Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments: On page 13 of Remarks, Applicant argues Abotabl does not teach amended claim 1 as recited “A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to: receive information indicating a sub-band full-duplex (SBFD) frequency configuration for an uplink sub-band of a carrier and for at least one downlink sub- band of the carrier, wherein the information includes a resource indicator value (RIV) that specifies a starting resource block and a length in resource blocks for the uplink sub-band, wherein one or more guard bands separate the]uplink sub-band from the
Examiner’s response: Applicant’s argument with respect to claim(s) 1 has been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in prior art rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the arguments. An updated search was conducted and a new reference was found as shown in the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 18-20, 22, and 29-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable over Abotabl et al. (US 2021/0400637 A1) (hereafter “Abotabl”) in view of Huang et al. (US 2021/0377938 A1)(“Huang”).
Regarding claim 1, A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication ( Abotabl, Fig. 13, Ref. 1300), comprising: one or more memories (Abotabl, Fig. 13, Ref. 1308) ; and one or more processors (Abotabl, Fig. 13, Ref. 1304) , coupled to the one or more memories, configured to:
receive information indicating a sub-band full-duplex (SBFD) frequency configuration for an uplink sub-band of a carrier and for at least one downlink sub-band of the carrier,
Abotabl, Fig. 4B [0085]; In FIG. 4B, the full-duplex gNB 402 transmits a downlink transmission to the first full-duplex UE 412.
Abotabl, Fig. 7A[0095]; The multi-panel antenna configuration shown in FIG. 7A may also be applicable to UEs to enable full-duplex communication (e.g., SBFD) at the UE.
Abotabl [0096] FIG. 7B is a schematic illustration of an example of sub-band full-duplex wireless communication 710 using the multi-panel antenna array 700 shown in FIG. 7A according to some aspects. In the example shown in FIG. 7B, time is in the horizontal direction with units of slots 712a-712d, each including a plurality of OFDM symbols; and frequency is in the vertical direction (Frequency in vertical = The carrier bandwidth 714 = sub-band full-duplex (SBFD) frequency configuration) . Here, a carrier bandwidth 714 (or set of one or more active BWPs) is illustrated along the frequency axis. The carrier bandwidth 714 (or active BWPs) may be divided into a number of sub-bands 750a-750c (750 = uplink subband) for sub-band FD operation.
Abotabl [0096]; The carrier bandwidth 714 (or active BWPs)( carrier bandwidth = information) may be divided into a number of sub-bands 750a-750c for sub-band FD operation.
Abotabl [0099]; Sub-bands 750a and 750b are allocated for downlink transmissions (750a and 750b = at least one downlink subband), while sub-band 750c is allocated for uplink transmissions.
Wherein one or more guard bands separate the uplink sub-band from the at least one downlink second sub-band,
Abotabl , Fig. 7b [0101]; Guard bands 732 are further provided between the UL sub-band 750c and the DL sub-bands 750a and 750b to mitigate self-interference between simultaneous DL transmissions in the DL sub-bands 750a and 750b and UL transmissions in the UL sub-band 750c.
and the SBFD frequency configuration is for at least one symbol that includes at least one uni-directional symbol;
Abotabl [0092] Here, a carrier bandwidth 602 (or set of one or more active bandwidth parts (BWPs)) is illustrated along the frequency axis and a slot 604 is illustrated along the time axis.
Abotabl [0094] For sub-band FD communication, as shown in FIG. 6C, the carrier bandwidth 602 (or active BWPs)= SBFD frequency configuration) may be divided into sub-bands 610a and 610b. Each sub-band 610a and 610b may be allocated for communication in a single direction (at least one uni- direction).
Abotabl [0104] In some aspects of the disclosure, one or more slots may be flexible slots including one or more flexible symbols that may be configured as either half-duplex symbols (e.g., all UL or all DL) or sub-band full-duplex symbols (e.g., including both UL and DL transmissions).
and communicate with another device using the SBFD frequency configuration.
Abotabl [0099]; In slots 712b and 712c, the antenna array 700 is configured for both DL communication and UL communication. For example, in slots 712b and 712c, the carrier bandwidth 714 (or active BWPs) is shown partitioned between uplink transmissions and downlink transmissions. Sub-bands 750a and 750b are allocated for downlink transmissions, while sub-band 750c is allocated for uplink transmissions.
Abotabl does not teach wherein the information includes a resource indicator value (RIV) that specifies a starting resource block and a length in resource blocks for the uplink sub-band.
Huang teaches wherein the information includes a resource indicator value (RIV) that specifies a starting resource block and a length in resource blocks for the uplink sub-band,
Huang [0171] Example 5: The apparatus, method, device, system, equipment, and/or article of manufacture for wireless communication of Example 1, further including receiving a resource indicator value (RIV) included in the resource allocation for the slot. In this example, communicating over the set of usable resources includes using, as the set of usable resources, a starting RB indicated by the RIV and a contiguous length of RBs indicated by the RIV. In this example, the resource allocation spans the contiguous length of RBs beginning at the starting RB.
Huang [0151]; For example, a given RB.sub.start having a value of 0 may correspond to the first RB (e.g., highest frequency RB) of the identified subband that corresponds to the RIV associated with that RB.sub.start value, a given RB.sub.start value of 1 may correspond to the second RB (e.g., second highest frequency RB) of the identified subband that corresponds to the RIV associated with that RB.sub.start value, and so on. The corresponding identified subband may correspond directly to a downlink or uplink subband defined in the slot format. Alternatively, the corresponding identified subband may correspond to a portion of a downlink or uplink subband defined in the slot format.
In view of Huang, Abotabl is modified such that the information includes a resource indicator value (RIV) that specifies a starting resource block and a length in resource blocks for the uplink sub-band.
Huang and Abotabl are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, a wireless communication system utilizing SBFD scheme.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Abotabl in the manner described above to allow the (RIV) that specifies a starting resource block and a length in resource blocks for the uplink sub-band to yield communication devices having improved communication features, efficient communications, and improved scheduling techniques for wireless transmission (e.g., uplink and downlink communications) (Huang [0034]).
Regarding claim 2, The UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to receive the information, are configured to: receive the information via one or more information elements included in radio resource control cell common configuration communication from a network node.
Abotabl, Fig. 8 [0181]; According to some aspects, for FD-aware and FD scheduled entities, a DU slot identified in a DCI Format 2_0 message may have some FDD-like behavior. For example, the patterns of slot formats (e.g., the patterns of three slot formats for a given SlotFormatCombinationID 802 of FIG. 8) may repeat. In another example, the DU slot interpretation after receiving the DCI 2_0 may override a common or dedicated slot pattern configuration. That is, the SFI may override the common or dedicated slot pattern configuration, which is an RRC configuration.
Regarding claim 3, The UE of claim 1, the at least one uni-directional symbol comprises at least one downlink symbol.
Abotabl [0094] ;For sub-band FD communication, as shown in FIG. 6C, the carrier bandwidth 602 (or active BWPs) may be divided into sub-bands 610a and 610b. Each sub-band 610a and 610b may be allocated for communication in a single direction. For example, sub-band 610a may be allocated for downlink transmissions,
Regarding claim 5, The UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: determine a frequency configuration for the one or more guard bands to include portions of the carrier that are not included in the uplink sub-band and at least one downlink sub-band.
Abotabl [0101]; Guard bands 732 are further provided between the UL sub-band 750c and the DL sub-bands 750a and 750b to mitigate self-interference between simultaneous DL transmissions in the DL sub-bands 750a and 750b and UL transmissions in the UL sub-band 750c.
Abotabl, [0094]; The downlink resources 606 may further be separated from the uplink resources 608 in the frequency domain by a guard band 612 to isolate the uplink and downlink transmissions in frequency.
Regarding claim 18, A network node (Abotabl, Fig. 10, Ref. 1000) for wireless communication,
comprising: one or more memories (Abotabl, Fig. 10, Ref. 1008) ; and one or more processors (Abotabl
,Fig. 10, 1041) , coupled to the one or more memories, configured to:
Transmit information indicating a sub-band full-duplex (SBFD) frequency configuration for an uplink sub-band of a carrier and at least one downlink sub-band of the carrier,
Abotabl, Fig. 4B [0085]; In FIG. 4B, the full-duplex gNB 402 transmits a downlink transmission to the first full-duplex UE 412.
Abotabl, Fig. 7A[0095]; FIG. 7A is a schematic diagram of a base station 702 (e.g., gNB) including a multi-panel antenna array 700 configured for full-duplex communication according to some aspects of the disclosure.
Abotabl [0096] FIG. 7B is a schematic illustration of an example of sub-band full-duplex wireless communication 710 using the multi-panel antenna array 700 shown in FIG. 7A according to some aspects. In the example shown in FIG. 7B, time is in the horizontal direction with units of slots 712a-712d, each including a plurality of OFDM symbols; and frequency is in the vertical direction (Frequency in vertical = The carrier bandwidth 714 = sub-band full-duplex (SBFD) frequency configuration) . Here, a carrier bandwidth 714 (or set of one or more active BWPs) is illustrated along the frequency axis. The carrier bandwidth 714 (or active BWPs) may be divided into a number of sub-bands 750a-750c (750 = uplink subband) for sub-band FD operation.
Abotabl [0096]; The carrier bandwidth 714 (or active BWPs)( carrier bandwidth = information) may be divided into a number of sub-bands 750a-750c for sub-band FD operation.
Abotabl [0099]; Sub-bands 750a and 750b are allocated for downlink transmissions (750a and 750b = at least one downlink subband), while sub-band 750c is allocated for uplink transmissions.
Wherein one or more guard bands separate the uplink sub-band from the at least one downlink second sub-band,
Abotabl , Fig. 7b [0101]; Guard bands 732 are further provided between the UL sub-band 750c and the DL sub-bands 750a and 750b to mitigate self-interference between simultaneous DL transmissions in the DL sub-bands 750a and 750b and UL transmissions in the UL sub-band 750c.
wherein the SBFD frequency configuration is for at least one symbol that includes at least one uni-directional symbol;
Abotabl [0092] Here, a carrier bandwidth 602 (or set of one or more active bandwidth parts (BWPs)) is illustrated along the frequency axis and a slot 604 is illustrated along the time axis.
Abotabl [0094] For sub-band FD communication, as shown in FIG. 6C, the carrier bandwidth 602 (or active BWPs)= SBFD frequency configuration) may be divided into sub-bands 610a and 610b. Each sub-band 610a and 610b may be allocated for communication in a single direction (at least one uni- direction).
Abotabl [0104] In some aspects of the disclosure, one or more slots may be flexible slots including one or more flexible symbols that may be configured as either half-duplex symbols (e.g., all UL or all DL) or sub-band full-duplex symbols (e.g., including both UL and DL transmissions).
and communicate with another device using the SBFD frequency configuration.
Abotabl [0099]; In slots 712b and 712c, the antenna array 700 is configured for both DL communication and UL communication. For example, in slots 712b and 712c, the carrier bandwidth 714 (or active BWPs) is shown partitioned between uplink transmissions and downlink transmissions. Sub-bands 750a and 750b are allocated for downlink transmissions, while sub-band 750c is allocated for uplink transmissions.
Abotabl does not teach wherein the information includes a resource indicator value (RIV) that specifies a starting resource block and a length in resource blocks for the uplink sub-band.
Huang teaches wherein the information includes a resource indicator value (RIV) that specifies a starting resource block and a length in resource blocks for the uplink sub-band,
Huang [0171] Example 5: The apparatus, method, device, system, equipment, and/or article of manufacture for wireless communication of Example 1, further including receiving a resource indicator value (RIV) included in the resource allocation for the slot. In this example, communicating over the set of usable resources includes using, as the set of usable resources, a starting RB indicated by the RIV and a contiguous length of RBs indicated by the RIV. In this example, the resource allocation spans the contiguous length of RBs beginning at the starting RB.
Huang [0151]; For example, a given RB.sub.start having a value of 0 may correspond to the first RB (e.g., highest frequency RB) of the identified subband that corresponds to the RIV associated with that RB.sub.start value, a given RB.sub.start value of 1 may correspond to the second RB (e.g., second highest frequency RB) of the identified subband that corresponds to the RIV associated with that RB.sub.start value, and so on. The corresponding identified subband may correspond directly to a downlink or uplink subband defined in the slot format. Alternatively, the corresponding identified subband may correspond to a portion of a downlink or uplink subband defined in the slot format.
In view of Huang, Abotabl is modified such that the information includes a resource indicator value (RIV) that specifies a starting resource block and a length in resource blocks for the uplink sub-band.
Huang and Abotabl are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, a wireless communication system utilizing SBFD scheme.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Abotabl in the manner described above to allow the (RIV) that specifies a starting resource block and a length in resource blocks for the uplink sub-band to yield communication devices having improved communication features, efficient communications, and improved scheduling techniques for wireless transmission (e.g., uplink and downlink communications) (Huang [0034]).
Regarding claim 19, The network node of claim 18, wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the
information, are configured to: transmit the information via one or more information elements included
in radio resource control cell common configuration communication.
Abotabl, Fig. 8 [0181]; According to some aspects, for FD-aware and FD scheduled entities, a DU slot identified in a DCI Format 2_0 message may have some FDD-like behavior. For example, the patterns of slot formats (e.g., the patterns of three slot formats for a given SlotFormatCombinationID 802 of FIG. 8) may repeat. In another example, the DU slot interpretation after receiving the DCI 2_0 may override a common or dedicated slot pattern configuration. That is, the SFI may override the common or dedicated slot pattern configuration, which is an RRC configuration.
Regarding claim 20, The network node of claim 18, wherein at least one uni-directional symbol comprises at least one downlink symbol.
Abotabl [0094] ;For sub-band FD communication, as shown in FIG. 6C, the carrier bandwidth 602 (or active BWPs) may be divided into sub-bands 610a and 610b. Each sub-band 610a and 610b may be allocated for communication in a single direction. For example, sub-band 610a may be allocated for downlink transmissions,
Regarding claim 22, The network node of claim 18, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: determine a frequency configuration for the one or more guard bands to include portions of the carrier that are not included in the uplink sub-band and at least one downlink sub-band.
Abotabl [0101]; Guard bands 732 are further provided between the UL sub-band 750c and the DL sub-bands 750a and 750b to mitigate self-interference between simultaneous DL transmissions in the DL sub-bands 750a and 750b and UL transmissions in the UL sub-band 750c.
Abotabl, [0094]; The downlink resources 606 may further be separated from the uplink resources 608 in the frequency domain by a guard band 612 to isolate the uplink and downlink transmissions in frequency.
Regarding claim 29, A method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) ( Abotabl, Fig. 13, Ref. 1300), comprising: receiving information indicating a sub-band full-duplex (SBFD) frequency configuration for a first sub-band of a carrier,
Abotabl, Fig. 4B [0085]; In FIG. 4B, the full-duplex gNB 402 transmits a downlink transmission to the first full-duplex UE 412.
Abotabl, Fig. 7A[0095]; The multi-panel antenna configuration shown in FIG. 7A may also be applicable to UEs to enable full-duplex communication (e.g., SBFD) at the UE.
Abotabl [0096] FIG. 7B is a schematic illustration of an example of sub-band full-duplex wireless communication 710 using the multi-panel antenna array 700 shown in FIG. 7A according to some aspects. In the example shown in FIG. 7B, time is in the horizontal direction with units of slots 712a-712d, each including a plurality of OFDM symbols; and frequency is in the vertical direction (Frequency in vertical = The carrier bandwidth 714 = sub-band full-duplex (SBFD) frequency configuration) . Here, a carrier bandwidth 714 (or set of one or more active BWPs) is illustrated along the frequency axis. The carrier bandwidth 714 (or active BWPs) may be divided into a number of sub-bands 750a-750c (750 = uplink subband) for sub-band FD operation.
Abotabl [0096]; The carrier bandwidth 714 (or active BWPs)( carrier bandwidth = information) may be divided into a number of sub-bands 750a-750c for sub-band FD operation.
Abotabl [0099]; Sub-bands 750a and 750b are allocated for downlink transmissions (750a and 750b = at least one downlink subband), while sub-band 750c is allocated for uplink transmissions.
Wherein the information identifies a frequency allocation of one or more guard bands separating the uplink sub-band from the at least one downlink second sub-band,
Abotabl , Fig. 7b [0101]; Guard bands 732 are further provided between the UL sub-band 750c and the DL sub-bands 750a and 750b to mitigate self-interference between simultaneous DL transmissions in the DL sub-bands 750a and 750b and UL transmissions in the UL sub-band 750c.
[0091]; A first guard band 550 and a second guard band 552 are depicted in FIG. 5D. The first guard band 550 and the second guard band 552 may be the same bandwidth or different bandwidths. Either or both of the first guard band 550 and the second guard band 552 may be zero bandwidth guard bands. The first guard band 550 and the second guard band 552 (individually or collectively) in the unpaired spectrum may be smaller than the guard band 520 in the paired spectrum (frequency allocation).
and wherein the SBFD frequency configuration is for at least one symbol that includes at least one uni-directional symbol;
Abotabl [0092] Here, a carrier bandwidth 602 (or set of one or more active bandwidth parts (BWPs)) is illustrated along the frequency axis and a slot 604 is illustrated along the time axis.
Abotabl [0094] For sub-band FD communication, as shown in FIG. 6C, the carrier bandwidth 602 (or active BWPs)= SBFD frequency configuration) may be divided into sub-bands 610a and 610b. Each sub-band 610a and 610b may be allocated for communication in a single direction (at least one uni- direction).
Abotabl [0104] In some aspects of the disclosure, one or more slots may be flexible slots including one or more flexible symbols that may be configured as either half-duplex symbols (e.g., all UL or all DL) or sub-band full-duplex symbols (e.g., including both UL and DL transmissions).
and communicate with another device using the SBFD frequency configuration.
Abotabl [0099]; In slots 712b and 712c, the antenna array 700 is configured for both DL communication and UL communication. For example, in slots 712b and 712c, the carrier bandwidth 714 (or active BWPs) is shown partitioned between uplink transmissions and downlink transmissions. Sub-bands 750a and 750b are allocated for downlink transmissions, while sub-band 750c is allocated for uplink transmissions.
Abotabl does not teach wherein the information includes a resource indicator value (RIV) that specifies a starting resource block and a length in resource blocks for the uplink sub-band.
Huang teaches wherein the information includes a resource indicator value (RIV) that specifies a starting resource block and a length in resource blocks for the uplink sub-band,
Huang [0171] Example 5: The apparatus, method, device, system, equipment, and/or article of manufacture for wireless communication of Example 1, further including receiving a resource indicator value (RIV) included in the resource allocation for the slot. In this example, communicating over the set of usable resources includes using, as the set of usable resources, a starting RB indicated by the RIV and a contiguous length of RBs indicated by the RIV. In this example, the resource allocation spans the contiguous length of RBs beginning at the starting RB.
Huang [0151]; For example, a given RB.sub.start having a value of 0 may correspond to the first RB (e.g., highest frequency RB) of the identified subband that corresponds to the RIV associated with that RB.sub.start value, a given RB.sub.start value of 1 may correspond to the second RB (e.g., second highest frequency RB) of the identified subband that corresponds to the RIV associated with that RB.sub.start value, and so on. The corresponding identified subband may correspond directly to a downlink or uplink subband defined in the slot format. Alternatively, the corresponding identified subband may correspond to a portion of a downlink or uplink subband defined in the slot format.
In view of Huang, Abotabl is modified such that the information includes a resource indicator value (RIV) that specifies a starting resource block and a length in resource blocks for the uplink sub-band.
Huang and Abotabl are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, a wireless communication system utilizing SBFD scheme.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Abotabl in the manner described above to allow the (RIV) that specifies a starting resource block and a length in resource blocks for the uplink sub-band to yield communication devices having improved communication features, efficient communications, and improved scheduling techniques for wireless transmission (e.g., uplink and downlink communications) (Huang [0034]).
Regarding claim 30, A method of wireless communication performed by a network node (Abotabl, Fig.
10, Ref. 1000), comprising:
Transmitting information indicating a sub-band full-duplex (SBFD) frequency configuration for a first sub-band of a carrier,
Abotabl, Fig. 4B [0085]; In FIG. 4B, the full-duplex gNB 402 transmits a downlink transmission to the first full-duplex UE 412.
Abotabl, Fig. 7A[0095]; FIG. 7A is a schematic diagram of a base station 702 (e.g., gNB) including a multi-panel antenna array 700 configured for full-duplex communication according to some aspects of the disclosure.
Abotabl [0096] FIG. 7B is a schematic illustration of an example of sub-band full-duplex wireless communication 710 using the multi-panel antenna array 700 shown in FIG. 7A according to some aspects. In the example shown in FIG. 7B, time is in the horizontal direction with units of slots 712a-712d, each including a plurality of OFDM symbols; and frequency is in the vertical direction (Frequency in vertical = The carrier bandwidth 714 = sub-band full-duplex (SBFD) frequency configuration) . Here, a carrier bandwidth 714 (or set of one or more active BWPs) is illustrated along the frequency axis. The carrier bandwidth 714 (or active BWPs) may be divided into a number of sub-bands 750a-750c (750 = uplink subband) for sub-band FD operation.
Abotabl [0096]; The carrier bandwidth 714 (or active BWPs)( carrier bandwidth = information) may be divided into a number of sub-bands 750a-750c for sub-band FD operation.
Abotabl [0099]; Sub-bands 750a and 750b are allocated for downlink transmissions (750a and 750b = at least one downlink subband), while sub-band 750c is allocated for uplink transmissions.
Wherein the information identifies a frequency allocation of one or more guard bands separate the uplink sub-band from the at least one downlink second sub-band,
Abotabl , Fig. 7b [0101]; Guard bands 732 are further provided between the UL sub-band 750c and the DL sub-bands 750a and 750b to mitigate self-interference between simultaneous DL transmissions in the DL sub-bands 750a and 750b and UL transmissions in the UL sub-band 750c.
[0091]; A first guard band 550 and a second guard band 552 are depicted in FIG. 5D. The first guard band 550 and the second guard band 552 may be the same bandwidth or different bandwidths. Either or both of the first guard band 550 and the second guard band 552 may be zero bandwidth guard bands. The first guard band 550 and the second guard band 552 (individually or collectively) in the unpaired spectrum may be smaller than the guard band 520 in the paired spectrum (frequency allocation).
wherein the SBFD frequency configuration is for at least one symbol that includes at least one uni-directional symbol;
Abotabl [0092] Here, a carrier bandwidth 602 (or set of one or more active bandwidth parts (BWPs)) is illustrated along the frequency axis and a slot 604 is illustrated along the time axis.
Abotabl [0094] For sub-band FD communication, as shown in FIG. 6C, the carrier bandwidth 602 (or active BWPs)= SBFD frequency configuration) may be divided into sub-bands 610a and 610b. Each sub-band 610a and 610b may be allocated for communication in a single direction (at least one uni- direction).
Abotabl [0104] In some aspects of the disclosure, one or more slots may be flexible slots including one or more flexible symbols that may be configured as either half-duplex symbols (e.g., all UL or all DL) or sub-band full-duplex symbols (e.g., including both UL and DL transmissions).
and communicate with another device using the SBFD frequency configuration.
Abotabl [0099]; In slots 712b and 712c, the antenna array 700 is configured for both DL communication and UL communication. For example, in slots 712b and 712c, the carrier bandwidth 714 (or active BWPs) is shown partitioned between uplink transmissions and downlink transmissions. Sub-bands 750a and 750b are allocated for downlink transmissions, while sub-band 750c is allocated for uplink transmissions.
Abotabl does not teach wherein the information includes a resource indicator value (RIV) that specifies a starting resource block and a length in resource blocks for the uplink sub-band.
Huang teaches wherein the information includes a resource indicator value (RIV) that specifies a starting resource block and a length in resource blocks for the uplink sub-band,
Huang [0171] Example 5: The apparatus, method, device, system, equipment, and/or article of manufacture for wireless communication of Example 1, further including receiving a resource indicator value (RIV) included in the resource allocation for the slot. In this example, communicating over the set of usable resources includes using, as the set of usable resources, a starting RB indicated by the RIV and a contiguous length of RBs indicated by the RIV. In this example, the resource allocation spans the contiguous length of RBs beginning at the starting RB.
Huang [0151]; For example, a given RB.sub.start having a value of 0 may correspond to the first RB (e.g., highest frequency RB) of the identified subband that corresponds to the RIV associated with that RB.sub.start value, a given RB.sub.start value of 1 may correspond to the second RB (e.g., second highest frequency RB) of the identified subband that corresponds to the RIV associated with that RB.sub.start value, and so on. The corresponding identified subband may correspond directly to a downlink or uplink subband defined in the slot format. Alternatively, the corresponding identified subband may correspond to a portion of a downlink or uplink subband defined in the slot format.
In view of Huang, Abotabl is modified such that the information includes a resource indicator value (RIV) that specifies a starting resource block and a length in resource blocks for the uplink sub-band.
Huang and Abotabl are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, a wireless communication system utilizing SBFD scheme.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Abotabl in the manner described above to allow the (RIV) that specifies a starting resource block and a length in resource blocks for the uplink sub-band to yield communication devices having improved communication features, efficient communications, and improved scheduling techniques for wireless transmission (e.g., uplink and downlink communications) (Huang [0034]).
Regarding claim 31, The method of claim 29, wherein receiving the information comprises receiving the information via one or more information elements included in radio resource control cell common configuration communication.
Abotabl, Fig. 8 [0181]; According to some aspects, for FD-aware and FD scheduled entities, a DU slot identified in a DCI Format 2_0 message may have some FDD-like behavior. For example, the patterns of slot formats (e.g., the patterns of three slot formats for a given SlotFormatCombinationID 802 of FIG. 8) may repeat. In another example, the DU slot interpretation after receiving the DCI 2_0 may override a common or dedicated slot pattern configuration. That is, the SFI may override the common or dedicated slot pattern configuration, which is an RRC configuration.
Regarding claim 32, The method of claim 29, wherein the at least one uni-directional symbol comprises at least one downlink symbol.
Abotabl [0094] ;For sub-band FD communication, as shown in FIG. 6C, the carrier bandwidth 602 (or active BWPs) may be divided into sub-bands 610a and 610b. Each sub-band 610a and 610b may be allocated for communication in a single direction. For example, sub-band 610a may be allocated for downlink transmissions,
Claims 8- 16, 25-28, 33-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abotabl
in view of Huang in further view of MODERATOR (CATT): "Summary #1 of Subband Non-overlapping
Full Duplex", 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #11 Obis-e, R1-2210314, 3rd Generation Partnership Project, Mobile
Competence Centre, 650, Route Des Lucioles, F-06921,Sophia-Antipolis Cedex, France, Vol. RAN WG1,
No. e-Meeting, 20221010 – 20221019, 12 October 2022, 99 Pages, XP052259782, page 4, paragraph
2.1.2, figures 2-5 to 2-10, Proposal 1-6, page 26 Proposal 1-7, page 29 Proposal 1-8, page 31, hereafter”
CATT.”
Regarding claim 8, The UE of claim 1, wherein the information indicating the SBFD frequency configuration.
Abotabl [0096]; The carrier bandwidth 714 (or active BWPs) may be divided into a number of sub-bands 750a-750c for sub-band FD operation.
Abotabl [0099]; Sub-bands 750a and 750b are allocated for downlink transmissions, while sub-band 750c is allocated for uplink transmissions.
Abotabl does not teach configuration includes a resource block offset.
CATT teaches includes a starting resource block, a length in resource blocks, and a resource block offset.
Page 8, Fig. 2-10 [0004]; Furthermore, the reference of the starting RB was discussed in [ 12] and it is
proposed that frequency location of UL subband is with reference to a common RB, e.g. CRB O or RB
indicated by offsetToCarrier, if supported in SIB.
In view of CATT, Abotabl is modified such that the subband includes a starting resource block, a length in resource blocks, and a resource block offset.
Abotabl and CATT are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, the SBFD communication system.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Abotabl in a manner described above to make a subband with a starting resource block
and a length in resource blocks with a resource block offset to demonstrate the frequency location of
subband (CATT, Page 65).
Regarding claim 9, Abotabl teaches The UE of claim 9, wherein the one or more processors (Abotabl, Fig. 13, Ref. 1304) are further configure.
Abotabl does not teach determine the resource block offset with reference to one of: a first resource block of the carrier, or a preconfigured reference point.
CATT teaches determine the resource block offset with reference to one of: a first resource block of the carrier, or a preconfigured reference point.
CATT, Page 8, Fig. 2-10 [0004]; Furthermore, the reference of the starting RB was discussed in [ 12]
and it is proposed that frequency location of UL subband is with reference to a common RB, e.g. CRB
O or RB indicated by offsetToCarrier, if supported in SIB.
In view of CATT, Abotabl is modified such that the subband includes resource block offset with reference to one of: a first resource block of the carrier, or a preconfigured reference point.
Abotabl and CATT are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, the SBFD communication system.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Abotabl in a manner described above to make a subband with resource block offset with
reference to one of: a first resource block of the carrier, or a preconfigured reference point to
demonstrate the frequency location of subband (CATT, Page 65).
Regarding claim 10, The UE of claim 1, wherein the information for the uplink sub-band.
Abotabl [0096]; The carrier bandwidth 714 (or active BWPs) may be divided into a number of sub-bands 750a -750c (750c = uplink subband) for sub-band FD operation.
Abotabl [0099]; Sub-bands 750a and 750b are allocated for downlink transmissions, while sub-band 750c is allocated for uplink transmissions.
Abotabl does not teach information includes a first timing configuration.
CATT teaches a first timing configuration.
CATT, Page 6, Figure 2-6: Time domain window for full duplex. Fig. 2-6 shows two time domain window. The time domain window on the left is the first timing configuration for the first subaband.
Fig. 2-6; Vivo [10] discussed a method that gNB can configure the periodicity and duration of the configured one or more subbands for potential UL transmission.
In view of CATT, Abotabl is modified such that the subband includes a first timing configuration.
Abotabl and CATT are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, the SBFD communication system.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Abotabl in a manner described above to correspond the first timing configuration to the
uplink subband to indicate the time domain location of the subband.
Regarding claim 11, The UE of claim 10, wherein the information for at least one downlink sub-band.
Abotabl [0096]; The carrier bandwidth 714 (or active BWPs) may be divided into a number of sub-bands 750a-750c for sub-band FD operation.
Abotabl, Fig. 7b [0101]; In the uplink (UL) sub-band 750c (750c= second subband), the slots 712b and 712c each include an UL data portion 728 and 738, respectively, for transmitting UL data.
Abotabl does not teach information includes a second timing configuration.
CATT teaches a second timing configuration.
CATT, Page 6, [0004]; Vivo [10] discussed a method that gNB can configure the periodicity and duration of the configured one or more subbands for potential UL transmission.
CATT, Page 6, Figure 2-6: Time domain window for full duplex. Fig. 2-6 shows two time domain window. The time domain window on the left is the first timing configuration for the first subband and the time domain on the right is the second timing configuration for the second subband.
In view of CATT, Abotabl is modified such that the subband includes a second timing configuration.
Abotabl and CATT are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, the SBFD communication system.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Abotabl in a manner described above to correspond the second timing configuration to the
second subband to indicate the time domain location of the second subband.
Regarding claim 12, Abotabl in view of CATT teaches the limitation of the UE of claim 10. CATT further teaches wherein the first timing configuration comprises information indicating a time offset, a length of time, and a periodicity.
CATT, Page 6, Fig. 2-6, ZTE [7] discussed a method to explicitly configure a period, offset and length for a time domain window for SBFD operation as shown below.
In view of CATT, Abotabl is modified such that the subband includes a first timing configuration.
Abotabl and CATT are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, the SBFD communication system.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Abotabl in a manner described above to correspond the first timing configuration to the
uplink subband to indicate the time domain location of the subband.
Regarding claim 13, Abotabl in view of CATT teaches the limitation of the UE of claim 10. CATT further, wherein a periodicity of the first timing configuration is based at least in part on a time domain duplexing pattern periodicity.
CATT, Page 6, Figure 2-6: Time domain window for full duplex. Fig. 2-6 shows two time domain window. The time domain window on the left is the first timing configuration for the first subaband.
CATT [12] thinks the SBFD symbols within a periodicity are explicitly indicated and the periodicity can be explicitly configured or implicitly determined based on the periodicity of SSB or TDD UL-DL configuration.
In view of CATT, Abotabl is modified such that the subband includes a first timing configuration based at least in part on a time domain duplexing pattern periodicity.
Abotabl and CATT are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, the SBFD communication system.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Abotabl in a manner described above to correspond the first timing configuration to the
uplink subband to indicate the location of the subband.
Regarding claim 14, The UE of claim 10, wherein the first timing configuration indicates one or more SBFD symbol patterns.
CATT, Page 6, Figure 2-6: Time domain window for full duplex. Fig. 2-6 shows two time domain window. The time domain window on the left is the first timing configuration for the first subaband.
CATT, Page 6, [0006]; CATT [12] thinks the SBFD symbols within a periodicity are explicitly indicated and the periodicity can be explicitly configured or implicitly determined based on the periodicity of SSB or TDD UL-DL configuration.
CATT, Page 6, [0002]; For the implicit approach, examples could be that semi-static DL/flexible
symbols within a period determined by periodicity of the configured TDD pattern, e.g. DDDSU, are
configured as SBFD symbols as discussed in [10], or symbols configured as 'D' in TDD-UL-DL-
ConfigCommon are SBFD symbols as discussed in [18].
In view of CATT, Abotabl is modified such that the subband includes a first timing configuration based at least in part on a time domain duplexing pattern periodicity.
Abotabl and CATT are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, the SBFD communication system.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Abotabl in a manner described above to correspond the first timing configuration to the
uplink subband to indicate the location of the subband.
Regarding claim 15, Abotabl teaches all limitation of The UE of claim 14. CATT further teaches wherein the first timing configuration indicates multiple SBFD symbol patterns based at least in part on multiple time domain duplexing patterns being indicated.
CATT, Page 6, Figure 2-6: Time domain window for full duplex. Fig. 2-6 shows two time domain window. The time domain window on the left is the first timing configuration for the first subaband.
CATT, Page 6, [0006]; CATT [12] thinks the SBFD symbols within a periodicity are explicitly indicated and the periodicity can be explicitly configured or implicitly determined based on the periodicity of SSB or TDD UL-DL configuration.
CATT, page 28, Samsung [0003]; It makes sense to us that the SBFD subband configuration in time-domain will need to be signaled with respect to a "period", e.g., compatible with the TDD UL-DL patterns 1 and 2 (multiple patterns) or some recurring symbol pattern, due to the presence of legacy UEs.
In view of CATT, Abotabl is modified such that the subband includes a first timing configuration based at least in part on a time domain duplexing pattern periodicity.
Abotabl and CATT are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, the SBFD communication system.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Abotabl in a manner described above to correspond the first timing configuration to the
uplink subband to indicate the time domain location of the subband.
Regarding claim 16, Abotabl teaches all limitation of The UE of claim 10. CATT further teaches wherein the first timing configuration indicates first SBFD symbols associated with the uplink sub-band in at least one downlink symbol,
CATT, page 6, Fig. 2-6; Vivo [10] discussed a method that gNB can configure the periodicity and duration of the configured one or more subbands for potential UL transmission.
CATT, page 6, OPPO [ 11],[0005]; proposed that UL subband can be explicitly configured in DL symbol and flexible symbol.
In view of CATT, Abotabl is modified such the Configuration indicates the uplink sub-band for a downlink symbol.
Abotabl and CATT are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, the SBFD communication system.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Abotabl in a manner described above for the configuration to indicate the uplink sub-band for a downlink symbol to determine the specific symbol associated with the uplink sub-band.
Regarding claim 25, The network node of claim 18, wherein the information indicating the SBFD frequency configuration.
Abotabl [0096]; The carrier bandwidth 714 (or active BWPs) may be divided into a number of sub-bands 750a-750c for sub-band FD operation.
Abotabl [0099]; Sub-bands 750a and 750b are allocated for downlink transmissions, while sub-band 750c is allocated for uplink transmissions.
Abotabl does not teach configuration includes a resource block offset.
CATT teaches includes a starting resource block, a length in resource blocks, and a resource block offset.
Page 8, Fig. 2-10 [0004]; Furthermore, the reference of the starting RB was discussed in [ 12] and it is
proposed that frequency location of UL subband is with reference to a common RB, e.g. CRB O or RB
indicated by offsetToCarrier, if supported in SIB.
In view of CATT, Abotabl is modified such that the subband includes a resource block offset.
Abotabl and CATT are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, the SBFD communication system.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Abotabl in a manner described above to make a subband with a resource block offset to
demonstrate the frequency location of subband (CATT, Page 65).
Regarding claim 26, The network node of claim 25, wherein the one or more processors (Abotabl, Fig. 10, Ref. 1041) are further configure.
Abotabl does not teach determine the resource block offset with reference to one of: a first resource block of the carrier, or a preconfigured reference point.
CATT teaches determine the resource block offset with reference to one of: a first resource block of the carrier, or a preconfigured reference point.
CATT, Page 8, Fig. 2-10 [0004]; Furthermore, the reference of the starting RB was discussed in [ 12]
and it is proposed that frequency location of UL subband is with reference to a common RB, e.g. CRB
O or RB indicated by offsetToCarrier, if supported in SIB.
In view of CATT, Abotabl is modified such that the subband includes resource block offset with reference to one of: a first resource block of the carrier, or a preconfigured reference point.
Abotabl and CATT are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, the SBFD communication system.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Abotabl in a manner described above to make a subband with resource block offset with
reference to one of: a first resource block of the carrier, or a preconfigured reference point to
demonstrate the frequency location of subband (CATT, Page 65).
Regarding claim 27, Abotabl in view of CATT teaches the limitation of the network node of claim 18. CATT further teaches wherein the information includes a first timing configuration for the uplink sub-band, first timing configuration comprises information indicating a time offset, a length of time, and a periodicity.
CATT, Page 6, Figure 2-6: Time domain window for full duplex. Fig. 2-6 shows two time domain window. The time domain window on the left is the first timing configuration for the first subaband.
Fig. 2-6; Vivo [10] discussed a method that gNB can configure the periodicity and duration of the configured one or more subbands for potential UL transmission.
CATT, Page 6, Fig. 2-6, ZTE [7] discussed a method to explicitly configure a period, offset and length for a time domain window for SBFD operation as shown below.
In view of CATT, Abotabl is modified such that the subband includes a first timing configuration.
Abotabl and CATT are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, the SBFD communication system.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Abotabl in a manner described above to correspond the first timing configuration to the
uplink subband.
Regarding claim 28, The network node of claim 27, wherein the information for the at least one downlink sub-band.
Abotabl [0096]; The carrier bandwidth 714 (or active BWPs) may be divided into a number of sub-bands 750a-750c for sub-band FD operation.
Abotabl [0099]; Sub-bands 750a and 750b are allocated for downlink transmissions, while sub-band 750c is allocated for uplink transmissions.
Abotabl [0096]; The carrier bandwidth 714 (or active BWPs) may be divided into a number of sub-bands 750a-750c for sub-band FD operation.
Abotabl, Fig. 7b [0101]; In the uplink (UL) sub-band 750c, the slots 712b and 712c each include an UL data portion 728 and 738, respectively, for transmitting UL data.
Abotabl does not teach the information includes a second timing configuration.
CATT teaches a first timing configuration and the second timing configuration.
CATT, page 6, Vivo [10] discussed a method that gNB can configure the periodicity and duration of the configured one or more subbands for potential UL transmission.
CATT, Page 6, Figure 2-6: Time domain window for full duplex. Fig. 2-6 shows two time domain window. The time domain window on the left is the first timing configuration for the first subband and the time domain on the right is the second timing configuration for the second subband.
CATT, Page 6, [0004], Fig. 2-6; Vivo [10] discussed a method that gNB can configure the periodicity and duration of the configured one or more subbands for potential UL transmission.
In view of CATT, Abotabl is modified such that the subband includes a first timing configuration.
Abotabl and CATT are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, the SBFD communication system.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Abotabl in a manner described above to correspond the first timing configuration to the
uplink subband.
Claims 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abotabl in view of Huang in further view of CATT in further view of Wang et al. ( US 20250220647 A1) (thereafter “Wang”).
Regarding claim 17, Abotabl in view of CATT teaches the limitation of the UE of claim 10. CATT teaches wherein the first timing configuration is based at least in part on a time domain duplexing pattern.
CATT, Page 6, Figure 2-6: Time domain window for full duplex. Fig. 2-6 shows two time domain window. The time domain window on the left is the first timing configuration for the first subaband.
CATT [12] thinks the SBFD symbols within a periodicity are explicitly indicated and the periodicity can be explicitly configured or implicitly determined based on the periodicity of SSB or TDD UL-DL configuration.
CATT does not teach a subcarrier spacing associated with timing.
Wang teaches a subcarrier spacing associated with timing.
Wang [0100]; In some embodiments, the semi-static signaling is system information or a cell common signaling, a subcarrier space (subcarrier space, SCS) used by the SBFD pattern is equal to or greater than a first SCS, and the first SCS is an SCS configured by a time division duplex uplink downlink common configuration signaling TDD-UL-DL-ConfigCommon.
In view of Wang, CATT is modified such that the subcarrier spacing associated with timing configuration.
CATT and Wang are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, the SBFD communication system.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Abotabl in a manner described above to associate the first timing configuration to the
subcarrier spacing associated with timing to demonstrate the SBFD pattern (Wang [0099]).
Regarding claim 33, The method of claim 29, wherein the information indicating the SBFD frequency configuration.
Abotabl [0096]; The carrier bandwidth 714 (or active BWPs) may be divided into a number of sub-bands 750a -750c for sub-band FD operation.
Abotabl [0099]; Sub-bands 750a and 750b are allocated for downlink transmissions, while sub-band 750c is allocated for uplink transmissions.
Abotabl does not teach configuration includes a resource block offset.
CATT teaches includes a starting resource block, a length in resource blocks, and a resource block offset.
Page 8, Fig. 2-10 [0004]; Furthermore, the reference of the starting RB was discussed in [ 12] and it is
proposed that frequency location of UL subband is with reference to a common RB, e.g. CRB O or RB
indicated by offsetToCarrier, if supported in SIB.
In view of CATT, Abotabl is modified such that the subband includes a starting resource block, a length in resource blocks, and a resource block offset.
Abotabl and CATT are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, the SBFD communication system.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Abotabl in a manner described above to make a subband with a starting resource block
and a length in resource blocks with a resource block offset to demonstrate the frequency location of
subband (CATT, Page 65).
Regarding claim 34, Abotabl teaches the method of claim 33. Abotabl does not teach determining the resource block offset with reference to one of: a first resource block of the carrier, or a preconfigured reference point.
CATT teaches determine the resource block offset with reference to one of: a first resource block of the carrier, or a preconfigured reference point.
CATT, Page 8, Fig. 2-10 [0004]; Furthermore, the reference of the starting RB was discussed in [ 12]
and it is proposed that frequency location of UL subband is with reference to a common RB, e.g. CRB
O or RB indicated by offsetToCarrier, if supported in SIB.
In view of CATT, Abotabl is modified such that the subband includes resource block offset with reference to one of: a first resource block of the carrier, or a preconfigured reference point.
Abotabl and CATT are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, the SBFD communication system.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Abotabl in a manner described above to make a subband with resource block offset with
reference to one of: a first resource block of the carrier, or a preconfigured reference point to
demonstrate the frequency location of subband (CATT, Page 65).
Regarding claim 35, The method of claim 29, wherein the information for the uplink sub-band.
Abotabl [0096]; The carrier bandwidth 714 (or active BWPs) may be divided into a number of sub-bands 750a -750c (750c = uplink subband) for sub-band FD operation.
Abotabl [0099]; Sub-bands 750a and 750b are allocated for downlink transmissions, while sub-band 750c is allocated for uplink transmissions.
Abotabl does not teach information includes a first timing configuration.
CATT teaches a first timing configuration.
CATT, Page 6, Figure 2-6: Time domain window for full duplex. Fig. 2-6 shows two time domain window. The time domain window on the left is the first timing configuration for the first subaband.
Fig. 2-6; Vivo [10] discussed a method that gNB can configure the periodicity and duration of the configured one or more subbands for potential UL transmission.
In view of CATT, Abotabl is modified such that the subband includes a first timing configuration.
Abotabl and CATT are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, the SBFD communication system.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Abotabl in a manner described above to correspond the first timing configuration to the
uplink subband to indicate the location of the subband.
Regarding claim 36, The method of claim 29, wherein the SBFD frequency configuration and wherein communicating with the other device using the SBFD frequency configuration.
Abotabl [0099]; In slots 712b and 712c, the antenna array 700 is configured for both DL communication and UL communication. For example, in slots 712b and 712c, the carrier bandwidth 714 (or active BWPs) is shown partitioned between uplink transmissions and downlink transmissions. Sub-bands 750a and 750b are allocated for downlink transmissions, while sub-band 750c is allocated for uplink transmissions.
Abotabl does not teach Configuration indicates the uplink sub-band for a downlink symbol, and comprises performing transmission in the uplink sub-band for the downlink symbol.
CATT teaches Configuration indicates the uplink sub-band for a downlink symbol,
CATT, page 6, Fig. 2-6; Vivo [10] discussed a method that gNB can configure the periodicity and duration of the configured one or more subbands for potential UL transmission.
CATT, page 6, OPPO [ 11],[0005]; proposed that UL subband can be explicitly configured in DL symbol and flexible symbol.
and performing transmission in the uplink sub-band for the downlink symbol.
CATT, page 6, Fig. 2-6; Vivo [10] discussed a method that gNB can configure the periodicity and duration of the configured one or more subbands for potential UL transmission.
CATT, page 6, OPPO [ 11],[0005]; proposed that UL subband can be explicitly configured in DL symbol and flexible symbol.
In view of CATT, Abotabl is modified such the Configuration indicates the uplink sub-band for a downlink symbol.
Abotabl and CATT are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, the SBFD communication system.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Abotabl in a manner described above for the configuration to indicate the uplink sub-band for a downlink symbol to determine the specific symbol associated with the uplink sub-band.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
should be directed to Maryam Emadi whose email is Maryam.emadi1@uspto.gov with
telephone number of 703-756-1834.
Joseph Avellino can be reached on 571-272-3905.
Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained
from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available
through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pairdirect.uspto.gov.
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/M.E./Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JOSEPH E AVELLINO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2478