Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/8/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 11, 14, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakamura (JPH04296214A), henceforth referred to as Nakamura.
Regarding claim 1, Nakamura discloses a vehicle comprising: an engine configured to produce a linear motion output, a crankshaft configured to convert the linear motion output to rotational motion (Paragraph [0006]: "FIG. 1 is a cross-sectional side view of the lower part of an internal combustion engine showing the crankshaft 1"), and terminating at an end with a tapered exterior surface extending to a central surface (Figure 4: joint fitting portion 1B of crankshaft 1 is tapered, and extends to a central surface), an annular ring having a proximal ring surface (Annotated Figure 4: power transmission coupling 6 is formed as an annular ring and has a proximal surface spaced closest to crank gear 2), a distal ring surface (Annotated Figure 4: coupling 6 has a distal surface spaced furthest away from crank gear 2), a ring opening, and a tapered inner surface, wherein the end of the crankshaft is received in the ring opening (Figure 4: coupling 6 has a ring opening formed with a tapered inner surface to accept the tapered end 1B of crankshaft 1), and a fastener fixed to the crankshaft and holding the annular ring against the tapered exterior surface (Figure 4: fastener fixed to crankshaft 1 to hold coupling 6 against tapered crankshaft end 1B).
Regarding claim 2, Nakamura discloses the crankshaft is formed with a cavity in the central surface (Figure 3: crankshaft end 1B formed with a cavity in the central surface), the fastener includes an abutment surface and an extension extending from the abutment surface (Annotated Figure 4: fastener includes an abutment surface and extension portion), and the extension is received in and engaged with the cavity of the central surface (Figure 3 and Annotated Figure 4: extension portion is received in, and engages the cavity of crankshaft end 1B).
Regarding claim 11, Nakamura discloses a crankshaft assembly for a vehicle, the crankshaft assembly comprising: a crankshaft comprising a shaft portion (Figure 1: crankshaft 1), with a shaft end and comprising a nose portion located at the shaft end, and having a distal nose surface formed with a cavity (Figure 4: joint fitting portion 1B of crankshaft 1 is tapered, and extends to a distal surface and comprises a cavity), and wherein the nose portion has a conical exterior surface increasing in diameter in a proximal direction from the distal nose surface (Figure 4: joint fitting portion 1B of crankshaft 1 is tapered, and increases in diameter from the distal surface), an annular ring having a proximal ring surface (Annotated Figure 4: power transmission coupling 6 is formed as an annular ring and has a proximal surface spaced closest to crank gear 2), a distal ring surface (Annotated Figure 4: coupling 6 has a distal surface spaced furthest away from crank gear 2), a ring opening, and a conical inner surface (Figure 4: coupling 6 has a ring opening formed with a tapered inner surface to accept the tapered end 1B of crankshaft 1), wherein the ring opening extends from the proximal ring surface to the distal ring surface (Figure 4: ring opening of coupling 6 extends from proximal to distal surfaces), wherein the ring opening is defined by the conical inner surface, and wherein the conical inner surface is configured for receiving the conical exterior surface of the nose portion (Figure 4: ring opening of coupling 6 defines a conical inner surface, which receives the conical outer surface of end 1B of crankshaft 1), and a connection element having a proximal abutment surface and an extension extending in the proximal direction from the proximal abutment surface (Annotated Figure 4: fastener includes an abutment surface and extension portion which extends from the abutment surface), wherein the extension is configured to be received and secured in the cavity of the nose portion to compress the annular ring between the conical exterior surface of the nose portion and the proximal abutment surface of the connection element (Figure 4: fastener extension is received in the cavity of crankshaft end 1B, and secures coupler 6 between the tapered exterior surface of crankshaft end 1B and the abutment surface of the fastener).
Regarding claim 14, Nakamura discloses the conical exterior surface is formed with a first angle and the conical inner surface is formed with a second angle equal to the first angle (Figure 4: tapered exterior surface of crankshaft end 1B and inner tapered surface of coupler 6 have equal angles).
Regarding claim 17, Nakamura discloses at least a portion of the conical exterior surface and/or the conical inner surface is laser-treated to form a hardened rough surface region (Paragraph [0010]: "In FIG. 4, the hardened portion 3 is extended as it is to form a hardened surface up to the portion of the joint fitting portion 1b where the power transmission joint 6 is fitted. The portion of the coupling fitting portion 1b into which the power transmission coupling 6 is fitted is configured with a tapered surface, and by reinforcing the strength of this portion, it becomes possible to transmit large horsepower when power is transmitted through the power transmission coupling 6").
Regarding claim 19, Nakamura discloses a method for connecting a vehicle accessory component to a crankshaft, the method comprising: locating an end of the crankshaft in an opening of the vehicle accessory component (Figure 4: coupling 6 is connected to tapered end 1B of crankshaft by locating end 1B in an opening of coupling 6), wherein the end of the crankshaft has a tapered exterior surface extending to a central surface formed with a cavity (Figure 3: end 1B is tapered and extends to a central surface formed with a cavity), and wherein the vehicle accessory component has a proximal surface (Annotated Figure 4: power transmission coupling 6 is formed as an annular ring and has a proximal surface spaced closest to crank gear 2), a distal surface (Annotated Figure 4: coupling 6 has a distal surface spaced furthest away from crank gear 2), and a tapered inner surface defining the opening (Figure 4: coupling 6 has a ring opening formed with a tapered inner surface to accept the tapered end 1B of crankshaft 1), inserting an extension of a fastener in the cavity (Figure 4: fastener extension is received in the cavity of crankshaft end 1B), wherein the fastener has an abutment surface (Annotated Figure 4: fastener abutment surface), and tightening the fastener to contact the distal surface of the vehicle accessory component and force the vehicle accessory component toward the tapered exterior surface (Annotated Figure 4: fastener contacts the distal surface of coupling 6 and forces coupling 6 towards the tapered surface of crankshaft end 1B).
Claims 1, 3-4, 6, 11-12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Linnig (DE-10216082-A1), henceforth referred to as Linnig.
Regarding claim 1, Linnig discloses a vehicle comprising: an engine configured to produce a linear motion output, a crankshaft configured to convert the linear motion output to rotational motion (Paragraph [0055]: "This drives a belt, not shown, which is operatively connected to a belt pulley mounted on a crankshaft end of an internal combustion engine (not shown)"), and terminating at an end with a tapered exterior surface extending to a central surface (Figure 1A: cone end 10 comprises a distal central surface), an annular ring having a proximal ring surface, a distal ring surface, a ring opening, and a conical inner surface, a ring opening, and a tapered inner surface, wherein the end of the crankshaft is received in the ring opening (Annotated Figure 1A: pulley 4 comprises proximal and distal ring surfaces, and a ring opening formed with a conical inner surface to receive conical end 10), and a fastener fixed to the crankshaft and holding the annular ring against the tapered exterior surface (Figure 1A: fastener 11 fixed to conical end 10 to secure pulley 4 against the tapered surface of conical end 10).
Regarding claim 3, Linnig discloses the crankshaft extends along an axis (Paragraph [0055]: "This drives a belt, not shown, which is operatively connected to a belt pulley mounted on a crankshaft end of an internal combustion engine (not shown)", Figure 1A: axis 14), the crankshaft is formed with a cavity in the central surface extending along the axis to a cavity bottom (Figure 1A: cone end 10 comprises a central surface formed with a cavity that extends along axis 14), the cavity bottom defines a cavity plane perpendicular to the axis (Annotated Figure 1A: cavity bottom defined a cavity plane perpendicular to axis 14), and the cavity plane is located between the proximal ring surface and the distal ring surface (Annotated Figure 1A: cavity plane is located between proximal and distal ring surfaces).
Regarding claim 4, Linnig discloses the crankshaft further comprises an annular shoulder extending radially outward from the tapered exterior surface (Figure 1A: cone end 10 comprises flange 8), and the annular shoulder is distanced from the proximal ring surface by a gap (Figure 1A: flange 8 comprises a surface distanced from the proximal ring surface by a gap when assembled).
Regarding claim 6, Linnig discloses the crankshaft is formed with a cavity in the central surface (Figure 1A: conical end 10 formed with a cavity in its central surface), the proximal ring surface is distanced from the distal ring surface by a ring length (Annotated Figure 1A: ring length defined by proximal and distal ring surfaces), the fastener includes an abutment surface and an extension extending from the abutment surface to an extension end (Annotated Figure 1A: fastener 11 includes abutment surface and extension portion), the extension end is distanced from the abutment surface by an extension length (Annotated Figure 1A: extension end is distance from abutment surface by extension distance), the extension is received in and engaged with the cavity of the central surface (Annotated Figure 1A: extension portion of fastener 11 is received in the cavity), and the extension length is less than the ring length. (Annotated Figure 1A: extension length is less than ring length).
Regarding claim 11, Linnig discloses a crankshaft assembly for a vehicle, the crankshaft assembly comprising: a crankshaft comprising a shaft portion (Paragraph [0055]: "This drives a belt, not shown, which is operatively connected to a belt pulley mounted on a crankshaft end of an internal combustion engine (not shown)"), with a shaft end and comprising a nose portion located at the shaft end, and having a distal nose surface formed with a cavity (Figure 1A: cone end 10 comprises a distal surface formed with a cavity to accept fastener 11), and wherein the nose portion has a conical exterior surface increasing in diameter in a proximal direction from the distal nose surface (Figure 1A: cone end 10 is formed with a conical exterior surface increasing in diameter from the distal surface), an annular ring having a proximal ring surface, a distal ring surface, a ring opening, and a conical inner surface (Annotated Figure 1A: pulley 4 comprises proximal and distal ring surfaces, and a ring opening formed with a conical inner surface), wherein the ring opening extends from the proximal ring surface to the distal ring surface (Figure 1A: ring opening extends from proximal to distal surfaces), wherein the ring opening is defined by the conical inner surface, and wherein the conical inner surface is configured for receiving the conical exterior surface of the nose portion (Figure 1A: ring opening is defined by the inner conical surface, which interfaces with the conical outer surface of cone end 10), and a connection element having a proximal abutment surface and an extension extending in the proximal direction from the proximal abutment surface (Figure 1A: fastener 11 comprises an abutment surface and extension portion extending from the abutment surface), wherein the extension is configured to be received and secured in the cavity of the nose portion to compress the annular ring between the conical exterior surface of the nose portion and the proximal abutment surface of the connection element (Figure 1A: extension portion of fastener 11 is received and secured in the cavity of cone end 10 to secure pulley 4).
Regarding claim 12, Linnig discloses the crankshaft further comprises an annular shoulder joining the conical exterior surface (Figure 1A: cone end 10 comprises flange 8), wherein the annular shoulder has a distal shoulder surface configured to be distanced from the proximal ring surface by a gap when the annular ring is compressed between the conical exterior surface of the nose portion and the proximal abutment surface of the connection element (Figure 1A: flange 8 comprises a surface distanced from the proximal ring surface by a gap when assembled).
Regarding claim 15, Linnig discloses the proximal ring surface is distanced from the distal ring surface by a ring length (Annotated Figure 1A: ring length defined by proximal and distal ring surfaces), the extension extends from the proximal abutment surface to an extension end (Annotated Figure 1A: extension portion of fastener 11 extends from the abutment surface), the extension end is distanced from the proximal abutment surface by an extension length (Annotated Figure 1A: extension end is distance from abutment surface by extension distance), and the extension length is less than the ring length (Annotated Figure 1A: extension length is less than ring length).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 7-9, 13, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura.
Regarding claim 5, Nakamura does not teach a specific angle of the tapered exterior surface. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nakamura to have a taper angle between 2 and 60 degrees, since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device , the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst,. Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of Nakamura would not operate differently with the claimed angle range, as the tapered portion 1B would still support the tapered inner surface of coupling 6. Further, applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating “In an exemplary embodiment of the crankshaft assembly, the conical exterior surface is formed with an angle of from 2 degrees to 60 degrees” (Paragraph [0016]).
Regarding claim 7, Nakamura does not teach a specific ratio of first and second diameters. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nakamura to have a diameter ratio at least 1:1.2, since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device , the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst,. Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of Nakamura would not operate differently with the claimed diameter ratio, as the inner surface of coupling 6 would still accept end 1B, as long as the second diameter is smaller than the first diameter, which Figure 4 of Nakamura discloses. Further, applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating “In an exemplary embodiment of the vehicle, at the proximal ring surface, the ring opening has a first diameter; the central surface has a second diameter; and the first diameter is at least 1.2 times the second diameter” (Paragraph [0010]).
Regarding claim 8, Nakamura does not teach a specific ratio of first and second diameters. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nakamura to have a diameter ratio at least 1:1.5, since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device , the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst,. Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of Nakamura would not operate differently with the claimed diameter ratio, as the inner surface of coupling 6 would still accept end 1B, as long as the second diameter is smaller than the first diameter, which Figure 4 of Nakamura discloses. Further, applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating “In an exemplary embodiment of the vehicle, at the proximal ring surface, the ring opening has a first diameter; the central surface has a second diameter; and the first diameter is at least 1.5 times the second diameter” (Paragraph [0011]).
Regarding claim 9, Nakamura discloses at least a portion of the tapered exterior surface and/or the tapered inner surface is treated to form a hardened rough surface region (Paragraph [0010]: "In FIG. 4, the hardened portion 3 is extended as it is to form a hardened surface up to the portion of the joint fitting portion 1b where the power transmission joint 6 is fitted. The portion of the coupling fitting portion 1b into which the power transmission coupling 6 is fitted is configured with a tapered surface, and by reinforcing the strength of this portion, it becomes possible to transmit large horsepower when power is transmitted through the power transmission coupling 6”). In addition, Applicant's claim of “at least a portion of the tapered exterior surface and/or the tapered inner surface is laser-treated to form a hardened rough surface region" is a product-by-process claim. Determination of patentability is based on the product itself, and not dependent upon the method of production. See MPEP 2113. The product of Applicant’s product-by-process claim is the same as or an obvious variant of the process in Nakamura.
Regarding claim 13, Nakamura does not teach a specific angle of the tapered exterior surface. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nakamura to have a taper angle between 2 and 60 degrees, since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device , the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst,. Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of Nakamura would not operate differently with the claimed angle range, as the tapered portion 1B would still support the tapered inner surface of coupling 6. Further, applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating “In an exemplary embodiment of the crankshaft assembly, the conical exterior surface is formed with an angle of from 2 degrees to 60 degrees” (Paragraph [0016]).
Regarding claim 16, Nakamura does not teach a specific ratio of first and second diameters. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nakamura to have a diameter ratio at least 1:1.5, since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device , the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst,. Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of Nakamura would not operate differently with the claimed diameter ratio, as the inner surface of coupling 6 would still accept end 1B, as long as the second diameter is smaller than the first diameter, which Figure 4 of Nakamura discloses. Further, applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating “In an exemplary embodiment of the vehicle, at the proximal ring surface, the ring opening has a first diameter; the central surface has a second diameter; and the first diameter is at least 1.5 times the second diameter” (Paragraph [0011])
Regarding claim 20, Nakamura discloses at least a portion of the tapered exterior surface and/or the tapered inner surface is treated to form a hardened rough surface region (Paragraph [0010]: "In FIG. 4, the hardened portion 3 is extended as it is to form a hardened surface up to the portion of the joint fitting portion 1b where the power transmission joint 6 is fitted. The portion of the coupling fitting portion 1b into which the power transmission coupling 6 is fitted is configured with a tapered surface, and by reinforcing the strength of this portion, it becomes possible to transmit large horsepower when power is transmitted through the power transmission coupling 6”). In addition, Applicant's claim of “the tapered exterior surface and/or the tapered inner surface is laser-treated" is a product-by-process claim. Determination of patentability is based on the product itself, and not dependent upon the method of production. See MPEP 2113. The product of Applicant’s product-by-process claim is the same as or an obvious variant of the process in Nakamura.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the “ friction shim located between the tapered exterior surface and the tapered inner surface” and the “friction shim configured to be compressed between the conical exterior surface and the conical inner surface” as found in dependent claims 10 and 18, respectively, are not obvious combinations of prior art.
Cited Prior Art not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure includes Post (US-11174900-B2), which discloses a tapered shaft attachment.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW JAMES O'NEILL/Examiner, Art Unit 3614
/JASON D SHANSKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3614