Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species 1 (claims 2-9, 26-28) in the reply filed on 2/26/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Species 1-4 are not mutually exclusive. This is not found persuasive because the cooperating geometry including the axial retention mechanism having the particular combination in Species 1-4 according to Figure 2-4. 5-6, 7-10 and 11-16 respectively as described in the restriction mailed 1/23/2026 are mutually exclusive.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 10-25 and 29-36 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 2/26/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2018/0193780 A1 to Harrelson et al. (hereinafter “Harrelson”).
Regarding claim 1, Harrelson disclose a filter cartridge (filter: 100) comprising:
a canister (housing: 300) configured to hold a filter element (filter media: 16), the canister (300) having a canister body with an open end (304) and an end closure (cover plate 200), the end closure having:
a central annular element locating feature (axial collar 219); and
an annular frame portion (ledge 216) circumscribing the central annular element locating feature (216);
wherein the canister body and end closure (200) have cooperating geometry for retaining the end closure (200) to the open end (304) of the canister (300), the cooperating geometry including:
an axial retention mechanism (engagement tabs 220) for maintaining an attachment between the canister (300) and the end closure (200), the axial retention mechanism configured to maintain the attachment solely via mechanical interference (see Figures 1-4; paragraphs [0025]-[0036]).
Regarding claim 2, Harrelson disclose that the axial retention mechanism comprises:
an internal annular rib (316) circumscribing an inner surface of the canister (300), proximate the open end (304); and
an external annular rib (220) circumscribing an outer surface of the flexible portion of the end closure (200), the external annular rib (220) of the flexible portion of the end closure configured and arranged to engage the internal annular rib (316) of the canister when the end closure (200) is attached to the open end (304) of the canister (300) (see Figures 1, 4).
Regarding claim 3, Harrelson disclose that the internal annular rib (316) extends continuously around the inner surface of the canister (300) (see Figures 1, 4).
Regarding claim 5, Harrelson disclose that the external annular rib (220) extends continuously around the outer surface of the flexible portion of the end closure (200) (see Figures 1, 4).
Regarding claim 8, Harrelson disclose that an axial end (228, 232) of the flexible portion of the end closure (200) is chamfered to facilitate insertion of the end closure into the canister body (300) (see Figures 1, 4; paragraph [0032]).
Regarding claim 9, Harrelson disclose that the end closure (200) includes a groove (250) that extends around a circumference of an outer perimeter surface (212) of the annular frame portion (216), the groove configured to seat an O-ring (252) (see Figures 1, 4; paragraph [0031]).
Claims 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2012/0261323 A1 to Badeau et al. (hereinafter “Badeau”).
Regarding claim 26, Badeau discloses a filter cartridge (filter apparatus 10) comprising: a filter element (filter media 30) located within a canister (housing 12), wherein
the canister (12) includes a canister body with an open end and an end closure (nutplate 14), the end closure (14) having:
a central annular element locating feature (connective portion 28);
an annular frame portion (outer floating seals 20) circumscribing the element locating feature (28) including an annular rigid attachment portion and an annular flexible portion i.e. flexible fingers projecting from the rigid attachment portion; and
radial support ribs projecting between the element locating feature (28) and the rigid attachment portion of the frame portion, wherein the flexible portion is unconstrained by the radial support ribs, the canister body and end closure (14) having cooperating geometry retaining the end closure (14) to the open end of the canister, the cooperating geometry including:
an internal annular rib (18) circumscribing an inner surface of the canister, proximate the open end; and
an external annular rib (16) circumscribing an outer surface of the flexible portion of the end closure, the external annular rib of the flexible portion of the end closure configured and arranged to engage the internal annular rib of the canister when the end closure is attached to the open end of the canister (see figures 1-2, and paragraphs [0066]-[0070]).
Regarding claim 27, Badeau discloses that the internal annular rib (18) extends continuously around the inner surface of the canister (12)(see Figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 28, Badeau discloses that the external annular rib (16) extends continuously around the outer surface of the flexible portion of the end closure (14) (see Figures 1-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harrelson.
Harrelson disclose the filter cartridge as described above.
Harrelson teaches the internal annular rib (316), the external annular rib (220) and mechanical interference between the external annular rib and the internal annular rib (see Figures 1-4; paragraphs [0025]-[0036]). Particular height of internal or external annular rib and mechanical interference between the external annular rib and the internal annular rib can be optimized for desired interference fit between the external annular rib and the internal annular rib and would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Claims 4 and 6 differ from Harrelson in reciting that the internal annular rib has an average height of five hundredths of an inch with respect to the inner surface of the canister (claim 4) and the external annular rib has an average height of ten hundredths of an inch with respect to the outer surface of the flexible portion of the end closure (claim 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the internal annular rib to have an average height of five hundredths of an inch with respect to the inner surface of the canister and the external annular rib to have an average height of ten hundredths of an inch with respect to the outer surface of the flexible portion of the end closure, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claim 7 differs from Harrelson in reciting that the mechanical interference between the external annular rib and the internal annular rib is at least three hundredths of an inch.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the mechanical interference between the external annular rib and the internal annular rib to be at least three hundredths of an inch, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
/John Kim/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777
JK
3/25/26