DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Applicant’s arguments filed 7/2/26 have been entered. No claims have been added, cancelled, or amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fröhlich et al. (US 2018/0207695).
Regarding claims 1, 6, and 7, Fröhlich teaches an embossed piece of sheet steel (Fröhlich para 7, 8) comprising: a piece of sheet steel having a first side and an opposing second side (Fröhlich fig 2); a first plurality of indentations formed on the first side of the piece of sheet steel (Fröhlich fig 2); a second plurality of indentations formed on the opposing second side of the piece of sheet steel (Fröhlich fig 2, annotated, below); the first plurality of indentations formed in a pattern along equally spaced parallel rows and equally spaced perpendicular intersecting columns (Fröhlich fig 1), wherein the indentations of the first plurality of indentations are positioned along each row at alternating intersections with the columns and each adjacent row having the indentations at alternating intersections offset by one column (Fröhlich fig 1); and the second plurality of indentations formed in a pattern along equally spaced parallel rows and equally spaced perpendicular intersecting columns (Fröhlich fig 1), wherein the indentations of the second plurality of indentations are positioned along each row at alternating intersections with the columns intermediate the indentations of the first plurality of indentations and each adjacent row having the indentations offset by one column (Fröhlich fig 1).
Regarding claim 2, Fröhlich teaches an embossed steel sheet as above for claim 1. Fröhlich further teaches that the embossments may be a circle and thus round (Fröhlich para 9).
Regarding claims 3 and 8, Fröhlich teaches an embossed steel sheet as above for claim 1. Fröhlich further illustrates that the entire sheet may be embossed (Fröhlich fig 1).
Regarding claims 4, 5, 9, and 10, Fröhlich teaches an embossed steel sheet as above for claim 1. Fröhlich further teaches that it may be a structural floor panel, for example for a train (Fröhlich para 15).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/2/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 7 and again on page 8 that ‘sheet steel’ is a specific composition of steel.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. “Sheet” is a shape and “steel” would be inclusive of all steel types. Notably, Applicant’s specification does not provide a definition of “sheet steel” as specifically being ‘non-austenitic’ and therefore, broadest reasonable interpretation, and common definitions are utilized. The prior art of record teaches a sheet of steel. And thus, teaches ‘sheet steel.’
Applicant argues on page 7 and again on page 9 that the first plurality of indentions are not positioned in parallel rows with intersecting columns. For further clarification, the Examiner has attached an annotated version of Figure 1 illustrating the row and columns.
Applicant further argues on page 7 that the indentations must be offset on each side of the sheet.
The Examiner respectfully notes this is a feature not claimed.
Applicant argues on pages 7 and 8 that because the product of Fröhlich may be coiled or rolled, it is fundamentally different than the rigid sheet of the instant application.
The Examiner acknowledges for the sake of argument that this may be true, but notes it is neither claimed nor taught in the instant application.
Applicant asserts claims 8-10 are allowable for the reasons above.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees for the reasons above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.B.F/Examiner, Art Unit 1781 9/5/2026
/ALICIA J WEYDEMEYER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781