DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
This office action is in response to the communication(s) filed on 01/28/2026.
Claim(s) 1-11, 17-25, and 31-40 is/are currently presenting for examination.
Claim(s) 1, 17, and 34 is/are independent claim(s).
Claim(s) 1, 10, 11, 17, 25, 33-34 is/are rejected.
Claim(s) 2-9, 18-24, 31-32, and 35-40 is/are objected to.
This action has been made NON-FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 10, 11, 17, 25, 33-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US_20240171239_A1_Wang in view of US_20230171624_A1_Iwabuchi.
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a reflecting device (Wang figures 3, 5, phase-changing device), comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, individually or collectively configured to cause the reflecting device to (Wang figures 3, 5, phase-changing device): receive the first signal and the second signal (Wang figure 5, narrow-beam wireless signals 512-518); and reflect the first signal and the second signal to output a spatially multiplexed reflected signal using the multi-peak reflection beam (Wang figure 5, reflected wireless signal 522-528).
Iwabuchi discloses generate a multi-peak reflection beam that spatially multiplexes a first reflected signal of a first signal and a second reflected signal of a second signal (Iwabuchi figure 4, paragraph 4 “…the number of spatial multiplexes is limited to one (or two by polarization multiplexing)…”).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Iwabuchi’s spatial multiplexes in Wang’s system to drastically increase data throughput. This method for improving the system of A was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Iwabuchi. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Wang and Iwabuchi to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, Wang and Iwabuchi disclose the apparatus of claim 1, and Wang further discloses wherein the first reflected signal and the second reflected signal include more than one layer per polarization (Wang paragraphs 15, 24, 41, 51, polarization).
Regarding claim 11, Wang and Iwabuchi disclose the apparatus of claim 1, and Wang further discloses wherein the reflecting device is a reconfigurable intelligent (Wang figures 3-4, reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS)).
Regarding claim 17, Wang and Iwabuchi disclose the limitations as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claim 25, Wang and Iwabuchi disclose the limitations as set forth in claim 10.
Regarding claim 33, Wang and Iwabuchi disclose the limitations as set forth in claim 11.
Regarding claim 34, Wang and Iwabuchi disclose the limitations as set forth in claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-9, 18-24, 31-32, and 35-40 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/W.H/Examiner, Art Unit 2471
/SUJOY K KUNDU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2471