DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “local storage unit” in claims 1, 3, 4, 6, and 7.
Para 0025 teaches the “local storage unit” is a semiconductor memory or hard disk.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U. S. Publication No. 2021/0153808 to Tada et al.; in view of U. S. Publication No. 2020/0281542 to Irish et al. and further in view of U. S. Publication No. 2009/0209859 to Tsujita et al.
Regarding Claim 1, 7, and 13, Tada teaches an ultrasound diagnostic apparatus and method comprising: an acquisition section configured to acquire download a data group from a server and store the downloaded data group in a local storage unit in a current ultrasound examination; a controller configured to display, during execution of a multi-image display mode in the current ultrasound examination, a real-time ultrasound image generated through transmission and reception of an ultrasound wave and the real-time ultrasound image being a real-time tomographic image representing a tissue on a beam scanning plane formed within the body of the same specific subject (figs. 6 and 20 and para 083-084 and 0105); subject, from the local storage unit at or after an end of the multi-image display mode (para 0083, 084 and 0105 teaches ultrasonic tomographic images of the subject).
Tada teaches all of the above claimed limitations but does not expressly teach a server for previous images of the subject and a deletion section configured to automatically delete data satisfying a deletion condition within the downloaded data group stored in the local storage unit.
Irish teaches a DICOM server for previous images of the subject and a deletion section configured to delete data satisfying a deletion condition within the downloaded data group stored in the local storage unit (para 0095; fig.1 and para 086 and 089 teaches deleting images).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Tada with a DICOM server for previous images of the subject as taught by Irish, since such a setup would result in easy access to patient data for the doctor to view changes and analysis.
Tada and Irish teaches all of the above claimed limiations but does not expressly teach that the automatic deletion, comprises deletion without user operation.
Tsujita teaches automatic deletion, when a condition is met (para 0072 teaches automatic deletion of ultrasonic image data).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Tada and Irish with automatic deletion without user operation as taught by Tsujita, since such a setup would result in saving space in the storage unit, as unnecessary data is automatically purged.
Regarding Claim 2 and 8, Tada teaches that downloaded data group includes volume data obtained from within the body of the specific subject, the real-time ultrasound image is a real-time tomographic image representing a tissue on a beam scanning plane formed within the body of the specific subject, and cross-section data corresponding to the beam scanning plane is extracted from volume data serving as the selected data, and the reference image is generated and displayed based on the cross-section data, during the execution of the multi-image display mode (para 0083, 084 and 0105 teaches ultrasonic tomographic images of the subject).
Regarding Claim 3-6 and 9-12, Irish teaches to delete the data satisfying the deletion condition from the local storage unit at the end of the multi-image display mode; and delete data remaining within the downloaded data group stored in the local storage unit at an end of the current ultrasound examination including a step of executing the multi-image display mode (fig.1 and para 086 and 089 teaches deleting images).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-12 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
/SANJAY CATTUNGAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798