DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102.
Claims 1-8 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Oda et al. (US 10.632.488), hereinafter Oda.
As to claim 1, Oda discloses in figure 1, a power supply apparatus [power supply unit (110) for aerosol (100); and Col. 6, lines 40-60 ] for an aerosol generation device, comprising: a connector to which a heater configured to heat an aerosol source using power supplied from a power supply is connected [the heater 121R heat the aerosol; see Col. 7, lines 15-35] ;
control circuitry [control unit (50) and see Col. 9, lines 15-20 and also see figure 5] configured to control supply of the power to the heater and a charge operation of the power supply [see figure 13, controller (50) and also figure 14, element 260];
a measurement circuit [measuring element (150) and (240); see figures 13 and 14]
configured to measure a state of the power supply [measuring battery voltage],
wherein the control circuitry includes a first terminal configured to receive information having correlation with the state of the power supply and is configured to acquire a first index [the temperature information received by the controller considered as first index; see Col. 9, lines 46-57] according to the information supplied to the first terminal, the measurement circuit includes a second terminal configured to receive information having correlation with the state of the power supply and is configured to generate a second index [the measured voltage consideres as second index] according to the information supplied to the second terminal and to provide the second index to the control circuitry , and the control circuitry configured to control the charge operation of the power supply in accordance with the first index and the second index [See figures 89 and 13-14; the charging and the power supply is controlled based on temperature and voltage values].
As to claim 2, Oda discloses in figure 9, The power supply apparatus of unit according to claim 1, further comprising; a charge circuit [the charging unit (200); see Col. 24, lines 36-40] configured to operate capable of operating in a first mode in which the power supply is charged with a first current value smaller than a predetermined current value and in a second mode in which the power supply is charged with a second current value larger than the predetermined current value, wherein in a case where at least one of the first index and the second index indicates that the power supply is in an over discharge state, the control circuitry is configured to control unit controls the charge operation such that the power supply is charged in the first mode [see figure 9, and Col. 24-63-54].
As to claim 3, Oda discloses in figures 1-9, a charger circuit configured to operate capable of operating in a first mode in which the power supply is charged with a first current value smaller than a predetermined current value [normal charge; see figure 9] ] and in a second mode in which the power supply is charged with a second current value larger than the predetermined current value [see fast charge; figure 9] , wherein in a case where at least one of the first index and the second index indicates that an overdischarge state of the power supply is eliminated, the control circuitry is configured to control the charge the charge operation such that the power supply is charged in the second mode [the normal charge rate is less than the quick charge rate; see Col. 15, lines 5-45].
As to claim 4, Oda discloses in figures 1-9, a charge circuit configured to operate capable of operating in a first mode [normal charge; see figure 9] in which the power supply is charged with a first current value smaller than a predetermined current value and in a second mode [see fast charge; figure 9] in which the power supply is charged with a second current value larger than the predetermined current value, wherein in a case where at least one of the first index and the second index indicates that the power supply is in an overdischarge state, the control circuitry is configured to control unit controls the charge operation such that the power supply is charged in the first mode, and wherein in a case where at least one of the first index and the second index indicates that the overdischarge state is eliminated, the control circuitry is configured to control unit controls the charge operation such that the power supply is charged in the second mode[the normal charge rate is less than the quick charge rate; see Col. 15, lines 5-45].
As to claim 5, Oda discloses in figures 1-9, wherein the first index and the second index correspond to a same parameter are indices comparable on the same scale [see Col. 24, lines 24-63-67 and Col. 25, lines 1-20].
As to claim 6, Oda discloses in figures 1-9, wherein the first index and the second index are output voltages of the power supply [see Col. 24, lines 24-63-67 and Col. 25, lines 1-20].
As to claim 7, Oda discloses in figures 1-9, a user interface notification unit configured to notify information about a residual quantity of the power supply, wherein the control circuitry unit is configured to acquire, as the state of the power supply, a third index indicating the residual quantity of the power supply from the measurement circuit and cause the user interface notification unit to notify information according to the third index [Col. 9, lines 45-57].
As to claim 8, Oda discloses in figures 1-9, wherein the third index is a state of charge (SOC)an SOC [State of charge is used as deterioration diagnosis index, see Col. 15, lines 56-67].
As to claim 17, Oda discloses in figures 1-9, wherein a potential obtained by dividing the potential of the positive electrode of the power supply is supplied to the first terminal [see figure 6, the potential of the battery is the first terminal] .
As to claim 18, Oda discloses in figures 1-9, a power supply apparatus for an aerosol inhaler device, the power supply apparatus comprising:
an electric connector [electrical conductors disclosed] configured to be connected to a heater configured to heat an aerosol source using power supplied from a power supply [heater 121R heat the aerosol; see Col. 7, lines 15-35].
control circuitry [see figure 13, controller (50) and also figure 14, element 260]; comprising a first terminal configured to receive first information corresponding to a state of the power supply [receiving temperature information] , and configured to acquire a first parameter based on the first information [acquiring temperature sensor];
measurement circuitry [measuring element (150) and (240); see figures 13 and 14] comprising a second terminal configured to receive second information corresponding to the state of the power supply [receiving battery voltage formations; see figures 13 and 14] , and configured to generate a second parameter based on the second information, wherein the control circuitry is configured to control a charge operation for the power supply based on the first parameter and the second parameter [based on the temperature and the voltage information the controller controls the charging and discharging the power supply [ see Col. 25, lines 26-30].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 11-14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oda in view of Goto et al. (US 2009), hereinafter Hasegawa.
As to claim 9, Oda discloses all of the claim limitations except, a switch arranged in a path to which a current output from the power supply flows to cut off discharge of the power supply; a protection circuit configured to open the switch to cut off the discharge of the power supply in a case where the potential of the positive electrode of the power supply falls below a first level, and to close the switch in a case where the potential of the positive electrode exceeds a second level larger than the first level; and a rectifying element connected in parallel with the switch to supply a charge current to the power supply.
Goto discloses in figures 1-13, a switch [discharging switch (FET ML) ; see ¶0037] arranged in a path to which a current output from the power supply flows to cut off discharge of the power supply [controls battery discharge]; a protection circuit configured to open the switch to cut off the discharge of the power supply in a case where the potential of the positive electrode of the power supply falls below a first level, and to close the switch in a case where the potential of the positive electrode exceeds a second level larger than the first level; and a rectifying element connected in parallel with the switch to supply a charge current to the power supply [noted that the discharge switch FET M1 is on and off based on battery voltage status; see ¶0037].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed inventio was made to add protection circuit in Oda’s apparatus as taught by Goto in order to protect battery damage from overdischarge, discharge overcurrent and also extending battery life.
As to claim 11, Goto discloses in figures 1-10, a rectifying element [diode is disclosed across the switching resistor] connected in parallel with the switch to supply a charge current to the power supply.
As to claim 12, Goto discloses in figures 1-13, wherein the rectifying element is a body diode accompanying the switch [diode is disclosed].
As to claim 13, Goro discloses in figures 1-13, wherein an output voltage of the power supply is supplied to the protection circuit irrespective of the state of the switch [it is implicit that the controller is operated by the battery power supply].
As to claim 14, Goto discloses in figures 1-13, path includes a first conductive path connected to the positive electrode of the power supply [positive electrical wire], and a second conductive path [negative electrical wire] connected to a negative electrode of the power supply, and the switch is arranged in the second conductive path.
As to claim 19, Oda discloses in figures 1-9, wherein the control circuitry is configured to determine whether the power supply is in an overdischarge state by comparing the first parameter to a first threshold value [by comparing the first parameter witch is the temperature and determining battery overdischarge is disclosed; see figures 8-9].
Oda does not disclose explicitly the second parameter to a second threshold value.
Goto discloses in figures 1-5, the second parameter to a second threshold value [battery voltage is used to determine overdischarge; see ¶0036].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use battery information in Oda’s apparatus as taught by Gota in order to avoid battery damage due to battery overvoltage.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10, 15-16 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
For Claim 10: Primarily, the prior art of record does not disclose or suggest in the claimed combination: wherein the control circuitry configured to control the charge operation based on the first index in a state in which the switch is open, and to control the charge operation based on the second index in a state in which the switch is closed.
For Claim 15: Primarily, the prior art of record does not disclose or suggest in the claimed combination: a voltage supply circuit configured to, using a voltage supplied from an external device, supply a first voltage for charging the power supply to between the first conductive path and the second conductive path and to generate a second voltage for operating the control circuitry unit, wherein the control circuitry unit is configured to control the charge of the power supply by controlling the voltage supply circuit.
For Claim 20 : Primarily, the prior art of record does not disclose or suggest in the claimed combination: wherein the control circuitry is configured to: perform control to supply power to the power supply at a first level in a case that it is determined that the first parameter is greater than the first threshold value and the second parameter is greater than the second threshold value; and perform control to supply power to the power supply at a second level, which is less than the first level, in a case that it is determined that at least one of the first parameter is less than the first threshold value and the second parameter is less than the second threshold value.
Conclusion
/SAMUEL BERHANU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859