DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Action is in response to amendment filed on December 4, 2025. Claims 1-25 are still pending in the present application. This Action is made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Reddy (US Pat. Pub. No. 2024/0265809).
Regarding claim 1, Reddy discloses an ego road entity for performing filtering of vehicle-to-everything (V2X) messages (see at least paragraph 25 filtering V2X message), comprising: a transceiver; and one or more controllers of the ego road entity, configured to identify velocity of travel of the ego road entity (see at least paragraph 34 discloses determines speed of the vehicle; also see paragraph 29), adjust one or more distance thresholds of dynamic filter criteria according to the identified velocity (see at least paragraph 64 discloses safe threshold distance traveling vehicle (RV, HV)), receive, via the transceiver, a vehicle-to-everything (V2X) message (see at least paragraph 52 discloses receiving V2X message), identify, from the V2X message, a location of a remote road entity indicated by the V2X message (see at least paragraph 52 discloses receiving V2X message), filter the V2X message based on whether the location of the remote road entity is within the one or more distance thresholds (see at least paragraph 52 discloses V2X message filtered out; also see paragraphs 64-65), process the V2X message only if the V2X message is not filtered out (see at least paragraph 52 discloses message processed; also see paragraphs 64-65).
Regarding claim 2, Reddy discloses to process the V2X message only if the V2X message is not filtered out reduces resource usage due to the filtered out V2X messages (see at least paragraph 36).
Regarding claim 3, Reddy discloses the one or more controllers are further configured to: identify a route of the ego road entity; and compute the one or more distance thresholds based on distance of the ego road entity to the location of the remote road entity along the route (see at least paragraph 67).
Regarding claim 4, Reddy discloses the one or more distance thresholds include a radius distance surrounding the ego road entity (see at least paragraph 64).
Regarding claim 5, Reddy discloses the one or more distance thresholds include: a first distance threshold defining a first region in front of the ego road entity in the direction of travel of the ego road entity; a second distance threshold defining a second region behind the ego road entity in the direction of travel of the ego road entity; a third distance threshold defining a third region in front of the ego road entity in an opposite direction from the direction of travel of the ego road entity; and a fourth distance threshold defining a fourth region behind the ego road entity in the opposite direction from the direction of travel of the ego road entity (see at least paragraph 66-67).
Regarding claim 6, Reddy discloses to adjust the one or more distance thresholds includes increasing each of the first, second, third, and fourth distance thresholds as the velocity of the ego road entity increases (see at least paragraph 66-67).
Regarding claim 7, Reddy discloses to adjust the one or more distance thresholds includes increasing the first and third distance thresholds as the velocity of the ego road entity increases (see at least paragraph 66-67).
Regarding claim 8, Reddy discloses to adjust the one or more distance thresholds includes decreasing the second and fourth distance thresholds as the velocity of the ego road entity increases (see at least paragraph 66-67).
Regarding claim 9, Reddy discloses the amount of increase in the one or more distance thresholds is proportional to distance traveled by the ego road entity per unit time (see at least paragraph 64).
Regarding claim 10, Reddy discloses the one or more controllers are further configured to: receive V2X messages from the remote road entity over a predefined period of time; derive a statistical measure of received signal strength indicator (RSSI) of the V2X messages over the period of time; and filter out the V2X messages responsive to the statistical measure not meeting a threshold value over the period of time (see at least paragraph 58).
Regarding claim 11, Reddy discloses the statistical measure is mean, median, or maximum RSSI over the period of time (see at least paragraph 58).
Regarding claim 12, Reddy discloses the ego road entity is an ego vehicle (see at least paragraph 64).
Regarding claim 13, Reddy discloses the ego road entity is a roadside unit (RSU) (see at least paragraph 34).
Regarding claim 14, Reddy discloses a method for performing filtering of V2X messages by an ego road entity, comprising: identifying velocity of travel of the ego road entity (see at least paragraph 34 discloses determines speed of the vehicle; also see paragraph 29); adjusting one or more distance thresholds of dynamic filter criteria according to the identified velocity (see at least paragraph 64 discloses safe threshold distance traveling vehicle (RV, HV)); receiving, via a transceiver of the ego road entity, a vehicle-to-everything (V2X) message (see at least paragraph 52 discloses receiving V2X message); identifying, from the V2X message, a location of a remote road entity indicated by the V2X message (see at least paragraph 52 discloses receiving V2X message); filtering the V2X message based on whether the location of the remote road entity is within the one or more distance thresholds (see at least paragraph 52 discloses V2X message filtered out; also see paragraphs 64-65); and processing the V2X message only if the V2X message is not filtered out (see at least paragraph 52 discloses message processed; also see paragraphs 64-65).
Regarding claim 15, Reddy discloses performing application-layer processing of the V2X message only if the V2X message is not filtered out reduces resource usage by the ego road entity (see at least paragraph 36).
Regarding claim 16, Reddy discloses identifying a route of the ego road entity; and computing the one or more distance thresholds based on distance of the ego road entity to the location of the remote road entity along the route (see at least paragraph 67).
Regarding claim 17, Reddy discloses the one or more distance thresholds include a radius distance surrounding the ego road entity (see at least paragraph 64).
Regarding claim 18, Reddy discloses the one or more distance thresholds include: a first distance threshold defining a first region in front of the ego road entity in the direction of travel of the ego road entity; a second distance threshold defining a second region behind the ego road entity in the direction of travel of the ego road entity; a third distance threshold defining a third region in front of the ego road entity in an opposite direction from the direction of travel of the ego road entity; and a fourth distance threshold defining a fourth region behind the ego road entity in the opposite direction from the direction of travel of the ego road entity (see at least paragraphs 66-67).
Regarding claim 19, Reddy discloses to adjust the one or more distance thresholds includes increasing each of the first, second, third, and fourth distance thresholds as the velocity of the ego road entity increases (see at least paragraphs 66-67).
Regarding claim 20, Reddy discloses to adjust the one or more distance thresholds includes increasing the first and third distance thresholds as the velocity of the ego road entity increases (see at least paragraphs 66-67).
Regarding claim 21, Reddy discloses to adjust the one or more distance thresholds includes decreasing the second and fourth distance thresholds as the velocity of the ego road entity increases (see at least paragraphs 66-67).
Regarding claim 22, Reddy discloses the amount of increase in the one or more distance thresholds is proportional to distance traveled by the ego road entity per unit time (see at least paragraph 64).
Regarding claim 23, Reddy discloses receiving V2X messages from the remote road entity over a predefined period of time; deriving a statistical measure of received signal strength indicator (RSSI) of the V2X messages over the period of time; and filtering out the V2X messages responsive to the statistical measure not meeting a threshold value over the period of time, wherein the statistical measure is mean, median, or maximum RSSI over the period of time (see at least paragraphs 58).
Regarding claim 24, Reddy discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions for filtering of V2X messages by an ego vehicle that, when executed by one or more controllers, cause the one or more controllers to perform operations including to: identify velocity of travel of the ego vehicle (see at least paragraph 34 discloses determines speed of the vehicle; also see paragraph 29); adjust one or more distance thresholds of dynamic filter criteria according to the identified velocity (see at least paragraph 64 discloses safe threshold distance traveling vehicle (RV, HV)); receive, via a transceiver of the ego vehicle, a vehicle-to-everything (V2X) message (see at least paragraph 52 discloses receiving V2X message); identify, from the V2X message, a location of a remote road entity indicated by the V2X message (see at least paragraph 52 discloses receiving V2X message); derive a statistical measure of received signal strength indicator (RSSI) of other V2X messages from the remote road entity over a period of time (see at least paragraph 58); filter out the V2X message responsive to the statistical measure not meeting a threshold value over the period of time, wherein the statistical measure is mean, median, or maximum RSSI over the period of time (see at least paragraph 58); filter the V2X message based on whether the location of the remote road entity is within the one or more distance thresholds (see at least paragraph 52 discloses V2X message filtered out; also see paragraphs 64-65); and process the V2X message only if the V2X message is not filtered out (see at least paragraph 52 discloses message processed; also see paragraphs 64-65).
Regarding claim 25, Reddy discloses performing application-layer processing of the V2X message only if the V2X message is not filtered out reduces resource usage by the ego road entity (see at least paragraph 36).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on November 20, 2025 have been fully considered. Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive in regards to the 35 USC § 102 rejections as the claim is currently written. Arguments and corresponding examiner’s responses are shown below for Claim 1. The same arguments are valid for the Claim 1 and the similar features of other independent claims.
Argument: The Applicant argues on pages 8-10 that Reddy does not disclose “identify velocity of travel of the ego road entity, adjust one or more distance thresholds of dynamic filter criteria according to the identified velocity” of independent claim 1 and similar feature in independent claims 14 and 24. Response: Examiner respectfully disagrees because Reddy teaches “identify velocity of travel of the ego road entity, adjust one or more distance thresholds of dynamic filter criteria according to the identified velocity”. As stated in the previous office action, paragraphs 29 and 34 discloses determines speed of the vehicle; paragraph 64 discloses safe threshold distance traveling vehicle (RV, HV). Additionally paragraph 36 discloses safety application determines safety conditions, which identifies of a threating vehicle from the data of camera or radar, which captures data related to vehicle environment; use the data to determine the safety condition. Furthermore, paragraphs 72-74 discloses computing of safe boundaries. Therefore, Reddy teaches the above limitation.
Argument: The Applicant argues on page 11 that Reddy does not disclose “derive a statistical measure of received signal strength indicator (RSSI) of other V2X messages from the remote road entity over a period of time; filter out the V2X message responsive to the statistical measure not meeting a threshold value over the period of time” of independent claim 24. Response: Examiner respectfully disagrees because Reddy teaches “derive a statistical measure of received signal strength indicator (RSSI) of other V2X messages from the remote road entity over a period of time; filter out the V2X message responsive to the statistical measure not meeting a threshold value over the period of time, wherein the statistical measure is mean, median, or maximum RSSI over the period of time”. As stated in the previous office action, paragraph 58 discloses filters out messages based on data processing with a specified time period. Additionally paragraph 28-29 discloses vehicle computing device to receiving/send data and to analyze and process the data; wherein the data related to operating states, such as transmission; paragraph 31 discloses filtering out messages based on the analysis. Therefore, Reddy teaches the above limitation.
Argument: The Applicant argues on page 12 that Reddy does not disclose “identify a route of the ego road entity; and compute the one or more distance thresholds based on distance of the ego road entity to the location of the remote road entity along the route” of dependent claims 3 and 16. Response: Examiner respectfully disagrees because Reddy teaches “identify a route of the ego road entity; and compute the one or more distance thresholds based on distance of the ego road entity to the location of the remote road entity along the route”. As stated in the previous office action, paragraph 67 discloses classifying a specific zone while the relative distance between the RV and HZ; determines a specific zone. Additionally paragraph 36 discloses identifies of a threating vehicle from the data of camera or radar, which captures data related to vehicle environment; use the data to determine the safety condition. Furthermore, paragraphs 72-74 discloses computing of safe boundaries. Therefore, Reddy teaches the above limitation.
Argument: The Applicant argues on page 13 that Reddy does not disclose “the one or more distance thresholds include: a first distance threshold defining a first region in front of the ego road entity in the direction of travel of the ego road entity; a second distance threshold defining a second region behind the ego road entity in the direction of travel of the ego road entity; a third distance threshold defining a third region in front of the ego road entity in an opposite direction from the direction of travel of the ego road entity; and a fourth distance threshold defining a fourth region behind the ego road entity in the opposite direction from the direction of travel of the ego road entity” of dependent claims 5 and 18. Response: Examiner respectfully disagrees because Reddy teaches “the one or more distance thresholds include: a first distance threshold defining a first region in front of the ego road entity in the direction of travel of the ego road entity; a second distance threshold defining a second region behind the ego road entity in the direction of travel of the ego road entity; a third distance threshold defining a third region in front of the ego road entity in an opposite direction from the direction of travel of the ego road entity; and a fourth distance threshold defining a fourth region behind the ego road entity in the opposite direction from the direction of travel of the ego road entity”. As stated in the previous office action, paragraphs 66 and 67 safe threshold distance traveling vehicle (RV, HV); vehicle can be travelling in opposite direction. Additionally paragraph 36 discloses safety application determines safety conditions, which identifies of a threating vehicle from the data of camera or radar, which captures data related to vehicle environment; use the data to determine the safety condition. Furthermore, paragraphs 72 discloses safety condition is computed based road/path distance. Therefore, Reddy teaches the above limitation.
Argument: The Applicant argues on page 14 that Reddy does not disclose “to adjust the one or more distance thresholds includes increasing each of the first, second, third, and fourth distance thresholds as the velocity of the ego road entity increases” of dependent claims 6 and 19. Response: Examiner respectfully disagrees because Reddy teaches “to adjust the one or more distance thresholds includes increasing each of the first, second, third, and fourth distance thresholds as the velocity of the ego road entity increases”. As stated in the previous office action, paragraphs 66 and 67 safe threshold distance traveling vehicle (RV, HV); vehicle can be travelling in opposite direction. Furthermore, paragraphs 72 discloses safety condition is computed based road/path distance. Therefore, Reddy teaches the above limitation.
Argument: The Applicant argues on page 14 that Reddy does not disclose “derive a statistical measure of received signal strength indicator (RSSI) of other V2X messages from the remote road entity over a period of time; filter out the V2X message responsive to the statistical measure not meeting a threshold value over the period of time” of dependent claims 10 and 23. Response: Examiner respectfully disagrees because Reddy teaches “derive a statistical measure of received signal strength indicator (RSSI) of other V2X messages from the remote road entity over a period of time; filter out the V2X message responsive to the statistical measure not meeting a threshold value over the period of time, wherein the statistical measure is mean, median, or maximum RSSI over the period of time”. As stated in the previous office action, paragraph 58 discloses filters out messages based on data processing with a specified time period. Additionally paragraph 28-29 discloses vehicle computing device to receiving/send data and to analyze and process the data; wherein the data related to operating states, such as transmission; paragraph 31 discloses filtering out messages based on the analysis. Therefore, Reddy teaches the above limitation.
Conclusion
Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LITON MIAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642