DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-10, 12, 15-18, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shyu et al. (US 2023/0377448) in view of Lloyd (US 2017/0246331).
Regarding claim 9, Shyu discloses a system (abstract) comprising: head-worn personal protection
equipment (PPE) including one or more biometric sensors configured to produce one or more biometric
sensor signals (page 3, [0035-0036]).
Shyu discloses all the limitations above but fails to explicitly disclose containing physiological
information of a wearer of the PPE; a hardware processor and a memory, the memory including
instructions that when performed by the processor, cause the processor to process the physiological
information of the one or more biometric sensor signals to determine whether the PPE is being worn
and being worn properly.
However, Lloyd discloses containing physiological information of a wearer of the PPE (page 16,
[0154]); a hardware processor and a memory, the memory including instructions that when performed
by the processor (fig. 5), cause the processor to process the physiological information of the one or
more biometric sensor signals to determine whether the PPE is worn correctly (page 16, [0153-0154])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was
first filed to incorporate the features of LLoyd within the system of Shyu in order to monitor personal
wellness and safety protocol compliance thereby improving the reliability of the system.
Regarding claim 10, Shyu and LLoyd disclose all the limitations set forth in claim 9 and LLoyd
further discloses wherein the memory includes instructions that cause the processor to identify a
wearer of the PPE using the physiological information of the one or more biometric sensor signals (fig. 5;
page 16, [0153-0154]).
Regarding claim 12, Shyu discloses wherein the one or more biometric sensors include an electrical
signal sensor configured to sense at least one of an electroencephalogram (EEG) signal of the wearer or
a sensed electromyography (EMG) signal of the wearer (page 7, [0062]); and wherein the memory
includes instructions that cause the processor to identify the wearer using the at least one of the sensed
EEG signal or the sensed EMG signal (fig. 2; page 7, [0062-0063]).
Regarding claim 15, Shyu and LLoyd disclose all the limitations set forth in claim 9 and LLoyd
further discloses wherein the one or more biometric sensors include an electrical signal sensor
configured to sense one or more physiological electrical signals of the wearer near the temporal area of
the wearer; and wherein the memory includes instructions that cause the processor to generate an
indication of compliance in the wearing of the PPE according to the detected physiological electrical
signals (page 16, [0150-0154]).
Regarding claim 16, Shyu discloses wherein the electrical signal sensor is configured to sense at least
one of an electroencephalogram (EEG) signal of the wearer or an electromyography (EMG) signal of the
wearer; and wherein the memory includes instructions that cause the processor to generate an
indication of compliance in the wearing of the PPE according to the at least one of the sensed EEG signal
or the sensed EMG signal (page 7, [0062-0063]).
Regarding claim 17, Shyu discloses including a transmitter configured to transmit a wireless
signal indicating one or both of an identifier of the PPE and an indication of compliance in wearing
of the PPE (page 3, [0033-0035]).
Regarding claim 18, Shyu and LLoyd disclose all the limitations set forth in claim 1 and LLoyd
further discloses wherein the PPE is one of safety goggles, a hard hat, or a helmet (page 16, [0151]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11, 13-14, 19-24, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: In combination with all the limitations, the prior arts fail to teach or make obvious: wherein the PPE includes a head mounted display; and wherein the memory includes instructions that cause the processor to load preferences of the identified wearer for the head mounted display.
wherein the one or more biometric sensors include a video sensor to provide a video signal including image information of the wearer; and wherein the memory includes instructions that cause the processor to: detect at least one of eye movement of the wearer or facial muscle
movement of the wearer using the video signal; and generate an indication of compliance in the wearing
of the PPE according to the detected eye movement or facial muscle movement.
wherein the one or more biometric sensors include a blood flow sensor to provide a blood sensor signal containing blood flow information; and wherein the memory includes instructions that cause the processor to: detect blood flow of the wearer using the blood flow sensor signal; and generate an indication of compliance in the wearing of the PPE according to the detected blood flow.
a receiver configured to receive a wireless signal; at least one hardware verifier device processor and a verifier device memory, the at least one verifier device processor operatively coupled to the receiver, and the verifier device memory including instructions that when performed by the verifier device processor, cause the at least one verifier device processor to perform operations including: decoding an identifier of personal protection equipment (PPE) included in the received wireless signal and an indication of compliance in wearing of the PPE included in the received wireless signal.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure.
Petrov (US 9,846,483) discloses headset state detection.
Brunner et al. (US 2018/0151047) discloses method monitoring.
Panneer Selvam (US 2020/0187831) discloses standing desk biometrics.
Russell et al. (US 2018/0067547) discloses virtual reality system.
should be directed to DANIEL PREVIL whose telephone number is (571)272-2971. The examiner can
normally be reached Monday-Friday from 9:30 AM -6:00 PM.
USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use
the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Wang Quan-Zhen can be reached at 571 272 3114. The fax phone number for the organization where
this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To
file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-centerfor more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional
questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like
assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or
571-272-1000.
DP
September 9, 2026
/DANIEL PREVIL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685