CTNF 18/502,520 CTNF 96370 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1 and 4-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Kimura (US 2016/0285142) . Regarding claim 1, Kimura discloses a battery system (title; abstract) comprising: a cell holder (23); a plurality of cells (21) disposed in the cell holder (23) and oriented to be aligned with an axis (see Figs. 4 and 6; [0034]; [0046]); a cell holder fluid circuit (40) formed around and between each of the plurality of cells (21) and extending through the cell holder (23) (see Fig. 6; [0036]; [0012]); an end fluid circuit (50) formed by an unobstructed channel at an axial end of the plurality of cells (21) (see Fig. 6; [0046]- [0047]); and a heater (37) disposed between the plurality of cells (21) and the end fluid circuit (50) at the axial end of the plurality of cells (21) and configured to heat the plurality of cells (see Modified Figure 6 below; [0046]-[0048]). PNG media_image1.png 746 801 media_image1.png Greyscale Modified Figure 6, Kimura Regarding claim 4, Kimura discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. Kimura further discloses that the cell holder fluid circuit (40) is axially aligned with the end fluid circuit (50) (see Modified Figure 6 above). Regarding claim 5, Kimura discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. Kimura further discloses a plurality of conductors (32) positioned between the plurality of cells (21) and the end fluid circuit (50) (see Modified Figure 6 above; [0047]). Examiner notes that the limitation “to conduct heat between the plurality of cells and the end fluid circuit” is merely an intended use limitation that does not require additional structure to the claimed battery system. Nevertheless, Kimura discloses that the plurality of conductors (32) are made of a metallic material excellent in heat transfer property ([0047]). Thus, the conductors (32) would clearly be capable of conducting heat between the plurality of cells (21) and the end fluid circuit (50). Thus, Kimura reads on all of the limitations in claim 5. Regarding claim 6, Kimura discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. Kimura further discloses a plurality of conductors (32) positioned between the plurality of cells (21) and the heater (37) (see Modified Figure 6 above; [0047]). Examiner notes that the limitation “to conduct heat between the plurality of cells and the heater” is merely an intended use limitation that does not require additional structure to the claimed battery system. Nevertheless, Kimura discloses that the plurality of conductors (32) are made of a metallic material excellent in heat transfer property ([0047]). Thus, the conductors (32) would clearly be capable of conducting heat between the plurality of cells (21) and the heater (37). Thus, Kimura reads on all of the limitations in claim 6. Regarding claim 7, Kimura discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. Kimura further discloses a second cell holder (23) disposed at an axial side of the end fluid circuit (50) opposite from the cell holder (23) (see Modified Figure 6 below; [0046]); and a second plurality of cells (21) disposed in the second cell holder (23) and oriented to be aligned with the axis (see Modified Figure 6 below; [0046]). PNG media_image2.png 746 829 media_image2.png Greyscale Modified Figure 6, Kimura Regarding claim 8, Kimura discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 7. Kimura further discloses a first plurality of conductors (32) positioned between the plurality of cells (21) and the end fluid circuit (50); and a second plurality of conductors (32) positioned between the second plurality of cells (21) and the end fluid circuit (50) (see Modified Figure 6 above; [0047]). Examiner notes that the limitations “to conduct heat between the plurality of cells and the end fluid circuit” and “to conduct heat between the second plurality of cells and the end fluid circuit” are merely intended use limitations that fail to require further structure to the claimed battery system. Nevertheless, Kimura discloses that the first and second plurality of conductors (32) are made of a metallic material excellent in heat transfer property ([0047]). Thus, the conductors (32) would clearly be capable of conducting heat between the cells (21) and the end fluid circuit (50). Thus, Kimura reads on all of the limitations in claim 8. Regarding claim 9, Kimura discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 7. Kimura further discloses a second heater (37) disposed between the second plurality of cells (21) and the end fluid circuit (50) and configured to heat the second plurality of cells (21) (see Modified Figure 6 above; [0046]-[0047]). Under BRI, examiner interprets each side of the heater (37) disposed within the end fluid circuit (50) as two separate heaters because each side of the heater (37) is intended to heat different sides (left/right) of the battery system (10) (see Fig. 6; [0047]). Regarding claims 10 and 11, Kimura discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. Examiner notes that the limitations in claims 10 and 11 requiring that either the cell holder fluid circuit or the end fluid circuit be configured to circulate a dielectric fluid or a non-dielectric fluid are merely intended use limitations that fail to require additional structure to the claimed battery system. As such, the battery system disclosed by Kimura merely needs to be capable of performing the intended use of claims 10 and 11 in order to satisfy the claims. As it stands, Kimura discloses that both the cell holder fluid circuit (40) and the end fluid circuit (50) are capable of circulating fluids (see Fig. 6; [0036]; [0046]-[0047]). Thus, the cell holder fluid circuit (40) and/or the end fluid circuit (50) disclosed by Kimura would also be capable of circulating a dielectric fluid or a non-dielectric fluid. Thus, Kimura satisfies all of the limitations in claims 10 and 11 . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-5, 10-11, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Björneklett et al. (US 2024/0234871) (Björneklett) in view of Crivellari (EP 3556598) (of record) . Regarding claim 1, Björneklett discloses a battery system (title; [0012]) comprising: a cell holder (2); a plurality of cells (5) disposed in the cell holder (2) and oriented to be aligned with an axis (see Fig. 3; [0081]; [0085]); a cell holder fluid circuit formed around and between each of the plurality of cells (5) and extending through the cell holder (2) (see Modified Figure 6 below; [0099]); and an end fluid circuit (18a) formed by an unobstructed channel at an axial end of the plurality of cells (5) (see Figs. 5a and 6; [0094]; [0099]). Björneklett further discloses that the battery system can further comprise a heater in order to generate heat during a start phase of the battery ([0118]). Björneklett fails to explicitly disclose, however, a specific location for the heater. PNG media_image3.png 437 1006 media_image3.png Greyscale Modified Figure 6, Björneklett Crivellari teaches a similar battery system (title) comprising a cell holder (2) and a plurality of cells (12) disposed in the cell holder (2) and oriented to be aligned with an axis (see Figs. 1-2; [0016]-[0018]). Crivellari further teaches that a plurality of heaters (20) are disposed on the lower side of the plurality of cells (12) (see Figs. 5, 5B, and 6; [0029]-[0030]). Crivellari further teaches that these heaters (20) are configured to heat the cells (20) in very cold environments when battery cell heating is required for functionality ([0029]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery system disclosed by Björneklett to have the heaters taught by Crivellari disposed on bottom surfaces of the battery cells because they would have had a reasonable expectation that doing so would allow for effective heating of the cells in cold environments when cell heating is required. Furthermore, given that Crivellari teaches that the heaters (Crivellari: 20) are disposed on the bottom surface of the cells (Crivellari: see Fig. 5; [0029]), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the heaters (Crivellari: 20) in modified Björneklett to be disposed between the plurality of cells (Björneklett: 5) and the end fluid circuit at the axial end of the plurality of cells (Björneklett: 5) since Björneklett teaches that the end fluid circuit is disposed outside of the bottom surfaces of the plurality of cells (Björneklett: 5) at the axial end (see Modified Figure 6 above). Thus, modified Björneklett satisfies all of the limitations in claim 1. Regarding claim 2, modified Björneklett discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. Modified Björneklett further discloses that the end fluid circuit is in fluid communication with the cell holder fluid circuit at a divergence disposed upstream of the plurality of cells (Björneklett: 5) (see Modified Figure 6 above; [0099]). Regarding claim 3, modified Björneklett discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. Modified Björneklett further discloses that the end fluid circuit is in fluid communication with the cell holder fluid circuit at a convergence disposed downstream of the plurality of cells (Björneklett: 5) (see Modified Figure 6 above; [0099]). Regarding claim 4, modified Björneklett discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. Modified Björneklett further discloses that the cell holder fluid circuit is axially aligned with the end fluid circuit (see Modified Figure 6 above). Regarding claim 5, modified Björneklett discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. Modified Björneklett further discloses a plurality of conductors (Björneklett: 14) positioned between the plurality of cells (Björneklett: 5) and the end fluid circuit (see Modified Figure 6 above; [0099]). Examiner notes that the limitation “to conduct heat between the plurality of cells and the end fluid circuit” is merely and intended use limitation that fails to require additional structure to the claimed battery system. Nevertheless, modified Björneklett discloses that the conductors (Björneklett: 14) can be made of metal (Björneklett: [0092]). Thus, the conductors (Björneklett: 14) would clearly be capable of conducting heat between the plurality of cells (Björneklett: 5) and the end fluid circuit. Thus, modified Björneklett satisfies all of the limitations in claim 5. Regarding claims 10 and 11, Björneklett discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. Examiner notes that the limitations in claims 10 and 11 requiring that either the cell holder fluid circuit or the end fluid circuit be configured to circulate a dielectric fluid or a non-dielectric fluid are merely intended use limitations that fail to require additional structure to the claimed battery system. As such, the battery system disclosed by modified Björneklett merely needs to be capable of performing the intended use of claims 10 and 11 in order to satisfy the claims. As it stands, modified Björneklett discloses that both the cell holder fluid circuit and the end fluid circuit are capable of circulating any thermal management fluid, including dielectric liquids ([0082]). Thus, the cell holder fluid circuit and/or the end fluid circuit disclosed by modified Björneklett would clearly be capable of circulating a dielectric fluid or a non-dielectric fluid. Thus, modified Björneklett satisfies all of the limitations in claims 10 and 11. Regarding claim 13, modified Björneklett discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. As set forth above, Crivellari teaches that the heaters (Crivellari: 20) are disposed on the bottom surfaces of the battery cells (Crivellari: 12) (Crivellari: see Fig. 5; [0029]). However, Björneklett teaches that some of the battery cells (Björneklett: 5) are oriented with their bottom surfaces pointed upward and some of the battery cells (Björneklett: 5) are oriented with bottom surfaces pointed downward (Björneklett: see Figs. 2a, 2b, and 9; [0086]). Thus, when combining the heaters (Crivellari: 20) taught by Crivellari to the bottom surfaces of the cells (Björneklett: 5) disclosed by Björneklett, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have configured some heaters (Crivellari: 20) to be disposed at one axial end of the plurality of cells (Björneklett: 5) and some heaters (Crivellari: 20) to be disposed at the other axial end of the plurality of cells (Björneklett: 5) given that some cells (Björneklett: 5) have bottom surfaces at the one axial end and some cells (Björneklett: 5) have bottom surfaces at the other axial end. Thus, modified Björneklett satisfies all of the limitations in claim 13. Regarding claim 14, modified Björneklett discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. Crivellari further teaches that the heaters (Crivellari: 20) are configured to be activated based on at least one temperature threshold (Crivellari: [0030]). Thus, modified Björneklett satisfies all of the limitations in claim 14 . 07-22-aia AIA Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Björneklett et al. (US 2024/0234871) (Björneklett) in view of Crivellari (EP 3556598) (of record) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Iritani et al. (US 2011/0300421) (Iritani) . Regarding claim 12, modified Björneklett discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. Crivellari further teaches that the heaters (Crivellari: 20) are also electrical conductors (Crivellari: [0029]). However, modified Björneklett fails to explicitly disclose that the heaters (Crivellari: 20) comprise an electrically resistive heater. However, electrically resistive heaters are common in the art. For instance, Iritani teaches a similar battery system (title) comprising a cell holder (4), a plurality of cells (2) disposed in the cell holder (4) and oriented to be aligned with an axis, and a heater (7) disposed at an axial end of the plurality of cells (2) (see Fig. 1; [0023]-[0024]; [0031]). Iritani further teaches that the heater (7) is an electrically resistive heater (heat generated by electric current) and is able to quickly heat the battery cells (2) in wintry conditions so that the battery cells (2) perform properly ([0031]-[0032]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have configured the heaters disclosed by modified Björneklett to be electrically resistive heaters, as taught by Iritani, because they would have had a reasonable expectation that doing so would allow for the battery cells to be quickly heated in wintry conditions so that they perform properly. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BRENDON C DARBY whose telephone number is (571)272-1225. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday: 7:30am - 5:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Katelyn Smith can be reached at (571) 270-5545. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /B.C.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1749 /KATELYN W SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1749 Application/Control Number: 18/502,520 Page 2 Art Unit: 1749 Application/Control Number: 18/502,520 Page 3 Art Unit: 1749 Application/Control Number: 18/502,520 Page 4 Art Unit: 1749 Application/Control Number: 18/502,520 Page 5 Art Unit: 1749 Application/Control Number: 18/502,520 Page 6 Art Unit: 1749 Application/Control Number: 18/502,520 Page 7 Art Unit: 1749 Application/Control Number: 18/502,520 Page 8 Art Unit: 1749 Application/Control Number: 18/502,520 Page 9 Art Unit: 1749 Application/Control Number: 18/502,520 Page 10 Art Unit: 1749 Application/Control Number: 18/502,520 Page 11 Art Unit: 1749 Application/Control Number: 18/502,520 Page 12 Art Unit: 1749 Application/Control Number: 18/502,520 Page 13 Art Unit: 1749 Application/Control Number: 18/502,520 Page 14 Art Unit: 1749