DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
As a result of the Amendment filed on July 20, 2026, claims 1, 3 and 5-16 are pending. Claim 1 is amended. Claim 2 and 4 are canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3 and 5-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, and 5-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kimura et al., United States Patent Application Publication No. US 20240169319 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Kimura discloses a booth apparatus (Figs. 1-7, generally) comprising:
a space forming member that includes a first surface, a second surface, and a third
surface and that forms a space surrounded by the first surface, the second surface, and the third
surface, wherein the first surface, the second surface, and the third surface are respectively
formed by a first side wall, a second side wall, and a third side wall that are connected to each
other (Figs. 1, #12a/12b/12c; Detailed Description, [0073-0078]);
an electronic blackboard that is provided on any of the first surface, the second
surface, or the third surface in the space (Figs. 1, #12a/12b/12c; Detailed Description, [0073-0078], “n the case illustrated in FIG. 1, the information processing system further detects, from the activity information, that a user C faces an image display device 12a. The user C may be moving or stay at a position. In other words, based on the position information included in the activity information of the user C, the information processing system detects that the user C directs the face or the body to a wall serving as a display of the image display device 12a or a screen generated by the image display device 12a. The image display devices 12a, 12b, and 12c may be collectively referred to as “image display devices 12” in the following description”; See also Fig. 2 and Detailed Description, [0096-0097]); and
a projecting device that projects an image onto at least one surface out of the first
surface, the second surface, or the third surface on which the electronic blackboard is not
provided (Figs. 2-3, projector, #10; Detailed Description, [0096-0099], “Examples of the information processing system 10 include a projector, a display device having an electronic whiteboard function, an output device such as digital signage, a head-up display (HUD) apparatus, an industrial machine, an image-capturing device, a sound collecting device, a medical device, a networked home appliance, a connected car, a laptop PC, a mobile phone, a smartphone, a tablet communication terminal, a game console, a PDA, a digital camera, a wearable PC, and a desktop PC.”; See also Detailed Description, [0144], “he user guide unit 33 determines which of the image display devices 12 in the meeting room the user faces based on the position information and the direction of the user, and generates a work area of the user on the image display device 12. In the case where the image display devices 12 are projectors, the user guide unit 33 determines which of the image display devices 12 is projecting the screen that the user faces, and causes the determined image display device 12 to display a work area of the user.”),
wherein the second surface is a surface that intersects the first surface beside the first
surface (See Fig. 1, 12a/12b/12; 12b is mapped onto second surface),
the third surface is a surface that faces the first surface beside the second surface and
that intersects the second surface (See Fig. 1, 12a/12b/12; 12c is mapped onto third surface),
the electronic blackboard is provided on the second surface (Figs. 1, #12b; Detailed Description, [0073-0078], “In the case illustrated in FIG. 1, the information processing system further detects, from the activity information, that a user C faces an image display device 12a. The user C may be moving or stay at a position. In other words, based on the position information included in the activity information of the user C, the information processing system detects that the user C directs the face or the body to a wall serving as a display of the image display device 12a or a screen generated by the image display device 12a. The image display devices 12a, 12b, and 12c may be collectively referred to as “image display devices 12” in the following description”; See also Fig. 2 and Detailed Description, [0096-0097]), and
the projecting device projects the image onto at least one surface out of the first
surface or the third surface (Figs. 2-3, projector, #10; Detailed Description, [0096-0099], “Examples of the information processing system 10 include a projector, a display device having an electronic whiteboard function, an output device such as digital signage, a head-up display (HUD) apparatus, an industrial machine, an image-capturing device, a sound collecting device, a medical device, a networked home appliance, a connected car, a laptop PC, a mobile phone, a smartphone, a tablet communication terminal, a game console, a PDA, a digital camera, a wearable PC, and a desktop PC.”; See also Detailed Description, [0144], “he user guide unit 33 determines which of the image display devices 12 in the meeting room the user faces based on the position information and the direction of the user, and generates a work area of the user on the image display device 12. In the case where the image display devices 12 are projectors, the user guide unit 33 determines which of the image display devices 12 is projecting the screen that the user faces, and causes the determined image display device 12 to display a work area of the user.”).
Regarding claim 3, Kimura discloses wherein the projecting device projects the image onto any of the first surface or the third surface in accordance with an attribute of an authenticated user (Figs. 2-3, projector, #10; Detailed Description, [0096-0099], “Examples of the information processing system 10 include a projector, a display device having an electronic whiteboard function, an output device such as digital signage, a head-up display (HUD) apparatus, an industrial machine, an image-capturing device, a sound collecting device, a medical device, a networked home appliance, a connected car, a laptop PC, a mobile phone, a smartphone, a tablet communication terminal, a game console, a PDA, a digital camera, a wearable PC, and a desktop PC.”; See also Detailed Description, [0144], “he user guide unit 33 determines which of the image display devices 12 in the meeting room the user faces based on the position information and the direction of the user, and generates a work area of the user on the image display device 12. In the case where the image display devices 12 are projectors, the user guide unit 33 determines which of the image display devices 12 is projecting the screen that the user faces, and causes the determined image display device 12 to display a work area of the user.”).
Regarding claim 5, Kimura discloses wherein the projecting device projects information input to the electronic blackboard onto at least one surface out of the first surface, the second surface, or the third surface on which the electronic blackboard is not provided (Figs. 2-3, projector, #10; Detailed Description, [0096-0099], See also Detailed Description, [0144]).
Regarding claim 6, Kimura discloses wherein the projecting device projects the information to be gradually moved from an electronic blackboard side on the at least one surface (Detailed Description, [0242-251], “The second environmental control unit 37 may change the shape or size of the work areas 201 and 241 according to a user operation. The second environmental control unit 37 may move the work areas 201 and 241 as desired according to dragging or a voice input by the user.”).
Regarding claim 7, Kimura discloses wherein the projecting device projects an image showing a position of start of projection of the information on the at least one surface (Detailed Description, [0144], “In the case where the image display devices 12 are projectors, the user guide unit 33 determines which of the image display devices 12 is projecting the screen that the user faces, and causes the determined image display device 12 to display a work area of the user. In other words, a user-dedicated work area is automatically prepared in a portion out of the entire screen of the image display device 12 in accordance with the position and the direction of the user.”; See also [0242-0251]).
Regarding claim 8, Kimura discloses
wherein the projecting device projects the image onto two surfaces out of the first
surface, the second surface, or the third surface on which the electronic blackboard is not
provided Detailed Description, [0144], “In the case where the image display devices 12 are projectors, the user guide unit 33 determines which of the image display devices 12 is projecting the screen that the user faces, and causes the determined image display device 12 to display a work area of the user. In other words, a user-dedicated work area is automatically prepared in a portion out of the entire screen of the image display device 12 in accordance with the position and the direction of the user.”),
one of the two surfaces is determined as a first projection screen and the other of the
two surfaces is determined as a second projection screen (Detailed Description, [0144][0231-0252], “FIG. 23 is a diagram illustrating the image display devices 12 to which the users face. FIG. 23 illustrates the three image display devices 12a to 12c. Since each of the image display devices 12a to 12c is a projection surface of a projector or a large touch panel, a user can use any of the image display devices 12a to 12c as a display device or an input device.”), and
the projecting device projects a first image showing first information onto the first
projection screen and projects a second image showing second information related to the first
information onto the second projection screen (Detailed Description, [0144][0231-0252], “FIG. 23 is a diagram illustrating the image display devices 12 to which the users face. FIG. 23 illustrates the three image display devices 12a to 12c. Since each of the image display devices 12a to 12c is a projection surface of a projector or a large touch panel, a user can use any of the image display devices 12a to 12c as a display device or an input device.”; See Fig. 23).
Regarding claim 9, Kimura discloses wherein the projecting device projects, onto the second projection screen, the second image included in the first image (Detailed Description, [0144][0231-0252]; See Figs. 23-26).
Regarding claim 10, Kimura discloses wherein the projecting device projects, onto the at least one surface, a first image projected onto a surface of another booth apparatus (See Figs. 42 and Detailed Description, [0341-0350], showing image display onto different display apparatuses).
Regarding claim 11, Kimura discloses wherein the projecting device projects, onto the at least one surface, a second image to be superimposed on the first image, the second image being captured by a camera that is provided on the surface of the other booth apparatus and that images an inside of the other booth apparatus (Detailed Description, [0091-0099], “The camera 18 in the meeting room captures an image in the meeting room and transmits the captured image data to the information processing system 10 as an output signal. For example, the camera 18 is a video camera of KINECT. The video camera of KINECT serves as a video camera that includes a range image sensor, an infrared sensor, and an array microphone. When such a video camera including a range image sensor, an infrared sensor, and an array microphone is used, the motion and the posture of the user are recognized.”; See next Fig. 42 and Detailed Description, [0341-0350], “. Further, an avatar 328 of the user is present in the virtual space 320. The field of view of the user is an image obtained by projecting a three-dimensional space onto a virtual camera on the assumption that the optical axis of the virtual camera is located in the line-of-sight direction from the position of the avatar 328. The user who participates in the meeting can change the position of the avatar 328 and the direction (including the line-of-sight direction) of the avatar 328 by operating a controller 331 for VR operation (may be referred to simply as “controller 331” in the following description). Further, the user can change the direction of the avatar 328 by operating the controller 331 or by changing his/her direction. In other words, the direction of the avatar 328 can be changed based on the direction information detected by the activity sensor 9. Accordingly, the user can view any viewpoint of the virtual space 320.”).
Regarding claim 12, Kimura discloses the booth apparatus further comprising:
a processor (Fig. 1-7, information processing system, #10) configured to:
transmit, to the other booth apparatus, an image projected onto a surface onto which
the first image is not projected so that the image is projected onto a surface of the other boot ah
apparatus (Figs. 42-43, Detailed Description, [0341-350], “The virtual space 320 is, for example, a 360-degree three-dimensional space that imitates a space or a meeting room where people gather in a virtual space. For example, VR goggles or a VR headset (referred to as a display terminal 330 in the following description) worn by a user displays a field of view of the user in a virtual space. Further, an avatar 328 of the user is present in the virtual space 320. The field of view of the user is an image obtained by projecting a three-dimensional space onto a virtual camera on the assumption that the optical axis of the virtual camera is located in the line-of-sight direction from the position of the avatar 328. The user who participates in the meeting can change the position of the avatar 328 and the direction (including the line-of-sight direction) of the avatar 328 by operating a controller 331 for VR operation (may be referred to simply as “controller 331” in the following description). Further, the user can change the direction of the avatar 328 by operating the controller 331 or by changing his/her direction. In other words, the direction of the avatar 328 can be changed based on the direction information detected by the activity sensor 9. Accordingly, the user can view any viewpoint of the virtual space 320… When the virtual space 320 is the virtual office 324 as illustrated in FIG. 43, the position information and the direction information detected by the activity sensor 9 are used for the position and the direction in the virtual office 324. The information processing system 10 reproduces the real office 325 in the real space in the virtual space 320, and uses the position information and the direction information detected by the activity sensor 9 for the position and the direction of the avatar 328”).
Regarding claim 13, Kimura discloses the booth apparatus further comprising:
a microphone (figs. 1-7, microphone, #20),
wherein the projecting device projects, onto the at least one surface, a text string
representing a voice acquired by the microphone (Detailed Description, [0131][0159], “The sound data is converted into digital signals. The information processing system 10 performs speech recognition on the sound data and converts the sound data into speech data (text data).”).
Regarding claim 14, Kimura discloses wherein the projecting device projects the text string onto a surface ahead of a person who has emitted the voice (Detailed Description, [0131][0159-0160], “The sound data is converted into digital signals. The information processing system 10 performs speech recognition on the sound data and converts the sound data into speech data (text data)… The position information and the direction are detected successively (for example, 10 times or more per second). By contrast, the behavior information and the speech data are event data detected only when a behavior and an utterance are detected, respectively. For this reason, in FIG. 8, the position information and the direction are illustrated in accordance with the event for the convenience of drawing, but the position information and the direction are successively detected at shorter intervals than the intervals illustrated in the drawing.”).
Regarding claim 15, Kimura disclose wherein the projecting device projects the text string in a display style corresponding to an orientation of the person who has emitted the voice (Summary, 0005-0006]; Detailed Description, [0144-0160], “The user guide unit 33 determines which of the image display devices 12 in the meeting room the user faces based on the position information and the direction of the user, and generates a work area of the user on the image display device 12. In the case where the image display devices 12 are projectors, the user guide unit 33 determines which of the image display devices 12 is projecting the screen that the user faces, and causes the determined image display device 12 to display a work area of the user. In other words, a user-dedicated work area is automatically prepared in a portion out of the entire screen of the image display device 12 in accordance with the position and the direction of the user.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimura in view of Nagahara, United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2021/0295217 A1.
Regarding claim 16, Kimura discloses every element of claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose a processor configured to:
turn on the projecting device in a case where a reservation for the space is made and a
person who has made the reservation is authenticated for use of the space.
However, Kimura does provide the suggestion of virtual meeting rooms and spaces (See Summary, also Figs. 1-7, Detailed Description, [0084-0090]; See also Fig. 42 and Detailed Description, [0341-0350]).
Nagahara, in a similar field of endeavor, discloses a booth apparatus comprising a processor configured to turn on the projecting device in a case where a reservation for the space is made and a person who has made the reservation is authenticated for use of the space (Detailed Description, [0029-0040], “…meeting room terminal 90 transmits the check-in request (usage start request) to the meeting management server 30, and if the meeting room terminal 90 is authenticated with the meeting identification information, the meeting room terminal 90 receives a response indicating that the check-in has succeeded from the meeting management server 30. The meeting room terminal 90 displays that the meeting room is in session (in use).”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the processor of Kimura to include the teachings of Nagahara wherein the processor is configured to turn on the projecting device in a case where a reservation for the space is made and a person who has made the reservation is authenticated for use of the space. The motivation to combine these arts is to provide operation of a facility reservation system for a plurality of authenticated users (see Nagahara, Detailed Description, [0029-0040]). The fact that both Kimura and Nagahara disclose meeting rooms across multiple display systems, makes this combination more easily implemented.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KWIN XIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626