DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in response to application filed on 7/6/2026.
Claims 1, 5-6, 10 & 14 have been examined and are pending with this action.
Priority
Examiner acknowledges that the Applicant claims a priority benefit of PCT/CN2021/092109 filed on 5/17/2021.
Arguments
Applicant arguments are not persuasive based on the following arguments.
Applicant:
Applicant argues that PA doesn’t disclose wherein the one or more devices of the second multicast domain include one or more network devices
Examiner:
Examiner cites Xiong that discloses the amended limitation
Xiong in general discloses wherein the location information comprises at least one of a tracking area identity list associated with the area identifier [(XIONG): “ such as information related to UE location, tracking area identifier (TrackingAreaIdentity, TAI), globally unique AMF identifier (Globally UniqueAMF Identifier (GUAMI)”)], a cell list associated with the area identifier or a multicast address associated with the area identifier [(XIONG): such as information related to UE location, such as Cell Global Identifier (Cell Global Identifier, CGI) & the MBSF entity can send the second request to the corresponding PCF entity according to the MB-SMF ID, the second request may include TMGI corresponding to the multicast/broadcast service, MB-SMF ID list, information of at least one data stream corresponding to the multicast/broadcast service].
Xiong is general disclosers a session management function entity and a Multicast/Broadcast Service Function (MBSF) entity 203 is disclosed in figure 2. The limitation under argument discloses a tracking are functionality which is being interpreted by TAI (TrackingAreaIdentity) disclosed by Xiong.
Also Xiong discloses a cell list associated with the area identifier or a multicast address associated with the area identifier [(XIONG): such as information related to UE location, such as Cell Global Identifier (Cell Global Identifier, CGI) .
So all the key element s of the limitation are disclosed by the provided art in configuration claimed in the limitation.
Hence the argument proposed by Applicant are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 5-6, 10 & 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XIONG (CN # 111556539) in view of Dao et al (US Pub # 2021/0105196).
INDEPENDENT CLAIMS:
As per claim 1, XIONG discloses a wireless communication method for use in a wireless network node [(XIONG): “ the multicast/broadcast service, wherein FIG. 8 is a schematic flow of activating the multicast service based on the first activation mode in the wireless communication system”] , the wireless communication method comprising:
Receiving, by the wireless network node, from a session management function [(XIONG): wherein receiving from the first type session management function entity for activating the user device multicast service.”] , a session response comprising an area identifier of a multicast broadcast service (MBS) session and location information corresponding to the area identifier [(XIONG): “ the first type SMF (session management function) entity may also send other information to the determined MBSF (Multiple broadcast session function) entity, such as information related to UE location, such as Cell Global Identifier (Cell Global Identifier, CGI), tracking area identifier (TrackingAreaIdentity, TAI), globally unique AMF identifier (Globally UniqueAMF Identifier (GUAMI)”)].
transmitting, by the wireless node, to a multicast broadcast session management function of the MBS session [(XIONG): “ user plane tunnel transmitting the MBSU entity to be sent to the MB UPF entity data (e.g., service data corresponding to the multicast/broadcast service). ”],
wherein the location information comprises at least one of a tracking area identity list associated with the area identifier [(XIONG): “ such as information related to UE location, tracking area identifier (TrackingAreaIdentity, TAI), globally unique AMF identifier (Globally UniqueAMF Identifier (GUAMI)”)], a cell list associated with the area identifier or a multicast address associated with the area identifier [(XIONG): such as information related to UE location, such as Cell Global Identifier (Cell Global Identifier, CGI) & the MBSF entity can send the second request to the corresponding PCF entity according to the MB-SMF ID, the second request may include TMGI corresponding to the multicast/broadcast service, MB-SMF ID list, information of at least one data stream corresponding to the multicast/broadcast service].
XIONG does not explicitly teaches establishing a downlink tunnel.
Dao however discloses a request [(Dao) :[0519] “ an N4 MB session modification request comprising downlink DL tunnel”) of establishing a downlink tunnel for the MBS session, wherein the message comprises the area identifier [(Dao) :[0519] “ a message indicating confirmation of establishment of the MB session, the message comprising RAN tunnel information including RAN address and downlink (DL) N3 tunnel identifier (TEID).”].
Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of XIONG in view of Dao to figure out establishing a downlink tunnel. One would be motivated to do so because this enhances the system for group communications with shared downlink data. (Dao: [ABs]).
Claim 6 and 10 are rejected based on rationale provided from claim 1 rejection.
DEPENDENT CLAIMS:
As per claim 5, XIONG/Dao discloses the wireless communication method of claim 3 [(XIONG): “ the multicast/broadcast service, wherein FIG. 8 is a schematic flow of activating the multicast service based on the first activation mode in the wireless communication system”], further comprising:
receiving, from the multicast broadcast session management function [(XIONG): wherein receiving from the first type session management function entity for activating the user device multicast service.”], a response comprising a multicast address [(XIONG): the IP multicast address can identify a specific one multicast service; .”], associated with the area identifier [(XIONG): “ other information to the determined MBSF (Multiple broadcast session function) entity, such as information related to UE location tracking area identifier (TrackingAreaIdentity, TAI),”)].
Claim 14 is rejected based on rationale provided from claim 5 rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. This includes:
/SIBTE H BUKHARI/Examiner, Art Unit 2449