Detailed Action
Claims 1-12 are currently pending and have been considered below.
Election/Restrictions
Applicants’ election with traverse of 1-8 in the reply filed on September 1, 2026, is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Group I and II share substantial structural and functional subject matter and that the examination of the groups would not impose a serious additional search or examination burden. This is not found persuasive because Claims 1-8 (Group I) are directed to a battery system, whereas claims 9-12 (Group II) are directed to a process of using a battery system. The product of Group 1 can be used in a materially different process from that recited in Group II. In particular, claim 9 requires initiation of circulation of the first fluid after initiation of circulation of the second fluid, whereas claim 1 does not require such sequential operation. Thus, the battery system of Group I may be operated, for example by initiating circulation of the first and second fluids simultaneously or by initiating circulation of the first fluid before the second fluid, neither of which is the process recited of claim 9. Accordingly, the product and process of use are district under MPEP §806.05(h).
Further, while the groups share certain structural subject matter, examination of Group I requires searching for the structural arrangement and fluid communication of the claimed battery fluid circuits, whereas examination of Group II additionally requires searching operational methods and control sequences involving sequential circulation of different fluids. Such subject matter requires additional search strategies and queries not required for Group I and therefore presents a serious search burden. See MPEP §803 and §808.02.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 9-12 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on September 1, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frick et al. (US20220158291 A1; hereinafter “Frick”) in view of Björneklett et al. (US20240234871 A1; hereinafter “Björneklett”) and Meyer et al. (US20240258612 A1; hereinafter “Meyer”).
Regarding Claim 1: Frick discloses a battery module 40 including a frame 50 disposed within a spacer 80, wherein the frame 50 supports an array 202 of electrochemical cells 200 (A battery system comprising, a cell holder, a plurality of cells disposed in the cell holder) [0093], [0098]-[0099]. Frick further discloses that the cells 200 are cylindrical and elongated along the respective longitudinal axes 212, and that the cells are oriented such that the longitudinal axes are parallel to one another (oriented to be aligned with an axis) [0094], [0099].
Frick further discloses linear grooves 98 formed in the first and second wall portions of spacer, wherein the grooves provide coolant fluid passageways 102 extending from the spacer first end 82 to the spacer second end 84 and facing the cell array 202 (a cell holder fluid circuit formed around and between each of the plurality of cells and extending through the cell holder) [0111], [0129].Frick discloses that the fluid enters the grooves at the spacer first end and exist at the spacer second end (from a cell holder fluid circuit inlet to a cell holder fluid circuit outlet) [0128]. Frick discloses an inlet plenum assembly 502 including an inlet plenum 504, fluid inlet opening 522, and an inlet flow diverter 540 for directing fluid toward the fluid passageways 102, and an outlet plenum assembly including an outlet plenum and an outlet opening 622 for collecting fluid discharged from the fluid passageways [0146].
Frick does not disclose a first end fluid circuit formed by a first channel at an axial end of the plurality of cells comprising a first end fluid circuit inlet and a first end fluid circuit outlet; and a second end fluid circuit formed by a second channel at the axial end of the plurality of cells comprising a second end fluid circuit inlet and a second end fluid circuit outlet.
Björneklett discloses a distributor plate disposed between a casing an a plurality of battery cells and a manifold structure comprising a plurality of fluid channels arranged between a fluid entrance and the distributor plate, wherein the fluid channels guide cooling fluid from the fluid entrance to openings in the distributor plate and into spaces between the battery cells (a first end fluid circuit formed by a first channel at an axial end of the plurality of cells comprising a first end fluid circuit inlet and a first end fluid circuit outlet) [0016], [0025]-[0028]. Björneklett further discloses that the battery cells are elongated with their longitudinal axes arranged in parallel, the manifold fluid channels extend in a plane perpendicular to the axes of the battery cells, and the first wall is arranged on one side of the battery cells (first channel at an axial end of the plurality of cells) [0029]. Björneklett further teaches that a cell holder includes through-holes and openings aligned with the distributor plate, so the fluid passes through the holder om the axial; direction into the spaces between the cells [0051]-[0052].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Frick’s cooling arrangement with the distributor plate and manifold arrangement of Björneklett because Björneklett teaches that the manifold channels improve and even out distribution of cooling fluid over the battery cells, reduce the travel distance of the fluid, reduce pressure drop and improve control of the temperature variation among the cells. See Björneklett [0016], [0026], [0046] and [0049].
This combination does not disclose a second end fluid circuit formed by a second channel at the axial end of the plurality of cells comprising a second end fluid circuit inlet and a second end fluid circuit outlet.
Meyer discloses a first fluid channels 111 formed in the first end plate 114 and connected to the interior of the liquid-tight housing 110, through which a first tempering fluid is circulated around the battery cells 120 (a first end fluid circuit) [0099]. Meyer further discloses a second fluid channels 112 formed in the profile housing 113, wherein the second fluid channels are connected to a second fluid channels in the endplates 114, and lead to joint ports 118 connected to a secondary tempering system (a second end fluid circuit formed by a second channel at the axial end of the plurality of cells comprising a second end fluid circuit inlet and a second end fluid circuit outlet) [0101]-[0102]. Meyer further explains that the first and the second tempering fluid systems are spatially separated and are not in fluid communication [0017].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further provide the Frick-Björneklett arrangement with the separate second fluid channel system of Meyer because Meyer teaches that the first and the second tempering system exchange heat through the liquid tight housing, improving the thermal coupling and cooling efficiency and also teaches counter-flow of the two tempering fluids to optimize heat transfer. See Meyer [0025], [0103]-[0104].
Regarding Claim 2: Frick et al. in view of Björneklett et al. and Meyer et al. discloses the limitation of claim 1 as set forth above.
Björneklett further discloses a manifold structure having fluid channels, wherein at least some of the fluid channels branch into a plurality of narrower channels, the branched channels supplying fluid from a fluid entrance toward an opening in the distributor plate an into spaces between the battery cells (the first end fluid circuit is in fluid communication with the cell holder fluid circuit at a divergence disposed upstream of the plurality of cells) [0035], [0037], [0048].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provided Frick-Björneklett-Meyer battery system with the branching manifold arrangement taught by Björneklett because Björneklett teaches that branching and narrowing the channels improves balancing and distribution of the cooling fluid, reduces pressure differences and provides more controlled cooling of the battery cells. See Björneklett [0047]-[0049].
Regarding Claim 3: Frick et al. in view of Björneklett et al. and Meyer et al. discloses the limitation of claim 1 and 2 as set forth above.
Björneklett further discloses a fluid entrance arranged in the first wall and a manifold structure having fluid channels extending from the fluid entrance toward openings in the distributor plate, wherein at least some of the fluid channels branch into a plurality of narrower channels (first end fluid circuit inlet comprises the divergence) [0046], [0048]. Thus, the inlet of Björneklett receives a cooling fluid and divides the received flow into multiple downstream flow paths before the fluid entered the spaces between the battery cells.
For the same reasons discussed above with respect to claim 2, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have a reason to employ the branching inlet manifold arrangement of Björneklett to improve the distribution of cooling fluid to the battery cells.
Regarding Claim 4: Frick et al. in view of Björneklett et al. and Meyer et al. discloses the limitation of claim 1 as set forth above.
Björneklett further discloses a collector plate arranged on a side of the battery cels opposite the distributor plate, the collector plate having a plurality of openings configured to receive cooling fluid from spaces between the battery cells, and a second manifold structure comprising a plurality of a second fluid channels arranged to guide the received fluid from the collector plate openings towards a fluid outlet (the first end fluid circuit is in fluid communication with the cell holder fluid circuit at a convergence disposed downstream of the plurality of cells) [0050], Fig. 9.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the downstream collector/manifold arrangement taught by Björneklett in the Frick-Björneklett-Meyer battery system because Björneklett teaches collecting cooling fluid from the spaces between the battery cells and directing the collected fluid toward a fluid outlet, thereby providing an organized return flow path for the cooling fluid. See Björneklett [0046]-[0050].
Regarding Claim 5: Frick et al. in view of Björneklett et al. and Meyer et al. discloses the limitation of claim 1 and 4 as set forth above.
Björneklett further discloses a collector plate arranged on a side of the battery cels opposite the distributor plate, the collector plate having a plurality of openings configured to receive cooling fluid from spaces between the battery cells, and a second manifold structure comprising a plurality of a second fluid channels arranged to guide the received fluid from the collector plate openings towards a fluid outlet (the first end fluid circuit outlet comprises the convergence disposed downstream of the plurality of cells) [0050], Fig. 9.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the downstream collector of Björneklett in the battery system of Frick-Björneklett-Meyer because Björneklett teaches that the manifold fluid-channel configuration improves coolant flow and fluid distribution through the battery module. See Björneklett [0046]-[0050].
Regarding Claim 8: Frick et al. in view of Björneklett et al. and Meyer et al. discloses the limitation of claim 1 as set forth above.
Meyer further discloses a first tempering fluid contained within the liquid tight housing and in thermal contact with the battery cells, wherein the first tempering fluid is circulated through the interior of the housing and the first fluid channels (wherein the first end fluid circuit and the cell holder fluid circuit are configured to circulate a dielectric fluid) [0010]-[0012]. Meyer discloses that the first tempering fluid may be electrically isolating (dielectric fluid) [0065].
Meyer further discloses a second tempering fluid flowing through a secondary tempering system spatially separated from the first tempering system, wherein the second tempering fluid is not necessarily required to be electrically isolated and may be a mixture of water and glycol (the second end fluid circuit is configured to circulate a non-dielectric fluid) [0013], [0015], [0065].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the separate first and second tempering fluid systems of Meyer in the battery system of Frick-Björneklett-Meyer because Meyer teaches that such arrangement provides improved temperature control, homogenous cooling of the battery cells, and improved system flexibility by thermally coupling the internal tempering system with the secondary tempering system. See Meyer [0066].
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frick et al. (US20220158291 A1; hereinafter “Frick”), Björneklett et al. (US20240234871 A1; hereinafter “Björneklett”) and Meyer et al. (US20240258612 A1; hereinafter “Meyer”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Totman et al. (US20230378561 A1; hereinafter “Totman”).
Regarding Claim 6: Frick et al. in view of Björneklett et al. and Meyer et al. discloses the limitation of claim 1 as set forth above. Frick further discloses a plurality of battery modules, each battery module including a respective frame and spacer supporting a respective array of electrochemical cells, wherein each spacer includes fluid passageways and cooling fluid is permitted to flow throughout the respective battery module, including between the sidewalls of the adjacent cells (a second cell holder, a second plurality of cells disposed in the second cell holder and oriented and a second cell holder fluid circuit formed around and between each of the second plurality of cells and extending through the second cell holder) [0091]-[0092], [0127].
Frick-Björneklett-Meyer do not disclose a second cell holder disposed at an axial side of the first end fluid circuit and the second end fluid circuit opposite from the cell holder.
Totman discloses a first cell holder 109 and a second cell holder 110 spaced apart and substantially parallel within the battery module housing 101, together with first cooling channel 901, second cooling channel 902, and middle cooling channel 903 bounded by the first and second cell holders [0047], [0052], [0081].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery system of Frick-Björneklett-Meyer with the Totman’s spaced cell holder and cooling channel arrangement because Totman teaches that the spacing between the cell holders affects the cooling fluid flow, the flow speed and the pressure, and that adjusting such spacing can improve cooling performance and temperature uniformity within the battery module. See Totman [0072].
Regarding Claim 7: Frick et al., Björneklett et al. and Meyer et al. in view of Totman et al. discloses the limitation of claim 6 as set forth above.
Meyer further discloses a first tempering fluid contained within the liquid tight housing and in thermal contact with the battery cells, wherein the first tempering fluid is circulated through the interior of the housing and the first fluid channels (wherein the first end fluid circuit and the cell holder fluid circuit are configured to circulate a dielectric fluid) [0010]-[0012]. Meyer discloses that the first tempering fluid may be electrically isolating (dielectric fluid) [0065].
Meyer further discloses a second tempering fluid flowing through a secondary tempering system spatially separated from the first tempering system, wherein the second tempering fluid is not necessarily required to be electrically isolated and may be a mixture of water and glycol (the second end fluid circuit is configured to circulate a non-dielectric fluid) [0013], [0015], [0065].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the separate first and second tempering fluid systems of Meyer in the battery system of Frick-Björneklett-Meyer because Meyer teaches that such arrangement provides improved temperature control, homogenous cooling of the battery cells, and improved system flexibility by thermally coupling the internal tempering system with the secondary tempering system. See Meyer [0065]-[0066].
Conclusion
/NMRO/Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725