DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on May 5, 2026 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed April 22, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application. Applicant has submitted amendments to the claims along with other remarks. Claims 1-20 are still rejected by prior art references, refer to the following rejection for details.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments, see pp. 7-9 of the response, filed April 22, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under § 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, upon further consideration for the amendments, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of new reference, please see the rejection for details.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3 and 14 recite the limitation “an identification element of the network node.” This element was added to claims 1 and 12, yet still remains in claims 3 and 14.
Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 10,820,202 (hereinafter “Gundavelli”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2023/0179999 (hereinafter “Salkintzis”)
Regarding claim 1, Gundavelli teaches: An apparatus for a network node acting as a gateway entity of a second communication network (e.g., WLC 120) providing access to a first communication network (e.g., CTF 125) being different to the second communication network, the apparatus comprising at least one processor (e.g., 514), and at least one memory (e.g., 516) storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: receive a registration request of a user equipment for a registration to the first communication network via the second communication network (6:21-26, At 170, UE 105 may respond with an indication of the cellular identifier used by UE 105 to communicate with cellular AP 115, and authentication server 130 may obtain the indication (e.g., via WLAN AP 110(1) and WLC 120).), wherein the registration request comprises an anonymized subscriber identification element (8:56-61, UE 105 may be identified using a Subscription Concealed Identifier (SUCI) for 5G connectivity and/or an IMSI for 4G connectivity.), obtain a temporary identification for the user equipment (9:20-22, The certificate may include a stable/permanent/unique identifier), and forward the temporary identification for the user equipment to the user equipment (9:20-24, The certificate may include a stable/permanent/unique identifier and the public key, and may be signed by authentication server 130. Using MDM protocol, authentication server 130 may deliver the certificate, and the public/private key to UE 105.).
Gundavelli teaches a temporary identifier in that the certificate may be issued and reissued, etc. Gundavelli does not explicitly teach: wherein the temporary identification for the user equipment comprises at least a first part and a second part, and wherein the first part comprises at least one of an identification element of the network node, a contact information of the network node, and/or a random number.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Salkintzis teaches: wherein the temporary identification for the user equipment comprises at least a first part and a second part, and wherein the first part comprises at least one of an identification element of the network node, a contact information of the network node, and/or a random number ([0116] The UE context was created in the TNGF 213 when the UE 205 performed an initial registration via TNGF 213 (see e.g., FIGS. 3A-3C). The UE context includes information associated with the UE 205 such as the Reauth-ID, a UE identity (e.g., 5G-GUTI), an AMF identity (AMF-ID), a TNGF key, a TNGF key lifetime, a TNAP key, an IPsec key, information about established PDU Sessions (PDU Session Resource List), etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gundavelli to include the feature of a node identifier and a combination of Gundavelli with Salkintzis renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., including a node identifier in the temporary identification).
Regarding claim 2, Gundavelli teaches: forward the temporary identification for the user equipment to the user equipment in a secured signaling message (9:21-22, and may be signed by authentication server 130.).
Regarding claim 3, Gundavelli teaches: generate, for obtaining the temporary identification for the user equipment, the temporary identification for the user equipment by combining at least one of the following: an identification element of the network node acting as the gateway entity of the second communication network, a contact information of the network node acting as the gateway entity of the second communication network, or a random number with at least one of the following: a pre-selected number, or a randomly generated number (9:15-17, For instance, authentication server 130 may generate a certificate (e.g., an X.509-based certificate), as is well known in the art, before the priority date, X.509 certificates can use a nonce to prevent replay attacks – See OCSP Extensions within Non-patent Literature entitled, “X.509 Reference” <https://web.archive.org/web/20201005184807/https://cryptography.io/en/latest/x509/reference/>).
Regarding claim 4, Gundavelli teaches: receive, for obtaining the temporary identification for the user equipment, the temporary identification for the user equipment from a network node of the first communication network, after forwarding the registration request of the user equipment to the network node of the first communication network (9:29-34, Any time UE 105 connects over a WLAN or a cellular network, UE 105 may present this certificate, which includes a unique identifier of UE 105.).
Regarding claim 5, Gundavelli teaches: wherein the temporary identification for the user equipment is received in response to a request sent to the network node of the first communication network to be provided with the temporary identification for the user equipment (6:52-59, In this case, at 190, CTF 125 may respond to the initial attach message (e.g., via cellular AP 115) with a N1/Non-Access Stratum (NAS) identity request to obtain an indication of the cellular identifier of UE 105).
Regarding claim 6, Gundavelli teaches: include the temporary identification for the user equipment in a contact information set of the gateway entity being sent to the user equipment (9:19-22, The certificate may include a stable/permanent/unique identifier and the public key, and may be signed by authentication server 130.).
Regarding claim 7, Gundavelli teaches: conduct a key exchange procedure with the user equipment wherein the temporary identification for the user equipment is used as an identification element of the user equipment (9:29-34, Authentication server 130 may obtain one or more parameters of the certificate from UE 105 and generate the CUI using the certificate on both Wi-Fi and cellular access.).
Regarding claim 8, Gundavelli teaches: store the temporary identification for the user equipment in context information of the user equipment (7:42-47, authentication server 130 uses the previously existing/generated CUI associated with UE 105 for further communications between UE 105 and WLAN AP 110(1) or 110(2). Thus, the same CUI may be associated with the WLAN session and the cellular session.).
Regarding claim 9, Gundavelli teaches: receive, from a second access point of the second communication network providing access to the second communication network for the user equipment, the temporary identification for the user equipment having been connected to a first access point of the second communication network, and correlate a communication session to the user equipment via the second access point by using the temporary identification for the user equipment when receiving a message from the user equipment including the temporary identification for the user equipment (7:9-18, Authentication server 130 may thus correlate multiple sessions (e.g., WLAN and/or cellular) to identify UE 105 across the multiple sessions. This may enable NPF 135 to obtain visibility of sessions originating from UE 105. In response to determining that UE 105 is attempting to communicate over cellular AP 115, authentication server 130 (and/or other network entities such as NPF 135) may enforce one or more network policies for UE 105 that were also applied to the WLAN session(s) (e.g., relating to bandwidth usage, blacklisting, mobility, segmentation, etc.).
Regarding claim 10, Gundavelli teaches: wherein the first communication network is a cellular communication network based on 3GPP specifications (cellular AP 115), and the second communication network is a trusted non-3GPP access communication network (WLAN AP 110(1)).
Regarding claim 11, Gundavelli teaches: wherein the network node is a trusted non-3GPP gateway function (WLAN AP 110(2)).
Regarding claim 12, Gundavelli teaches: A method for a network node acting as a gateway entity of a second communication network (e.g., WLC 120) providing access to a first communication network (e.g., CTF 125) being different to the second communication network, the method comprising receiving a registration request of a user equipment for a registration to the first communication network via the second communication network (6:21-26, At 170, UE 105 may respond with an indication of the cellular identifier used by UE 105 to communicate with cellular AP 115, and authentication server 130 may obtain the indication (e.g., via WLAN AP 110(1) and WLC 120).), wherein the registration request comprises an anonymized subscriber identification element (8:56-61, UE 105 may be identified using a Subscription Concealed Identifier (SUCI) for 5G connectivity and/or an IMSI for 4G connectivity.), obtaining a temporary identification for the user equipment (9:20-22, The certificate may include a stable/permanent/unique identifier), and forwarding the temporary identification for the user equipment to the user equipment (9:20-24, The certificate may include a stable/permanent/unique identifier and the public key, and may be signed by authentication server 130. Using MDM protocol, authentication server 130 may deliver the certificate, and the public/private key to UE 105.).
Gundavelli teaches a temporary identifier in that the certificate may be issued and reissued, etc. Gundavelli does not explicitly teach: wherein the temporary identification for the user equipment comprises at least a first part and a second part, and wherein the first part comprises at least one of an identification element of the network node, a contact information of the network node, and/or a random number.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Salkintzis teaches: wherein the temporary identification for the user equipment comprises at least a first part and a second part, and wherein the first part comprises at least one of an identification element of the network node, a contact information of the network node, and/or a random number ([0116] The UE context was created in the TNGF 213 when the UE 205 performed an initial registration via TNGF 213 (see e.g., FIGS. 3A-3C). The UE context includes information associated with the UE 205 such as the Reauth-ID, a UE identity (e.g., 5G-GUTI), an AMF identity (AMF-ID), a TNGF key, a TNGF key lifetime, a TNAP key, an IPsec key, information about established PDU Sessions (PDU Session Resource List), etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gundavelli to include the feature of a node identifier and a combination of Gundavelli with Salkintzis renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., including a node identifier in the temporary identification).
Regarding claim 13, Gundavelli teaches: forwarding the temporary identification for the user equipment to the user equipment in a secured signaling message (9:21-22, and may be signed by authentication server 130.).
Regarding claim 14, Gundavelli teaches: generating, for obtaining the temporary identification for the user equipment, the temporary identification for the user equipment by combining at least one of the following: an identification element of the network node acting as the gateway entity of the second communication network, a contact information of the network node acting as the gateway entity of the second communication network, or a random number with at least one of the following: a pre-selected number, or a randomly generated number (9:15-17, For instance, authentication server 130 may generate a certificate (e.g., an X.509-based certificate), as is well known in the art, before the priority date, X.509 certificates can use a nonce to prevent replay attacks – See OCSP Extensions within Non-patent Literature entitled, “X.509 Reference” <https://web.archive.org/web/20201005184807/https://cryptography.io/en/latest/x509/reference/>).
Regarding claim 15, Gundavelli teaches: receiving, for obtaining the temporary identification for the user equipment, the temporary identification for the user equipment from a network node of the first communication network, after forwarding the registration request of the user equipment to the network node of the first communication network (9:29-34, Any time UE 105 connects over a WLAN or a cellular network, UE 105 may present this certificate, which includes a unique identifier of UE 105.).
Regarding claim 16, Gundavelli teaches: wherein the temporary identification for the user equipment is received in response to a request sent to the network node of the first communication network to be provided with the temporary identification for the user equipment (6:52-59, In this case, at 190, CTF 125 may respond to the initial attach message (e.g., via cellular AP 115) with a N1/Non-Access Stratum (NAS) identity request to obtain an indication of the cellular identifier of UE 105).
Regarding claim 17, Gundavelli teaches: including the temporary identification for the user equipment in a contact information set of the gateway entity being sent to the user equipment (9:19-22, The certificate may include a stable/permanent/unique identifier and the public key, and may be signed by authentication server 130.).
Regarding claim 18, Gundavelli teaches: wherein the first communication network is a cellular communication network based on 3GPP specifications (cellular AP 115), and the second communication network is a trusted non-3GPP access communication network (WLAN AP 110(1)).
Regarding claim 19, Gundavelli teaches: wherein the network node is a communication network control element or a communication network control function (CTF 125).
Regarding claim 20, Gundavelli teaches: wherein the network node is a trusted non-3GPP gateway function (WLAN AP 110(2)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Publication No. 2020/0396000 (Ryu) related to Non-Access Stratum Connection Handling
Non-patent Literature entitled, “X.509 Reference” <https://web.archive.org/web/20201005184807/https://cryptography.io/en/latest/x509/reference/>
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAB/ Examiner, Art Unit 2643
/JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643