DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 2-3 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 09/20/25.
Applicant's election with traverse of Group II in the reply filed on 09/20/25 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the inventions are related and not patentably distinct. Further, the Applicant argues that the apparatus has been designed to enable the method. This is not found persuasive because, as noted in the restriction mailed 8/19/26, the method could be practice with another device not using a cord lock.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a button and suction cup with hook glued to the adjacent end of the length of lacing" in line 4 of claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the beads” in line 6 should read “the plurality of beads”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a long-term locking mechanism” and “a short-term locking mechanism” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a button and suction cup with hook glued to the adjacent end of the length of lacing" in line 4 which renders the claim indefinite as it is unclear if the hook is glued to the suction cup and intending to say a button; suction cup; the button and the suction cup have a hook glued on, the hook being attached to the end of the length of lacing or if the hook is just glued to the lacing. The Examiner notes that the claim limitation is being interpreted as a button; suction cup; the button and the suction cup have a hook glued on, the hook being attached to the end of the length of lacing.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the adjacent end" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the braid" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "within easy reach" in line 6 renders the claim indefinite as it is unclear what the parameter of an easy reach is since it is subjective to the user.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Villani et al. (US 5967151, hereinafter Villani) in view of Warren (US 20180295970) and Rosenwinkel et al. (US 5558105, hereinafter Rosen Winkel).
Regarding claim 1, Villani discloses a portable locking styling and designing hair beading apparatus (10; figures 1-3) comprising: a needle (12; figure 1) and loop (15; figure 1) formed at one end (figure 1) of a length of lacing (17; figures 1-3) that holds a plurality of beads (18; figures 2-3) while resisting knotting or tangling allowing for pre-design of beaded patterns (17 is disclosed to be plastic and inflexible in column 3, line 60- column 4, line 10); a base (23; figure 1); a cord lock (27; figures 2-3) that slides up and down the length of lacing when engaged (figure 2-3) controls the position of the beads keeping them within easy reach to transfer to the braid (column 4, lines 10-55); a long-term locking mechanism for portability (figures 8-9; column 4, lines 10-55 discloses that the lock may be engaged; The Examiner notes it may be long term when the user decides to stop using the device); a short-term locking mechanism (figures 8-9); for intermittent breaks (figures 8-9; column 5, lines 30-60; The Examiner notes that 47 is an elastic spring that can be compressed or relaxed along the length and the loop, and would functional similar to that in figures 8-9 and the compression around the hair would be the same on the length; the Examiner notes it may be short term when the user decides to continue to use the device and disengaged 41)
Villani does not disclose a button and suction cup with hook glued to the adjacent end of the length of lacing.
Warren discloses a portable styling and designing hair apparatus (figures 1-10) comprising: a loop (3; figure 1); an adjacent lacing (5; figure 1); a button (see illustrated figure 10) and suction cup (see illustrated figure 10; paragraph [0041]) with a hook (11; figure 1 depicts the hook is attached to the suction cup) secured to the adjacent end of the length of lacing (figures 1-10; paragraph [0041]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the device of Villani to have a button and a suction cup with a hook to allow the device to be attached to a vertical surface.
Rosenwinkel discloses a portable locking styling and designing hair beading apparatus (10; figures 1-4) comprising: a tip (42; figure 1) and loop (40; figure 2), a length of lacing (40; figures 1-4) that holds a plurality of beads (54; figures 2-4), an end (12; figure 1) with hook (50; figure 1) glued to the adjacent end of the length of lacing (column 2, lines 10-25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the connection between the hook and the suction cup/button of Villani/Warren to be glued as taught by Rosenwinkel in order to ensure that the suction cup/button are secured to the hook. Additionally, it is known in the art to secure a device by either sewing or gluing, as they are known functionally equivalents.
Conclusion
/SYDNEY J PULVIDENTE/Examiner, Art Unit 3772 /ERIC J ROSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3772