DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed 4/22/26 has been entered. Currently claims 1, 3-20 are pending, claims 2 is cancelled and claims 11-15 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, 8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krause (EP2848748 which has been machine translated).
As to claims 1, 6, 8 and 20, Krause discloses a multi-layer plank comprising a cover layer and a lower layer used as a floor/wall or ceiling covering (abs). The cover layer can be made of at least one wood layer and is can be made as a multilayer covering layer of wood. Further a damping layer made of cork, elastic can be added between the substrate and cover layer. The cover layer can have a varnish lacquer applied to the top surface. However this reference is silent to the structure as claimed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have formed the multilayer plant to have a multilayer cover layer formed from wood. Therefore the upper layer of wood will read on applicant’s upper layer, the second layer of wood will read on the stability layer, the damping layer being applied under the cover layer and the metal substrate read on applicant’s carrier plate. The covering layer would be PVC free as no pvc is used to form the layers and the stability layer would have a plastic content of 0 as it’s a wood layer. It would have been obvious to form this structure as it overlaps in scope of Krause as its suggested to use multiple cover layers.
As to claims 3 and 16, Krause discloses that a tongue and groove connection can be present if desired.
As to claim 4, Krause discloses that the underlay metal substrate can have a thickness of .05-3 mm.
As to claim 7, Krause discloses that the cover layer can be formed from wood.
Claims 5, 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krause (EP2848748 which has been machine translated) in view of Unvericht et al (US Patent 10160187).
As to claims 5 and 17, Krause renders obvious claim 1 for the reasons noted above, however is silent to the upper layer comprising a decorative layer. The cover layer can have a varnish lacquer applied to the top surface
Unvericht disclose a multilayer panel wherein the upper layer comprises a decorative layer which can be made of PET.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Krause and added a decorative layer to the upper layer as Krause teaches decorative layers are known and the additional layer would allow for an aesthetically pleasing flooring.
As to claim 18, Krause renders obvious claim 1 for the reasons noted above, however is silent to a PUR wear layer.
Unvericht discloses that a scratch resistant PUR layer on the top surface of the floor covering.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Krause and added a PUR scratch resistant upper layer to the flooring as it would provide extra protection to the floor panel when being walked on or having furniture moved on it.
As to claim 19, Krause renders obvious claim 1 for the reasons noted above, however is silent to an MDF stability layer.
Unvericht discloses that the stabilization layer is made of MDF
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary to have modified Krause and used MDF in the cover layers or have added a layer of MDF to the panel as Krause teaches the use of stabilization of the cover layer and panel and the MDF material would be a suitable alternative or provide suitable stabilization to the panel as Krause discloses that the wood can be formed as wood fiber boards.
Claims 9, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krause (EP2848748 which has been machine translated) in view of Pervan (WO 2011129755).
As to claims 9 and 10, Krause renders obvious claim 1 for the reasons noted above, however is silent to a countermove layer on the underside.
Pervan discloses a flooring comprising balancing layer on the backside of the panel made of a melamine resin impregnated cellulose fiber.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Krause and added a balancing layer on the backside of the panel as it would increase the properties of the panel such as sound dampening, moisture resistance and structural stability.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER M POLLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1785