DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 7-20 remain withdrawn.
In view of the amendment, filed 03/26/2026, the following objections and rejections are withdrawn from the previous Office Action mailed 12/29/2025:
Claim objections
Claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103
New grounds of rejection are necessitated by claim amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Narbonne et al., US 20120003508 A1, in view of Kim et al., KR 20100016719 A (references of record, Espacenet translation of Kim provided 12/29/2025 is referenced below).
Regarding claim 1, Narbonne discloses a method of forming a battery pack (Abstract, Fig. 1) from a plurality of battery cells (lithium electrochemical generators 3, 3’, 3’’, Fig. 1, [0027], [0063]), each battery cell having a container (container 4, Fig. 1, [0063]) and a pair of electrically conductive connectors extending from a portion of a sealed edge of the container (current output terminals 7, 8, Fig. 1, [0064]), comprising:
Forming a battery array (generators 3, 3’, 3’’ arranged in casing 2, Fig. 1) using a set of battery cells selected from among the plurality of battery cells (Fig. 1); and
Encasing, for each battery cell in the battery array, at least the container of the battery cell (foam covers the free surface of the side wall 12 of each container 4 over the entire height of the container, [0032], Fig. 1) and a first portion of the conductive connectors (inclusive of the portion of the terminals internal to the container 4 of each generator 3, Fig. 1, [0064]) with a polyurethane foam (polyurethane foam, [0041], [0075]) formed using a non-conductive physical blowing agent ([0078], [0080], the materials in line with the presently disclosed blowing agents in [0026]) and having a second portion of the conductive connectors protruding beyond the polyurethane foam (Fig. 1, portion of the terminals 7, 8 protruding above the upper surface of the foam 10).
Narbonne discloses the container 4 of each battery cell being of cylindrical form but teaches that other forms can also be used ([0064]). Narbonne does not disclose the cells are pouch cells wherein the pair of electrically conductive connectors extend from a portion of a sealed edge of each pouch.
In the analogous art, Kim discloses battery pouch cells (p. 2, lines 85-87) that can be arranged as unit cells in an assembly of multiple battery cells (p. 2, lines 101-105). Kim teaches that pouch cells were a known alternative form to cylindrical battery cells (p. 1, lines 28-29). Kim teaches that pouch cells are generally desirable as they are lightweight, low cost, and can be stacked (p. 1, lines 29-30). Kim teaches the battery pouch cells having a pair of electrically conductive connectors (positive and negative electrode tabs, p. 2, lines 90-93) extending from a portion of a sealed edge of the pouch (plurality of electrode tabs 20 projecting from sealed edge of pouch 80, Figs. 3-4, p. 2, lines 108-109; see also illustration of conventional arrangement in Fig. 1) so that it is possible to easily make electrical connections between the battery cells and/or to other input/output terminals (p. 2, lines 97-99).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cylindrical form of the battery cells of Narbonne to use a pouch cell form as disclosed by Kim as a substitution of one known battery cell form for another yielding predictable results and providing the added benefit of being lightweight and low in manufacturing cost as taught by Kim. MPEP 2143(I)(B). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further specify the pair of electrically conductive connectors of the combination extended from a portion of a sealed edge of each pouch consistent with the general arrangement of the terminals of Narbonne and in order to predictably facilitate electrical connections between the battery cells and/or other electrical components of the battery module, as taught by Kim.
Regarding claim 3, modified Narbonne discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the non-conductive physical blowing agent includes at least one of the claimed materials (Narbonne [0080]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Narbonne discloses the method of claim 1. Narbonne does not disclose applying an insulative film as claimed.
Kim further teaches applying an insulative film (either of insulating film 10 or insulating tape 90, Figs. 3-4) at least at the sealed edge having the pair of electrically conductive connectors (Figs. 3-4, p. 2, lines 110-118). Kim teaches the insulating film/tape insulates the tabs from the pouch, prevents the penetration of moisture and impurities into the pouch, and can prevent a short circuit between the electrodes (p. 2, lines 110-112, p. 3, lines 128-129, 163-164).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the method of the combination to include applying an insulative film at least at the sealed edge having the pair of electrically conductive connectors prior to encasing in order to insulate the connectors from the pouch, prevent the penetration of moisture and impurities into the pouch, and prevent a short circuit between the electrodes, as taught by Kim.
Regarding claim 5, modified Narbonne discloses the method of claim 4. The combination did not address applying the insulative film to another portion.
Kim further teaches applying the insulative film to a portion of the sealed edge not having the pair of electrically conductive connectors so as to prevent penetration of moisture or other impurities into the pouch (Figs. 5-6, surrounding the pouch along the sides, p. 2, line 118 – p. 3, line 129).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further specify for the method that the insulative film is further applied to a portion of the sealed edge not having the pair of electrically conductive connectors in order to provide improved insulation around the other sides of the pouch to prevent intrusion of moisture or impurities, as taught by Kim.
Regarding claim 6, modified Narbonne discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the insulative film is at least one of an insulative tape or a heat-laminated film (Kim discloses insulating tape or film, p. 2, lines 110-118).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Narbonne et al., US 20120003508 A1, in view of Kim et al., KR 20100016719 A, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Allen et al., US 20060222838 A1.
Regarding claim 2, modified Narbonne discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the encasing, for each battery pouch cell in the battery array, at least the pouch of the battery pouch cell and the first portion of the conductive connectors further comprises:
Applying a liquid polyurethane precursor with the non-conductive physical blowing agent to the battery array (diisocyanate and polyol mixture with the foaming agent, [0076], [0078], [0080]-[0082], foam is injected, [0090]).
Narbonne discloses the use of physical blowing agent forms a rigid foam under action of heat ([0078], [0082]) but does not specifically disclose a step of heating the battery array to cure the liquid polyurethane precursor to form the polyurethane foam.
In the analogous art, Allen discloses forming structural members with polyurethane foam (Abstract, [0016]) including foaming in place and foaming in molds ([0051]-[0052], [0054]). Allen teaches heating the foam-forming mixture and/or the element the mixture is applied to in order to accelerate curing or to complete curing of the foam and fully develop its properties ([0055]).
In the case it was not necessarily present, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the method of Narbonne to include heating the battery array to cure the liquid polyurethane precursor to form the polyurethane foam in order to accelerate the curing and/or to ensure complete curing and full development of the foam properties, as taught by Allen.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pp. 7-8, filed 03/26/2026, with respect to claim amendments and the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made over Narbonne in view of Kim. The combination as presently applied addresses the amended requirement directed to a portion of the conductive connectors being encased with the foam and a portion protruding beyond the foam.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.L.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1754
/SUSAN D LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1754