DETAILED ACTION
This office action response the amendment application on 03/16/2026.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Notice of AIA Status
Response to Amendment
This is in response to the amendments filed on March 16, 2026. Claims 1-20 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are pending and have been considered below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 13, and 16 have been carefully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-9, 13-14, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SEO et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20210314114 A1), hereinafter “D1”, in view of Han et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20130010724), (“D1”, hereinafter)
As per Claim 1, D1 discloses an operating method of a user equipment ([see, [0008], a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system]), the operating method comprising:
receiving a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) ([see, [0003, 0054], the UE may acquire more detailed system information (e.g., SIBs) by receiving a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH)]), comprising a plurality of control channel elements (CCEs) corresponding to one control resource set ([see, [0054-0056], a network may group a plurality of CCEs to transmit one PDCCH (i.e., CCE aggregation), and control resource set (CORESET) corresponding to an REG-to-CCE mapping]);
adaptively determining a division value corresponding to a number of CCEs to be included in at least a first group of a plurality of N groups of CCEs ([see, [0074-0077], an index is divided by N in Equation 1, corresponding to a number of CCEs N denotes the number of CCE groups indicated by the network, the first CCE group #0=CCE indexes satisfying (CCE index, N=0), and the second CCE group #1=CCE indexes satisfying (CCE index, N=1) are disclosed]), based on PDCCH configuration-related information including a largest value of aggregation levels ([see, [0018], an aggregation level (AL) sets]) of the plurality of CCEs ([see, [0012-0013, 0054], number of the plural CCE groups may be included in configuration information regarding the first CORESET or may be determined based on aggregation levels configured for the first CORESET]);
dividing the plurality of CCEs into the plurality of N groups of CCEs based on the division value ([see, [0074-0077], an index is divided by N in Equation 1, corresponding to a number of CCEs N denotes the number of CCE groups indicated by the network, the first CCE group #0=CCE indexes satisfying (CCE index, N=0), and the second CCE group #1=CCE indexes satisfying (CCE index, N=1) are disclosed]); and performing CCE to resource element (RE) demapping on the first group of the plurality N of groups of CCEs after the dividing the plurality of CCEs ([see, [0057-0060], REG-to-CCE mapping for 1-symbol CORESET corresponds to the interleaved type, 2, 3, or 6 REGs may be configured as 1 REG bundle]).
D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: decoding a demapped first group; and determining whether there is a valid downlink control information (DCI) based on a result of the decoding.
However, D2 discloses decoding the demapped first group ([see, [0053, 0077], and Fig. 5, 12, wherein the UE perform blind decoding on a different CCE aggregation level, blind decoding of L (CCE aggregation level)={1} has been successfully detected]); and
determining whether there is a valid downlink control information (DCI) based on a result of the decoding ([see, [0009, 0053-0054, 0103], performs blind decoding of the plurality of CCEs in units of a CCE aggregation, and recognizes a CCE aggregation level used for transmission of the PDCCH on the basis of the blind decoding result. In addition, UE attempts to decode received PDCHs according to each DCI format]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide blind decoding results efficiently reduce overhead of blind decoding, the number of DCI formats transmitted through a PDCCH (D2, [0055]]).
As per Claim 2, D1 and D2 discloses disclose the operating method of claim 1, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, and D2 further discloses further comprising receiving the PDCCH configuration-related information through radio resource control (RRC) signaling with a base station ([see, [0061], the base station (BS) may notify the UE of information through RRC signaling or system information]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide blind decoding results efficiently reduce overhead of blind decoding, the number of DCI formats transmitted through a PDCCH (D2, [0055]]).
As per Claim 3, D1 and D2 disclose the operating method of claim 2, and D1 further discloses wherein the PDCCH configuration-related information comprises aggregation levels of the CCEs ([see, [0012, 0014], number of the plural CCE groups may be included in configuration information regarding the first CORESET or may be determined based on aggregation levels configured for the first CORESET]), a number of candidates, and a number of the plurality of CCEs ([see, [0009-0010], at least one REG bundle of a first CCE among different CCEs constituting the control channel candidate]),
wherein the division value is a value determined by the user equipment based on the aggregation levels of the CCEs ([see, [0073-0074], the number of REG bundles in a specific CORESET may be a value obtained by dividing the number of REGs included in the CORESET by the REG bundle size]).
As per Claim 4, D1 and D2 disclose the operating method of claim 3, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, and D2 further discloses wherein the division value (PDCP format value {0, 1, 2, 3}) corresponds to a largest level from among the aggregation levels of the CCEs ([see, [0041-0042], and Table 1, wherein PDCP format value {0, 1, 2, 3}, corresponds to the CCE aggregation level may be an element of {1, 2, 4, 8} disclosed]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide blind decoding results efficiently reduce overhead of blind decoding, the number of DCI formats transmitted through a PDCCH (D2, [0055]]).
As per Claim 5, D1 and D2 disclose the operating method of claim 1, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, and D2 further discloses further comprising performing CCE to RE demapping on a second group included in the N groups ([see, [0040-0042], and Table 1, the CCE aggregation level may be an element of {2} mapped to number of REGs {18}]),
wherein the CCE to RE demapping on the second group is performed concurrently with the decoding of the demapped first group ([see, [0040-0041], and Table 1, wherein the PDCCH may be transmitted to an aggregate of one or some consecutive CCEs, Referring to FIG. 3, REG (denoted by a bold box) corresponds to 4 consecutive REs other than reference signals (R0.about.R3), and CCE may corresponds to 9 Res]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide blind decoding results efficiently reduce overhead of blind decoding, the number of DCI formats transmitted through a PDCCH (D2, [0055]]).
As per Claim 8, D1 and D2 disclose the operating method of claim 1, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, and D2 further discloses wherein the decoding of the demapped first group comprises performing blind decoding on PDCCH candidates comprising CCEs in the demapped first group ([see, [0005,0055, 0077], performing blind decoding of the plurality of CCEs in CCE aggregation units, wherein the blind decoding of "L (CCE aggregation level)=1" has been successfully detected at a CCE index 9]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide blind decoding results efficiently reduce overhead of blind decoding, the number of DCI formats transmitted through a PDCCH (D2, [0055]]).
As per Claim 9, D1 and D2 disclose the operating method of claim 1, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, and D2 further discloses wherein a memory used in the decoding of the demapped first group has a capacity based on a maximum value of the division value ([see, [0123], a maximum number of blind decoding, the number of common search spaces (CCE aggregation level), the number of blind decoding for DL grant in the UE search space disclosed]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide blind decoding results efficiently reduce overhead of blind decoding, the number of DCI formats transmitted through a PDCCH (D2, [0055]]).
As per Claim 13, D1 discloses an operating method of a user equipment ([see, [0008], a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system]) for performing blind decoding ([see, [0114], blind decoding should be performed at a corresponding AL]), the operating method comprising:
receiving a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) ([see, [0003, 0054], the UE may acquire more detailed system information (e.g., SIBs) by receiving a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH)]) comprising a plurality of control channel elements (CCEs) corresponding to one control resource set ([see, [0054-0056], a network may group a plurality of CCEs to transmit one PDCCH (i.e., CCE aggregation), and control resource set (CORESET) corresponding to an REG-to-CCE mapping]), and
PDCCH configuration-related information ([see, [0054], PDCCH configuration, such as minimum PDCCH size may correspond to 1 CCE disclosed]);
adaptively determining a division value corresponding to a number of CCEs to be included in each of a plurality of groups of CCEs ([see, [0074-0077], an index is divided by N in Equation 1, corresponding to a number of CCEs N denotes the number of CCE groups indicated by the network, the first CCE group #0=CCE indexes satisfying (CCE index, N=0), and the second CCE group #1=CCE indexes satisfying (CCE index, N=1) are disclosed]), based on the PDCCH configuration- related information including a largest value of aggregation levels (AL) ([see, [0018], an aggregation level (AL) sets]) of the plurality of CCEs ([see, [0012-0013, 0054], number of the plural CCE groups may be included in configuration information regarding the first CORESET or may be determined based on aggregation levels configured for the first CORESET]);
dividing the plurality of CCEs into the plurality of groups of CCEs having first to Nth groups based on the division value, where N (N=1) is a natural number of two or more ([see, [0074-0077], an index is divided by N in Equation 1, corresponding to a number of CCEs N denotes the number of CCE groups indicated by the network, the first CCE group #0=CCE indexes satisfying (CCE index, N=0), and the second CCE group #1=CCE indexes satisfying (CCE index, N=1) are disclosed]);
performing demapping on the first group of the plurality of groups of CCEs ([see, [0057-0060], REG-to-CCE mapping for 1-symbol CORESET corresponds to the interleaved type, 2, 3, or 6 REGs may be configured as 1 REG bundle]).
D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: performing blind decoding on a demapped first group and demapping on the second group of the plurality of groups of CCEs in parallel; and determining whether there is a valid downlink control information (DCI) based on a result of the decoding.
However, D2 discloses performing blind decoding on a demapped first group ([see, [0053, 0077], and Fig. 5, 12, wherein the UE perform blind decoding on a different CCE aggregation level, blind decoding of L (CCE aggregation level)={1} has been successfully detected]); and
demapping on the second group of the plurality of groups of CCEs in parallel ([see, [0053, 0077], and Fig. 5, 12, wherein the UE perform blind decoding on a different CCE aggregation level, blind decoding of L (CCE aggregation level)={1} has been successfully detected]).
determining whether there is a valid downlink control information (DCI) based on a result of the decoding ([see, [0009, 0053-0054, 0103], performs blind decoding of the plurality of CCEs in units of a CCE aggregation, and recognizes a CCE aggregation level used for transmission of the PDCCH on the basis of the blind decoding result. In addition, UE attempts to decode received PDCHs according to each DCI format]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide blind decoding results efficiently reduce overhead of blind decoding, the number of DCI formats transmitted through a PDCCH (D2, [0055]]).
As per Claim 14, D1 and D2 disclose the operating method of claim 2, and D1 further discloses wherein the PDCCH configuration-related information comprises aggregation levels of the CCEs ([see, [0012, 0014, 0054], number of the plural CCE groups may be included in configuration information regarding the first CORESET or may be determined based on aggregation levels configured for the first CORESET]), a number of candidates, and a number of the plurality of CCEs ([see, [0009-0010], at least one REG bundle of a first CCE among different CCEs constituting the control channel candidate]),
wherein the dividing the plurality of CCEs into the first to Nth groups further comprises dividing the plurality of CCEs in units of the largest value among the aggregation levels ([see, [0073-0074], the number of REG bundles in a specific CORESET may be a value obtained by dividing the number of REGs included in the CORESET by the REG bundle size]).
As per Claim 16, D1 discloses a user equipment ([see, [0008], a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system]) comprising:
a radio frequency (RF) integrated circuit configured to receive, from a base station, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) ([see, [0003, 0054], the UE may acquire more detailed system information (e.g., SIBs) by receiving a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH)]), comprising a plurality of control channel elements (CCEs) and PDCCH configuration-related information ([see, [0054-0056], a network may group a plurality of CCEs to transmit one PDCCH (i.e., CCE aggregation), and control resource set (CORESET) corresponding to an REG-to-CCE mapping]); and
a processing circuit configured to adaptively determine a division value ([see, [0074-0077], an index is divided by N in Equation 1, corresponding to a number of CCEs N denotes the number of CCE groups indicated by the network, the first CCE group #0=CCE indexes satisfying (CCE index, N=0), and the second CCE group #1=CCE indexes satisfying (CCE index, N=1) are disclosed]) based on the PDCCH configuration-related information including a largest value of aggregation levels ([see, [0018], an aggregation level (AL) sets]) of the plurality of CCEs ([see, [0012-0013, 0054], number of the plural CCE groups may be included in configuration information regarding the first CORESET or may be determined based on aggregation levels configured for the first CORESET]),
divide the plurality of CCEs into a plurality of groups based on the division value ([see, [0074-0077], an index is divided by N in Equation 1, corresponding to a number of CCEs N denotes the number of CCE groups indicated by the network, the first CCE group #0=CCE indexes satisfying (CCE index, N=0), and the second CCE group #1=CCE indexes satisfying (CCE index, N=1) are disclosed]), sequentially perform demapping operations on the plurality of groups on a group by group basis ([see, [0058], wherein the REG-to-CCE mapping for 1-symbol CORESET corresponds to the non-interleaved type, 6 REGs for CCE are grouped as a single REG bundle and the REGs for the CCE are consecutive]).
D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: perform decoding operations on the plurality of groups on a group-by-group basis in an order in which the demapping operations are completed, and determine whether there is a valid downlink control information (DCI) based on a result of the decoding operations.
However, D2 discloses perform decoding operations on the plurality of groups on a group-by-group basis in an order in which the demapping operations are completed ([see, [0053, 0077], and Fig. 5, 12, wherein the UE perform blind decoding on a different CCE aggregation level, blind decoding of L (CCE aggregation level)={1} has been successfully detected]); and determine whether there is a valid downlink control information (DCI) based on a result of the decoding operations ([see, [0009, 0053-0054, 0103], performs blind decoding of the plurality of CCEs in units of a CCE aggregation, and recognizes a CCE aggregation level used for transmission of the PDCCH on the basis of the blind decoding result. In addition, UE attempts to decode received PDCHs according to each DCI format]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide blind decoding results efficiently reduce overhead of blind decoding, the number of DCI formats transmitted through a PDCCH (D2, [0055]]).
As per Claim 17, D1 disclose the user equipment of claim 16, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, and D2 further discloses further comprising a memory used to perform a decoding operation for each group of the plurality of groups, wherein the memory has a capacity based on a maximum value of the division value ([see, [0123], a maximum number of blind decoding, the number of common search spaces (CCE aggregation level), the number of blind decoding for DL grant in the UE search space disclosed]). In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide blind decoding results efficiently reduce overhead of blind decoding, the number of DCI formats transmitted through a PDCCH (D2, [0055]]).
As per Claim 18, D1 disclose the user equipment of claim 16, and D1 further discloses wherein the demapping operations for some of the groups are performed in parallel to the decoding operations for some of the groups ([see, [0114] REG bundle set based interleaving may be applied only to a portion of candidates on which blind decoding should be performed at a corresponding AL]).
As per Claim 19, D1 and D2 disclose the user equipment of claim 16, and D1 further discloses wherein the PDCCH configuration-related information comprises aggregation levels of the CCEs ([see, [0012, 0014], number of the plural CCE groups may be included in configuration information regarding the first CORESET or may be determined based on aggregation levels configured for the first CORESET]), a number of candidates, and a number of the plurality of CCEs ([see, [0009-0010], at least one REG bundle of a first CCE among different CCEs constituting the control channel candidate]),
wherein the division value is a value determined by the user equipment based on the aggregation levels of the CCEs ([see, [0073-0074], the number of REG bundles in a specific CORESET may be a value obtained by dividing the number of REGs included in the CORESET by the REG bundle size]).
Claims 6-7, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1, in view of D2, and further in view of KWON et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20210050973 A1), hereinafter “D3”
As per Claim 6, D1 and D2 disclose the operating method of claim 5, and D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein, when the decoding of the demapped first group succeeds, decoding of the demapped second group is omitted.
However, D3 wherein, when the decoding of the demapped first group succeeds, decoding of the demapped second group is omitted ([see, [0077-0079], and Fig. 14a-c, the UE 102 may perform decoding on the SREG′ in operation S68_2c, the UE 102 may omit demapping and/or decoding of the SREG′ in the SPDCCH allocated by the higher layer signal]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide preforming decoding results improve efficiency of blind decoding (D3, [0072]]).
As per Claim 7, D1 and D2 disclose the operating method of claim 5, and D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein, when the decoding of the demapped first group succeeds, demapping of groups other than the first group and the second group from among the N groups is omitted.
However, D3 discloses wherein, when the decoding of the demapped first group succeeds, demapping of groups other than the first group and the second group from among the N groups is omitted ([see, [0077-0079], and Fig. 14a-c, the UE 102 may perform decoding on the SREG′ in operation S68_2c, the UE 102 may omit demapping and/or decoding of the SREG′ in the SPDCCH allocated by the higher layer signal]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide preforming decoding results improve efficiency of blind decoding (D3, [0072]]).
As per Claim 15, D1 and D2 disclose the operating method of claim 13, and D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: when decoding succeeds in the performing the blind decoding on the demapped first group, demapping of groups other than the first group and the second group from among the plurality of N groups of CCEs is omitted.
However, D3 discloses when decoding succeeds in the performing the blind decoding on the demapped first group, demapping of groups other than the first group and the second group from among the plurality of N groups of CCEs is omitted ([see, [0076-0078], and Fig. 14, wherein the UE 102 may perform decoding on the SPDCCH candidates in operation S68_2a succeeds, the UE 102 may omit decoding with respect to an entire portion of SPDCCH allocated by the higher layer signal]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide preforming decoding results improve efficiency of blind decoding (D3, [0072]]).
As per Claim 20, D1 and D2 disclose the user equipment of claim 16, and D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein, when a decoding operation for at least one group of the plurality of groups succeeds during the performing the decoding operations, the decoding operation for the plurality of groups other than the at least one group is omitted.
However, D3 discloses wherein, when a decoding operation for at least one group of the plurality of groups succeeds during the performing the decoding operations, the decoding operation for the plurality of groups other than the at least one group is omitted ([see, [0077-0079], and Fig. 14a-c, the UE 102 may perform decoding on the SREG′ in operation S68_2c, the UE 102 may omit demapping and/or decoding of the SREG′ in the SPDCCH allocated by the higher layer signal, and the UE 102 may omit decoding with respect to an entire portion of SPDCCH allocated by the higher layer signal]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide preforming decoding results improve efficiency of blind decoding (D3, [0072]]).
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1, in view of D2, and further in view of Chung et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20090088148 A1) hereinafter “D4”.
As per Claim 10, D1 discloses the operating method of claim 9, and D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: further comprising, when the decoding the demapped first group fails, deleting decoding-related data stored during decoding the demapped first group from the memory
However, D4 discloses further comprising, when the decoding the demapped first group fails, deleting decoding-related data stored during decoding the demapped first group from the memory ([see, [0073], the UE 10 first decodes all the PDCCHs by the CCE aggregation level of L=1. If the decoding fails, remove the CCE aggregation level of L=1, decoding is tried by the CCE aggregation level of L=2. Then, if the decoding by the CCE aggregation level of L=2 fails, decoding is tried by the CCE aggregation levels of L=4 and L=8 until the decoding succeeds]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D4, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D4. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide decoding attempts in a control region results improve performance of the system significantly (D4, [0007]]).
As per Claim 11, D1 and D2 disclose the operating method of claim 9, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, and D3 further discloses wherein the deleting decoding-related data comprises overwriting the decoding-related data stored during decoding the demapped first group in the memory with decoding-related data stored during decoding a demapped second group included in the plurality of N groups of CCEs ([see, [0073], the UE 10 first decodes all the PDCCHs by the CCE aggregation level of L=1. If the decoding fails, the number of decoding attempts and decoding is tried by the CCE aggregation level of L=2. Then, if the decoding by the CCE aggregation level of L=2 fails, decoding is tried by the CCE aggregation levels of L=4 and L=8 until the decoding succeeds]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D4, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D4. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide decoding attempts in a control region results improve performance of the system significantly (D4, [0007]]).
As per Claim 12, D1 discloses the operating method of claim 1, and D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: when decoding of all of the plurality of N groups of CCEs fails, performing a quick sleep (QS) function.
However, D4 discloses when decoding of all of the plurality of N groups of CCEs fails, performing a quick sleep (QS) function n ([see, [0072], and Fig. 14, describes wherein monitoring a control channel according to blind decoding in DRX (discontinuous reception) mode, in each subframe belonging to the monitoring period, the UE 10 searches for its PDCCH. During the non-monitoring period, the UE 10 enters into a sleep mode and stops monitoring PDCCHs]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D4, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D4. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide decoding attempts in a control region results improve performance of the system significantly (D4, [0007]]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, JEONG, MOO R. can be reached on (571) 272-9617. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/BERHANU D BELETE/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/WUTCHUNG CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418