DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structural cooperative relationships are: In line 10, “the heat exchanger further comprising” then refers to structure associated with the header part as the burring parts and the extension part are both associated with the header, as per the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamaji et al (10,267,575). Yamaji et al discloses a heat exchanger (HE1) including a case (2) into which a combustion gas is supplied (column 4, lines 8-13); a plurality of heat transfer tubes (1) that are accommodated in the case and have end parts drawn out to outside of the case via a plurality of hole parts provided at a sidewall (21) part of the case (SEE Figure 4A); and a header part (H) that is arranged on an outer surface side of the sidewall part, and has a plurality of hole parts (23) through which the end parts of the plurality of heat transfer tubes are inserted and forms a chamber (32) communicated to insides of the plurality of heat transfer tubes, the heat exchanger further includes a plurality of burring parts (22) in a tubular shape that are provided to protrude from circumferential edge parts of the plurality of hole parts of the header part toward a sidewall part side of the case, and are externally fitted to the end parts of the respective heat transfer tubes (Figure 3A); and an extension part (3) that is provided to partially extend from a part of a tip circumferential edge part (22b) of each of the burring parts toward the sidewall (21) part side of the case (2), and has a tip part (33) abutting against the sidewall part. In re claim 2, Yamaji et al further discloses that the extension part is configured to have a width of the tip part (33) that is smaller than a width of a base part (31) (SEE Figure 4A). In re claim 3, Yamaji et al implicitly discloses a brazing part at which a brazing material enters between the end part of each of the heat transfer tubes and the burring part from an outer portion of the burring part on a tip circumferential edge part side (SEE column 8, lines 12-14). In re claim 7, Yamaji et al implicitly discloses that in the header part, a boundary part between each of the burring parts and the extension part is provided with a fragile part having a strength partially reduced compared to a surrounding part of the boundary part (SEE column 5, lines 36-44). In re claim 8, Yamaji et al discloses a hot water apparatus comprising: the heat exchanger according to claim 1; and a burner that supplies the combustion gas into the case of the heat exchanger (SEE column 4, lines 8-18).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
/GREGORY A WILSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762 January 10, 2026