DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 11/5/23.
Inventorship
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In regards to claims 2-9, it appears that “The power supply apparatus for an aerosol generating device” should be “The power supply apparatus for the aerosol generating device”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 10-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lord (US20170035114).
Regarding Claim 1, Lord discloses power supply apparatus for an aerosol generating device (fig. 2, 7, 8), the power supply apparatus comprising: a power supply (22); an electric connector to which a heater (12) configured to heat an aerosol source by consuming a power supplied from the power supply is connected; control circuitry (20) configured to control a supply of a power from the power supply to the heater and a power supply terminal configured to receive a power for operation (¶58-60); a switch (52, ¶89) configured to connect the power supply and the power supply terminal of the controller; and a restart circuit (restart function of 20, ¶34-35, in addition to 20, see operation of ¶90) configured to control opening and closing of the switch, wherein the restart circuit performs a first operation of opening the switch (reset and no drop in pressure) when a restart condition is satisfied (reset to factory settings), and performs a second operation of closing the switch after performing the first operation (reset and drop in pressure).
Regarding Claim 2, Lord discloses (fig. 2, 7, 8) the restart circuit performs the second operation even if the restart condition is continuously satisfied after performing the first operation (reset to factory settings are satisfied, and then drop in pressure; ¶34-35, 90).
Regarding Claim 3, Lord discloses (fig. 2, 7, 8) a predetermined operation performed by a user is required to be continued for a predetermined period in order to satisfy the restart condition (¶34, 60).
Regarding Claim 4, Lord discloses (fig. 2, 7, 8) a user interface configured to perform a notification to a user, wherein the controller is configured to detect the predetermined operation, and cause, after the predetermined operation is continued for the predetermined period and the restart condition is satisfied and before the first operation is performed, the user interface to perform a notification (¶39).
Regarding Claim 6, Lord discloses (fig. 2, 7, 8) the controller is configured to cause, after the restart condition is satisfied and before the first operation is performed, the user interface notification unit to complete a notification (¶39).
Regarding Claim 10, Lord discloses a power supply apparatus for an aerosol generating device (fig. 2, 7, 8), comprising: a battery (22); a first electric connector configured to be connected to a heater (12) for heating an aerosol source by consuming power supplied from the battery; a power supply terminal configured to receive a power for operation (¶58-60); a switch (52, ¶89) configured to connect the power supply and the power supply terminal of the controller; and circuitry configured to control a supply of a power from the battery to the heater (restart function of 20, ¶34-35, in addition to 20, see operation of ¶90), control opening and closing of the switch, in a case that a restart condition is satisfied (reset to factory settings), perform a first operation of opening the switch (reset and no drop in pressure), and after performing the first operation, perform a second operation of closing the switch (reset and drop in pressure).
Regarding Claim 11, Lord discloses (fig. 2, 7, 8) the circuitry is further configured to perform the second operation even if the restart condition is continuously satisfied after performing the first operation (reset to factory settings are satisfied, and then drop in pressure; ¶34-35, 90).
Regarding Claim 12, Lord discloses (fig. 2, 7, 8) a predetermined operation performed by a user is required to be continued for a predetermined period in order to satisfy the restart condition (¶34, 60).
Regarding Claim 13, Lord discloses (fig. 2, 7, 8) a user interface (¶39).
Regarding Claim 14, Lord discloses (fig. 2, 7, 8) the circuitry is further configured to detect the predetermined operation, and after the predetermined operation is continued for the predetermined period and the restart condition is satisfied and before the first operation is performed, cause the user interface-to perform a notification to a user (¶39).
Regarding Claim 16, Lord discloses (fig. 2, 7, 8) the circuitry is further configured to cause, after the restart condition is satisfied and before the first operation is performed, the user interface to complete a notification (¶39).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15 and 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 5 and 7-9 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the objection(s) set forth in this Office action and to include all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 5, the prior art fails to disclose: “...a connector to which the user interface is connected, wherein the connector is connected in parallel to the power supply terminal of the controller.” in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by the Applicant.
Regarding claim 7, the prior art fails to disclose: “...the switch includes an input terminal connected to the power supply, an output terminal connected to the power supply terminal of the controller, and a control terminal, and is configured to close, when a high-level voltage is input to the control terminal, an electrical connection between the input terminal and the output terminal, and the input terminal is connected in parallel to the control terminal.” in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by the Applicant.
Regarding claim 15, the prior art fails to disclose: “...a second electric connector to which the user interface is connected, wherein the second electric connector is connected in parallel to the power supply terminal.” in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by the Applicant.
Regarding claim 17, the prior art fails to disclose: “...the switch includes an input terminal connected to the power supply, an output terminal connected to the power supply terminal of the controller, and a control terminal, and is configured to close, when a high-level voltage is input to the control terminal, an electrical connection between the input terminal and the output terminal, and the input terminal is connected in parallel to the control terminal.” in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by the Applicant.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20170119052, Williams; Rodney Owen et al. discloses an application specific integrated circuit for an aerosol delivery device.
US 20240057690, Aoyama; Tatsunari et al. discloses a power supply unit of aerosol generation device.
US 20250098744, Park; Ju Eon et al. discloses an aerosol generating device and method.
/KYLE J MOODY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838