Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/27/2024 and was filed after the mailing date of the 11/06/2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 18-23, and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Abotabl et al. (US 2021/0400637 A1) (hereafter “Abotabl”).
Regarding claim 1, A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication ( Abotabl, Fig. 13, Ref. 1300), comprising: one or more memories (Abotabl, Fig. 13, Ref. 1308) ; and one or more processors (Abotabl, Fig. 13, Ref. 1304) , coupled to the one or more memories, configured to:
receive information indicating a sub-band full-duplex (SBFD) frequency configuration for a first sub-band of a carrier,
Abotabl, Fig. 4B [0085]; In FIG. 4B, the full-duplex gNB 402 transmits a downlink transmission to the first full-duplex UE 412.
Abotabl, Fig. 7A[0095]; The multi-panel antenna configuration shown in FIG. 7A may also be applicable to UEs to enable full-duplex communication (e.g., SBFD) at the UE.
Abotabl [0096] FIG. 7B is a schematic illustration of an example of sub-band full-duplex wireless communication 710 using the multi-panel antenna array 700 shown in FIG. 7A according to some aspects. In the example shown in FIG. 7B, time is in the horizontal direction with units of slots 712a-712d, each including a plurality of OFDM symbols; and frequency is in the vertical direction (Frequency in vertical = The carrier bandwidth 714 = sub-band full-duplex (SBFD) frequency configuration) . Here, a carrier bandwidth 714 (or set of one or more active BWPs) is illustrated along the frequency axis. The carrier bandwidth 714 (or active BWPs) may be divided into a number of sub-bands 750a (750b= first subband)-750c for sub-band FD operation.
the information indicating that the first sub-band is an uplink sub-band or a downlink sub-band,
Abotabl [0096]; The carrier bandwidth 714 (or active BWPs)( carrier bandwidth = information) may be divided into a number of sub-bands 750a-750c for sub-band FD operation.
Abotabl [0099]; Sub-bands 750a and 750b (first subband) are allocated for downlink transmissions, while sub-band 750c is allocated for uplink transmissions.
the information indicating at least one SBFD frequency configuration for a second sub-band of the carrier,
Abotabl, Fig. 7b [0101]; In the uplink (UL) sub-band 750c (750c= second subband), the slots 712b and 712c each include an UL data portion 728 and 738, respectively, for transmitting UL data.
the information indicating one or more guard bands separating the first sub-band from the second sub-band,
Abotabl, Fig. 7b [0096]; The carrier bandwidth 714 (or active BWPs)( carrier bandwidth = information) may be divided into a number of sub-bands 750a-750c for sub-band FD operation.
Abotabl , Fig. 7b [0101]; Guard bands 732 are further provided between the UL sub-band 750c (second subband) and the DL sub-bands 750a and 750b (first subband) to mitigate self-interference between simultaneous DL transmissions in the DL sub-bands 750a and 750b and UL transmissions in the UL sub-band 750c.
and the frequency configuration being for at least one symbol that includes at least one uni-directional symbol;
Abotabl [0092] Here, a carrier bandwidth 602 (or set of one or more active bandwidth parts (BWPs)) is illustrated along the frequency axis and a slot 604 is illustrated along the time axis.
Abotabl [0094] For sub-band FD communication, as shown in FIG. 6C, the carrier bandwidth 602 (or active BWPs)= frequency configuration) may be divided into sub-bands 610a and 610b. Each sub-band 610a and 610b may be allocated for communication in a single direction (at least one uni- direction).
Abotabl [0104] In some aspects of the disclosure, one or more slots may be flexible slots including one or more flexible symbols that may be configured as either half-duplex symbols (e.g., all UL or all DL) or sub-band full-duplex symbols (e.g., including both UL and DL transmissions).
and communicate with another device using the SBFD frequency configuration.
Abotabl [0099]; In slots 712b and 712c, the antenna array 700 is configured for both DL communication and UL communication. For example, in slots 712b and 712c, the carrier bandwidth 714 (or active BWPs) is shown partitioned between uplink transmissions and downlink transmissions. Sub-bands 750a and 750b are allocated for downlink transmissions, while sub-band 750c is allocated for uplink transmissions.
Regarding claim 2, The UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to receive the information, are configured to: receive the information via one or more information elements included in radio resource control cell common configuration communication from a network node.
Abotabl, Fig. 8 [0181]; According to some aspects, for FD-aware and FD scheduled entities, a DU slot identified in a DCI Format 2_0 message may have some FDD-like behavior. For example, the patterns of slot formats (e.g., the patterns of three slot formats for a given SlotFormatCombinationID 802 of FIG. 8) may repeat. In another example, the DU slot interpretation after receiving the DCI 2_0 may override a common or dedicated slot pattern configuration. That is, the SFI may override the common or dedicated slot pattern configuration, which is an RRC configuration.
Regarding claim 3, The UE of claim 1, wherein the first sub-band is the uplink sub-band,
the second sub-band is the downlink sub-band,
Abotabl [0094] For sub-band FD communication, as shown in FIG. 6C, the carrier bandwidth 602 (or active BWPs) may be divided into sub-bands 610a and 610b. For example, sub-band 610a may be allocated for downlink transmissions (second sub-band= sub-band 750c in Fig. 7B), while sub-band 610b (first sub-band= sub-band 750a in Fig. 7B) may be allocated for uplink transmissions.
and the at least one uni-directional symbol comprises at least one downlink symbol.
Abotabl [0094] ;For sub-band FD communication, as shown in FIG. 6C, the carrier bandwidth 602 (or active BWPs) may be divided into sub-bands 610a and 610b. Each sub-band 610a and 610b may be allocated for communication in a single direction. For example, sub-band 610a may be allocated for downlink transmissions,
Regarding claim 4, The UE of claim 1, wherein the first sub-band is the downlink sub-band, the second sub-band is the uplink sub-band,
Abotabl [0099]; Sub-bands 750a and 750b (first subband) are allocated for downlink transmissions, while sub-band 750c (second subband) is allocated for uplink transmissions.
and the at least one uni-directional symbol comprises at least one uplink symbol.
Abotabl [0094]; For sub-band FD communication, as shown in FIG. 6C, the carrier bandwidth 602 (or active BWPs) may be divided into sub-bands 610a (second subband) and 610b (first subband). Each sub-band 610a and 610b may be allocated for communication in a single direction. For example, sub-band 610a may be allocated for downlink transmissions, while sub-band 610b may be allocated for uplink transmissions.
Regarding claim 5, The UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: determine a frequency configuration for the one or more guard bands to include portions of the carrier that are not included in the first sub-band and the second sub-band.
Abotabl [0101]; Guard bands 732 are further provided between the UL sub-band 750c (second subband) and the DL sub-bands 750a and 750b (first subaband) to mitigate self-interference between simultaneous DL transmissions in the DL sub-bands 750a and 750b and UL transmissions in the UL sub-band 750c.
Abotabl, [0094]; The downlink resources 606 may further be separated from the uplink resources 608 in the frequency domain by a guard band 612 to isolate the uplink and downlink transmissions in frequency.
Regarding claim 6, The UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: determine the at least one SBFD frequency configuration for the second sub-band to include portions of the carrier that are not included in the first sub-band and the one or more guard bands.
Abotabl [0096]; The carrier bandwidth 714 (or active BWPs) may be divided (determine the at least one SBFD frequency configuration ) into a number of sub-bands 750a-750c (second sub-band) for sub-band FD operation.
Abotabl Fig. 6 [0101]; Guard bands 732 are further provided between the UL sub-band 750c and the DL sub-bands 750a and 750b to mitigate self-interference between simultaneous DL transmissions in the DL sub-bands 750a and 750b and UL transmissions in the UL sub-band 750c.
Regarding claim 18, A network node (Abotabl, Fig. 10, Ref. 1000) for wireless communication,
comprising: one or more memories (Abotabl, Fig. 10, Ref. 1008) ; and one or more processors (Abotabl
,Fig. 10, 1041) , coupled to the one or more memories, configured to:
Transmit information indicating a sub-band full-duplex (SBFD) frequency configuration for a first sub-band of a carrier,
Abotabl, Fig. 4B [0085]; In FIG. 4B, the full-duplex gNB 402 transmits a downlink transmission to the first full-duplex UE 412.
Abotabl, Fig. 7A[0095]; FIG. 7A is a schematic diagram of a base station 702 (e.g., gNB) including a multi-panel antenna array 700 configured for full-duplex communication according to some aspects of the disclosure.
Abotabl [0096] FIG. 7B is a schematic illustration of an example of sub-band full-duplex wireless communication 710 using the multi-panel antenna array 700 shown in FIG. 7A according to some aspects. In the example shown in FIG. 7B, time is in the horizontal direction with units of slots 712a-712d, each including a plurality of OFDM symbols; and frequency is in the vertical direction (Frequency in vertical = The carrier bandwidth 714 = sub-band full-duplex (SBFD) frequency configuration) . Here, a carrier bandwidth 714 (or set of one or more active BWPs) is illustrated along the frequency axis. The carrier bandwidth 714 (or active BWPs) may be divided into a number of sub-bands 750a (750b= first subband)-750c for sub-band FD operation.
the information indicating that the first sub-band is an uplink sub-band or a downlink sub-band,
Abotabl [0096]; The carrier bandwidth 714 (or active BWPs)( carrier bandwidth = information) may be divided into a number of sub-bands 750a-750c for sub-band FD operation.
Abotabl [0099]; Sub-bands 750a and 750b (first subband) are allocated for downlink transmissions, while sub-band 750c is allocated for uplink transmissions.
the information indicating at least one SBFD frequency configuration for a second sub-band of the carrier,
Abotabl, Fig. 7b [0101]; In the uplink (UL) sub-band 750c (750c= second subband), the slots 712b and 712c each include an UL data portion 728 and 738, respectively, for transmitting UL data.
the information indicating one or more guard bands separating the first sub-band from the second sub-band,
Abotabl, Fig. 7b [0096]; The carrier bandwidth 714 (or active BWPs)( carrier bandwidth = information) may be divided into a number of sub-bands 750a-750c for sub-band FD operation.
Abotabl , Fig. 7b [0101]; Guard bands 732 are further provided between the UL sub-band 750c (second subband) and the DL sub-bands 750a and 750b (first subband) to mitigate self-interference between simultaneous DL transmissions in the DL sub-bands 750a and 750b and UL transmissions in the UL sub-band 750c.
and the frequency configuration being for at least one symbol that includes at least one uni-directional symbol;
Abotabl [0092] Here, a carrier bandwidth 602 (or set of one or more active bandwidth parts (BWPs)) is illustrated along the frequency axis and a slot 604 is illustrated along the time axis.
Abotabl [0094] For sub-band FD communication, as shown in FIG. 6C, the carrier bandwidth 602 (or active BWPs)= frequency configuration) may be divided into sub-bands 610a and 610b. Each sub-band 610a and 610b may be allocated for communication in a single direction (at least one uni- direction).
Abotabl [0104] In some aspects of the disclosure, one or more slots may be flexible slots including one or more flexible symbols that may be configured as either half-duplex symbols (e.g., all UL or all DL) or sub-band full-duplex symbols (e.g., including both UL and DL transmissions).
and communicate with another device using the SBFD frequency configuration.
Abotabl [0099]; In slots 712b and 712c, the antenna array 700 is configured for both DL communication and UL communication. For example, in slots 712b and 712c, the carrier bandwidth 714 (or active BWPs) is shown partitioned between uplink transmissions and downlink transmissions. Sub-bands 750a and 750b are allocated for downlink transmissions, while sub-band 750c is allocated for uplink transmissions.
Regarding claim 19, The network node of claim 18, wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the
information, are configured to: transmit the information via one or more information elements included
in radio resource control cell common configuration communication.
Abotabl, Fig. 8 [0181]; According to some aspects, for FD-aware and FD scheduled entities, a DU slot identified in a DCI Format 2_0 message may have some FDD-like behavior. For example, the patterns of slot formats (e.g., the patterns of three slot formats for a given SlotFormatCombinationID 802 of FIG. 8) may repeat. In another example, the DU slot interpretation after receiving the DCI 2_0 may override a common or dedicated slot pattern configuration. That is, the SFI may override the common or dedicated slot pattern configuration, which is an RRC configuration.
Regarding claim 20, The network node of claim 18, wherein the first sub-band is the uplink sub-band,
the second sub-band is the downlink sub-band,
Abotabl [0094] For sub-band FD communication, as shown in FIG. 6C, the carrier bandwidth 602 (or active BWPs) may be divided into sub-bands 610a and 610b. For example, sub-band 610a may be allocated for downlink transmissions (second sub-band= sub-band 750c in Fig. 7B), while sub-band 610b (first sub-band= sub-band 750a in Fig. 7B) may be allocated for uplink transmissions.
and the at least one uni-directional symbol comprises at least one downlink symbol.
Abotabl [0094] ;For sub-band FD communication, as shown in FIG. 6C, the carrier bandwidth 602 (or active BWPs) may be divided into sub-bands 610a and 610b. Each sub-band 610a and 610b may be allocated for communication in a single direction. For example, sub-band 610a may be allocated for downlink transmissions,
Regarding claim 21, The network node of claim 18, wherein the first sub-band is the downlink sub-band, the second sub-band is the uplink sub-band,
Abotabl [0099]; Sub-bands 750a and 750b (first subband) are allocated for downlink transmissions, while sub-band 750c (second subband) is allocated for uplink transmissions.
and the at least one uni-directional symbol comprises at least one uplink symbol.
Abotabl [0094]; For sub-band FD communication, as shown in FIG. 6C, the carrier bandwidth 602 (or active BWPs) may be divided into sub-bands 610a (second subband) and 610b (first subband). Each sub-band 610a and 610b may be allocated for communication in a single direction. For example, sub-band 610a may be allocated for downlink transmissions, while sub-band 610b may be allocated for uplink transmissions.
Regarding claim 22, The network node of claim 18, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: determine a frequency configuration for the one or more guard bands to include portions of the carrier that are not included in the first sub-band and the second sub-band.
Abotabl [0101]; Guard bands 732 are further provided between the UL sub-band 750c (second subband) and the DL sub-bands 750a and 750b (first subaband) to mitigate self-interference between simultaneous DL transmissions in the DL sub-bands 750a and 750b and UL transmissions in the UL sub-band 750c.
Abotabl, [0094]; The downlink resources 606 may further be separated from the uplink resources 608 in the frequency domain by a guard band 612 to isolate the uplink and downlink transmissions in frequency.
Regarding claim 23, The network node of claim 18, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: determine the at least one SBFD frequency configuration for the second sub-band to include portions of the carrier that are not included in the first sub-band and the one or more guard bands.
Abotabl [0096]; The carrier bandwidth 714 (or active BWPs) may be divided (determine the at least one SBFD frequency configuration ) into a number of sub-bands 750a-750c (second sub-band) for sub-band FD operation.
Abotabl Fig. 6 [0101]; Guard bands 732 are further provided between the UL sub-band 750c and the DL sub-bands 750a and 750b to mitigate self-interference between simultaneous DL transmissions in the DL sub-bands 750a and 750b and UL transmissions in the UL sub-band 750c.
Regarding claim 29, A method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) ( Abotabl, Fig. 13, Ref. 1300), comprising: receiving information indicating a sub-band full-duplex (SBFD) frequency configuration for a first sub-band of a carrier,
Abotabl, Fig. 4B [0085]; In FIG. 4B, the full-duplex gNB 402 transmits a downlink transmission to the first full-duplex UE 412.
Abotabl, Fig. 7A[0095]; The multi-panel antenna configuration shown in FIG. 7A may also be applicable to UEs to enable full-duplex communication (e.g., SBFD) at the UE.
Abotabl [0096] FIG. 7B is a schematic illustration of an example of sub-band full-duplex wireless communication 710 using the multi-panel antenna array 700 shown in FIG. 7A according to some aspects. In the example shown in FIG. 7B, time is in the horizontal direction with units of slots 712a-712d, each including a plurality of OFDM symbols; and frequency is in the vertical direction (Frequency in vertical = The carrier bandwidth 714 = sub-band full-duplex (SBFD) frequency configuration) . Here, a carrier bandwidth 714 (or set of one or more active BWPs) is illustrated along the frequency axis. The carrier bandwidth 714 (or active BWPs) may be divided into a number of sub-bands 750a (750b= first subband)-750c for sub-band FD operation.
the information indicating that the first sub-band is an uplink sub-band or a downlink sub-band,
Abotabl [0096]; The carrier bandwidth 714 (or active BWPs)( carrier bandwidth = information) may be divided into a number of sub-bands 750a-750c for sub-band FD operation.
Abotabl [0099]; Sub-bands 750a and 750b (first subband) are allocated for downlink transmissions, while sub-band 750c is allocated for uplink transmissions.
the information indicating at least one SBFD frequency configuration for a second sub-band of the carrier,
Abotabl, Fig. 7b [0101]; In the uplink (UL) sub-band 750c (750c= second subband), the slots 712b and 712c each include an UL data portion 728 and 738, respectively, for transmitting UL data.
the information indicating one or more guard bands separating the first sub-band from the second sub-band,
Abotabl, Fig. 7b [0096]; The carrier bandwidth 714 (or active BWPs)( carrier bandwidth = information) may be divided into a number of sub-bands 750a-750c for sub-band FD operation.
Abotabl , Fig. 7b [0101]; Guard bands 732 are further provided between the UL sub-band 750c (second subband) and the DL sub-bands 750a and 750b (first subband) to mitigate self-interference between simultaneous DL transmissions in the DL sub-bands 750a and 750b and UL transmissions in the UL sub-band 750c.
and the frequency configuration being for at least one symbol that includes at least one uni-directional symbol;
Abotabl [0092] Here, a carrier bandwidth 602 (or set of one or more active bandwidth parts (BWPs)) is illustrated along the frequency axis and a slot 604 is illustrated along the time axis.
Abotabl [0094] For sub-band FD communication, as shown in FIG. 6C, the carrier bandwidth 602 (or active BWPs)= frequency configuration) may be divided into sub-bands 610a and 610b. Each sub-band 610a and 610b may be allocated for communication in a single direction (at least one uni- direction).
Abotabl [0104] In some aspects of the disclosure, one or more slots may be flexible slots including one or more flexible symbols that may be configured as either half-duplex symbols (e.g., all UL or all DL) or sub-band full-duplex symbols (e.g., including both UL and DL transmissions).
and communicating with another device using the SBFD frequency configuration.
Abotabl [0099]; In slots 712b and 712c, the antenna array 700 is configured for both DL communication and UL communication. For example, in slots 712b and 712c, the carrier bandwidth 714 (or active BWPs) is shown partitioned between uplink transmissions and downlink transmissions. Sub-bands 750a and 750b are allocated for downlink transmissions, while sub-band 750c is allocated for uplink transmissions.
Regarding claim 30, A method of wireless communication performed by a network node (Abotabl, Fig.
10, Ref. 1000), comprising:
Transmitting information indicating a sub-band full-duplex (SBFD) frequency configuration for a first sub-band of a carrier,
Abotabl, Fig. 4B [0085]; In FIG. 4B, the full-duplex gNB 402 transmits a downlink transmission to the first full-duplex UE 412.
Abotabl, Fig. 7A[0095]; FIG. 7A is a schematic diagram of a base station 702 (e.g., gNB) including a multi-panel antenna array 700 configured for full-duplex communication according to some aspects of the disclosure.
Abotabl [0096] FIG. 7B is a schematic illustration of an example of sub-band full-duplex wireless communication 710 using the multi-panel antenna array 700 shown in FIG. 7A according to some aspects. In the example shown in FIG. 7B, time is in the horizontal direction with units of slots 712a-712d, each including a plurality of OFDM symbols; and frequency is in the vertical direction (Frequency in vertical = The carrier bandwidth 714 = sub-band full-duplex (SBFD) frequency configuration) . Here, a carrier bandwidth 714 (or set of one or more active BWPs) is illustrated along the frequency axis. The carrier bandwidth 714 (or active BWPs) may be divided into a number of sub-bands 750a (750b= first subband)-750c for sub-band FD operation.
the information indicating that the first sub-band is an uplink sub-band or a downlink sub-band,
Abotabl [0096]; The carrier bandwidth 714 (or active BWPs)( carrier bandwidth = information) may be divided into a number of sub-bands 750a-750c for sub-band FD operation.
Abotabl [0099]; Sub-bands 750a and 750b (first subband) are allocated for downlink transmissions, while sub-band 750c is allocated for uplink transmissions.
the information indicating at least one SBFD frequency configuration for a second sub-band of the carrier,
Abotabl, Fig. 7b [0101]; In the uplink (UL) sub-band 750c (750c= second subband), the slots 712b and 712c each include an UL data portion 728 and 738, respectively, for transmitting UL data.
the information indicating one or more guard bands separating the first sub-band from the second sub-band,
Abotabl, Fig. 7b [0096]; The carrier bandwidth 714 (or active BWPs)( carrier bandwidth = information) may be divided into a number of sub-bands 750a-750c for sub-band FD operation.
Abotabl , Fig. 7b [0101]; Guard bands 732 are further provided between the UL sub-band 750c (second subband) and the DL sub-bands 750a and 750b (first subband) to mitigate self-interference between simultaneous DL transmissions in the DL sub-bands 750a and 750b and UL transmissions in the UL sub-band 750c.
and the frequency configuration being for at least one symbol that includes at least one uni-directional symbol;
Abotabl [0092] Here, a carrier bandwidth 602 (or set of one or more active bandwidth parts (BWPs)) is illustrated along the frequency axis and a slot 604 is illustrated along the time axis.
Abotabl [0094] For sub-band FD communication, as shown in FIG. 6C, the carrier bandwidth 602 (or active BWPs)= frequency configuration) may be divided into sub-bands 610a and 610b. Each sub-band 610a and 610b may be allocated for communication in a single direction (at least one uni- direction).
Abotabl [0104] In some aspects of the disclosure, one or more slots may be flexible slots including one or more flexible symbols that may be configured as either half-duplex symbols (e.g., all UL or all DL) or sub-band full-duplex symbols (e.g., including both UL and DL transmissions).
and communicating with another device using the SBFD frequency configuration.
Abotabl [0099]; In slots 712b and 712c, the antenna array 700 is configured for both DL communication and UL communication. For example, in slots 712b and 712c, the carrier bandwidth 714 (or active BWPs) is shown partitioned between uplink transmissions and downlink transmissions. Sub-bands 750a and 750b are allocated for downlink transmissions, while sub-band 750c is allocated for uplink transmissions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7- 16, and 25-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abotabl in view of
MODERATOR (CA TT): "Summary #1 of Subband Non-overlapping Full Duplex", 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #11
Obis-e, R1-2210314, 3rd Generation Partnership Project, Mobile Competence Centre, 650, Route Des
Lucioles, F-06921,Sophia-Antipolis Cedex, France, Vol. RAN WG1, No. e-Meeting, 20221010 – 20221019
, 12 October 2022, 99 Pages, XP052259782, page 4, paragraph 2.1.2, figures 2-5 to 2-10, Proposal 1-6,
page 26 Proposal 1-7, page 29 Proposal 1-8, page 31, hereafter” CATT.”
Regarding claim 7, The UE of claim 1, wherein the information indicating the at least one SBFD frequency configuration for the second sub-band.
Abotabl [0096]; The carrier bandwidth 714 (or active BWPs) may be divided into a number of sub-bands 750a (750b= first subband)-750c for sub-band FD operation.
Abotabl, Fig. 7b [0101]; In the uplink (UL) sub-band 750c (750c= second subband), the slots 712b and 712c each include an UL data portion 728 and 738, respectively, for transmitting UL data.
Abotabl does not teach subband identifies a starting resource block and a length in resource blocks.
CATT teaches Subband identifies a starting resource block and a length in resource blocks.
CATT, Page 65, Discussion on subband non-overlapping full duplex, Proposal 2.; Regarding the informing method of frequency locations of sub bands for SBFD operation, the starting PRB and length of continuous PRB number is enough.
In view of CATT, Abotabl is modified such that the subband identifies a starting resource block and a
length in resource blocks.
Abotabl and CATT are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, the SBFD communication system.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Abotabl in a manner described above to make a subband with a starting resource block
and a length in resource blocks to demonstrate the frequency location of subband (CATT, Page 65).
Regarding claim 8, The UE of claim 1, wherein the information indicating the SBFD frequency configuration for the first sub-band.
Abotabl [0096]; The carrier bandwidth 714 (or active BWPs) may be divided into a number of sub-bands 750a (750b= first subband)-750c for sub-band FD operation.
Abotabl [0099]; Sub-bands 750a and 750b (first subband) are allocated for downlink transmissions, while sub-band 750c is allocated for uplink transmissions.
Abotabl does not teach subband includes a starting resource block, a length in resource blocks, and a resource block offset.
CATT teaches includes a starting resource block, a length in resource blocks, and a resource block offset.
Page 8, Fig. 2-10 [0004]; Furthermore, the reference of the starting RB was discussed in [ 12] and it is
proposed that frequency location of UL subband is with reference to a common RB, e.g. CRB O or RB
indicated by offsetToCarrier, if supported in SIB.
In view of CATT, Abotabl is modified such that the subband includes a starting resource block, a length in resource blocks, and a resource block offset.
Abotabl and CATT are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, the SBFD communication system.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Abotabl in a manner described above to make a subband with a starting resource block
and a length in resource blocks with a resource block offset to demonstrate the frequency location of
subband (CATT, Page 65).
Regarding claim 9, Abotabl teaches The UE of claim 9, wherein the one or more processors (Abotabl, Fig. 13, Ref. 1304) are further configure.
Abotabl does not teach determine the resource block offset with reference to one of: a first resource block of the carrier, or a preconfigured reference point.
CATT teaches determine the resource block offset with reference to one of: a first resource block of the carrier, or a preconfigured reference point.
CATT, Page 8, Fig. 2-10 [0004]; Furthermore, the reference of the starting RB was discussed in [ 12]
and it is proposed that frequency location of UL subband is with reference to a common RB, e.g. CRB
O or RB indicated by offsetToCarrier, if supported in SIB.
In view of CATT, Abotabl is modified such that the subband includes resource block offset with reference to one of: a first resource block of the carrier, or a preconfigured reference point.
Abotabl and CATT are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, the SBFD communication system.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Abotabl in a manner described above to make a subband with resource block offset with
reference to one of: a first resource block of the carrier, or a preconfigured reference point to
demonstrate the frequency location of subband (CATT, Page 65).
Regarding claim 10, The UE of claim 1, wherein the information indicating the SBFD frequency configuration for the first sub-band.
Abotabl [0096]; The carrier bandwidth 714 (or active BWPs) may be divided into a number of sub-bands 750a (750b= first subband)-750c for sub-band FD operation.
Abotabl [0099]; Sub-bands 750a and 750b (first subband) are allocated for downlink transmissions, while sub-band 750c is allocated for uplink transmissions.
Abotabl does not teach a first timing configuration.
CATT teaches a first timing configuration.
CATT, Page 6, Figure 2-6: Time domain window for full duplex. Fig. 2-6 shows two time domain window. The time domain window on the left is the first timing configuration for the first subaband.
Fig. 2-6; Vivo [10] discussed a method that gNB can configure the periodicity and duration of the configured one or more subbands for potential UL transmission.
In view of CATT, Abotabl is modified such that the subband includes a first timing configuration.
Abotabl and CATT are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, the SBFD communication system.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Abotabl in a manner described above to correspond the first timing configuration to the
first subband to indicate the time domain location of the first subband.
Regarding claim 11, The UE of claim 10, wherein the information indicating the SBFD frequency configuration includes for the second sub-band.
Abotabl [0096]; The carrier bandwidth 714 (or active BWPs) may be divided into a number of sub-bands 750a (750b= first subband)-750c for sub-band FD operation.
Abotabl, Fig. 7b [0101]; In the uplink (UL) sub-band 750c (750c= second subband), the slots 712b and 712c each include an UL data portion 728 and 738, respectively, for transmitting UL data.
Abotabl does not teach a second timing configuration.
CATT teaches a second timing configuration.
CATT, Page 6, [0004]; Vivo [10] discussed a method that gNB can configure the periodicity and duration of the configured one or more subbands for potential UL transmission.
CATT, Page 6, Figure 2-6: Time domain window for full duplex. Fig. 2-6 shows two time domain window. The time domain window on the left is the first timing configuration for the first subband and the time domain on the right is the second timing configuration for the second subband.
In view of CATT, Abotabl is modified such that the subband includes a second timing configuration.
Abotabl and CATT are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, the SBFD communication system.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Abotabl in a manner described above to correspond the second timing configuration to the
second subband to indicate the time domain location of the second subband.
Regarding claim 12, Abotabl in view of CATT teaches the limitation of the UE of claim 10. CATT further teaches wherein the first timing configuration comprises information indicating a time offset, a length of time, and a periodicity.
CATT, Page 6, Fig. 2-6, ZTE [7] discussed a method to explicitly configure a period, offset and length for a time domain window for SBFD operation as shown below.
In view of CATT, Abotabl is modified such that the subband includes a first timing configuration.
Abotabl and CATT are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, the SBFD communication system.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Abotabl in a manner described above to correspond the first timing configuration to the
first subband to indicate the time domain location of the first subband.
Regarding claim 13, Abotabl in view of CATT teaches the limitation of the UE of claim 10. CATT further, wherein a periodicity of the first timing configuration is based at least in part on a time domain duplexing pattern periodicity.
CATT, Page 6, Figure 2-6: Time domain window for full duplex. Fig. 2-6 shows two time domain window. The time domain window on the left is the first timing configuration for the first subaband.
CATT [12] thinks the SBFD symbols within a periodicity are explicitly indicated and the periodicity can be explicitly configured or implicitly determined based on the periodicity of SSB or TDD UL-DL configuration.
In view of CATT, Abotabl is modified such that the subband includes a first timing configuration based at least in part on a time domain duplexing pattern periodicity.
Abotabl and CATT are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, the SBFD communication system.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Abotabl in a manner described above to correspond the first timing configuration to the
first subband to indicate the time domain location of the first subband.
Regarding claim 14, The UE of claim 10, wherein the first timing configuration indicate one or more SBFD symbol patterns.
CATT, Page 6, Figure 2-6: Time domain window for full duplex. Fig. 2-6 shows two time domain window. The time domain window on the left is the first timing configuration for the first subaband.
CATT, Page 6, [0006]; CATT [12] thinks the SBFD symbols within a periodicity are explicitly indicated and the periodicity can be explicitly configured or implicitly determined based on the periodicity of SSB or TDD UL-DL configuration.
CATT, Page 6, [0002]; For the implicit approach, examples could be that semi-static DL/flexible
symbols within a period determined by periodicity of the configured TDD pattern, e.g. DDDSU, are
configured as SBFD symbols as discussed in [10], or symbols configured as 'D' in TDD-UL-DL-
ConfigCommon are SBFD symbols as discussed in [18].
In view of CATT, Abotabl is modified such that the subband includes a first timing configuration based at least in part on a time domain duplexing pattern periodicity.
Abotabl and CATT are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, the SBFD communication system.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Abotabl in a manner described above to correspond the first timing configuration to the
first subband to indicate the time domain location of the first subband.
Regarding claim 15, Abotabl teaches all limitation of The UE of claim 14. CATT further teaches wherein the first timing configuration indicates multiple SBFD symbol patterns based at least in part on multiple time domain duplexing patterns being indicated.
CATT, Page 6, Figure 2-6: Time domain window for full duplex. Fig. 2-6 shows two time domain window. The time domain window on the left is the first timing configuration for the first subaband.
CATT, Page 6, [0006]; CATT [12] thinks the SBFD symbols within a periodicity are explicitly indicated and the periodicity can be explicitly configured or implicitly determined based on the periodicity of SSB or TDD UL-DL configuration.
CATT, page 28, Samsung [0003]; It makes sense to us that the SBFD subband configuration in time-domain will need to be signaled with respect to a "period", e.g., compatible with the TDD UL-DL patterns 1 and 2 (multiple patterns) or some recurring symbol pattern, due to the presence of legacy UEs.
In view of CATT, Abotabl is modified such that the subband includes a first timing configuration based at least in part on a time domain duplexing pattern periodicity.
Abotabl and CATT are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, the SBFD communication system.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Abotabl in a manner described above to correspond the first timing configuration to the
first subband to indicate the time domain location of the first subband.
Regarding claim 16, Abotabl teaches all limitation of The UE of claim 10. CATT further teaches wherein the first timing configuration indicates first SBFD symbols associated with the first sub-band in at least one downlink symbol,
CATT, page 6, Fig. 2-6; Vivo [10] discussed a method that gNB can configure the periodicity and duration of the configured one or more subbands for potential UL transmission.
CATT, page 6, OPPO [ 11],[0005]; proposed that UL subband can be explicitly configured in DL symbol and flexible symbol.
and a second timing configuration indicates second SBFD symbols associated with the second sub-band in at least uplink symbol.
CATT, page 6, Fig. 2-6; Vivo [10] discussed a method that gNB can configure the periodicity and duration of the configured one or more subbands for potential UL transmission.
CATT, page 6, OPPO [ 11],[0005]; proposed that UL subband can be explicitly configured in DL symbol and flexible symbol (UL symbol).
CATT, page 6,Figure 2-6: Time domain window for full duplex, with two sets of time domain including one time domain in left and one time domain on right. The time window domain on the right shows the second timing configuration with the second subband in at least uplink symbol (UL).
Regarding claim 24, The network node of claim 18, wherein the information indicating the at least one SBFD frequency configuration for the second sub-band.
Abotabl [0096]; The carrier bandwidth 714 (or active BWPs) may be divided into a number of sub-bands 750a (750b= first subband)-750c for sub-band FD operation.
Abotabl, Fig. 7b [0101]; In the uplink (UL) sub-band 750c (750c= second subband), the slots 712b and 712c each include an UL data portion 728 and 738, respectively, for transmitting UL data.
Abotabl does not teach subband identifies a starting resource block and a length in resource blocks.
CATT teaches Subband identifies a starting resource block and a length in resource blocks.
CATT, Page 65, Discussion on subband non-overlapping full duplex, Proposal 2.; Regarding the informing method of frequency locations of sub bands for SBFD operation, the starting PRB and length of continuous PRB number is enough.
In view of CATT, Abotabl is modified such that the subband identifies a starting resource block and a
length in resource blocks.
Abotabl and CATT are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, the SBFD communication system.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Abotabl in a manner described above to make a subband with a starting resource block
and a length in resource blocks to demonstrate the frequency location of subband (CATT, Page 65).
Regarding claim 25, The network node of claim 18, wherein the information indicating the SBFD frequency configuration for the first sub-band.
Abotabl [0096]; The carrier bandwidth 714 (or active BWPs) may be divided into a number of sub-bands 750a (750b= first subband)-750c for sub-band FD operation.
Abotabl [0099]; Sub-bands 750a and 750b (first subband) are allocated for downlink transmissions, while sub-band 750c is allocated for uplink transmissions.
Abotabl does not teach subband includes a starting resource block, a length in resource blocks, and a resource block offset.
CATT teaches includes a starting resource block, a length in resource blocks, and a resource block offset.
Page 8, Fig. 2-10 [0004]; Furthermore, the reference of the starting RB was discussed in [ 12] and it is
proposed that frequency location of UL subband is with reference to a common RB, e.g. CRB O or RB
indicated by offsetToCarrier, if supported in SIB.
In view of CATT, Abotabl is modified such that the subband includes a starting resource block, a length in resource blocks, and a resource block offset.
Abotabl and CATT are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, the SBFD communication system.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Abotabl in a manner described above to make a subband with a starting resource block
and a length in resource blocks with a resource block offset to demonstrate the frequency location of
subband (CATT, Page 65).
Regarding claim 26, The network node of claim 25, wherein the one or more processors (Abotabl, Fig. 10, Ref. 1041) are further configure.
Abotabl does not teach determine the resource block offset with reference to one of: a first resource block of the carrier, or a preconfigured reference point.
CATT teaches determine the resource block offset with reference to one of: a first resource block of the carrier, or a preconfigured reference point.
CATT, Page 8, Fig. 2-10 [0004]; Furthermore, the reference of the starting RB was discussed in [ 12]
and it is proposed that frequency location of UL subband is with reference to a common RB, e.g. CRB
O or RB indicated by offsetToCarrier, if supported in SIB.
In view of CATT, Abotabl is modified such that the subband includes resource block offset with reference to one of: a first resource block of the carrier, or a preconfigured reference point.
Abotabl and CATT are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, the SBFD communication system.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Abotabl in a manner described above to make a subband with resource block offset with
reference to one of: a first resource block of the carrier, or a preconfigured reference point to
demonstrate the frequency location of subband (CATT, Page 65).
Regarding claim 27, Abotabl in view of CATT teaches the limitation of the network node of claim 25. CATT further teaches wherein the first timing configuration comprises information indicating a time offset, a length of time, and a periodicity.
CATT, Page 6, Fig. 2-6, ZTE [7] discussed a method to explicitly configure a period, offset and length for a time domain window for SBFD operation as shown below.
In view of CATT, Abotabl is modified such that the subband includes a first timing configuration.
Abotabl and CATT are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, the SBFD communication system.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Abotabl in a manner described above to correspond the first timing configuration to the
first subband to indicate the time domain location of the first subband.
Regarding claim 28, The network node of claim 18, wherein the information indicating the SBFD frequency configuration for the first sub-band.
Abotabl [0096]; The carrier bandwidth 714 (or active BWPs) may be divided into a number of sub-bands 750a (750b= first subband)-750c for sub-band FD operation.
Abotabl [0099]; Sub-bands 750a and 750b (first subband) are allocated for downlink transmissions, while sub-band 750c is allocated for uplink transmissions.
the second sub-band.
Abotabl [0096]; The carrier bandwidth 714 (or active BWPs) may be divided into a number of sub-bands 750a (750b= first subband)-750c for sub-band FD operation.
Abotabl, Fig. 7b [0101]; In the uplink (UL) sub-band 750c (750c= second subband), the slots 712b and 712c each include an UL data portion 728 and 738, respectively, for transmitting UL data.
Abotabl does not teach a first timing configuration and the second timing configuration.
CATT teaches a first timing configuration and the second timing configuration.
CATT, page 6, Vivo [10] discussed a method that gNB can configure the periodicity and duration of the configured one or more subbands for potential UL transmission.
CATT, Page 6, Figure 2-6: Time domain window for full duplex. Fig. 2-6 shows two time domain window. The time domain window on the left is the first timing configuration for the first subband and the time domain on the right is the second timing configuration for the second subband.
CATT, Page 6, [0004], Fig. 2-6; Vivo [10] discussed a method that gNB can configure the periodicity and duration of the configured one or more subbands for potential UL transmission.
In view of CATT, Abotabl is modified such that the subband includes a first timing configuration.
Abotabl and CATT are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, the SBFD communication system.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Abotabl in a manner described above to correspond the first timing configuration to the
first subband to indicate the time domain location of the first subband.
Claims 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abotabl in view of CATT in further view of Wang et al. ( US 20250220647 A1) (thereafter “Wang”).
Regarding claim 17, Abotabl in view of CATT teaches the limitation of the UE of claim 10. CATT teaches wherein the first timing configuration is based at least in part on a time domain duplexing pattern.
CATT, Page 6, Figure 2-6: Time domain window for full duplex. Fig. 2-6 shows two time domain window. The time domain window on the left is the first timing configuration for the first subaband.
CATT [12] thinks the SBFD symbols within a periodicity are explicitly indicated and the periodicity can be explicitly configured or implicitly determined based on the periodicity of SSB or TDD UL-DL configuration.
CATT does not teach a subcarrier spacing associated with timing.
Wang teaches a subcarrier spacing associated with timing.
Wang [0100]; In some embodiments, the semi-static signaling is system information or a cell common signaling, a subcarrier space (subcarrier space, SCS) used by the SBFD pattern is equal to or greater than a first SCS, and the first SCS is an SCS configured by a time division duplex uplink downlink common configuration signaling TDD-UL-DL-ConfigCommon.
In view of Wang, CATT is modified such that the subcarrier spacing associated with timing configuration.
CATT and Wang are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, the SBFD communication system.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Abotabl in a manner described above to associate the first timing configuration to the
subcarrier spacing associated with timing to demonstrate the SBFD pattern (Wang [0099]).
Conclusion
should be directed to Maryam Emadi whose email is Maryam.emadi1@uspto.gov with
telephone number of 703-756-1834.
Joseph Avellino can be reached on 571-272-3905.
Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained
from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available
through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pairdirect.uspto.gov.
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/M.E./Examiner, Art Unit 2478 /JAY L VOGEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478