DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the:
communication terminals recited in the claims;
communication lines recited in the claims;
third IC recited in Claim 9-11
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-16 are objected because of the following informalities:
The claims recite “IC” and the acronym needs to be spell out the first time. It appears IC stands from integrated circuit.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 15 & 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 2015/0366266) in view of Wietfeldt (US 2017/0075843).
Regarding Claim 1, Chen discloses an apparatus for an aerosol generation device, the apparatus comprising:
a connector [ground & H1 pin or AT pin] to which a heater [S1] that heats an aerosol source [H1] by consuming electric power supplied from a power supply [power supply] is connected (FIG. 1-2, ¶ [0044-0046]; The heater strip S1 provides heat for atomization. The power supply provides power for the electronic cigarette);
a controller [100] that includes a first communication terminal [terminal of VDD] and a second communication terminal [AT] for serial communication and that controls supply of the electric power from the power supply [power supply] to the heater [S1] (FIG. 1-2, ¶ [0045]; the heater strip S1 is connected to the AT pin of the control chip 100, the liquid storage H1 is connected to the NCT pin of the control chip 100, the indicator light LED1 is connected to the LED pin of the control chip 100. The VDD pin of the control chip 100 interconnects the positive pole of the power supply and the capacitor C2);
a third communication terminal [terminal at 150 to VDD] for serial communication (FIG. 1-2, ¶ [0033]);
a fourth communication terminal [terminal at 130 to 150] for serial communication (FIG. 1-2, ¶ [0029]);
a first communication line [communication line from VDD to 150] that connects the first communication terminal [VDD] and the third communication terminal [terminal at 150 to VDD] (FIG. 1, ¶ [0042]); and
a second communication line [communication line from AT to 130] that connects the second communication terminal [AT] and the fourth communication terminal [terminal at 130 to 150] and that does not have an electrical contact with the first communication line [line from AT to 150 does not have an electric contact from AT to 130] (FIG. 1).
Chen does not disclose:
a) a first IC that is separate from the controller and that includes a third communication terminal for serial communication;
b) a second IC that is separate from the controller and the first IC and that includes a fourth communication terminal for serial communication.
Wietfeldt teaches:
a first IC (Claim 1; first integrated circuit);
a second IC (Claim 2; second integrated circuit).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate Wietfeldt’s first IC & second IC as described in element’s “a-b” into Chen’s controller. One would be motivated to do so to increase functionality by enabling by faster processors, larger and faster memory elements when including of the integrated circuits (ICs) configured to perform specific tasks.
Regarding Claim 2, Chen in view of Wietfeldt disclose the apparatus according to claim 1 [see rejected Claim 1],
Wietfeldt discloses wherein the controller receives data from the first IC at a timing that overlaps a timing when the controller receives data from the second IC or a timing when the controller transmits data to the second IC (Claim 1-2; registering first nodes associated with the first IC with a first gateway & registering second nodes associated with the second IC with a second gateway), and/or the controller receives data from the second IC at a timing that overlaps a timing when the controller receives data from the first IC or a timing when the controller transmits data to the first IC (Claim 1-2; registering first nodes associated with the first IC with a first gateway & registering second nodes associated with the second IC with a second gateway).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate Wietfeldt’s teachings into Chen’s controller for the same reasoning as in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 3, Chen in view of Wietfeldt disclose the apparatus according to claim 1 [see rejected Claim 1],
Wietfeldt discloses wherein the controller is configured to operate a plurality of modes, and any mode, among the plurality of modes, in which the controller communicates with the first IC is the same as any mode, among the plurality of modes, in which the controller communicates with the second IC (Claim 51; during an arbitration phase, asserting from a gateway a most urgent priority value to win arbitration. Claim 53-54; logical ones and zeroes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate Wietfeldt’s teachings into Chen’s controller for the same reasoning as in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 4, Chen in view of Wietfeldt disclose the apparatus according to claim 1 [see rejected Claim 1],
Wietfeldt discloses wherein the controller is configured to periodically communicate with the second IC (Claim 2; activating a second IC coupled to the bus).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate Wietfeldt’s teachings into Chen’s controller for the same reasoning as in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 5, Chen in view of Wietfeldt disclose the apparatus according to claim 1 [see rejected Claim 1],
Wietfeldt discloses wherein a number of modes, among a plurality of modes, in which the controller communicates with the second IC is larger than a number of modes, among the plurality of modes, in which the controller does not communicate with the second IC (Claim 1; activating a first integrated circuit (IC) coupled to a bus; registering first nodes associated with the first IC with a first gateway).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate Wietfeldt’s teachings into Chen’s controller for the same reasoning as in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 6, Chen in view of Wietfeldt disclose the apparatus according to claim 5 [see rejected Claim 5],
Wietfeldt discloses wherein the plurality of modes include a sleep mode in which a transition to any other mode is allowed, the sleep mode being a mode in which power consumption is smaller than in any other mode, and the controller is configured to communicate with the second IC through the second communication line in all modes among the plurality of modes except the sleep mode (¶ [0005]; Communication between nodes may be further complicated by nodes operating according to different sleep/wake rules set by different standards. Clock signals may be sent over each bus, which may increase difficulty in complying with the EMI emissions limits or the EMC standards. Still further, if an IC is coupled to multiple buses, the IC may have different interfaces, one for each coupling).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate Wietfeldt’s teachings into Chen’s controller for the same reasoning as in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 7, Chen in view of Wietfeldt disclose the apparatus according to claim 5 [see rejected Claim 5],
Wietfeldt discloses wherein the plurality of modes include a sleep mode in which a transition to any other mode is allowed and an error mode in which charging of the power supply is at least temporarily prohibited, the sleep mode being a mode in which power consumption is smaller than in any other mode (¶ [0005]; Communication between nodes may be further complicated by nodes operating according to different sleep/wake rules set by different standards. Clock signals may be sent over each bus, which may increase difficulty in complying with the EMI emissions limits or the EMC standards. Still further, if an IC is coupled to multiple buses, the IC may have different interfaces, one for each coupling), and the controller communicates with the second IC through the second communication line in all modes among the plurality of modes except the sleep mode and the error mode (Claim 52; detecting an error … and responsive to detecting the error, determining the system reset is needed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate Wietfeldt’s teachings into Chen’s controller for the same reasoning as in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 8, Chen in view of Wietfeldt disclose the apparatus according to claim 5 [see rejected Claim 5],
Wietfeldt discloses wherein the controller communicates with the second IC in all modes included in the plurality of modes (Claim 2; activating a second IC coupled to the bus).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate Wietfeldt’s teachings into Chen’s controller for the same reasoning as in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 15, Chen in view of Wietfeldt disclose the apparatus according to claim 1 [see rejected Claim 1], wherein the controller a plurality of modes including,
Wietfeldt discloses a mode in which the controller does not communicate with the first IC through the first communication line and does not communicate with the second IC through the second communication line (Claim 2; activating a second IC coupled to the bus).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate Wietfeldt’s teachings into Chen’s controller for the same reasoning as in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 17, Chen discloses an aerosol generation device comprising:
a connector [ground & H1 pin or AT pin] to which a heater [S1] that heats an aerosol source [H1] by consuming electric power supplied from a power supply [power supply] is connected (FIG. 1-2, ¶ [0044-0046]; The heater strip S1 provides heat for atomization. The power supply provides power for the electronic cigarette);
a controller [100] that includes a first communication terminal [terminal of VDD] and a second communication terminal [AT] for serial communication and that controls supply of the electric power from the power supply [power supply] to the heater [S1] (FIG. 1-2, ¶ [0045]; the heater strip S1 is connected to the AT pin of the control chip 100, the liquid storage H1 is connected to the NCT pin of the control chip 100, the indicator light LED1 is connected to the LED pin of the control chip 100. The VDD pin of the control chip 100 interconnects the positive pole of the power supply and the capacitor C2);
a third communication terminal [terminal at 150 to VDD] for serial communication (FIG. 1-2, ¶ [0033]);
a fourth communication terminal [terminal at 130 to 150] for serial communication (FIG. 1-2, ¶ [0029]);
a first communication line [communication line from VDD to 150] that connects the first communication terminal [VDD] and the third communication terminal [terminal at 150 to VDD] (FIG. 1, ¶ [0042]); and
a second communication line [communication line from AT to 130] that connects the second communication terminal [AT] and the fourth communication terminal [terminal at 130 to 150] and that does not have an electrical contact with the first communication line [line from AT to 150 does not have an electric contact from AT to 130] (FIG. 1).
Chen does not disclose:
a) a first IC that is separate from the controller and that includes a third communication terminal for serial communication;
b) a second IC that is separate from the controller and the first IC and that includes a fourth communication terminal for serial communication.
Wietfeldt teaches:
a first IC (Claim 1; first integrated circuit);
a second IC (Claim 2; second integrated circuit).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate Wietfeldt’s first IC & second IC as described in element’s “a-b” into Chen’s controller. One would be motivated to do so to increase functionality by enabling by faster processors, larger and faster memory elements when including of the integrated circuits (ICs) configured to perform specific tasks.
Regarding Claim 18, Chen discloses an apparatus for an aerosol generation device, the apparatus comprising:
a connector [ground & H1 pin or AT pin] (FIG. 1-2);
a heater [S1] configured to be connected to connector [ground & H1 pin or AT pin], and configured to heat an aerosol source [H1] by consuming electric power supplied from a power supply [power supply] (FIG. 1-2, ¶ [0044-0046]; The heater strip S1 provides heat for atomization. The power supply provides power for the electronic cigarette);
a microprocessor [100] configured to control supply of the electric power from the power supply to the heater [S1] (FIG. 1-2, ¶ [0044-0046]; The heater strip S1 provides heat for atomization. The power supply provides power for the electronic cigarette);
the microprocessor [100] and including a first communication terminal [terminal of VDD] for serial communication (FIG. 1-2);
the microcontroller [100] includes a second communication terminal [AT] for serial communication (FIG. 1-2);
a first communication line [communication line from VDD to 150] configured to connect the microprocessor [100] (FIG. 1-2); and
a second communication line [communication line from AT to 130] that connects the microprocessor [100] and that does not have an electrical contact with the first communication line [line from AT to 150 does not have an electric contact from AT to 130] (FIG. 1).
Chen does not disclose:
a) a first IC separate from the microprocessor and including a first communication terminal for serial communication;
b) a second IC that is separate from the microcontroller and the first IC and that includes a second communication terminal for serial communication;
c) a first communication line configured to connect the microprocessor and the first IC; and
d) a second communication line that connects the microprocessor and the second IC and that does not have an electrical contact with the first communication line.
Wietfeldt teaches:
a first IC (Claim 1; first integrated circuit);
a second IC (Claim 2; second integrated circuit).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate Wietfeldt’s first IC & second IC into Chen’s microprocessor (refer to a-d above). One would be motivated to do so to increase functionality by enabling by faster processors, larger and faster memory elements when including of the integrated circuits (ICs) configured to perform specific tasks.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-14, 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH ORTEGA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834