / teaches a pair of velocity enhancing openings in contrast to what is more common in the prior art where fluid is conveyed out of the impeller into a singular outlet. Fan (U.S Pre-Grant Publication 20220074429) has singular outlet (51) shown in Figure 15 and therefore would not teach the claim. Tsai (U.S Pre-Grant Publication 20160363967) also has a similar configuration shown by (8) in Figure 8. Lin et al. (U.S Pre-Grant Publication 20190053403) teaches a single outlet for the flow from the impeller as well via (301) and (401) shown in Figure 2B. Substantial changes regarding the flow path and associated structures would be required to meet the claim limitations in the configurations of these references besides Shi based on the lack of a pair of velocity enhancing openings. Therefore, the allowable subject matter of the claim limitations are discussed with regard to Shi.
Regarding claim 2, Shi does not disclose each of the pair of velocity enhancing openings being disposed adjacent to each of the pair of side wall sections, respectively. The velocity enhancing openings are rather adjacent to the liquid flow wall section and the opposing wall section. To satisfy the claim, the velocity enhancing openings would have to move 90 degrees around the rotational axis of the impeller. This modification would also impact the flow plate (5) of Shi including the openings (18) which correspond to the locations of the velocity enhancing openings. Additionally the passage (19) would thus need to be rotated. These changes would impact the flow path of the fluid towards the exit (14) and may require the outlet (11) to be positioned different. If the position of (11) were different it would not satisfy the limitations of claim 1 regarding the inlet and outlet being disposed on a singular wall (the liquid flow wall). There is insufficient evidence to suggest modifying Shi such that it satisfies the limitations of claim 2. Modifying the location of the velocity enhancing openings creates downstream consequences that impact the system such that the system is drastically altered in its original design including ramifications such that it may not meet the limitations of claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, Shi does not disclose the system as claimed. First, Shi does not disclose the particulars of the motor (6) including the configuration of the rotor, stator, and housing. Claim 6 has several limitations relating to the features not disclosed by Shi. Additionally, the claim requires a multi-functional flow plate. The multi-functional flow plate is claimed as requiring a pair of impeller inlet openings and a pair of impeller outlet openings. Shi discloses a similar feature in (4) as shown in Figure 7A which includes these features. As discussed in the rejection of claim 1, (4) of Shi is interpreted as the chamber bottom. The chamber bottom and multi-functional flow plate are claimed and disclosed by the instant application as two distinct features. It is therefore not proper to interpret (4) of Shi as both the chamber bottom and multi-functional flow plate. Additionally, it is noted that (5) of Shi is interpreted as the flow plate, so a change in interpretation would not be able to meet the limitations of claim 6. There is insufficient evidence in the art to suggest having a chamber bottom with the claimed openings as recited in claim 1 with a multi-functional flow plate as claimed. Modifications to the configuration of the chamber bottom of Shi would impact the flow path in through the system.
Regarding claim 9, Shi does not disclose the partition as claimed. In particular the claimed partition is disposed vertically on the chamber side which is the side facing the chamber of the chamber bottom. The chamber bottom of Shi is largely defined by (4). As seen in Figure 7A in Shi, (4) has a passage/groove leading which conveys fluid from (13) to (15). The features that act in a manner similar to the claimed partition to separate the inlet and outlet of the system are therefore on the “block cover side” and not the claimed “chamber side”. It would not have been obvious to modify the fluid passageways through the system of Shi such that the “partition” is on the “chamber side”. Performing that modification would require substantial changes to the routing of the fluid, including changes to the chambers formed and additional partitions. There is insufficient evidence in the prior art to suggest modifying the system of Shi in such a manner.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL K. REITZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3745