CTNF 18/502,342 CTNF 85430 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bourke et al. (US 2020/0220132 A1) . Regarding claim 1 , Bourke discloses a battery system comprising a cell holder (140), a plurality of cells (200) in the cell holder and oriented to be aligned with an axis (Z), a cell holder fluid circuit (interior 129 in thermal extension 150) formed around each of the plurality of cells and extending from a fluid circuit inlet to a fluid circuit outlet (extension fluid ports 156), and an end fluid circuit formed by an unobstructed channel (interior 129 in thermal plate 130) ( Bourke [0079] and Figs. 4B and 4C ). Bourke does not teach that the end fluid circuit must be in fluid communication with the cell holder fluid circuit. Bourke teaches that the two circuits "may not be in fluid communication with each other, at least directly" (Bourke [0079]), indicating that the fluid connection is optional. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to try any configuration indicated by Bourke, including with a fluid connection between the circuits. Regarding claim 2 , Bourke does not require any particular connection point between the channels. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any appropriate connection point, including between the inlet and the cells. Regarding claim 3 , Bourke does not require any particular connection point between the channels. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any appropriate connection point, including between the outlet and the cells. Regarding claim 4 , the two circuits have inlets and outlets at the same location (Bourke Fig. 4C), so the average flow will necessarily be parallel. Regarding claim 5 , the system includes a plurality of conductors (sleeves 160) that will necessarily transmit heat to the end fluid channel ( Bourke Fig. 8A and [0081] ). Regarding claim 6 , the system includes cell holders on both sides of the end fluid channel ( Bourke Figs. 1B and 3C ). Regarding claim 7 , the sleeves are on every cell ( Bourke [0082] ) and would therefore necessarily be in both cell holders. Regarding claim 8 , the sleeves isolate the batteries from thermal fluid (Bourke [0094]) and may therefore be considered seals. Regarding claim 9 , the fluid may be selected from a list including poly-alpha-olefin oil ( Bourke [0069] ), which is a dielectric fluid (Bourke [0043]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to try any of the listed fluids, including poly-alpha-olefin oil. Regarding claim 10 , the fluid may be selected from a list including water and ethylene glycol ( Bourke [0069] ), which is a non-dielectric fluid ([0040] of the instant specification). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to try any of the listed fluids, including water and ethylene glycol. Regarding claim 11 , Bourke discloses a battery system comprising a cell holder (140), a plurality of cells (200) in the cell holder and oriented to be aligned with an axis (Z), a cell holder fluid circuit (interior 129 in thermal extension 150) formed around each of the plurality of cells, and an end fluid circuit formed by an unobstructed channel (interior 129 in thermal plate 130) and extending from a fluid circuit inlet to a fluid circuit outlet (thermal fluid ports 134) ( Bourke [0079] and Figs. 4B and 4C ). Bourke does not teach that the end fluid circuit must be in fluid communication with the cell holder fluid circuit. Bourke teaches that the two circuits "may not be in fluid communication with each other, at least directly" (Bourke [0079]), indicating that the fluid connection is optional. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to try any configuration indicated by Bourke, including with a fluid connection between the circuits. Regarding claim 12 , Bourke does not require any particular connection point between the channels. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any appropriate connection point, including between the inlet and the cells. Regarding claim 13 , Bourke does not require any particular connection point between the channels. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any appropriate connection point, including between the outlet and the cells. Regarding claim 14 , the two circuits have inlets and outlets at the same location (Bourke Fig. 4C), so the average flow will necessarily be parallel. Regarding claim 15 , the system includes a plurality of conductors (sleeves 160) that will necessarily transmit heat to the end fluid channel ( Bourke Fig. 8A and [0081] ). Regarding claim 16 , the system includes cell holders on both sides of the end fluid channel ( Bourke Figs. 1B and 3C ). Regarding claim 17 , the sleeves are on every cell ( Bourke [0082] ) and would therefore necessarily be in both cell holders. Regarding claim 18 , the sleeves isolate the batteries from thermal fluid (Bourke [0094]) and may therefore be considered seals. Regarding claim 19 , the fluid may be selected from a list including poly-alpha-olefin oil ( Bourke [0069] ), which is a dielectric fluid (Bourke [0043]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to try any of the listed fluids, including poly-alpha-olefin oil. Regarding claim 20 , the fluid may be selected from a list including water and ethylene glycol ( Bourke [0069] ), which is a non-dielectric fluid ([0040] of the instant specification). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to try any of the listed fluids, including water and ethylene glycol . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lukacs (US 2024/0286753 A1) is directed to a battery thermal management system with an end fluid circuit and thermal conductors adjacent to the cells ( Lukacs Figs. 2D and 3 ) . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JAMES A CORNO JR whose telephone number is (571)270-0745. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9:00 am - 5:00 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Niki Bakhtiari can be reached at (571) 272-3433. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /J.A.C/ Examiner, Art Unit 1722 /ANCA EOFF/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722 Application/Control Number: 18/502,342 Page 2 Art Unit: 1722 Application/Control Number: 18/502,342 Page 3 Art Unit: 1722 Application/Control Number: 18/502,342 Page 4 Art Unit: 1722 Application/Control Number: 18/502,342 Page 5 Art Unit: 1722 Application/Control Number: 18/502,342 Page 6 Art Unit: 1722 Application/Control Number: 18/502,342 Page 7 Art Unit: 1722