Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN115139428A see abstract, page 2 lines 34-37, page 3 lines 21-35, page 4 lines 21-24, and claims 1 page 7 lines 26-37.; in view of CN113039053A see abstract, page 3 lines 7-16 and page 5 lines 4-15.
With regard to claim 1, the closest art of record, CN115139428A, discloses a method for recycling and granulating waste polyester, comprising the following steps: Step 1: selecting, cleaning, pulverizing, drying, mixing waste PET, and then drying and removing moisture to reduce the moisture content of waste polyester; Step 2: melt the dried waste polyester, and extrude the melt after melting; Step 3: add chain extender to the extruded melt to increase the viscosity; Step 4: for Step 3 Filtration of the melt after thickening; Step 5: After filtration, the thick wire is formed by drawing: Step 6: Cooling the wire after Step 5 drawing; Step 7: After cooling, it is pelletized, dehydrated, packaged, and the waste polyester is dried and melted. After reacting with the chain extender, the viscosity and performance of the granulated product are improved, which can meet the processing needs of downstream products. See abstract, page 2 lines 34-37, page 3 lines 21-35, page 4 lines 21-24, and claims 1 page 7 lines 26-37.
CN115139428A does not disclose adding a modifier to the resulting higher viscosity polyester followed by further melt processing to form a modified polyester material.
CN113039053A discloses introducing additives into a recycled polyester melt using a dynamic mixer and static mixer prior to final processing. See page 3 lines 7-16 and page 5 lines 4-15. Note page 5 lines 13-15 states that the properties of the melt can also be adjusted by the method according to the invention and the apparatus according to the invention, so that film extrusion and other applications are also possible.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add modifiers as taught by CN113039053A into the recycled polyester process of CN115139428A since CN113039053A teaches the use of additives prior to the final processing in order to improve material properties and prepare the recycled polyester for further end use. Moreover, melt blending additives into polyester compositions was well known in the art for producing modified polyesters having desired properties. Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended purpose. See Sinclair & Carroll Co. Interchemical Corp., 325 US 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). (Selection of solvent having boiling point and vapor pressure properties recognized as being ideal for printing inks into printing ink compositions found obvious on its face). See also In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). (Selection of a known plastic to make a plastic container found obvious on its face).
With regard to claim 2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ an elevated processing temperature within the claimed range because CN115139428A discloses
melt processing recycled polyester at overlapping temperatures. See page 3 lines 27-33.
With regard to claim 3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a first melting treatment temperature within the claimed range because CN115139428A discloses melt processing recycled polyester at overlapping temperatures. See page 3 lines 27-33.
With regard to claim 4, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an intrinsic viscosity of the low-viscosity polyester is 0.5 dL/g to 0.62 dL/g since CN115139428A discloses recycled polyester having IV values overlapping the claimed range. See page 3 lines 34-35.
With regard to claim 5, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform surface coating scraping on the recycled release film before the first melting treatment since
CN115139428A discloses cleaning a preparing waste PET prior to processing. See page 2 lines 34-36.
With regard to claim 6, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to filter the low-viscosity polyester after the first melting treatment since CN115139428A discloses multiple filtration stages during recycling. See page 4 lines 1-8, page 5 lines 13-18 and page 6 lines 3-8.
With regard to claim 7, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a process wherein the polymerization treatment comprises liquid- state thickening since CN115139428A discloses increasing polyester viscosity through chain extension treatment. See page 2 lines 37 and page 3 lines 21-33.
With regard to claim 8, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a process wherein an intrinsic viscosity of the high-viscosity polyester is 0.7 dL/g to 0.86 dL/g since CN115139428A discloses polyester having increased IV values overlapping the claimed range. See page 3 lines 34-35 and page 4 lines 21-24.
With regard to claim 9, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the claimed modifier comprising a glass fiber, a flame retardant, a toughening agent, a nucleating agent, a weather-resistant modifier, an antioxidant, and/or a lubricant since CN115139428A discloses incorporating additives including reinforcing agents and performance enhancing additives into recycled polyester compositions prior to final process. See page 3 lines 7-16 and page 5 lines 4-15.
With regard to claim 10, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a second melting treatment is 240°C to 275°C since CN115139428A discloses melt processing recycled polyester at overlapping temperatures. See page 3 lines 27-33.
With regard to claim 11, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use cleaned and the high-viscosity polyester comprises polyethylene terephthalate of more than 99% purity since CN115139428A discloses cleaning and preparing waste PET prior to processing. See page 2 lines 34-36.
With regard to claim 12, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to subject the polyester modified material to a granulation treatment after the second melting treatment to form polyester modified particles since CN115139428A discloses pelletizing and granulating recycled polyester products after processing. See page 4 lines 25-29, page 5 lines 19-23 and page 6 lines 13-16.
In conclusion, in view of the above, there appears to be no significant difference between the reference(s) and that which is claimed by applicant(s). Any differences not specifically mentioned appear to be conventional. Consequently, the claimed invention cannot be deemed as unobvious and accordingly is unpatentable.
Obviousness-type Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of copending Application No. 18465986.
The claims are not patently distinct because both are directed to methods where a polyester material having a relatively low intrinsic viscosity is treated to increase intrinsic viscosity and is subsequently combined with modifying components to form a modified polyester composition material.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Information Disclosure Statement
Note that any future and/or present information disclosure statements must comply with 37 CFR § 1.98(b), which requires a list of the publications to include: the author (if any), title, relevant pages of the publication, date and place of publication to be submitted for consideration by the Office.
Improper Claim Dependency
Prior to allowance, any dependent claims should be rechecked for proper dependency if independent claims are cancelled.
Correspondence
/Terressa Boykin/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765