DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
This office action is in response to the communication(s) filed on 06/30/2026.
Claim(s) 1-11, 17-25, 31, and 33-41 is/are currently presenting for examination.
Claim(s) 1, 17, and 34 is/are independent claim(s).
Claim(s) 1, 10, 11, 17, 25, 33-34, and 41 is/are rejected.
Claim(s) 2-9, 18-24, 31, and 35-40 is/are objected to.
This action has been made FINAL.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 06/30/2026 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 10, 11, 17, 25, 33-34, and 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US_20240171239_A1_Wang in view of US_20230171624_A1_Iwabuchi and US_20250330962_A1_Wu.
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a reflecting device (Wang figures 3, 5, phase-changing device), comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, individually or collectively configured to cause the reflecting device to (Wang figures 3, 5, phase-changing device): receive the first signal and the second signal (Wang figure 5, narrow-beam wireless signals 512-518); and reflect the first signal and the second signal to output a spatially multiplexed reflected signal using the multi-peak reflection beam (Wang figure 5, reflected wireless signal 522-528).
Wang does not teach generate a multi-peak reflection beam that spatially multiplexes a first reflected signal of a first signal and a second reflected signal of a second signal based at least in part on an overall set of beam weights.
Iwabuchi from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: generate a multi-peak reflection beam that spatially multiplexes a first reflected signal of a first signal and a second reflected signal of a second signal (Iwabuchi figure 4, paragraph 4 “…the number of spatial multiplexes is limited to one (or two by polarization multiplexing)…”).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Iwabuchi into Wang, since Wang suggests a technique for adaptive phase-changing device in a communication path for a wireless signal carrying the multi-UE communication, and Iwabuchi suggests the beneficial way of spatial multiplexes so that/thus drastically increase data throughput in the analogous art of communication.
Wang and Iwabuchi do not teach generate the reflection beam based at least in part on an overall set of beam weights.
Wu from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: generate the reflection beam based at least in part on an overall set of beam weights (Wu figure 4, and paragraph 23, “Based on the foregoing solution, the second network device is indicated to adjust the reflected beam based on the N sets of specified weights, so as to change a beam gain at the location of the terminal device”).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Wu into Wang and Iwabuchi, since Wang and Iwabuchi suggests a technique for adaptive phase-changing device in a communication path for a wireless signal carrying the multi-UE communication, and Wu suggests the beneficial way of adjust the reflected beam based on the N sets of specified weights so that/thus reduce an energy gain loss of communication performed by a terminal device in a near field scenario, and improve strength of a signal obtained by the terminal device (Wu paragraph 5) in the analogous art of communication.
Regarding claim 10, Wang, Iwabuchi and Wu teach the apparatus of claim 1, and Wang further discloses wherein the first reflected signal and the second reflected signal include more than one layer per polarization (Wang paragraphs 15, 24, 41, 51, polarization).
Regarding claim 11, Wang, Iwabuchi and Wu teach the apparatus of claim 1, and Wang further discloses wherein the reflecting device is a reconfigurable intelligent (Wang figures 3-4, reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS)).
Regarding claim 17, Wang, Iwabuchi and Wu teach e the limitations as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claim 25, Wang, Iwabuchi and Wu teach the limitations as set forth in claim 10.
Regarding claim 33, Wang, Iwabuchi and Wu teach the limitations as set forth in claim 11.
Regarding claim 34, Wang, Iwabuchi and Wu teach the limitations as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claim 41, Wang, Iwabuchi and Wu teach the limitations as set forth in claim 11.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-9, 18-24, 31, and 35-40 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/W.H/Examiner, Art Unit 2471
/SUJOY K KUNDU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2471