Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Suzuki (U.S. Patent Application Publication 20160035661 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Suzuki discloses (Title: Support Member, Wiring Substrate, Method for Manufacturing Wiring Substrate, and Method for Manufacturing Semiconductor Package) a wiring substrate (wiring substrate 1, ¶18) comprising:
a metal layer (copper foil 11, ¶20; and/or copper foil 13 comprising of thin foil 13a & thick foil 13b, ¶23);
a resin layer (resin layer 12, ¶21) that is laminated on the metal layer (¶23, “The thick foil 13b is adhered to the copper foil 11 by way of the resin layer 12”; FIG. 5a depicts copper foil 13 directly provided on resin layer 12); and
a wiring structure (wiring part 20, ¶24) that includes a wiring layer (wiring layer 23, ¶24) and an insulating layer (insulating layer 22, ¶24) that are laminated on the resin layer and in which the wiring layer is located by being brought into contact with the resin layer (¶23-26 Suzuki discloses the arrangement of layers, as depicted in FIG. 5a; wiring layer 23 contacts resin layer 12 through electrical contact. Similarly, wiring layer 23 contacts copper foil layers 13a & 13b through electrical contact).
Regarding claim 2, Suzuki further discloses the wiring substrate according to claim 1, as detailed above, wherein the resin layer is made of an insulating resin having etching resistance with respect to an etching solution (solution, ¶67) that is used to remove the metal layer (¶67, “the thin foil 13a is removed to expose the lower surface of the wiring layer 21, so that a bump 74 can be formed on the lower surface of the wiring layer 21. The thin foil 13a formed of copper may be removed by a wet-etching method using, for example, a hydrogen peroxide/sulfuric acid solution, a sodium persulfate solution, or an ammonium persulfate solution”, the solution does not remove/dissolve insulating layer 22, as depicted in FIG. 5B & 5C; ¶35 Suzuki discloses that insulating layer 22 and resin layer 12 are of the same composition, which is then etching resistant to the solution used to remove the metal layer [thin copper foil 13a]).
Regarding claim 3, Suzuki further discloses the wiring substrate according to claim 1, as detailed above, wherein the resin layer is made of an insulating resin that does not include a reinforcement material (¶49, “For example, a film-like non-photosensitive insulating resin (e.g., thermosetting resin) having an epoxy type resin or a polyimide type resin as a main component may be used as the material of the insulating layer 22”; ¶35 Suzuki discloses that insulating layer 22 and resin layer 12 are of the same composition).
Regarding claim 4, Suzuki further discloses the wiring substrate according to claim 1, as detailed above, wherein the resin layer (resin layer 12) is made of a same insulating resin as an insulating resin (insulating layer 22) that is used for the insulating layer included in the wiring structure (¶35, “insulating resins having the same compositions are preferred to be used for the resin layer 12 of the support member 10 and the insulating layer 22 of the wiring member 20”).
Regarding claim 5, Suzuki further discloses the wiring substrate according to claim 1, as detailed above, wherein the resin layer has a thickness that is thinner than a thickness of the metal layer (¶22, “The thickness of the copper foil 11 is, for example, approximately 7 μm to 50 μm”; ¶77, “The support member 10.sub.3 can be formed to have a desired strength by adjusting the layer thicknesses of the copper foils 11.sub.1, 11.sub.2 and adjusting the layer thicknesses of the resin layers 12.sub.1, 12.sub.2”).
Regarding claim 6, Suzuki further discloses the wiring substrate according to claim 1, as detailed above, wherein the resin layer has a thickness that is thinner than a thickness of the wiring layer (¶48, “The thickness of the wiring layer 21 may be, for example, approximately 5 μm to 20 μm”; FIG. 5a depicts resin layer 12 to be thinner in thickness than wiring layer 23).
Regarding claim 7, Suzuki further discloses the wiring substrate according to claim 1, as detailed above, wherein the resin layer has a thickness that is thinner than a thickness of the insulating layer (¶49, “The thickness of the insulating layer 22 may be, for example, approximately 10 μm to 50 μm”; FIG. 5a depicts resin layer 12 to be thinner in thickness than insulating layer 22).
Conclusion
/E.D.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3729 /THOMAS J HONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3729