DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
In the preliminary amendment dated February 6, 2024, claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1-13 are amended and claims 14-20 are newly added.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because certain numerals are unclear as to which feature they are indicating. Particularly:
FIG. 4 – L1-L8, OPS, 114
FIG. 5 – 173, 162
FIG. 6 – 136, 173
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 8, line 5 recites “closer to a first connection point the connection line and the first board”, however, this language is unclear as to what feature the switch is disclosed closer to.
Claims 9-12 are rejected at least due to their dependency from a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 13-15, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Akao EP3683917A1 (as cited in the IDS dated 9/18/2025).
Regarding claim 1. Akao discloses a power supply apparatus (10) for an aerosol generating device (FIGS. 1 and 3), comprising:
a power supply (12);
a first board (second board 77);
a second board (first board 76) separate from the first board (FIG. 85; ¶42);
a first electric connector (41a, 41b) configured to be connected to a heater (21) configured to heat an aerosol source by consuming power supplied from the power supply (¶23);
a charging integrated circuit (IC) (13) disposed on the first board (77) and including an input terminal (from inverter 61) and a charging terminal (output of charger 13) connected to the power supply (12), the charging IC (13) configured to convert power input to the input terminal (41a/b – input to the load) and to output power which is converted from the charging terminal (¶17);
a second electric connector (43) disposed on the second board (76) and configured to be connected to an external power supply (60) and including a power supply terminal (43a/b);
a power supply line (FIG. 7: connecting line between receptacle and charging IC) configured to connect the power supply terminal (43a/b) and the input terminal (FIG. 7: connecting line between receptacle 43a/b and charging IC13); and
overvoltage protection circuitry (73) disposed only on the second board (76) of the first board and the second board and provided in the power supply line (¶61 – resistor 73 prevents high voltage from being input into charger 13).
Regarding claim 13. Akao discloses a power supply apparatus (10) for an aerosol generating device (FIGS. 1 and 3), comprising:
a power supply (12);
a first board (second board 77);
a second board (first board 76) separate from the first board (FIG. 85; ¶42);
a first electric connector (41a, 41b) configured to be connected to a heater (21) configured to heat an aerosol source by consuming power supplied from the power supply (¶23);
a charging integrated circuit (IC) (13) disposed on the first board (77) and including an input terminal (from inverter 61) and a charging terminal (output of charger 13) connected to the power supply (12), the charging IC configured to convert power input to the input terminal (from inverter 61) and to output power which is converted from the charging terminal (¶17);
a second electric connector (43) disposed on the second board (76) and configured to be connected to an external power supply (60) and including a power supply terminal (43a/b);
a power supply line (FIG. 7: connecting line between receptacle and charging IC) configured to connect the power supply terminal (43a/b) and the input terminal (FIG. 7: connecting line between receptacle 43a/b and charging IC13); and
overvoltage protection circuity (73) provided in the power supply line, wherein a number of circuit components of the overvoltage protection circuitry disposed on the second board is larger than a number of circuit components of the overvoltage protection circuitry disposed on the first board (because the resistor 71 is provided on the second board 76, it follows that the number of components is larger on the board 76 than on board 77).
Regarding claim 14. Akao discloses that the second electric connector (43) is disposed on a first surface of the second board (76), and the overvoltage protection circuitry (73) is disposed on a second surface of the second board that opposes the first surface (FIG. 5/7 because the resistor 73 is arranged on a surface it follows that the surface it may be designated on is a second surface, which would be opposite another surface).
Regarding claim 15. Akao discloses that at least a part of the overvoltage protection circuitry (73) is disposed in a region in which the second electric connector (43) projects from a direction orthogonal to the second board (76) (FIG. 7 – the resistor 73 is arranged on the board 76 from which the connector 43 extends from).
Regarding claim 17. Akao discloses that the controller (50) is disposed on the first board (77) (FIG. 7).
Regarding claim 20. Akao discloses a power supply apparatus (10) for an aerosol generating device (FIGS. 1 and 3), comprising:
a battery (12);
a first electric connector (41a/b) configured to be connected to a heater (21) for heating an aerosol source by consuming power supplied from the power supply (¶23);
a charging integrated circuit (IC) (13) disposed on the first board (77) and including an input terminal (from inverter 61), and a output terminal (output of charger 13) connected to the power supply (12), the charging IC (13) configured to convert power input to the input terminal (41a/b – input to the load) and to output power which is converted from the charging terminal (¶17);
a second electric connector (43) including a power supply terminal (43a/b) and disposed on a second circuit board (76), wherein the second electric connector is configured to be connected to an external power supply (60);
a power supply line (FIG. 7: connecting line between receptacle and charging IC) connecting the power supply terminal (43a/b) and the input terminal (FIG. 7: connecting line between receptacle 43a/b and charging IC13); and
overvoltage protection circuitry (73) disposed on the second board (76) of the first board and the second board and provided in the power supply line (¶61 – resistor 73 prevents high voltage from being input into charger 13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 5-12 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP3683917A1.
Regarding claim 2. Akao discloses that the second board (76) has a main surface (top of 76) and a secondary surface which is a back surface of the main surface (bottom of 76),
the second electric connector (part of terminal 43) is disposed on the main surface (see annotated and reproduced FIG. 5 below), and
Although Akao does not explicitly teach that the overvoltage protection circuitry (73) is disposed on the secondary surface, Akao teaches arranging circuitry of a second side, such as 77b, in order to reduce electrostatic noise interfering with the overvoltage protection (¶84).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the noise reduction in order to obtain a more accurate voltage detection to prevent overvoltage and damage to the system.
Regarding claim 3. Akao discloses that at least a part of the overvoltage protection circuitry (73) is disposed in a region in which the second electric connector projects (43) from a direction orthogonal to the second board (76) (FIG. 5).
Regarding claim 5. Akao discloses that the controller (50) is disposed on the first board (77) (FIG. 7).
Regarding claim 6. Akao discloses a diode (71 – Zener diodes are known to function similar to that of a switch) configured to open and close the power supply line and provided between the overvoltage protection circuitry (73) and the input terminal (41a/b), wherein the diode (71) is provided on the first board (77).
Although Akao discloses a Zener diode 71 rather than a switch, a Zener diode is known to function as a switch as it will block current until a reverse voltage reaches a threshold then it “switches” on.
Thus, because a Zener diode is well-known to have a switch function, a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the diode may be used as a switch.
Regarding claim 7. Akao discloses a controller (50) configured to control supply of power from the power supply to the first electric connector (77) (¶42), wherein the controller is configured to control opening and closing of the diode (71) (¶60 – controller controls the voltage operation thus providing control with the amount of voltage applied).
Although Akao discloses a Zener diode 71 rather than a switch, a Zener diode is known to function as a switch as it will block current until a reverse voltage reaches a threshold then it “switches” on.
Thus, because a Zener diode is well-known to have a switch function, a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the diode may be used as a switch.
Regarding claim 8. Akao discloses that the power supply line includes a connection line (78) configured to connect the first board (77) and the second board (76); and
the diode (71) is disposed closer to a first connection point the connection line and the first board, than the charging IC (it is uncertain as what feature the switch is supposed to be closer to as both the switch and the charging IC are arranged on the same board according to the combination of claims 1 and 6).
Although Akao discloses a Zener diode 71 rather than a switch, a Zener diode is known to function as a switch as it will block current until a reverse voltage reaches a threshold then it “switches” on.
Thus, because a Zener diode is well-known to have a switch function, a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the diode may be used as a switch.
Regarding claim 9. Akao discloses that the diode (71) is provided at a position closer to the connection point than any IC disposed on the first board (77) (FIG. 7).
Although Akao discloses a Zener diode 71 rather than a switch, a Zener diode is known to function as a switch as it will block current until a reverse voltage reaches a threshold then it “switches” on.
Thus, because a Zener diode is well-known to have a switch function, a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the diode may be used as a switch.
Regarding claim 10. Akao discloses that the second board (76) extends in a predetermined direction (FIGS. 3, 5, and 7),
the second electric connector (43) is provided at one end in the predetermined direction (FIG. 7 – a predetermined direction is any direction in which the board extends), and
a second connection point (43b) between the connection line (78) and the second board (76), is at a position closer to the second electric connector (43) than another end in the predetermined direction (as illustrated below in partially reproduced and annotated FIG. 7 below).
Regarding claim 11. Akao discloses a case (11) configured to accommodate the power supply (12), the charging IC (13), the power supply line (FIG. 7: connecting line between receptacle and charging IC), the overvoltage protection circuitry (73), the first board (77), the second board (76), and the diode (71)(FIG. 5); and
a first connector configured to fix positions of the first board and the second board inside the case, and to mechanically connect the first board and the second board (FIG. 5 illustrates the first and second board being secured within the case 11 by setting in the groove provided along with pins arranged on the board 77 and held in place by the end of the case 11), wherein
a position where the first connector and the second board connect is closer to the one end in the predetermined direction than the another end in the predetermined direction (FIG. 5 – the end of case 11, holding the circuit board 76 in place with relation to circuit board 77 is closer to the one end in the predetermined direction).
Although Akao discloses a Zener diode 71 rather than a switch, a Zener diode is known to function as a switch as it will block current until a reverse voltage reaches a threshold then it “switches” on.
Thus, because a Zener diode is well-known to have a switch function, a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the diode may be used as a switch.
Regarding claim 12. Akao discloses a third electric connector configured to electrically connect the power supply (12) and the second board (76) (FIG. 7 – line extending from the connection of battery 12 that extends to the circuit board 76), wherein
a position where the third electric connector and the second board connect is closer to the one end in the predetermined direction than the another end in the predetermined direction (the connection is closer to one side than the other).
Regarding claim 18. Akao discloses a diode (71 – Zener diodes are known to function similar to that of a switch) configured to open and close the power supply line and provided between the overvoltage protection circuitry (73) and the input terminal (41a/b), wherein the switch (71) is provided on the first board (77).
Although Akao discloses a Zener diode 71 rather than a switch, a Zener diode is known to function as a switch as it will block current until a reverse voltage reaches a threshold then it “switches” on.
Thus, because a Zener diode is well-known to have a switch function, a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the diode may be used as a switch.
Regarding claim 19. Akao discloses a controller (50) configured to control supply of power from the power supply to the first electric connector (77) (¶42), wherein the controller is configured to control opening and closing of the diode (71) (¶60 – controller controls the voltage operation thus providing control with the amount of voltage applied).
Although Akao discloses a Zener diode 71 rather than a switch, a Zener diode is known to function as a switch as it will block current until a reverse voltage reaches a threshold then it “switches” on.
Thus, because a Zener diode is well-known to have a switch function, a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the diode may be used as a switch.
Claims 4 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP3683917A1 in view of Chan US20100165528A1.
Regarding claim 4 and claim 16. Akao discloses that the second electric connector (43) includes a data terminal (USB) (¶13).
the power supply apparatus (10) further comprises
a controller (50) configured to control supply of power from the power supply (12) to the first electric connector (77) (¶42).
Akao does not explicitly disclose that a data line configured to connect the data terminal and the controller; and second overvoltage protection circuitry provided in the data line, wherein the second overvoltage protection circuitry is disposed on the main surface.
Chan discloses a data line configured to connect the data terminal and the controller (¶37 – data line connects USB to controller 430); and
second overvoltage protection circuitry provided in the data line (¶37 – detection circuitry 434 detects an overvoltage condition and deactivates the supply of power on that power line).
When applying the circuit of Chan with the system of Akao, because the connector 43 is arranged on the main surface of the second board, it follows that the data line, with the second overvoltage protection circuitry is disposed on the main surface with the data line.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the data line of Chan to the data communication of Akao in order to prevent overvoltage due to a short and prevent degradation (Chen; ¶37).
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ono et al. US20220007732A1 discloses an aerosol generation device having multiple circuit boards.
Liu US20160058074A1 discloses an electronic cigarette having a data communication line via a USB terminal (¶132).
Conclusion
/PAMELA J JEPPSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859