CTNF 18/502,387 CTNF 90908 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Election/Restrictions 08-25-02 Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-17 and 27-29 in the reply filed on 3/3/26 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. Claim 6 recites the limitation "the co-curable composite material substrate second side" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In the instant case, for purposes of examination, any side/surface in contact with the co-curable coating layer will be considered the ‘second side’. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Sang et al. (US 2021/0008855) . Regarding claims 1, 2, 7, 10, and 14, Sang teaches a co-cured composite material assembly comprising ( Sang abs) : a co-cured composite material substrate ( Sang para 11, 54-59) ; a co-cured UV/visible light-resistant layer ( Sang para 12, 14) , said co-cured UV/Visible light- resistant layer positioned adjacent the first composite material substrate ( Sang para 12, 14) , where the co-curable UV/visible light-resistant layer comprises a first co-curable UV/visible light-resistant resin ( Sang para 10, 18-53) , said co-cured UV/visible light- resistant layer further comprising at least one of fiberglass fibers and/or polyester fibers ( Sang para 12) ; a co-cured peel ply fiber-and-resin-containing layer positioned adjacent the co-cured UV/visible light-resistant layer ( Sang para 9, 10 ) said co-cured peel ply fiber and resin-containing layer comprising polyester fibers ( Sang para 15) said co-cured peel ply fiber-and-resin-containing layer further comprising a second co-cured UV/visible light-resistant resin compatible with the co-curable UV/visible light-resistant layer ( Sang para 18) ; wherein the co-cured UV/visible light-resistant layer has a UV/visible light transmittance value ranging from about 0% to about 20% UV/visible light transmittance for UV/visible light wavelengths ranging from about 180 mm to about 800 nm when the co-curable UV/visible light-resistant layer comprises an average thickness ranging from about 2 mils to about 6 mils ( Sang para 15, 3-5 mil; para 61, blocked UV radiation i.e. none, i.e. zero) (Prior art which teaches a range within, overlapping, or touching the claimed range anticipates if the prior art range discloses the claimed range with sufficient specificity, see MPEP 2131.03.); and wherein the co-cured composite material substrate is co-cured with the co-curable UV/visible light-resistant layer and is further co-curable with the co-curable peel ply fiber-and-resin-containing layer at a temperature ranging from about 250°F to about 410°F ( Sang para 54, 250-350 °F) (Prior art which teaches a range within, overlapping, or touching the claimed range anticipates if the prior art range discloses the claimed range with sufficient specificity, see MPEP 2131.03). Regarding claims 3-5, 8, 9, 11-13, and 15-17, Sang teaches a co-cured/co-curable composite assembly as above for claims 1, 7, 10, and 14. Sang further teaches that the composite material substrate may be a plurality of epoxy-impregnated carbon-fiber prepregs ( Sang para 55-59, 21-28). Regarding claim 6, Sang teaches a co-cured/co-curable composite assembly as above for claims 1. Sang further teaches that the co-curable composite substrate has a ‘second side’ which may be the side in contact with the co-curable UV/Vis resistant layer ( Sang fig 1) where the co-curable UV/Vis resistant layer completely covers that surface ( Sang fig 1) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-07 AIA 07-97 12-51-07 Claim s 27-29 are allowed. 13-03 AIA The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: While Sang teaches individual components with the requisite peel plies (see rejection, above), and while Sang teaches the use of these components within aircraft ( Sang para 6) , as for claims 28 and 29, Sang does not teach or suggest the adhesion of two of these components together as required by claim 26 from which 27-29 depend. Rather, Sang teaches the surface as a painting , external surface ( Sang para 9) . No further art was found to teach adhering two external surfaces appropriate for painting together. Further, it would be impermissible hindsight to modify Sang such that two external surfaces be united in such a manner . Any comments considered necessary by applicant must be submitted no later than the payment of the issue fee and, to avoid processing delays, should preferably accompany the issue fee. Such submissions should be clearly labeled “Comments on Statement of Reasons for Allowance.” Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to LAURA B FIGG whose telephone number is (571)272-9882. The examiner can normally be reached M-Th 9a-6p Mountain. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Frank Vineis can be reached at (571) 270-1547. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /LAURA B FIGG/Examiner, Art Unit 1781 5/29/26 Application/Control Number: 18/502,387 Page 2 Art Unit: 1781 Application/Control Number: 18/502,387 Page 3 Art Unit: 1781 Application/Control Number: 18/502,387 Page 4 Art Unit: 1781