DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “the nozzle body is rotatably attached to the rotating base” of claim 7 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites “wherein the nozzle body is rotatably attached to the rotating base” however this limitation is confusing. Firstly, this language does not appear in applicant’s specification and as such no further explanation for the language is present. As such, it is entirely unclear how the component titled “rotating base” is rotatably attached to the component titled “nozzle body” applicant’s figures show the exact opposite. The rotating base is element 106 in applicant’s figures while the nozzle body is element 101. As seen in applicant’s figures the entire length of element 106 is inserted into element 101 and specifically in figure 2 where it’s demonstrated that the component titled “nozzle base” is shown to be rotatably attached through shaft 108A and tabs 101C, the rotating base, again element 106, which can also be clearly seen in figure 4 fully inserted into nozzle body 101, does not in any way appear to be rotatably attached to the nozzle body 101. As such, the metes and bounds of the claim cannot be understood and the claim is considered indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Christian (FR 2666777 A1).
Re claim 1, Christian shows a foldable nozzle assembly (Figs. 1-3), comprising a nozzle body (18/26), wherein a nozzle base (7/12) is mounted on the nozzle body, and a limiting component (25/28) is installed between the nozzle base and the nozzle body; a rotational component (19) on the nozzle base is configured to pivotally attach a rotating base (18), which in turn supports a nozzle (20); the nozzle (20) is foldable onto the nozzle base (7/12) using the limiting component (25/28) and the rotational component (19).
Re claim 5, Christian shows a spring (14) is installed on the nozzle to facilitate nozzle reset.
Re claim 7, Christian shows the nozzle body (18/26) is rotatably attached to the rotating base (18, Christian shows these two components to be “rotatably attached” in the same way applicants demonstrate these two components to be “rotatably attached”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, 6, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christian (FR 2666777 A1).
Re claim 2, Christian shows the limiting component comprises a limiting rib (25) and a matching limiting orifice (space 25 is inserted into), with the limiting rib located on the nozzle body (18/26) and the limiting orifice positioned on the nozzle base (7/12).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include more than one rib and more than one matching orifice, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St, Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. Further, no criticality is apparent for the plural elements.
Re claim 3, Christian shows the rotation component comprises a rotating shaft (19) and a connecting tab (through 18 and 12) matched to the rotating shaft; the rotating shaft is positioned on the nozzle base (7/12), and the connecting tab is positioned on the nozzle body (18/26).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include more than tab, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St, Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. Further, no criticality is apparent for the plural elements.
Re claim 4, Christian shows the nozzle comprises a spray hole (22) and a nozzle rear cover (26), with the spray hole arranged opposite the nozzle rear cover.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include more than spray hole, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St, Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. Further, no criticality is apparent for the plural elements.
Re claim 6, Christian shows the nozzle body is equipped with a guiding hole (29) for nozzle movement.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include more than guiding hole, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St, Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. Further, no criticality is apparent for the plural elements.
Re claim 8, Christian discloses all aspects of the claimed invention but does not teach a sealing ring positioned at the water outlet of the nozzle base, and the rotating base is sealingly connected to the nozzle base through the sealing ring.
However, Christian does teach multiple sealing rings.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to position a sealing ring at the water outlet of the nozzle base, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japiske, 86 USPQ 70. Further, this ensures a tight closure between the nozzle base and rotating base (col. 4, lines 9-12).
Re claim 9, Christian discloses all aspects of the claimed invention but does not teach a sealing ring is located at the water outlet of the rotating base, and the nozzle is sealingly connected to the rotating base through the sealing ring.
However, Christian does teach multiple sealing rings.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to position a sealing ring at the water outlet of the rotating base, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japiske, 86 USPQ 70. Further, this ensures a tight closure between the rotating base and nozzle (col. 4, lines 9-12).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta et al. (US Pub No 2014/0101838 A1) in view of Christian (FR 2666777 A1).
Re claim 10, Gupta et al. show a bidet (Fig. 1), comprising a bidet body (100), wherein a nozzle assembly (101) is mounted on the bidet body.
Gupta et al. does not teach any one of the foldable nozzle assemblies according to claim 1 and the nozzle assembly can be folded onto the bidet body.
However, Christian shows a foldable nozzle assembly according to claim 1 (see above) and the nozzle assembly can be folded onto the body (Fig. 1, 3).
The substitution of one known element (nozzle assembly in Gupta) for another (nozzle assembly as shown in Christian) would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention since the substitution of the nozzle assembly shown in Christian would have yielded predictable results, namely, a nozzle assembly in Gupta et al. to wash the body parts of a user (paragraph 0032).
Conclusion
STEVEN MICHAEL CERNOCH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3752
/STEVEN M CERNOCH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752