Details
Claims 1-9 are pending.
Claims 1-9 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TAKEMORI et al (Pub. No.: US 2020/0201959 A1) in view of Hanano (Pub. No.: US 2022/0078293 A1) and Shehane et al (Pub. No.: US 2015/0035999 A1).
As per claim 1, TAKEMORI discloses an electronic information processing system comprising: - one or more processors (TAKEMORI, paragraph 0048, wherein “The function of the server device 30 is implemented by a central processing unit (CPU) provided in the server device”; paragraph 0052 wherein “The function of the terminal device 40 is implemented by a CPU provided in the terminal device 40 executing a computer program”; Fig 4 item 141, paragraph 0062, wherein “the functions of the respective units of the car 10 shown in FIG. 5 are implemented by the CPU 141 of the TCU 14 executing a computer program”); and - a memory (TAKEMORI, paragraph 0186, wherein ““computer-readable recording medium” refers to a storage device including a flexible disk, a magneto-optical disc, a read-only memory (ROM), a writable non-volatile memory such as a flash memory, a portable medium such as a digital versatile disc (DVD), and a hard disk embedded in the computer system”) including instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the electronic information processing system to function as:- a first information processing device (TAKEMORI, Fig 1, item 10); and - a second information processing device (TAKEMORI, Fig 1, item 40, Fig 4, item 42, paragraph 0049, wherein the terminal storage unit 42 stores data), wherein the first information processing device is configured to - display a code in which a URL of (TAKEMORI, Fig 6, step S101, paragraph 0066, wherein (Step S101) The token provision unit 55 of the car 10 generates a two-dimensional barcode including a uniform resource locator (URL), which is information of an access destination for the server device 30, a vehicle identification number (VIN) of the car 10, and a token generated by the vehicle token issuance unit 54. The token provision unit 55 causes the two-dimensional barcode to be displayed on a display device inside the car 10), the second information processing device is configured to - read the code displayed by the first information processing device (TAKEMORI, Fig 6, step S102, paragraph 0067, wherein (Step S102) The user of the car 10 reads the two-dimensional barcode displayed on the display device of the car 10 by means of the terminal device 40), - access the URL obtained from the read code (TAKEMORI, Fig 6, step S103, S130, paragraph 0068,, 0079, wherein (Step S103) The token acquisition unit 43 of the terminal device 40 reads a two-dimensional barcode (data including a token) and acquires the URL of the server device 30 and the VIN and the token of the car 10 from the two-dimensional barcode. (Step S130) The terminal communication unit 41 of the terminal device 40 accesses the URL of the server device 30. The terminal communication unit 41 of the terminal device 40 and the server communication unit 31 of the server device 30 construct a VPN circuit. Thereafter, in the operation phase, the terminal communication unit 41 and the server communication unit 31 communicate using the VPN circuit), (TAKEMORI, Fig 6, step S108, S131, paragraph 0073, 0080, wherein (Step S108) The terminal communication unit 41 of the terminal device 40 transmits terminal identification information (a terminal ID) of the terminal device 40 and the VIN and the token of the terminal storage unit 42 to the server device 30), and the first information processing device is configured to - receive the (TAKEMORI, Fig 6, step S110, S134, paragraph 0076, 0080, wherein (Step S110) The server communication unit 31 of the server device 30 transmits the terminal ID and the token of the terminal device 40 for which the verification of the token has succeeded to the car 10). TAKEMORI does not explicitly disclose that the URL is a URL of a web page, display the web page for uploading image data, receive an upload URL from a server device, encrypt the image data. However, having a web page associated with the URL to upload an image data, displaying the web page on the terminal browser and encrypting the image data is well known in the art. For example, Hanano discloses that the URL is a URL of a web page (Hanano, paragraph 0055, wherein “extracts a signed URL for download from the read data (step S603). The portable terminal 104, by the QR code reading program, starts a Web browser program stored in the non-volatile memory 205 (step S604). The portable terminal 104, by the started Web browser program, accesses the storage server 106 by specifying a signed URL (step S605)”), - display the web page for uploading image data (Hanano, paragraph 0056-0057, wherein “The portable terminal 104 displays the received file information on the display 206 by a Web browser (step S608). FIG. 18A illustrates an image 1801 of a scanned file displayed by a web browser”), - receive an upload URL from a server device (Hanano, paragraph 0045-0046, wherein “the management server 105 creates a unique folder hierarchy associated with the received device name and serial number on the storage server 106, and determines the upload URL (step S504). The management server 105 then sends the determined upload URL to the MFP 101 (step S505) and the MFP 101 uploads the scanned file stored in step S502 to the specified URL (step S506)”), encrypt the image data i (Hanano, paragraph 0049, wherein “the signed URL in the present embodiment will be described with reference to FIG. 10. A signed URL 1000 is configured to include elements 1001, 1002, 1003 1004. The element 1001 is a communication protocol declaration and, for example, HTTPS (Hypertext Transfer Protocol Secure) is used as an encrypted communication protocol”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify TAKEMORI using Hanano teachings to achieve the claimed limitations because this would have provided a convenient way to let the user of the terminal to securely upload images to the server which can be used for many useful purposes such as authentication of the user and/or terminal or uploading images describing an issue or a problem in the vehicle or any other purpose (see Hanano paragraph 0005). TAKEMORI and Hanano do not explicitly disclose that the image data is encrypted in whole. However, encrypting the image in whole is well known in the art. For example, Shehane discloses that the image data is encrypted in whole (Shehane, Fig 10, paragraph 0087-0089, wherein “responsive to a user setting that an image should be encrypted, the image is encrypted using an encryption key”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify TAKEMORI and Hanano using Shehane teachings to achieve the claimed limitations because this would have provided a way to overcome conventional image capturing and storing techniques where there are no current image file formats that support encryption and thus supporting encryption of images by allowing for additional metadata fields within the image file format for storing encryption information. This improves the security of the system by allowing users to securely share pictures without risking widespread unauthorized distribution of the image (see Shehane paragraph 0006-0008).
As per claim 2, claim 1 is incorporated and TAKEMORI in view of Hanano further discloses wherein a first URL of a first API that acquires an upload URL for uploading the image data to the server device and a first access token that is an access authority to the first URL are further recorded in the code (TAKEMORI, Fig 6, step S103-S-104, S108, paragraph 0068-0069, 0073, 0079, wherein (Step S103) The token acquisition unit 43 of the terminal device 40 reads a two-dimensional barcode (data including a token) and acquires the URL of the server device 30 and the VIN and the token of the car 10 from the two-dimensional barcode. (Step S130) The terminal communication unit 41 of the terminal device 40 accesses the URL of the server device 30. The terminal communication unit 41 of the terminal device 40 and the server communication unit 31 of the server device 30 construct a VPN circuit. Thereafter, in the operation phase, the terminal communication unit 41 and the server communication unit 31 communicate using the VPN circuit), and the second information processing device is configured to acquire the upload URL using the first URL and the first access token acquired from the read code, and transmit the image data to the server device using the acquired upload URL (TAKEMORI, Fig 6, step S103-S-104, S108, paragraph 0068-0069, 0073, 0079, wherein (Step S108) The terminal communication unit 41 of the terminal device 40 transmits (upload) terminal identification information (a terminal ID) of the terminal device 40 and the VIN and the token of the terminal storage unit 42 to the server device 30);
As per claim 3, claim 1 is incorporated and TAKEMORI in view of Hanano further discloses wherein the first information processing device is configured to acquire a download URL for downloading the image data from the server device using a second URL of a second API that acquires the download URL and a second access token that is an access authority to the second URL, and receive the image data from the server device using the acquired download URL (TAKEMORI, Fig 6, step S104-S105, paragraph 0069-0070, 0076, wherein (Step S104) The vehicle communication unit 51 of the car 10 accesses the URL of the server device 30. (Step S105) The token provision unit 55 of the car 10 transmits a terminal registration notification message to the server device 30. The terminal registration notification message is a message including the VIN and the token of the car 10 included in the two-dimensional barcode. (Step S110) The server communication unit 31 of the server device 30 transmits (downloads) the terminal ID and the token of the terminal device 40 for which the verification of the token has succeeded to the car 10);
Claims 8-9 are rejected under the same rationale as claims 1-3.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TAKEMORI et al (Pub. No.: US 2020/0201959 A1) in view of Hanano (Pub. No.: US 2022/0078293 A1), Shehane et al (Pub. No.: US 2015/0035999 A1) and Pandiarajan (Pub. No.: US 2015/0178721 A1).
As per claim 4, claim 1 is incorporated and Hanano further discloses wherein the first information processing device is configured to generate an encryption key that encrypts the image data (Shehane, Fig 10, paragraph 0087-0089, wherein “responsive to a user setting that an image should be encrypted, the image is encrypted using an encryption key”; wherein since an encryption key is used, the system inherently generates the encryption key), transmit encrypted image data, which is the encrypted image data, (Shehane, Fig 10, paragraph 0090, wherein “At step 1018, the image with encryption information stored in additional metadata fields is transmitted”) TAKEMORI in view of Hanano does not explicitly disclose display the code in which the generated encryption key is further recorded, the second information processing device is configured to encrypt the image data with the encryption key acquired from the read code, and that the encrypted image is transmitted to the server device and the first information processing device is configured to receive the encrypted image data from the server device, and decrypt the received encrypted image data with the generated encryption key. However, Pandiarajan discloses wherein display the code in which the generated encryption key is further recorded information (Pandiarajan, paragraph 0064, wherein the QR encryption code is displayed by the device), the second information processing device is configured to encrypt the image data with the encryption key acquired from the read code (Pandiarajan, paragraph 0064-0065, wherein the encryption key obtained from the QR encryption code can thus be used to encrypt the information included within the QR code generated by the mobile device), and transmit encrypted image data, which is the encrypted image data, to the server device, and the first information processing device is configured to receive the encrypted image data from the server device, and decrypt the received encrypted image data with the generated encryption key (Pandiarajan, Fig 4, paragraph 0065, wherein the device can decrypt the read QR code (and/or the information embedded within the read QR code) using the corresponding decryption key in step 417. The decrypted information can then be used in further process steps)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify TAKEMORI, Hanano and Shehane to use an encryption key included with the barcode to be used to encrypt data and later to decrypt data as claimed because this would have provided a way to improve the system security by preventing unwanted users/devices from spying or accessing the data.
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TAKEMORI et al (Pub. No.: US 2020/0201959 A1) in view of Hanano (Pub. No.: US 2022/0078293 A1), Shehane et al (Pub. No.: US 2015/0035999 A1) and SIVAPORNSATAIN (Pub. No.: US 2021/0011674 A1).
As per claim 5, claim 1 is incorporated and TAKEMORI in view of Hanano does not explicitly disclose wherein after the received image data is processed in the first information processing device, the received image data is erased from the first information processing device. However, erasing data after processing it is well known in the art. For example, SIVAPORNSATAIN discloses wherein after the received image data is processed in the first information processing device, the received image data is erased from the first information processing device (SIVAPORNSATAIN, paragraph 0090, wherein after the encrypted data E1, E2 have been embedded in the resident files R1, R2 for data camouflage, the controller 21 deletes the server certificate and the private key that have not been encrypted, to make sure that they are not stolen by the third party (step S53). Claim 12 a deleting unit configured to delete the encryption target data after the encryption data has been generated)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify TAKEMORI, Hanano and Shehane to erase data after using it as claimed because this would have provided a way to improve the system security by preventing third parties from stealing the data (see SIVAPORNSATAIN, paragraph 0090).
As per claim 6, claim 5 is incorporated and SIVAPORNSATAIN further discloses wherein the first information processing device is configured to, as the processing of the image data, transmit the received image data to a printing device, or transmit the received image data to a control device that controls the printing device (SIVAPORNSATAIN, Fig 1, paragraph 0022-0023, wherein he print system 1 according to the present embodiment includes a printer 2, a server 3, and an information processing apparatus 5. The printer 2 and the server 3 can communicate with each other via a network NW1. The printer 2 and the information processing apparatus 5 can communicate with each other via a network NW2. The printer 2 is connected to a router (not shown) with a cable, and communicates with the server 3 or the information processing apparatus 5 via the router. It is to be noted that the printer 2 may be connected to the router (not shown) wirelessly. The printer 2 may be a label printer, for example. The server 3 is configured to determine a print content to be printed by the printer 2 on a label, and transmit print data indicative of the print content, to the printer 2. The printer 2 is configured to print based on the print data received from the server 3);
As per claim 7, claim 5 is incorporated and SIVAPORNSATAIN further discloses wherein the first information processing device is a printing device and is configured to print the received image data as the processing of the image data (SIVAPORNSATAIN, Fig 1, paragraph 0022-0023, wherein he print system 1 according to the present embodiment includes a printer 2, a server 3, and an information processing apparatus 5. The printer 2 and the server 3 can communicate with each other via a network NW1. The printer 2 and the information processing apparatus 5 can communicate with each other via a network NW2. The printer 2 is connected to a router (not shown) with a cable, and communicates with the server 3 or the information processing apparatus 5 via the router. It is to be noted that the printer 2 may be connected to the router (not shown) wirelessly. The printer 2 may be a label printer, for example. The server 3 is configured to determine a print content to be printed by the printer 2 on a label, and transmit print data indicative of the print content, to the printer 2. The printer 2 is configured to print based on the print data received from the server 3);
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 01/02/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/HAMZA N ALGIBHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2441