Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3,14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (USPN 2021/0134912).
With regard to claim 1,
Kim et al. disclose a display device, comprising: a substrate (501) including a first non-active area (A2), an active area (A3) surrounding the first non-active area, and a second non-active area (I/A) surrounding the active area; a light emitting diode (512,514,516) disposed in the active area of the substrate; and an encapsulation layer (520) disposed on the light emitting diode, the encapsulation layer including a first inorganic encapsulation layer (521), an organic encapsulation layer (522/522’) disposed on the first inorganic encapsulation layer, and a second inorganic encapsulation layer (523) disposed on the organic encapsulation layer; and a hole (corresponding to A1) extending through the substrate in the first non-active area, wherein the organic encapsulation layer is disconnected or terminates in an area located between the active area and the hole (See fig. 5B).
With regard to claim 2,
Kim et al. disclose the display device according to claim 1, wherein the organic encapsulation layer includes: a first organic encapsulation layer (522 in A3) disposed in the active area and in a part of the first non-active area extending from the active area; and a second organic encapsulation layer (522 in A2 and 522’) disposed in the first non-active area, the second organic encapsulation layer being spaced apart from the first organic encapsulation layer (see fig 5B).
With regard to claim 3,
Kim et al. disclose the display device according to claim 2, further comprising: a bank (510)disposed on the substrate, the bank defining an emission area and a non-emission area of the light emitting diode, wherein an end of the first organic encapsulation layer is disposed on the bank in the first non-active area (See fig. 5B).
With regard to claim 14,
Kim et al. disclose the display device according to claim 1, further comprising: a camera disposed in a position corresponding to the hole (See paragraph 8).
Claims 1, 2, 12, 13, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bae et al. (USPN 2021/0405797).
With regard to claim 1,
Bae et al. disclose a display device, comprising: a substrate (SUB) including a first non-active area (A2), an active area (A1) surrounding the first non-active area, and a second non-active area (NA) surrounding the active area; a light emitting diode (ED) disposed in the active area of the substrate; and an encapsulation layer (ENCAP) disposed on the light emitting diode, the encapsulation layer including a first inorganic encapsulation layer (PAS1), an organic encapsulation layer (PCL/T-PLN) disposed on the first inorganic encapsulation layer, and a second inorganic encapsulation layer (PAS2) disposed on the organic encapsulation layer; and a hole (corresponding to A2-1) extending through the substrate in the first non-active area, wherein the organic encapsulation layer is disconnected or terminates in an area located between the active area and the hole (See fig. 13).
With regard to claim 2,
Bae et al. disclose the display device according to claim 1, wherein the organic encapsulation layer includes: a first organic encapsulation layer (PCL) disposed in the active area and in a part of the first non-active area extending from the active area; and a second organic encapsulation layer (T-PLN) disposed in the first non-active area, the second organic encapsulation layer being spaced apart from the first organic encapsulation layer (see fig 13).
With regard to claim 12,
Bae et al. disclose the display device according to claim 2, further comprising: a plurality of second dams (DAM) disposed in the second non-active area (See fig. 16), the plurality of second dams surrounding the active area (see figs 16, 12), wherein the organic encapsulation layer further includes a third organic encapsulation layer (SCL) disposed between the plurality of second dams, the third organic encapsulation being spaced apart and disconnected from the first organic encapsulation layer (See fig. 16).
With regard to claim 13,
Bae et al. disclose the display device according to claim 12, wherein the first inorganic encapsulation layer is in contact with the second inorganic encapsulation layer in one or more areas over the plurality of second dams (See fig. 16).
With regard to claim 17,
Bae et al. disclose the display device according to claim 12, wherein each of the plurality of second dams has a closed curve shape enclosing the active area (See figs. 16,12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-8, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (as above), in view of Sung et al. (USPN 10541380).
With regard to claim 4,
Kim et al. disclose the display device according to claim 3. While Kim et al. do not disclose the claimed configuration, Sung et al. do disclose in at least fig. 43 an analogous device wherein the first inorganic encapsulation layer (310) is in contact with the second inorganic encapsulation layer (330) on the bank (211) at an area outside of the end of the first organic encapsulation layer (320). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to try to incorporate this concept of Sung et al. into the device of Kim et al. in order to try to improve protection of the active area near the opening.
With regard to claim 5,
Kim et al. disclose the display device according to claim 3, further comprising: a plurality of first dams (590) disposed in the first non-active area, the plurality of first dams surrounding the hole (see fig. 5B), wherein a portion of the first organic encapsulation layer is disposed between the bank and one of the plurality of first dams which is closest to the active area (See fig. 5B). While Kim et al. do not disclose a portion of the second organic encapsulation layer disposed between the bank and one of the plurality of first dams which is closest to the active area, Sung et al. do disclose in at least fig. 43 an analogous device wherein the first inorganic encapsulation layer (310) is in contact with the second inorganic encapsulation layer (330) on the bank (211) at an area outside of the end of the first organic encapsulation layer (320). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to try to incorporate this concept of Sung et al. into the device of Kim et al. in order to try to improve protection of the active area near the opening, the combination resulting in the portion of the second organic encapsulation layer disposed between the bank and one of the plurality of first dams which is closest to the active area.
With regard to claim 6,
Kim et al. disclose the display device according to claim 5, wherein the second organic encapsulation layer is disposed between the plurality of first dams (see fig. 5B).
With regard to claim 7,
Kim et al. disclose the display device according to claim 6, wherein a top surface of the second organic encapsulation layer is lower than top surfaces of the plurality of first dams (See fig. 5B).
With regard to claim 8,
Kim et al. disclose the display device according to claim 6, wherein the first inorganic encapsulation layer is in contact with the second inorganic encapsulation layer in areas over the plurality of first dams (See fig. 5B).
With regard to claim 16,
Kim et al. disclose the display device according to claim 5, wherein each of the plurality of first dams is formed in a closed curve shape enclosing an outer periphery of the hole (See figs. 1,5B).
Claims 9-11, 15, 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (as above), in view of Sung et al. (as above) and Jang et al. (USPN 2022/0199952).
With regard to claim 9,
Kim et al disclose the display device according to claim 6, further comprising: a plurality of patterns (595) between the plurality of first dams (see fig. 5B), the plurality of first dams surrounding the hole (See figs. 1, 5B), wherein the second organic encapsulation layer is at least partially filled between the plurality of patterns (see fig. 5B). While Kim et al. do not disclose the patterns disposed between the bank and the one of the plurality of first dams which is closest to the active area, Jang et al. do disclose such a configuration in at least fig. 17, patterns 115 disposed between dam 117 closest to the active area EA. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate this concept of Jang et al. into the device of Kim et al. in order to try to improve the blocking of moisture and debris.
With regard to claim 10,
Kim et al. disclose the display device according to claim 9, wherein the second organic encapsulation layer separated into a plurality of sections between the plurality of patterns (see fig. 5B), the plurality of sections of the second organic encapsulation layer being spaced apart and disconnected from each other (see fig. 5B).
With regard to claim 11,
Kim et al. disclose the display device according to claim 9, wherein the first inorganic encapsulation layer is in contact with the second inorganic encapsulation layer in one or more areas over the plurality of patterns (see fig. 5B).
With regard to claim 15,
Kim et al. disclose the display device according to claim 9, wherein each of the plurality of patterns includes a first sub pattern (lower) and a second sub pattern (upper), wherein a cross-sectional shape of each of the first sub pattern and the second sub pattern has a tapered trapezoidal shape or a triangular shape, and wherein a top surface of the first sub pattern has a smaller width than a bottom surface of the second sub pattern (See fig 5B).
With regard to claim 18,
Kim et al. disclose the display device according to claim 9, wherein each of the plurality of patterns is formed in a closed curve shape enclosing an outer periphery of the hole (See figs. 1,5B).
With regard to claim 19,
Kim et al disclose the display device according to claim 9, wherein the light emitting diode includes an anode electrode (512), an emission stack (514) and a cathode electrode (516), and wherein the emission stack extends from the active area into the first non-active area (see fig. 5B).
With regard to claim 20,
Kim et al. disclose the display device according to claim 19, wherein portions of the emission stack disposed on the plurality of first dams are disconnected from each other (see fig. 5B).
With regard to claim 21,
Kim et al. disclose the display device according to claim 19, wherein portions of the emission stack disposed on the plurality of patterns are disconnected from each other (see fig. 5B).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. USPN 2022/0181583, 2020/0194714, 2025/0081811, 2020/0212147.
/CHRISTOPHER M RAABE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875