DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicants’ election of Species 6, Figure 6, claims 14-17, 19, 22, 23, 25, 29, 31 in paper filed on 12/2/25 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not mention that the election with or without traverse, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.03(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 14, 23, 25, 29 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rhyu Sehyun (WO 2013085231).
Regarding claim 14, Sehyun discloses a device comprising:
a permanent magnet (28) having a wedge-shaped body that tapers from a first end portion (b) having a first thickness to a second end portion (a) having a second thickness,
wherein the first thickness (b) is greater than the second thickness (a);
an armature (30) configured to move relative to the permanent magnet (28) and configured to, when energized, generate a magnetic field; wherein the wedge-shaped body of the permanent magnet (28) produces an asymmetrical magnetic flux density that increases toward the first end portion; and
wherein the magnetic field of the armature (30), when the armature (30) is energized, interacts with the asymmetrical magnetic flux density to drive movement of the armature (30, see paragraph [47] – [49]).
Regarding claim 23, Sehyun discloses:
the armature (30) is configured to rotate about an axis, and
the permanent magnet (22) is positioned such that the asymmetrical magnetic flux density interacts with the armature (30) during rotation.
Regarding claim 25, Sehyun discloses:
the first thickness is a greatest thickness of the permanent magnet (22) and the second thickness is a smallest thickness of the permanent magnet (22).
Regarding claim 29, Sehyun discloses:
at least one permanent magnet (22) producing an asymmetrical magnetic flux density, the asymmetrical magnetic flux density having a peak flux density region displaced toward a first end portion of the at least one permanent magnet (22); and
an armature (30) that is moveable relative to the at least one permanent magnet (22) and is configured to generate a magnetic field that interacts with the asymmetrical magnetic flux density to drive movement of the armature (30).
Regarding claim 31, Sehyun discloses:
the at least one permanent magnet (22) has a wedge-shaped body having a greatest thickness at the first end portion (see the drawing above) of the at least one permanent magnet (22) and a smallest thickness at a second, opposing end portion of the at least one permanent magnet (22).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-17, 19, 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rhyu Sehyun (WO 2013085231).
Regarding claim 15, Sehyun teaches the claimed subject as disclosed above, however, fails to explicitly disclose the wedge-shaped body (28) comprises a continuously curved surface.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form the wedge-shaped body (28) comprises a continuously curved surface for the purpose of suitability of the design choice, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1893).
Furthermore, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 16, Sehyun discloses:
wherein the permanent magnet (22) is a first permanent magnet and
a second permanent magnet (see the drawing below); and
wherein the second permanent magnet (see the drawing below) comprises a wedge-shaped body that tapers from a first end portion having a third thickness to a second end portion having a fourth thickness, wherein the third thickness is greater than the fourth thickness (see the drawing below).
[AltContent: textbox (1st Permanent magnet)][AltContent: textbox (1st end portion of the 1st magnet)][AltContent: textbox (2nd end portion of the 1st magnet)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (2nd end portion
3rd thickness)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (1st end portion
4th thickness)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (2nd Permanent magnet)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 17, Sehyun discloses:
wherein the first permanent magnet (see the drawing above) and the second permanent magnet (see the drawing above) are in an opposing orientation
wherein the first end portion of the first permanent magnet (see the drawing above) is adjacent the second end portion of the second permanent magnet (see the drawing above) and the first end portion of the second permanent magnet is adjacent the second end portion of the first permanent magnet (see the drawing above).
Regarding claim 19, Sehyun discloses:
wherein the opposing orientation of the first permanent magnet and the second permanent magnet is configured to reduce magnetic flux leakage (see para. [0028] and [29]).
Regarding claim 22, Sehyun teaches the claimed subject as disclosed above, however, fails to explicitly disclose the armature (30) comprises one of a ferromagnetic material, permanent magnet or a conductive material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the armature (30) comprises one of a ferromagnetic material, permanent magnet, or a conductive material for the purpose of avoiding a short circuit.
Conclusion
/Lisa Nhung Homza/
Patent Examiner - Art Unit 2837
/SHAWKI S ISMAIL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2837