DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant is thanked for their response, dated March 27, 2026, to the Office Action filed on February 18, 2026 . The amendment has been entered and, accordingly, claims 1, 4-5, 8, and 10 have been amended and claims 3, 7, and 11-20 have been cancelled. Claims 1-2, 4-6, and 8-10 are currently pending in this application.
Applicant is thanked for the submission of the corrected information disclosure statement (IDS), which was submitted on March 27, 2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Applicant’s amendments to claim 8 have overcome the previous objection and that objection is therefore withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the previous rejections under 35 USC 112(b) and those rejections are therefore withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 106524516 by Wang (“Wang”) in view of US Patent No. 5,818,688 issued to Gluskoter et al (“Gluskoter”).
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches a heater (Abstract), comprising:
a housing having a first end and a second end arranged in opposite (Fig 1 top and bottom of device as shown in the vertical orientation of Fig 1), wherein the housing includes an end wall (Fig 1 bottom cover 4, particularly the side walls of 4), a first side wall (Fig 1 second side plane 203), and a second side wall (Fig 1 transition surface 202); the end wall is disposed at the first end (Fig 1), the first side wall and the second side wall are both located between the first end and the second end (Fig 1); and the first side wall is provided with an air outlet communicating with interior of the housing (Fig 2 air outlet 21 first side wall 203; paragraph [0034]);
a heating component arranged inside the housing (Fig 2 heating element 6);
a first support assembly provided on the end wall to support the heater when the heater is in a first state, in which the first end and the second end are arranged in a vertical direction (Fig 3 shows the device in its vertical orientation supported on the bottom plate of bottom cover 4; paragraph [0032]); and
a second support assembly provided on the second side wall (Fig 5 first side plane 201 on second side wall 202) to support the heater when the heater is in a second state that is different from the first state (Fig 5 shows the device in its horizontal orientation, or second state, supported on 201; paragraph [0034]).
But Wang does not teach that the second support assembly includes second support members and third support members; the second support members are connected to the second side wall and protrude relative to the second side wall; the third support members are connected to the second side wall and are spaced apart from the second support members; and the third support members protrude relative to the second side wall; wherein the second support members are fixedly provided on one side of the second side wall, the third support members are rotatably connected to the other side of the second side wall, and each third support member is arranged to rotate relative to the second side wall into a folded state or an unfolded state and; wherein a third support member includes a main body; the second side wall is provided with an installation groove, and the main body is rotatably connected to an inner wall of the installation groove, such that the main body can be moved out of the installation groove or folded in the installation groove by rotating; wherein: the third support member further includes a first abutting portion and a second abutting portion; the first abutting portion is provided on a side of the main body and protrudes relative to the main body, and is used to abut an inner wall of the installation groove; the second abutting portion is provided on the main body, facing toward an inner wall of the installation groove, and protrudes relative to the main body; the inner wall of the installation groove is provided with a clamping portion; and the clamping portion is used to abut the second abutting portion to limit a rotation angle of the third support member.
However, Gluskoter, in solving the problem of providing an adjustable support, teaches a support assembly for a horizontal device with adjustable tilt (Abstract, support members for tiltable keyboard) wherein the support assembly includes second support members (col 2 line 44-51, not shown in Fig) and third support members (Fig 2 hinges 36/38 with rubber feet 40/42); the second support members are connected to the device wall and protrude relative to the device wall (col 2 line 44-51); the third support members are connected to the device wall and are spaced apart from the second support members (Fig 2, col 2 line 44-51); and the third support members protrude relative to the device wall (Fig 3); wherein the second support members are fixedly provided on one side of the device wall (col 2 line 44-51); the third support members are rotatably connected to the other side of the device wall (Fig 2-3; col 2 line 30-35); and each third support member is arranged to rotate relative to the second side wall into a folded state (Fig 2) or an unfolded state (Fig 3); and, wherein a third support member includes a main body (Fig 2 and Fig 4, main portion of hinges 36/38, see Examiner Annotated Figure A below, hereinafter “EAF A”); the device wall is provided with an installation groove (Fig 4 indentation 34b), and the main body is rotatably connected to an inner wall of the installation groove (Fig 4 main body 38 connected to installation groove 34b by way of 46a/b and 38a), such that the main body can be moved out of the installation groove or folded in the installation groove by rotating (Fig 3); wherein the third support portion further includes a first abutting portion and a second abutting portion (see EAF A below); the first abutting portion is provided on a side of the main body and protrudes relative to the main body, and is used to abut an inner wall of the installation groove (EAF A, first abutting portion shown protrudes from main body and abuts inner wall of installation groove); the second abutting portion is provided on the main body, facing toward an inner wall of the installation groove, and protrudes relative to the main body (EAF A, 2nd abutting portion shown protrudes from main body and faces an inner wall of installation groove); the inner wall of the installation groove is provided with a clamping portion (EAF A, the clamping portion includes the area of the installation groove outlined by the rectangle, including the front wall; note that portions of the outlined clamping portion function to clamp the third support member in place); and the clamping portion is used to abut the second abutting portion to limit a rotation angle of the third support member (when third support member is unfolded, as in Fig 3, the front wall of the installation groove, as part of the clamping portion, abuts at least the second abutting portion and functions to limit a rotation angle of the installation groove; col 3 line 23-28).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heater of Wang by making the second support assembly to include the second and third support members taught by Gluskoter. This would be advantageous for allowing the user to adjust the heater to different tilt angles when the heater is in the horizontal position. (Examiner also notes that KR 101439490, cited on the attached PTO-892, provides additional evidence that this support structure with adjustable tilt would be advantageous and the modification could be made with a reasonable expectation of success).
Examiner Annotated Figure A, from Figure 4 of Gluskoter, showing the main body, 1st and 2nd abutting portions, and camping portion
Regarding claim 4, Gluskoter further teaches that relative to the second side wall, a protrusion height of the third support member in the folded state is less than that in the unfolded state (Figs 2-3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention, having modified the heater of Wang with the second support assembly as taught by Gluskoter, that a protrusion height of the third support member in the folded state is less than that in the unfolded state.
Regarding claim 5, Gluskoter further teaches that when the main body is folded in the installation groove, a protruding height of the third support member is the same as that of the second support member (col 2 line 44-51).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention, having modified the heater of Wang with the second support assembly as taught by Gluskoter, that when the main body is folded in the installation groove, a protruding height of the third support member is the same as that of the second support member.
Regarding claim 10, Gluskoter teaches that a number of the second supporting members is at least two (Gluskoter col 2 line 44-51); and a number of the third support members is at least two (Gluskoter Fig 2), and at least one third support member is located at each of the first end and the second end (Gluskoter Fig 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention, having modified the heater of Wang with the second support assembly as taught by Gluskoter, that a number of the second supporting members is at least two, and a number of the third support members is at least two, and at least one third support member is located at each of the first end and the second end. It would further have been obvious that at least one second supporting member is located at each of the first end and the second end.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang and Gluskoter, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of CN 210320265 by Jia (hereinafter “Jia”).
Regarding claim 2, Wang, as modified with Gluskoter, teaches the heater according to claim 1 (see details in claim 1 rejection above). But Wang/Gluskoter does not teach that the first support assembly includes a plurality of first support members, the first support members are connected to the end wall and protrude relative to the end wall, and the plurality of first support members are spaced apart from each other.
However, Jia teaches a similar dual-use heater that can be used in a vertical or horizontal orientation (paragraph [0002]). Jia further teaches a first support assembly provided on an end wall to support the heater when the heater is a first state in which the first end and second end are arranged in a vertical direction (Fig 1 upright standing leg 30), the first support assembly including a plurality of first support members (Fig 1 first support assembly 30 includes multiple support plates 31), the first support members are connected to the end wall and protrude relative to the end wall, and the plurality of first support members are spaced apart from each other (Fig 1; paragraph [0029]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heater of Wang/Gluskoter by including the upright standing leg taught by Jia on the first support assembly, in order to increase the stability of the device when placed in the vertical configuration.
Claims 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Gluskoter, as applied to claim 5 above, and in further view of KR 101439490 by Lee (hereinafter “Lee”).
Regarding claim 6, Wang, as modified with the second and third support members taught by Gluskoter, teaches the heater according to claim 5. See details in parent claim 5 rejection above, including the motivation for a person of ordinary skill to modify. Gluskoter further teaches that the third support member further includes a support portion (Fig 2 rubber feet 40/42); the support portion is provided on a side of the main body away from the installation groove (Fig 4); the support portion protrudes relative to the main body (Fig 4); and a protruding height of the support portion relative to the main body is the same as a protruding height of the second support member relative to the device wall (col 2 line 44-51). Although the main body taught by Gluskoter appears to be flush with the second side wall when folded in the installation groove, Gluskoter does not explicitly teach that when the main body is folded in the installation groove, a surface of the main body is flush with the second side wall.
Lee teaches a heater (Title, Fig 3) having a second and a third support member on a wall of the device, wherein the second support member is fixed (Fig 5, see also Examiner Annotated Figure B below) and the third support member (Fig 5 support 70, see also Examiner Annotated Figure B below) is rotatably connected to the wall (paragraph [0037]) , wherein the third support member rotates from a folded state to an unfolded state, the protrusion height of the third support member being greater in the unfolded state (paragraph [0037]). Lee further teaches that the wall of the device is provided with an installation groove (Fig 5 receiving groove 63) and the main body of the third support member can be rotated into and out of the installation groove (paragraph [0037]) and that when the main body of the third support member is folded in the installation groove, a surface of the main body is flush with the wall of the device (paragraph [0036] thickness of installation groove can be equal to the thickness of third support member 70, thus making 70 flush with the wall when folded into the receiving groove).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention, having modified the heater of Wang with the second support assembly as taught by Gluskoter, that the third support member further includes a support portion; the support portion is provided on a side of the main body away from the installation groove; the support portion protrudes relative to the main body; when the main body is folded in the installation groove and a protruding height of the support portion relative to the main body is the same as a protruding height of the second support member relative to the second side wall. It would further have been obvious to make the main body such that, when it is folded in the installation groove, it is flush with the side wall, in order to provide a better appearance and better protection for the support member when it is folded into the side wall.
Examiner Annotated Figure B, from Fig 5 of Lee, showing 2nd and 3rd support members
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang and Gluskoter, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of US Patent No. 6,250,372 issued to Arai et al (“Arai”).
Regarding claim 8, Wang, as modified by Gluskoter, teaches the heater of claim 1 (see details in claim 1 rejection above). Wang further teaches that the housing further includes a third side wall located between the first end and the second end and the third side wall is provided with an air inlet (Fig 5 arc-shaped surface 204, paragraph [0034]) and that the heater further includes a fan arranged on the inside of the housing (paragraph [0037]).
But Wang/Gluskoter does not teach that the third side wall is provided with a detection port and the detection port communicates inside of the housing with outside; the heater further includes a temperature sensor, and the temperature sensor is disposed at the detection port.
However, Arai teaches an air conditioning device having a housing which includes a third side wall located between the first end and the second end (Fig 2 front panel 22 with suction grill 30, and also including air suction port 31); the third side wall is provided with an air inlet (Fig 2 inlet port 23) and a detection port (Fig 2 air passage 26), and the detection port communicates inside of the housing with outside (Fig 2); the device further includes a temperature sensor (Figs 2-4, temperature sensor 27), and the temperature sensor is disposed at the detection port (Fig 2). Arai teaches that having the temperature sensor in a detection port separated from the heat-generating components in the interior of the housing provides an accurate temperature measurement of the room air (col 1 line 35-40; col 2 line 17-23).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heater of Wang by including a detection port on the third side wall along with the air inlet, the detection port communicating the inside of the housing with the outside, and a temperature sensor disposed at the detection port. This would be advantageous in providing an accurate temperature measurement of the room air that could be used to control operations of the heater.
Regarding claim 9, Arai further teaches that the third side wall includes a side wall body (Fig 2 front face of 22) and a protective portion (Fig 2 suction grill 30), and the side wall body is connected to the end wall (Fig 2); the detection port is provided on the side wall body (Fig 2); the protective portion is connected to a side of the side wall body away from an inner cavity of the housing (Fig 2); the temperature sensor at least partially protrudes relative to the side wall body (Figs 2-3), and the protective portion covers the temperature sensor (Figs 1-2); and the protective part is provided with a vent (Fig 2 air suction port 31), and the vent connects inside of the protective port with outside (Fig 2 shows air flow through 31 [Wingdings font/0xE0] 26 [Wingdings font/0xE0] 23).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention, having modified the heater of Wang with the detection port and temperature sensor of Arai, to further include on the third side wall a side wall body and a protective portion, with the side wall body connected to the end wall, the detection port provided on the side wall body, the protective portion connected to a side of the side wall body away from an inner cavity of the housing, the temperature sensor at least partially protruding relative to the side wall body, and the protective portion covering the temperature sensor, and the protective part provided with a vent, and the vent connecting the inside of the protective port with the outside, as taught by Arai. This would be advantageous in providing a protected port in the vicinity of the air intake that would provide an accurate measurement of the room air temperature.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues, on page 5, that:
That is, Gluskoter uses a simple hinge and shaft coupling, i.e., to insert the hinge onto the shafts in the recess. However, a simple hinge in Gluskoter cannot constitute “the third support member further includes a first abutting portion and a second abutting portion; the first abutting portion is provided on a side of the main body and protrudes relative to the main body, and is used to abut an inner wall of the installation groove; the second abutting portion is provided on the main body, facing toward an inner wall of the installation groove, and protrude relative to the main body; the inner wall of the installation groove is provided with a clamping portion; and the clamping portion is used to abut the second abutting portion to limit a rotation angle of the third support member” as recited in amended claim 1 (emphasis added). In fact, as shown in above FIG, neither inner wall of the indentation 34a nor sides of the hinge 38 has any protrusion for positional operation.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The terms “first abutting portion”, “second abutting portion”, and “clamping portion” are broad terms which have been interpreted as outlined in the rejection above and in Examiner Annotated Figure A. Under this interpretation, the claimed features are met by the abutting portions, which protrude from the side of a main body, as shown in Examiner Annotated Figure A, and the clamping portion, being a portion of the inner wall as shown in Examiner Annotated Figure A, which functions to limit the rotation angle of the third support member by blocking the rotational movement of the third support member beyond the perpendicular angle shown in Fig 3.
It is recommended that Applicant further amend the claims to include further structural details in order to overcome the prior art of record.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 6,682,240 to Chou teaches a rotatable support structure (Fig 2) having a main body (11), abutting portions (14) and a clamping portion which abuts the abutting portion to limit the rotation angle of the support member (24).
US 4,516,508 to Kako et al teaches a rotatable support structure (Figs 4-7) having a main body (27), an abutting portion (29) and a clamping portion which abuts the abutting portion to limit the rotation angle of the support member (15).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AMY E CARTER/Examiner, Art Unit 3762
/Allen R. B. Schult/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762