DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 filed on November 06, 2023 are pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) and certified copy of paper required by 37 CFR 1.55 is received.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on March 12, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner and an initialed and dated copy of the Applicant’s IDS form 1449 is attached to the instant Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-7, 11-12 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Khoshnevisan et al. (US 2023/0354322 A1, Provisional application No. 63/336,138, filed on Apr.28, 2022, hereinafter "Khosh1").
Regarding claim 1, Khosh1 discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
receiving configuration information on a resource for transmitting a first physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) based on a configured grant, the first PUSCH being associated with a first control resource set (CORESET) pool identifier (Khosh1, [0105] In a CG-PUSCH example, the CORESETPoolIndex value of the CG-PUSCH (i.e. first PUSCH) may be configured in RRC signaling as part of the CG configuration (i.e. configured grant));
receiving downlink control information (DCI) including information on a resource for transmitting a second PUSCH based on a dynamic grant (DG), the second PUSCH being associated with a second CORESET pool identifier (Khosh1, [0105] In a DG-PUSCH (i.e. dynamic grant, second PUSCH) example, the CORESETPoolIndex of the CORESET in which the scheduling DCI is transmitted may be used… where each transmission group is associated with a different CORESETPoolIndex value), wherein the resource for transmitting the first PUSCH overlaps with all or part of the resource for transmitting the second PUSCH in a time domain (Khosh1, [0095] A UE 115 may receive signaling that schedules a set of uplink transmissions that at least partially overlap in a time domain, the set of uplink transmissions including at least one DG based uplink transmission and at least one CG based uplink transmission);
identifying whether a value of the first CO RESET pool identifier is different from a value of the second CO RESET pool identifier (Khosh1, [0107] the CG PUSCH or DG PUSCH may be associated with different transmission groups, where a transmission group may be defined based on the CORESETPoolIndex… determined based on a UE panel ID defining the uplink beam group); and
in case that the value of the first CORESET pool identifier is identified to be different from the value of the second CORESET pool identifier, transmitting the first PUSCH and the second PUSCH (Khosh1, [0107-0108] the CG PUSCH or DG PUSCH may be associated with different transmission groups… This may include at least one DG based uplink transmission and at least one CG based uplink transmission being scheduled. Each (e.g., some or all) of the uplink transmissions may be associated with a corresponding transmission group of the available transmission groups used).
Regarding claim 2, Khosh1 discloses in case that the value of the first CORESET pool identifier is identified to be equal to the value of the second CORESET pool identifier, further comprising:
transmitting the second PUSCH based on the DG among the first PUSCH and the second PUSCH, wherein the first PUSCH based on the CG is dropped (Khosh1, [0117-0118] CG PUSCH 240 may be considered a LP-CG-PUSCH,UE 205 may cancel the overlapping portion of the uplink transmission (or drop completely in some examples) having the lowest priority level within the same transmission group when the overlapping uplink transmissions are scheduled within the same transmission group; UE 205 may cancel the overlapping portion of the uplink transmission (or drop completely in some examples) having the lowest priority level within the same transmission group (i.e. first PUSCH with CG) when the overlapping uplink transmissions are scheduled within the same transmission group).
Regarding claim 6, Khosh1 discloses a method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
transmitting configuration information on a resource for transmitting a first physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) based on a configured grant, the first PUSCH being associated with a first control resource set (CORESET) pool identifier (Khosh1, [0105] In a CG-PUSCH example, the CORESETPoolIndex value of the CG-PUSCH (i.e. first PUSCH) may be configured in RRC signaling as part of the CG configuration (i.e. configured grant));
transmitting downlink control information (DCI) including information on a resource for transmitting a second PUSCH based on a dynamic grant (DG), the second PUSCH being associated with a second CORESET pool identifier (Khosh1, [0105] In a DG-PUSCH (i.e. second PUSCH, dynamic grant) example, the CORESETPoolIndex of the CORESET in which the scheduling DCI is transmitted may be used… where each transmission group is associated with a different CORESETPoolIndex value), wherein the resource for transmitting the first PUSCH overlaps with all or part of the resource for transmitting the second PUSCH in a time domain (Khosh1, [0095] A UE 115 may receive signaling that schedules a set of uplink transmissions that at least partially overlap in a time domain, the set of uplink transmissions including at least one DG based uplink transmission and at least one CG based uplink transmission); and
in case that a value of the first CO RESET pool identifier is different from a value of the second CORESET pool identifier (Khosh1, [0107-0108] the CG PUSCH or DG PUSCH may be associated with different transmission groups… Each (e.g., some or all) of the uplink transmissions may be associated with a corresponding transmission group of the available transmission groups used), receiving the first PUSCH and the second PUSCH (Khosh1, [0108] This may include at least one DG based uplink transmission and at least one CG based uplink transmission being scheduled).
Regarding claim 7, Khosh1 discloses in case that the value of the first CORESET pool identifier equal to the value of the second CO RESET pool identifier, further comprising:
receiving the second PUSCH based on the DG among the first PUSCH and the second PUSCH, wherein the first PUSCH based on the CG is dropped (Khosh1, [0117-0118] CG PUSCH 240 may be considered a LP-CG-PUSCH,UE 205 may cancel the overlapping portion of the uplink transmission (or drop completely in some examples) having the lowest priority level within the same transmission group when the overlapping uplink transmissions are scheduled within the same transmission group; UE 205 may cancel the overlapping portion of the uplink transmission (or drop completely in some examples) having the lowest priority level within the same transmission group (i.e. first PUSCH with CG) when the overlapping uplink transmissions are scheduled within the same transmission group).
Regarding claims 11-12 and 16-17, these claims recite "a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system" and "a base station in a wireless communication system" that disclose similar steps as recited by the method of claims 1-2 and 6-7, thus are rejected with the same rationale applied against claims 1-2 and 6-7 as presented above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4, 8-9, 13-14 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshnevisan et al. (US 2023/0354322 A1, Provisional application No. 63/336,138, filed on Apr.28, 2022, hereinafter "Khosh1") in view of Khoshnevisan et al. (US 2024/0098735 A1, hereinafter "Khosh2").
Regarding claim 3, Khosh1 does not explicitly disclose identifying whether a sum of a number of a first layer allocated to the first PUSCH and a number of a second layer allocated to the second PUSCH is less than or equal to a number of a maximum uplink transmission layer,
wherein in case that the sum of the number of the first layer allocated to the first PUSCH and the number of the second layer allocated to the second PUSCH is less than or equal to the number of the maximum uplink transmission layer, the first PUSCH and the second PUSCH is transmitted, and
wherein in case that the sum of the number of the first layer allocated to the first PUSCH and the number of the second layer allocated to the second PUSCH is greater than the number of the maximum uplink transmission layer, transmission for at least part of the first layer and the second layer is dropped.
Khosh2 from the same field of endeavor discloses identifying whether a sum of a number of a first layer allocated to the first PUSCH and a number of a second layer allocated to the second PUSCH is less than or equal to a number of a maximum uplink transmission layer (Khosh2, [0047] the UE may not expect the network entity to schedule an overlapping PUSCH transmission and PUCCH transmission where the scheduled quantity of layers (and/or antenna ports for codebook based
PUSCH) exceed the maximum quantity of layers (and/or the maximum quantity of antenna ports for codebook based PUSCH)),
wherein in case that the sum of the number of the first layer allocated to the first PUSCH and the number of the second layer allocated to the second PUSCH is less than or equal to the number of the maximum uplink transmission layer, the first PUSCH and the second PUSCH is transmitted (Khosh2, [0047] if the quantity of PUSCH layers (e.g., or antenna ports for codebook based PUSCH) exceeds the configured maximum, the UE may multiplex the PUCCH content onto the PUSCH transmission and transmit the PUSCH transmission (and not the PUCCH transmission)), and
wherein in case that the sum of the number of the first layer allocated to the first PUSCH and the number of the second layer allocated to the second PUSCH is greater than the number of the maximum uplink transmission layer, transmission for at least part of the first layer and the second layer is dropped (Khosh2, [0047] if the quantity of scheduled PUSCH layers (e.g., or antenna ports for code book based PUSCH) exceeds the configured maximum, the UE may drop either the scheduled PUSCH transmission or the scheduled PUCCH transmission).
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified simultaneous uplink transmissions disclosed by Khosh1 and overlap PUSCH disclosed by Khosh2 with a motivation to make this modification in order to support overlapping physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) and physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmissions (Khosh2, [0003]).
Regarding claim 4, Khosh1 does not explicitly disclose wherein transmitting both the first PUSCH and the second PUSCH is not performed in at least one case of when the value of the first CORESET pool identifier is identified to be equal to the value of the second CORESET pool identifier (not given patentable weight due to not selected option), or when the sum of the number of the first layer allocated to the first PUSCH and the number of the second layer allocated to the second PUSCH is greater than the number of the maximum uplink transmission layer, in a resource region in which the resource for transmitting the first PUSCH overlaps with all or part of the resource for transmitting the second PUSCH.
Khosh2 from the same field of endeavor discloses wherein transmitting both the first PUSCH and the second PUSCH is not performed in when the sum of the number of the first layer allocated to the first PUSCH and the number of the second layer allocated to the second PUSCH is greater than the number of the maximum uplink transmission layer, in a resource region in which the resource for transmitting the first PUSCH overlaps with all or part of the resource for transmitting the second PUSCH (Khosh2, [0106, 0115] the maximum quantity of antenna ports may be configured as P'=min(P-1,Q) where P is a sum quantity of ports restriction (quantity of PUSCH ports of the PUSCH+1<=P (because the PUCCH is configured to use a single antenna port)) and Q is a restriction of a quantity of PUSCH ports (quantity of PUSCH ports of the PUSCH<=Q). Q corresponds to the maximum quantity of antenna ports of the PUSCH per CORESET pool index value in the presence of simultaneous transmission with PUCCH. P'; the control message 220-a indicates a quantity of antenna ports for the PUSCH transmission 250 that exceed the configured maximum quantity of antenna ports) the UE 115-a may drop
either the PUSCH transmission 250 or the PUCCH transmission 260).
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified simultaneous uplink transmissions disclosed by Khosh1 and overlap PUSCH disclosed by Khosh2 with a motivation to make this modification in order to support overlapping physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) and physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmissions (Khosh2, [0003]).
Regarding claims 8-9, 13-14 and 18-19, these claims recite "a method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system", "a base station in a wireless communication system" and "a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system" that disclose similar steps as recited by the method of claims 3-4, thus are rejected with the same rationale applied against claim 3-4 as presented above.
Claim(s) 5, 10, 15 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshnevisan et al. (US 2023/0354322 A1, Provisional application No. 63/336,138, filed on Apr.28, 2022, hereinafter "Khosh1") in view of Ouchi et al. (US 2024/0365330 A1, hereinafter "Ouchi").
Regarding claim 5, Khosh1 does not explicitly disclose wherein the configuration information on the resource for transmitting the first PUSCH includes a number that the first PUSCH is repeatedly transmitted, and information on a redundancy version (RV) sequence including four RVs having one value among 0 to 3 for each of repetitions of the first PUSCH,
wherein the first PUSCH is transmitted when, among the repetitions of the first PUSCH, the first PUSCH overlaps with the second PUSCH on a resource corresponding to the RV having a value corresponding to a specific value, and
wherein the first PUSCH is not transmitted when, among the repetitions of the first PUSCH, the first PUSCH overlaps with the second PUSCH on a resource corresponding to the RV having a value corresponding to a value other than the specific value.
Ouchi from the same field of endeavor discloses wherein the configuration information on the resource for transmitting the first PUSCH includes a number that the first PUSCH is repeatedly transmitted, and information on a redundancy version (RV) sequence including four RVs having one value among 0 to 3 for each of repetitions of the first PUSCH (Ouchi, [0244] apply to PUSCH transmissions of PUSCH repetition Type A with a Type 1 or Type 2 configured grant. The RRC parameter repK-RV defines the redundancy version pattern to be applied to the repetitions… , the initial transmission of a transport block may start the first transmission occasion of the K repetitions if the configured RV sequence is {0,2,3,1}),
wherein the first PUSCH is transmitted when, among the repetitions of the first PUSCH, the first PUSCH overlaps with the second PUSCH on a resource corresponding to the RV having a value corresponding to a specific value (Ouchi, [0287] When a UE determines overlapping for PUCCH and/or PUSCH transmissions of different priority indexes, including repetitions if any, the UE may first resolve the overlapping for PUCCH and/or PUSCH transmissions of smaller priority index), and
wherein the first PUSCH is not transmitted when, among the repetitions of the first PUSCH, the first PUSCH overlaps with the second PUSCH on a resource corresponding to the RV having a value corresponding to a value other than the specific value (Ouchi, [0287] if a transmission of a first PUCCH of larger priority index scheduled by a DCI format in a PDCCH reception would overlap in time with a repetition of a transmission of a second PUSCH or a second PUCCH of smaller priority index, the UE may cancel the repetition of a transmission of the second PUSCH or the second PUCCH before the first symbol that would overlap with the first PUCCH transmission).
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified simultaneous uplink transmissions disclosed by Khosh1 and overlap PUSCH disclosed by Ouchi with a motivation to make this modification in order to improve communication flexibility and/or efficiency may be beneficial (Ouchi, [0004]).
Regarding claims 10, 15 and 20, these claims recite "a method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system", "a base station in a wireless communication system" and "a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system" that disclose similar steps as recited by the method of claim 5, thus are rejected with the same rationale applied against claim 5 as presented above.
Conclusion
/LUNA WEISSBERGER/Examiner, Art Unit 2415