DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Since the claims do not include any units of the absorbency any absorbency would read on the claims, since it is known that absorbency can be expressed in different forms, e.g., gsm, gsm/seconds (rate), gliquid/gfiber, etc. Also since the claim only recites MD stretch, not the percentage, which it is commonly expressed, then the actually ratio of stretch can be used for the calculations, i.e., not in percentages.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Edwards et al., (hereinafter Edwards), US Patent Application Publication No. 2004/0238135 A1.
Edwards teaches a two-ply towel having absorbency, measured by the GAT method (see ¶-[0094], between 5 to 12 g/g (see ¶-0030]) and MD stretch of at least 15% or less than 20% (see ¶-[0023], [0032], [0035]) and on table 11 shows MD stretch of 5 for special two-ply products which indicates that the ratio of absorbency to MD stretch varies from 1 to 2.4, which falls within the claimed range. Although the use or not of enzyme is a process limitation, which not necessarily defines the product, yet Edwards does not use enzyme to make the tissue and thus reading on the limitation as-well.
It seems that Edwards teaches all the limitations of the claim or at the very least the minor modification(s) to obtain the claimed invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 USC §102(a)(1). This rejection is set forth in the prior Office action mailed on October 29, 2024.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on October 24, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
We regard to Sealy applicants argue that the calculations are made using different basis weight, since the GATS uses air dry and the basis weight shown by the reference is based on a bone dry weight. This argument is not convincing, because even if the absorbency is calculated based on air dry, i.e., the basis weight, the absorbency relationship would still be within the claimed range, as shown below:
The relationship between bone dry and air dry basis weight is calculated as:
Bone dry= Air dry*0.9; which is at the end of the spectrum, i.e., very conservative estimation, since it assumes a 10% moisture, which in most cases the moisture is lower, especially the equilibrium moisture. Using the results of the table the Air basis weight would be the Bone dry/0.9, i.e., 46.15; which gives an absorbency (g/g)= 700 gsm/46.16 gsm of fiber= 15.16 and the ratio of absorbency to MD stretch would be 15.16/10.7 = 1.417, which is still within the claimed range, i.e. greater than 1.2.
Applicants also argues that the reference uses enzyme, but the use of enzyme this is a process limitation and not a property of the product and the product of the reference has the claimed properties. Note that enzymes are taken out, recovered, from the final product and thus the end products would be the same, i.e., they have the same properties.
Applicants argue that the Edwards reference does not teach the absorbency to MD stretch ratio since even using the Lowest MD stretch (17%) mentioned the absorbency would have to be 20.4 to obtain the claimed ratio. The arguments are not persuasive, because a reference is not evaluated by its specific examples, but what it teaches to one of ordinary skill in the art. A disclosure in a reference is not limited to its specific illustrative examples, but must be considered as a whole to ascertain what would be realistically suggested thereby to one of ordinary skill in the art. In re Uhlig, 54 CCPA 1300, 376 F2d 320; 153 USPQ 460. Also, it has been held that “[R]eferences are not limited to preferred embodiments.” In re Boe, 148 USPQ 507 (CCPA 1966). Also, it has been held that all the disclosure in a reference must be evaluated for what they fairly teach one of ordinary skill in the art. In re Smith, 32 CCPA 959, 148 F.2d 351, 65 USPQ 167; In re Nehrenberg, 47 CCPA 1159, 280 F.2d 161, 126 USPQ 383; and in In re Watanabe, 50 CCPA 1175, 315 F.2d 924, 137 USPQ 350.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure “Two Plies Absorbent Products.”
/JOSE A FORTUNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748
JAF