DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in Japanese parent Application No. JP2023-086947, filed on May 26, 2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on November 5, 2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hutchinson et al., United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2007/0106950 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Hutchinson discloses a booth apparatus (Figs. 1-19, generally, Summary) comprising:
a space forming member that includes a first surface, a second surface, and a third
surface and that forms a space surrounded by the first surface, the second surface, and the third
surface (See Figs. 1-2, 11-12, 18-21, particular Fig. 11 shows conference room 11 surrounded by walls and surfaces);
an electronic blackboard that is provided on any of the first surface, the second surface,
or the third surface in the space (Fig. 11-12, presentation unit, #48/232; Detailed Description, [0163-0165]); and
a projecting device that projects an image onto at least one surface out of the first
surface, the second surface, or the third surface on which the electronic blackboard is not
provided (See Figs. 18-21, particular Fig. 20, projector unit, #558; Detailed Description, [0179-0181]).
Regarding claim 2, Hutchinson discloses
wherein the second surface is a surface that intersects the first surface beside the first
surface (See embodiment of Fig. 21, easel of master unit 610 has master presentation surface 612),
the third surface is a surface that faces the first surface beside the second surface and
that intersects the second surface (See embodiment of Fig. 21, shelves, #616; Detailed Description, [0181-0182]),
the electronic blackboard is provided on the second surface (Fig. 21, screen, #612), and
the projecting device projects the image onto at least one surface out of the first surface
or the third surface (Fig. 21, shelves, #616; Detailed Description, [0182], “A computer projector and other system components may be located on shelves 616 within space 614. Unit 610 includes a master presentation surface 612 for presenting master images, modifying the images and generally facilitating collaborative activity”)
Regarding claim 3, Hutchinson discloses wherein the projecting device projects the image onto any of the first surface or the third surface in accordance with an attribute of an authenticated user (Fig. 21, shelves, #616; Detailed Description, [0182], “A computer projector and other system components may be located on shelves 616 within space 614. Unit 610 includes a master presentation surface 612 for presenting master images, modifying the images and generally facilitating collaborative activity”; See next Detailed Description, [0262], “. In some embodiments the user of a new source may attempt to join a conference via a personal interface device or the like and may either automatically be admitted, may be accepted by a current attendee in some fashion or via password entry, etc”).
Regarding claim 4, Hutchinson discloses
wherein the second surface is a surface that intersects the first surface beside the first
surface (Figs. 11-21, particularly Fig. 11, surfaces, #248/250; Detailed Description, [0163-0170], “Second, prior to flipping an image to slave unit 232, processor 80 is programmed to add an image identifier number to the flipped image which, in the example here, is added to the flipped image in the upper left hand corner. For example, in FIG. 11, image identifier numbers "6" and "7" are associated with images presented on surfaces 250 and 248, respectively, and therefore, identifier numbers 6 and 7 have been added to each of the images so that each image can be subsequently uniquely identified.”),
the third surface is a surface that faces the first surface beside the second surface and
that intersects the second surface (Figs. 11-21, particularly Fig. 11, surfaces, #248/250; Detailed Description, [0163-0170]; 248/250 intersect one another),
the electronic blackboard is provided on the first surface (Fig. 11-21, particularly Fig. 11 and master unit, #28; master unit has a separate surface than 250/248),
the second surface and the third surface are connected to each other, and
the projecting device projects the image onto the second surface and the third surface (Figs. 11-21, particularly Fig. 11, surfaces, #248/250; Detailed Description, [0163-0171], “Referring still to FIG. 12, when an image is flipped from unit 48 to slave unit 252a, the image is transmitted wirelessly to unit 252a and is immediately presented via display 256a”; See also projectors of Fig. 20).
Regarding claim 5, Hutchinson discloses wherein the projecting device projects information input to the electronic blackboard onto at least one surface out of the first surface, the second surface, or the third surface on which the electronic blackboard is not provided (See Figs. 18-21, particular Fig. 20, projector unit, #558; Detailed Description, [0179-0182]; See also Figs. 29-36; Detailed Description, [0254-0285]).
Regarding claim 6, Hutchinson discloses wherein the projecting device projects the information to be gradually moved from an electronic blackboard side on the at least one surface (See Figs. 18-21, particular Fig. 20, projector unit, #558; Detailed Description, [0179-0182], “A computer projector and other system components may be located on shelves 616 within space 614. Unit 610 includes a master presentation surface 612 for presenting master images, modifying the images and generally facilitating collaborative activity. As in the embodiments above, on-screen selectable icons may be provided via surface 612 for flipping master images to the slave units, to retrieve images and to perform other image management functions”; See also Figs. 29-36; Detailed Description, [0254-0285]).
Regarding claim 7, Hutchinson discloses wherein the projecting device projects an image showing a position of start of projection of the information on the at least one surface (See Figs. 18-21; Detailed Description, [0173-181]; See also Detailed Description, [0378-0380], “..to provide customized help information such as a phone number or an e-mail link for contacting the IT department when help is needed. For instance, whenever the master unit is first activated to start a new session, a help splash screen may be provided via the master workspace that includes the IT department contact information”).
Regarding claim 8, Hutchinson discloses
wherein the projecting device projects the image onto two surfaces out of the first surface, the second surface, or the third surface on which the electronic blackboard is not provided (Figs. 18-21, particularly 21),
one of the two surfaces is determined as a first projection screen and the other of the
two surfaces is determined as a second projection screen (Figs. 18-21), and
the projecting device projects a first image showing first information onto the first
projection screen and projects a second image showing second information related to the first
information onto the second projection screen (Figs. 18-21, particular Fig. 18 and Detailed Description, [0173-0181], “Referring still to FIG. 18, four touch sensitive directed arrow icons 482, 484, 486 and 488 are provided below presentation surface 478. Flip icon 484 is selectable to indicate that an image presented via surface 478 should be flipped left to surface 476 as indicated by arrow 490. Flip icon 486 is selectable to indicate that an image presented via surface 478 should be flipped right to surface 480 as indicated by arrow 492. Similarly, arrow icon 482 is selectable to indicate that the image on left surface 476 should be retrieved and presented on surface 478 as indicated by arrow 494 and arrow icon 488 is selectable to indicate that an image on right surface 480 should be retrieved and presented on central surface 478 as indicated via arrow 49”).
Regarding claim 9, Hutchinson discloses wherein the projecting device projects, onto the second projection screen, the second image included in the first image (Figs. 18-21, particular Fig. 18 and Detailed Description, [0173-0181]).
Regarding claim 10, Hutchinson discloses wherein the projecting device projects, onto the at least one surface, a first image projected onto a surface of another booth apparatus (Figs. 18-21, particular Fig. 24 and Detailed Description, [0183-190], showing multiple presentation units).
Regarding claim 11, wherein the projecting device projects, onto the at least one surface, a second image to be superimposed on the first image, the second image being captured by a camera that is provided on the surface of the other booth apparatus and that images an inside of the other booth
apparatus (Detailed Description, [221], “For example, master unit 28 may simply be a conventional whiteboard equipped with a camera wherein, when an image is flipped from the master unit to one of the slave units, the camera takes a picture of the image presented via the master unit and transmits that image to a selected slave unit for presentation.”).
Regarding claim 12, Hutchinson discloses a booth apparatus further comprising:
a processor configured to:
transmit, to the other booth apparatus, an image projected onto a surface onto which
the first image is not projected SO that the image is projected onto a surface of the other booth
apparatus (Figs. 24-29, rack mounted processor, #810; Detailed Description, [0184-0200], “Rack mounted processor 810 is linked via LAN 812 to access point 814 to receive information therefrom and provide information thereto for transmission to unit 808”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hutchinson in view of Lee et al., United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2015/0015504 A1.
Regarding claim 13, Hutchinson discloses a booth apparatus further comprising:
a microphone (Figs. 78-82, microphone, #2270; Detailed Description, [0392])
Hutchinson does not explicitly disclose wherein the projecting device projects, onto the at least one surface, a text string representing a voice acquired by the microphone.
Lee in a similar field of endeavor, discloses a booth apparatus (Fig. 1, Fig. 43 generally) wherein the projecting device projects, onto the at least one surface, a text string representing a voice acquired by the microphone (Detailed Description, [0049], “In this example, the pen 910 can be used to invoke speech or text input options. Input bar 2300 can be an information navigation and/or search question box. The input bar can allow the user to seek information through typing and/or use of a pen, touch, or voice command(s). In the example in FIG. 23, the user is selecting microphone 2302 by tapping the microphone icon (seen more readily in FIG. 24). In another implementation, the interactive digital display 902 could auto-invoke speech. In the example in FIG. 23, after tapping the microphone 2302, the user says "Show college ready funding by initiative." In response, the interactive digital display causes these words to appear in the input bar 2300 and searches for this information. The interactive digital display automatically shows the result as a new data visualization, pie chart 2400, as shown in FIG. 24.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the projecting device of Hutchinson to include the teachings of Lee wherein the projecting device projects, onto the at least one surface, a text string representing a voice acquired by the microphone. The motivation to combine these arts is to gain the advantages of text-to-speech input modalities (Lee, Summary, [0011]; Detailed Description, [0049][0063]). The fact that Lee discloses similar types of display apparatus as Hutchinson, namely large format displays that operate as digital blackboards/whiteboards, makes this combination more easily implemented.
Regarding claim 14, Hutchinson in combination with Lee discloses every element of claim 13, and Lee further discloses wherein the projecting device projects the text string onto a surface ahead of a person who has emitted the voice (Detailed Description, [0049], “In this example, the pen 910 can be used to invoke speech or text input options. Input bar 2300 can be an information navigation and/or search question box. The input bar can allow the user to seek information through typing and/or use of a pen, touch, or voice command(s). In the example in FIG. 23, the user is selecting microphone 2302 by tapping the microphone icon (seen more readily in FIG. 24). In another implementation, the interactive digital display 902 could auto-invoke speech. In the example in FIG. 23, after tapping the microphone 2302, the user says "Show college ready funding by initiative." In response, the interactive digital display causes these words to appear in the input bar 2300 and searches for this information. The interactive digital display automatically shows the result as a new data visualization, pie chart 2400, as shown in FIG. 24.”; Figs. 23-24 show the specific projection in front of the person using the screen).
Thus, it would have remained obvious to combine Hutchinson and Lee in the manner described in claim 13.
Regarding claim 15, Hutchinson in combination with Lee discloses every element of claim 14, and Lee further discloses wherein the projecting device projects the text string in a display style corresponding to an orientation of the person who has emitted the voice (Detailed Description, [0049],; See next Detailed Description, [0016], “As shown in FIG. 1, the user 104 is touching the surface of the screen 106 of the interactive digital display 102 near the first picture 110(1) and the second picture 110(2) with her respective left and right index fingers. As illustrated in FIG. 2, the user 104 can move her index fingers across the screen 106, dragging the first picture and the second picture closer together. As shown in FIG. 3, the user can bring the first picture and the second picture next to each other. In this example, the interactive digital display 102 can show the first picture and the second picture so that they appear to overlap each other on the GUI 108. In some implementations, the first picture and the second picture may appear translucent when overlapped, so that one picture is not hidden behind the other picture. Due to the constraints of the drawing page, in FIGS. 2 and 3 the user is depicted as bringing the first picture and the second picture together with an overhead motion that keeps the pictures from being occluded by the user's body in the illustration. Note that the pictures may be brought together at eye level of the user, or some other orientation relative to the user.”; See also Detailed Description, [0068-0070]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the projecting device within the combination of Hutchinson-Lee to further include the teachings of Lee wherein the projecting device projects the text string in a display style corresponding to an orientation of the person who has emitted the voice. The motivation to combine these arts is to detect user gestures based on a user engaging the interactive display with user commands, including voice commands (See Lee, Detailed Description, [0068-0070]). The fact that Lee discloses similar types of display apparatus as Hutchinson, namely large format displays that operate as digital blackboards/whiteboards, makes this combination more easily implemented.
Claim(s) 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hutchinson in view of Nagahara, United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2021/0295217 A1.
Regarding claim 16, Hutchinson discloses every element of claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose a processor configured to:
turn on the projecting device in a case where a reservation for the space is made and a
person who has made the reservation is authenticated for use of the space.
However, Hutchinson does provide the suggestion of authentication (Detailed Description, [0262]) and using the booth apparatus for conference rooms (Detailed Description, [0236-0273], “Thus, conference attendees within the conference room that includes subsystem 900 can observe an image presented via master unit 902 as well as each of the four images illustrated in FIG. 33.”).
Nagahara, in a similar field of endeavor, discloses a booth apparatus comprising a processor configured to turn on the projecting device in a case where a reservation for the space is made and a person who has made the reservation is authenticated for use of the space (Detailed Description, [0029-0040], “…meeting room terminal 90 transmits the check-in request (usage start request) to the meeting management server 30, and if the meeting room terminal 90 is authenticated with the meeting identification information, the meeting room terminal 90 receives a response indicating that the check-in has succeeded from the meeting management server 30. The meeting room terminal 90 displays that the meeting room is in session (in use).”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the processor of Hutchinson to include the teachings of Nagahara wherein the processor is configured to turn on the projecting device in a case where a reservation for the space is made and a person who has made the reservation is authenticated for use of the space. The motivation to combine these arts is to provide operation of a facility reservation system for a plurality of authenticated users (see Nagahara, Detailed Description, [0029-0040]). The fact that both Hutchinson and Nagahara disclose conference room large format displays and authentication systems, makes this combination more easily implemented.
Other References
The following references are also pertinent to the Invention and are cited but may not be specifically relied upon within this Action: Fieldman (US 10,126,927); Nakashima (US 2020/0104022 A1)
Conclusion
/KWIN XIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626