DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figure 5 does not disclose electrode component 2 discloses in the specification. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: It appears that claim 9 should depend from claim 8 to correct antecedent basis for limitations in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 recites the limitations "the mounting seat", “the first resilient element”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Young et al. (US 2022/0381624) (“Young”).
With respect to claim 1, Young discloses a charging structure configured to charge a food thermometer (abstract discloses a charging case to charge a food thermometer), comprising: a housing, a first electrode component, a second electrode component, and an energy storage element (abstract, paragraphs 0127-0128 discloses that the charging case comprises charger contacts and batteries), wherein: the housing includes a storage groove for storing the food thermometer, the first electrode component and the second electrode component are disposed on opposite ends of the storage groove (figures 14, 18 discloses charging case with storage groove for storing the food thermometer 302 and electrodes disposed on opposite ends), and the first electrode component and the second electrode component are configured to abut against a third electrode and a fourth electrode that are disposed on opposite ends of the food thermometer (figures 15, 18-19 discloses that the food thermometer abuts against the electrodes of the charging case 304), respectively, and the energy storage element is disposed inside the housing and is electrically connected to the first electrode component and the second electrode component (abstract, figures 8 and 18 discloses that the charging case comprises a battery to charge the food thermometer).
With respect to claims 2, 19, Young discloses the charging structure according to one of the claims, wherein: the first electrode component elastically abuts against the third electrode, and/or the second electrode component elastically abuts against the fourth electrode. Figures 15C and 18 discloses that the electrode components abut against the electro components of the food thermometer.
With respect to claim 3, Young discloses the charging structure according to claim 1, wherein: the food thermometer includes a tube, and the third electrode includes the tube with a tip, and when being abutted against the third electrode, the first electrode component moves elastically away from the second electrode component. Young discloses that temperature probe includes sensor tube 310 with a tip that act as a terminal.
With respect to claim 5, Young discloses the charging structure according to claim 1, wherein: the first electrode includes a first limiting groove configured to form an insertion position limitation with the third electrode. Figure 14-15 discloses a limiting groove to form an insertion limitation of the electrode of the food thermometer.
With respect to claim 16, Young discloses the charging structure according to claim 1, wherein: a mounting groove connected with the storage groove is formed on the housing, wherein the mounting groove is configured for inserting the fourth electrode to abut against the second electrode component. Figure 14 discloses providing a mounting groove for inserting the fourth electrode of the food thermometer.
With respect to claim 17, Young discloses the charging structure according to claim 1, wherein: the storage groove includes a first storage portion and a second storage portion, wherein the first storage portion has an arc shape and is configured to accommodate the tube of the food thermometer and limit the food thermometer circumferentially, and the second storage portion is configured to accommodate a handle of the food thermometer. Young discloses a charger case 304 as illustrated in Fig. 14 and Fig. 15C, the storage groove includes a first storage portion for receiving the sensor tube 310 of the temperature probe 302, and a second storage portion for receiving the handle 312 of the temperature 302.
With respect to claim 18, Young discloses a food temperature monitoring system, comprising: a food thermometer and a charging structure configured to charge the food thermometer (abstract discloses a charging case to charge a food thermometer), the charging structure including: a housing, a first electrode component, a second electrode component, and an energy storage element (abstract, paragraphs 0127-0128 discloses that the charging case comprises charger contacts and batteries), wherein: the housing includes a storage groove for storing the food thermometer (figures 14, 18 discloses charging case with storage groove for storing the food thermometer 302 and electrodes disposed on opposite ends), the first electrode component and the second electrode component are disposed on opposite ends of the storage groove, and the first electrode component and the second electrode component are configured to abut against a third electrode and a fourth electrode that are disposed on opposite ends of the food thermometer (figures 15, 18-19 discloses that the food thermometer abuts against the electrodes of the charging case 304), respectively, and the energy storage element is disposed inside the housing and is electrically connected to the first electrode component and the second electrode component (abstract, figures 8 and 18 discloses that the charging case comprises a battery to charge the food thermometer).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Young et al. (US 2022/0381624) (“Young”) in view of LIN (CN 201336428) (Document provided on IDS of 6/24/2025).
With respect to claim 4, Young discloses the charging structure according to claim 1; except for, wherein: the first electrode component includes a first electrode and a first resilient element, and the first resilient element is disposed between the first electrode and the housing.
LIN discloses in figure 2 a needle shaft 2 and a spring 3/resilient element, the spring 3 is arranged between the needle shaft 2 and the needly tube 1.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention, to have modify Young and include the resilient element 3 of LIN, for the purpose of moving the pin under the action of an external force and the spring, for example.
With respect to claim 10, Young discloses the charging structure according to claim 1, wherein: the housing includes a mounting seat, and the mounting seat is configured to limit a sliding direction and a travel distance of the first electrode.
LIN discloses in figure 2 a mounting seat 1 to limit a sliding direction and travel distance of the electrode.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention, to have modify Young and include the mounting seat 1 of LIN, for the purpose of limiting the movement of the pin under the action of an external force of the spring, for example.
With respect to claim 11, Young in view of LIN discloses the charging structure according to claim 10, wherein: the first electrode includes an insertion segment and a limiting segment, wherein the insertion segment is configured for plug-in-insertion with the third electrode, and the limiting segment is connected with the insertion segment in a stepped configuration. Lin discloses in figure 2 that the needle shaft 2 also includes an upper section 22 and a lower section 21 connected with each other in a stepped configuration.
With respect to claim 12, Young in view of LIN discloses the charging structure according to claim 10, wherein: a first mating groove and a second mating groove that are interconnected with each other are formed on the mounting seat, wherein an inner surface of the first mating groove and an outer surface of the insertion segment are at least partially matched along a circumferential direction, and an inner surface of the second mating groove and an outer surface of the limiting segment are at least partially matched along the circumferential direction. In the pin connector as taught by Lin, the needle tube 1 is mated with the needle shaft 2, which include an upper (first) mating groove matching with the upper section 22 of the needle shaft 2 along a circumferential direction, and a lower (second) mating groove matching with the lower section 21 of needle shaft 2 along the circumferential direction, as illustrated in Fig. 2.
With respect to claim 13, Young in view of LIN discloses the charging structure according to claim 10, wherein: the sliding of the limiting segment is stopped by opposite inner walls of the second mating groove. In the pin connector as taught by Lin, the sliding range of the lower section 21 (i.e., the limiting segment) of the needle shaft 2 is limited by the two opposite inner walls of the lower mating groove in the needle tube 1 (as illustrated in Fig. 2).
With respect to claim 14, Young in view of LIN discloses the charging structure according to claim 11, wherein: the first electrode further includes an installation segment, wherein an outer diameter of the installation segment is smaller than an outer diameter of the limiting segment; and the first resilient element is a cylindrical spring, wherein an end of the cylindrical spring is sleeved on the installation segment, and another end of the cylindrical spring is fixed to the mounting seat. In the pin connector as taught by Lin, the needle shaft 2 further includes an position column 24 (installation segment) below the lower section 21 (limiting segment) and has a diameter less than the lower section 21, and the spring 3 of LIN is also connected between the position column 24 and the needle shaft (as illustrated in Fig. 2).
Claim(s) 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Young et al. (US 2022/0381624) (“Young”) in view of Brand et al. (US 9,459,710) (“Brand”).
With respect to claim 6, Young discloses the charging structure according to claim 5; except for, wherein: the first limiting groove includes a guiding portion with a conical shape.
Brand discloses a charging component for charging a stylus device, the bottom portion of the receiving area 204 of the charging component may be shape as an inverted cone to receive the tip 104; col. 3, lines 1-19.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention, to have modify Young and include the receiver 204 of the charging component 200, for the purpose of holding in the place the tip of the stylus device, for example.
With respect to claim 7, Young in view of Brand disclose the charging structure according to claim 6, wherein: a cone angle of the guiding portion is greater than a cone angle of the third electrode. Figure 1 of Brand discloses that the cone angle of the charging component is greater than the cone angle of the tip 104, to thus receive the tip 104.
With respect to claim 8, Young in view of Brand disclose the charging structure according to claim 6, wherein: a center of the guiding portion is configured to accommodate the tip of the third electrode. Figure 1 of Brand discloses that the cone receiving portion 204 of the charging component receive the tip 104.
With respect to claim 9, Young in view of Brand disclose the charging structure according to claim 5, wherein: the center of the guiding portion includes a recessed insertion portion with a cylindrical shape, wherein an inner diameter of the insertion portion is greater than a minimum outer diameter of the third electrode, and the insertion portion is configured to accommodate the tip of the third electrode. Figure 1 discloses electrical contact 206 to accommodate the tip 104.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Young et al. (US 2022/0381624) (“Young”) in view of Brand et al. (US 9,459,710) (“Brand”) in further view of WANG et al. (TW201027850) (Document provided on IDS of 6/24/2025).
With respect to claim 15, Young in view of Brand disclose the charging structure according to claim 7; except for wherein: an electrode connection plate is mounted on the mounting seat, wherein the first resilient element is disposed between the first electrode and the electrode connection plate, and the electrode connection plate is connected to the energy storage element.
WANG discloses a rechargeable battery connector 1, as shown in Fig. 1, which includes a metal probe 10, a compression spring 12, and a conductive medium body 14; it can be found from Fig. 1 of Wang that an electrode connection plate is arranged at the bottom of the conductive medium body 14, and the compression spring 12 is connected between the metal probe 10 and the electrode connection plate of the conductive medium body 14. Figure 4 of WANG also discloses the battery connector.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention, to have modify Young and Brand and include the connection plate of WANG, for the purpose of providing a battery connector that is easy to operate and can extend its useful life, for example.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Pittel et al. (US 2010/0021022) discloses a charger/holder for a stylus, the charger/holder comprises a chamber with respective terminals for holding the stylus. Pulvermacher (US 2023/0288264) discloses a charger for charging a temperature probe 10.
/CARLOS AMAYA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836