DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
Claims 1-20 and 22 have been examined and rejected. This Office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 09/03/2026, which has been entered in the above identified application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams et al. (US 9898250 B1, published 02/20/2018), hereinafter Williams, in view of Hart et al. (US 9842584 B1, published 12/12/2017), hereinafter Hart, in further view of Rumi et al. (JP2007068110A, published 03/15/2007), hereinafter Rumi. Examiner note: English translation of foreign publication is used here as reference for rejection; all citations are to the translation.
Regarding claim 1, Williams teaches the claim comprising:
A media playback system associated with a listening environment, the media playback system comprising: a first playback device; and a second playback device comprising: at least one microphone, one or more processors, and tangible computer-readable memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the second playback device to perform operations comprising (Williams Figs. 1-18; col. 8 [line 18], the system 100 may enable the user 10 to instruct the server(s) 112 to generate output audio 30 using any combination of the speaker(s) 20; user 10 may control the output audio 30 (e.g., select an audio source 40, adjust a volume, stop or mute the output audio 30, or the like), control the output devices generating the output audio 30 (e.g., generate output audio 30 in one or more output zones), or the like using spoken commands; the device(s) 110 may be located in a house and the system 100 may generate the output audio 30 in one or more rooms of the house; the house may include multiple speaker systems (e.g., speaker(s) 20) that are not connected to the device(s) 110 and the system 100 may control the multiple speaker systems to play music from an audio source in response to a voice command (e.g., input audio 11); col. 8 [line 46], an audio capture component, such as a microphone of device 110, captures audio 11 corresponding to a spoken utterance; col. 17 [line 33], the server(s) 112 may generate output audio 30 using the speakers 20a-1/20a-2/20b/20c and/or device 110c in Room 1, Room 3 and/or Room 4 of the house 440; the device 110c (e.g., television) may act as an input device (e.g., include a microphone array configured to receive the input audio 11) and as an output device (e.g., include speakers configured to generate the output audio 30); while devices 110a, 110b-1 and 110b-2 are included as input devices, they may generate output audio 30 without departing from the present disclosure; col. 18 [line 44], FIG. 5A illustrates output devices located in house 540a, such as device 110a in Room 1, speaker 20a-1 and speaker 20a-2 in Room 1, device 110c (e.g., television) in Room 1, speaker 20b in Room 3 and speaker 20c in Room 4; col. 19 [line 8], the user 10 and/or the server(s) 112 may select output devices and generate output zones, as illustrated in FIG; a house 540b illustrated in FIG. 5C include the device 110a, the device 110c and the speakers 20a in Zone 1, speaker 20b in Zone 2 and speaker 20c in Zone 4, as illustrated by interface 520 shown in FIG. 5D; an output zone may include input devices and/or output devices in multiple rooms; Zone 5 (not shown) may include Zone 1, Zone 2, Zone 3 and Zone 4 and may be used to generate output audio 30 all over the house 540b; col. 22 [line 13], the device 110a may be included in the master association table 602 as an input device (e.g., microphone) and as an output device (e.g., speaker); col. 36 [line 12], each of these devices (110/112) may include one or more controllers/processors (1604/1704), that may each include a central processing unit (CPU) for processing data and computer-readable instructions, and a memory (1606/1706) for storing data and instructions of the respective device; each device may also include a data storage component (1608/1708), for storing data and controller/processor-executable instructions):
receiving, via the at least one microphone, voice input data from a first source; determining, in response to receiving the voice input data from the first source, feedback for playback, the determined feedback for playback comprising at least one audio feedback element (Williams Figs. 1-18; abs. the system may generate voice output and send the voice output to the speakers, along with a command to reduce a volume of output audio while playing the voice output; col. 8 [line 18], the system 100 may control the multiple speaker systems to play music from an audio source in response to a voice command (e.g., input audio 11); col. 18 [line 44], FIG. 5A illustrates output devices located in house 540a, such as device 110a in Room 1, speaker 20a-1 and speaker 20a-2 in Room 1, device 110c (e.g., television) in Room 1, speaker 20b in Room 3 and speaker 20c in Room 4; col. 26 [line 28], FIGS. 10A-10B illustrate communication and operations among devices to determine that a voice command is being received and lower a volume of corresponding output audio; FIG. 10A illustrates an example of the server(s) 112 sending output audio data to speaker(s) 20 directly when receiving the voice command; as illustrated in FIG. 10A, the server(s) 112 may send (1006) output audio data to the speaker(s) 20 and the speaker(s) 20 may play (1008) output audio using the output audio data; while the speaker(s) 20 are playing the output audio, a device 110 may receive (1010) input audio; the device 110 may identify a wakeword in the input audio; col. 25 [line 51] – col. 26 [line 2], the output audio 960 may include the music playing at a first volume and the voice output playing at a second volume higher than the first volume; col. 32 [line 4], after the system 100 interprets a command from the input audio data, the system 100 may generate the voice output data and send the voice output data to the speaker(s) 20; col. 32 [line 21], while the speaker(s) 20 is playing the output audio, an input device 110 may receive (1214) input audio and send (1216) input audio data to the server(s) 112; the server(s) 112 may determine (1218) a first command from the input audio data; the server(s) 112 may generate (1220) voice output data corresponding to the first command),
determining, based on information related to a bonded configuration of the first playback device and the second playback device, selecting the first playback device for playback of the determined feedback for playback, and causing output, of the determined feedback for playback, by the first playback device (Williams Figs. 1-18; col. 7 [line 18], the server(s) 112 may select every speaker 20 and/or output zone, may identify a preferred output zone (e.g., living room) based on previously received commands, may identify speaker(s) and/or an output zone associated with the device 110 that received the input audio 11; col. 8 [line 18], the system 100 may enable the user 10 to instruct the server(s) 112 to generate output audio 30 using any combination of the speaker(s) 20; the system 100 may control the multiple speaker systems to play music from an audio source in response to a voice command (e.g., input audio 11); col. 8 [line 46], an audio capture component, such as a microphone of device 110, captures audio 11 corresponding to a spoken utterance; col. 17 [line 33], the server(s) 112 may generate output audio 30 using the speakers 20a-1/20a-2/20b/20c and/or device 110c in Room 1, Room 3 and/or Room 4 of the house 440; the device 110c (e.g., television) may act as an input device (e.g., include a microphone array configured to receive the input audio 11) and as an output device (e.g., include speakers configured to generate the output audio 30); while devices 110a, 110b-1 and 110b-2 are included as input devices, they may generate output audio 30 without departing from the present disclosure; col. 18 [line 44], FIG. 5A illustrates output devices located in house 540a, such as device 110a in Room 1, speaker 20a-1 and speaker 20a-2 in Room 1, device 110c (e.g., television) in Room 1, speaker 20b in Room 3 and speaker 20c in Room 4; col. 19 [line 8], the user 10 and/or the server(s) 112 may select output devices and generate output zones, as illustrated in FIG 5C; a house 540b illustrated in FIG. 5C include the device 110a, the device 110c and the speakers 20a in Zone 1, speaker 20b in Zone 2 and speaker 20c in Zone 4, as illustrated by interface 520 shown in FIG. 5D; Zone 5 (not shown) may include Zone 1, Zone 2, Zone 3 and Zone 4 and may be used to generate output audio 30 all over the house 540b; col. 19 [line 50], an output zone may include input devices and/or output devices in multiple rooms; col. 20 [line 53], the server(s) 112 may refer to an input device 110, a location of the input device 110, a first input/output association or the like and the speaker controller 22 may identify a second input/output association and/or output zone including corresponding speaker(s) 20. Thus, the server(s) 112 may send the instruction to the speaker controller 22 indicating output devices; col. 22 [line 22], a device 110a may receive input audio 712 from user 10 in Room 1 and the server(s) 112 may determine that selected output devices 710 include speakers 20a in Room 1, speaker 20b in Room 3 and speaker 20c in Room 4; col. 20 [line 6], a speaker 20 (e.g., first speaker 20a-1) may have an identification (e.g., unique name), location (e.g., specific location) and/or address (e.g., network address) used by both the server(s) 112 and the speaker controller 22. As a second example, the server(s) 112 and the speaker controller 22 may both group speakers 20a-1 and 20a-2 in a first output zone (e.g., zone 1) and the first output zone may have an identification (e.g., unique name), location (e.g., specific room or location); col. 22 [line 32], As illustrated in FIG. 7B, the device 110a may receive input audio 722 from user 10 in Room 1 and the server(s) 112 may determine that selected output devices 720 include speakers 20a in Room 1; col. 22 [line 46], As illustrated in FIG. 7D, a device 110b-2 may receive input audio 742 from user 10 in Room 2 and the server(s) 112 may determine that selected output devices 740 include speakers 20a in Room 1. Thus, the server(s) 112 may send audio data to the selected output devices 740 and the selected output devices 740 may generate output audio 744 in a different output zone than where the input audio 742 was received; col. 22 [line 54], the speaker controller 22 may determine the selected output devices; col. 25 [line 51], the server(s) 112 may generate voice output indicating to the user 10 that the command was performed. For example, the voice output may state “audio muted,” “increasing volume,” “decreasing volume” or the like; col. 32 [line 21], While the speaker(s) 20 is playing the output audio, an input device 110 may receive (1214) input audio; col. 32 [line 44], the speaker controller 22 may determine (1226) output devices, as discussed above with regard to FIGS. 11A-11C, and may send (1228) the second command and the voice output data to the speaker(s) 20. The speaker(s) 20 may lower (1230) the volume of the output audio from a first volume level to a second volume level, play (1232) voice output using the voice output data and raise (1234) the volume of the output audio from the second volume level to the first volume level)
However, Williams fails to expressly disclose at least one visual feedback element. In the same field of endeavor, Hart teaches:
at least one visual feedback element (Hart Figs. 1-8; col. 2 [line 10], the first device includes a microphone for generating audio signals representative of user speech, as well as a speaker for outputting audible content in response to identified voice commands in the user speech. However, the first device might not include a display for displaying graphical content. As such, the first device may be configured to identify devices that include displays and that are proximate to the first device. The first device may then instruct one or more of these other devices to output visual content associated with a user's voice command; col. 3 [line 4], the second device may display content in any number of ways. In some implementations, the second device may include an application that is specifically configured to interact with the first device (e.g., a “companion application”). The companion application may be configured to receive information and/or instructions from the first device and/or a remote computing resource and display the appropriate content associated with the user's command. For instance, the application may display one or more links that lead to web sites, applications, or other destinations that include content about Benjamin Franklin. Additionally or alternatively, the application may directly pull in and display this content, such as detailed information about Benjamin Franklin; col. 3 [line 32], the second device awakens and directly causes display of the content upon receiving the instruction from the first device; col. 6 [line 28], while the voice-controlled device 106 may utilize these other devices to output visual content, the voice-controlled device 106 may additionally or alternatively utilize these devices to output additional audible content; col. 10 [line 25], the first content comprises audible content while the second content comprises visual content; col. 10 [line 39], the process 600 identifies a device on which to output the content by identifying a device that is within a threshold distance of the first device and/or the user. In other instances, the process 600 identifies and selects a device on which to output content based on a type of the device, information regarding whether the device is powered on, and the like. The process 600 may also ensure that this other device is associated with the user. At 608, the process 600 visually presents the content on the identified device that is within the threshold distance)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated at least one visual feedback element as suggested in Hart into Williams. Doing so would be desirable because homes are becoming more wired and connected with the proliferation of computing devices such as desktops, tablets, entertainment systems, and portable communication devices. As computing devices evolve, many different ways have been introduced to allow users to interact with these devices, such as through mechanical means (e.g., keyboards, mice, etc.), touch screens, motion, and gesture. Another way to interact with computing devices is through a user speaking to a device and the device outputting audio to the user in return. However, in some instances, certain content is best output in a form other than audio alone (see Hart col. 1 [line 14]). The system of Hart is applicable to any client device (see Hart col. 2 [line 25]) to display any type of visual content (see Hart col. 11 [line 52]). The system of Hart would improve the system of Williams by enabling the master device to provide both audible and visual output to the slave devices (see Hart col. 6 [line 28]), thereby ensuring the user receives desired audible and visual feedback in the best output form (see Hart col. 1 [line 14]).
However, Williams in view of Hart fails to expressly disclose determining, based on information related to a bonded configuration of the first playback device and the second playback device, that the first playback device is closer to a visual output device than the second playback device is to the visual output device; after determining that the first playback device is closer to the visual output device than the second playback device is to the visual output device, selecting the first playback device for playback of the determined feedback for playback, and causing output, of the determined feedback for playback, by the first playback device. In the same field of endeavor, Rumi teaches:
determining, based on information related to a bonded configuration of the first playback device and the second playback device, that the first playback device is closer to a visual output device than the second playback device is to the visual output device; after determining that the first playback device is closer to the visual output device than the second playback device is to the visual output device, selecting the first playback device for playback of the determined feedback for playback, and causing output, of the determined feedback for playback, by the first playback device (Rumi Figs. 1-4; [0070], execute a second voice receiving step for receiving the second voice and a third voice output step for outputting the second voice; [0075], The second sound output unit 801 outputs the second sound based on the second sound information acquired by the second sound information acquisition unit 105. Specifically, the second sound is composed of the second sound information and output. In the present embodiment, in particular, the second sound output unit 801 has a plurality of output means for outputting the second sound to different spaces. From at least one of the plurality of output means, Output second audio. Here, as an example of a plurality of output means, a case where two first output means 802 and a second output means 803 are provided will be described, but the same applies to the case where three or more output means are provided. Specifically, the first output unit 802 and the second output unit 803 are output devices such as a speaker and an earphone. The second sound output unit 801 may select one or more output means for outputting the second sound from among a plurality of output means. For example, one or more output means designated by an instruction from the user may be selected. In addition, each output unit of the second audio output unit 801 has information on the position of the output device that outputs the second audio, and acquires the information on the position where the second display area is displayed. The output means having the output device at the position closest to the second display area is selected from the information on the displayed position of the second display area and the information on the position of the output device of the output means, and the selected output means; the preset position detection unit 805 has a table or the
like indicating the correspondence between the position of the remote control device 900 and each output unit selected for the position)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated determining, based on information related to a bonded configuration of the first playback device and the second playback device, that the first playback device is closer to a visual output device than the second playback device is to the visual output device; after determining that the first playback device is closer to the visual output device than the second playback device is to the visual output device, selecting the first playback device for playback of the determined feedback for playback, and causing output, of the determined feedback for playback, by the first playback device as suggested in Rumi into Williams in view of Hart. Doing so would be desirable because there is a problem that it is difficult to fully understand and enjoy the content of the content including images and sounds (see Rumi [0003]). It is possible to separate the space where the first sound and the second sound can be heard so that the second sound does not interfere with listening to the first sound (see Rumi [0009]). In the image / audio output device, the second sound output unit includes a plurality of output units that output the second sound to different spaces. The image / sound output device outputs the second sound from at least one of the output means (see Rumi [0012]). With this configuration, the output means for outputting the second sound can be freely selected (see Rumi [0013]). The system of Rumi would improve the system of Williams by enabling Williams to intelligently select from a variety of audio output devices bonded with visual output devices (see Williams col. 18 [line 44]), so that audio is output at the best location for a listener without interfering with other audio that is being output, such as a speaker closest to a visual output device (see Rumi [0075]).
Regarding claims 8 and 15, claims 8 and 15 contain substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 1. Consequently, claims 8 and 15 are rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 2, Williams in view of Hart in further view of Rumi teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Rumi further teaches:
determining a location of the visual output device (Rumi Figs. 1-4; [0070], execute a second voice receiving step for receiving the second voice and a third voice output step for outputting the second voice; [0075], The second sound output unit 801 outputs the second sound based on the second sound information acquired by the second sound information acquisition unit 105. Specifically, the second sound is composed of the second sound information and output. In the present embodiment, in particular, the second sound output unit 801 has a plurality of output means for outputting the second sound to different spaces. From at least one of the plurality of output means, Output second audio. Here, as an example of a plurality of output means, a case where two first output means 802 and a second output means 803 are provided will be described, but the same applies to the case where three or more output means are provided. Specifically, the first output unit 802 and the second output unit 803 are output devices such as a speaker and an earphone. The second sound output unit 801 may select one or more output means for outputting the second sound from among a plurality of output means. For example, one or more output means designated by an instruction from the user may be selected. In addition, each output unit of the second audio output unit 801 has information on the position of the output device that outputs the second audio, and acquires the information on the position where the second display area is displayed. The output means having the output device at the position closest to the second display area is selected from the information on the displayed position of the second display area and the information on the position of the output device of the output means, and the selected output means; the preset position detection unit 805 has a table or the like indicating the correspondence between the position of the remote control device 900 and each output unit selected for the position)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated determining a location of the visual output device as suggested in Rumi into Williams in view of Hart. Doing so would be desirable because there is a problem that it is difficult to fully understand and enjoy the content of the content including images and sounds (see Rumi [0003]). It is possible to separate the space where the first sound and the second sound can be heard so that the second sound does not interfere with listening to the first sound (see Rumi [0009]). In the image / audio output device, the second sound output unit includes a plurality of output units that output the second sound to different spaces. The image / sound output device outputs the second sound from at least one of the output means (see Rumi [0012]). With this configuration, the output means for outputting the second sound can be freely selected (see Rumi [0013]). The system of Rumi would improve the system of Williams by enabling Williams to intelligently select from a variety of audio output devices bonded with visual output devices (see Williams col. 18 [line 44]), so that audio is output at the best location for a listener without interfering with other audio that is being output, such as a speaker closest to a visual output device (see Rumi [0075]).
Regarding claims 9 and 16, claims 9 and 16 contain substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 2. Consequently, claims 9 and 16 are rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 3, Williams in view of Hart in further view of Rumi teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
synchronously playing back media content via the first playback device at a first volume level and via the second playback device at a second volume level (Williams Figs. 1-18; col. 3 [line 37], a volume of the audio; col. 3 [line 54] – col. 4 [line 14], a speaker controller 22 may control multiple speakers 20 and may send audio data to the multiple speakers 20 so that the multiple speakers 20 collectively generate output audio 30; col. 7 [line 18], the server(s) 112 may select every speaker 20 and/or output zone, may identify a preferred output zone (e.g., living room) based on previously received commands, may identify speaker(s) and/or an output zone associated with the device 110 that received the input audio 11; col. 8 [line 18], the system 100 may enable the user 10 to instruct the server(s) 112 to generate output audio 30 using any combination of the speaker(s) 20; the system 100 may control the multiple speaker systems to play music from an audio source in response to a voice command (e.g., input audio 11); the system 100 may control the multiple speaker systems to play audio corresponding to a video source, such as playing output audio 30 over the speaker(s) 20 while displaying output video on a television; col. 8 [line 46], an audio capture component, such as a microphone of device 110, captures audio 11 corresponding to a spoken utterance; col. 17 [line 33], the server(s) 112 may generate output audio 30 using the speakers 20a-1/20a-2/20b/20c and/or device 110c in Room 1, Room 3 and/or Room 4 of the house 440; col. 19 [line 8], the user 10 and/or the server(s) 112 may select output devices and generate output zones, as illustrated in FIG 5C; Zone 5 (not shown) may include Zone 1, Zone 2, Zone 3 and Zone 4 and may be used to generate output audio 30 all over the house 540b; col. 19 [line 50], an output zone may include input devices and/or output devices in multiple rooms; see also col. 22 [line 32], col. 22 [line 46], col. 22 [line 54], col. 25 [line 51], col. 32 [line 44])
Regarding claims 10 and 17, claims 10 and 17 contains substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 3. Consequently, claim 10 and 17 are rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 4, Williams in view of Hart in further view of Rumi teaches all the limitations of claim 3, further comprising:
causing a volume level of at least one audio feedback element of the determined feedback for playback output by the first playback device to be adjusted based on the first volume level (Williams Figs. 1-18; col. 3 [line 37], a volume of the audio; col. 3 [line 54] – col. 4 [line 14], a speaker controller 22 may control multiple speakers 20 and may send audio data to the multiple speakers 20 so that the multiple speakers 20 collectively generate output audio 30; col. 7 [line 18], the server(s) 112 may select every speaker 20 and/or output zone, may identify a preferred output zone (e.g., living room) based on previously received commands, may identify speaker(s) and/or an output zone associated with the device 110 that received the input audio 11; col. 8 [line 18], the system 100 may enable the user 10 to instruct the server(s) 112 to generate output audio 30 using any combination of the speaker(s) 20; the system 100 may control the multiple speaker systems to play music from an audio source in response to a voice command (e.g., input audio 11); the system 100 may control the multiple speaker systems to play audio corresponding to a video source, such as playing output audio 30 over the speaker(s) 20 while displaying output video on a television; col. 8 [line 46], an audio capture component, such as a microphone of device 110, captures audio 11 corresponding to a spoken utterance; col. 25 [line 51], As illustrated in FIG. 9B, device 110b may receive input audio 940 from user 10 including a command and the device 110b may send audio data corresponding to the input audio 940 to the server(s) 112. The server(s) 112 may determine the command and may send data 950 to speaker(s) 20 to generate output audio 960, which includes music and voice output; In response to some commands, the server(s) 112 may generate voice output indicating to the user 10 that the command was performed. For example, the voice output may state “audio muted,” “increasing volume,” “decreasing volume” or the like. Thus, the output audio 960 may include the music playing at a first volume and the voice output playing at a second volume higher than the first volume; see also col. 17 [line 33], col. 22 [line 32], col. 22 [line 46], col. 22 [line 54], col. 25 [line 51], col. 32 [line 44])
Regarding claims 11 and 18, claims 11 and 18 contain substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 4. Consequently, claims 11 and 18 are rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 5, Williams in view of Hart in further view of Rumi teaches all the limitations of claim 3, further comprising:
determining that the media content is lean back audio; and in response to determining that the media content is lean back audio, reducing playback of the media content via the second playback device from the second volume level to a third volume level, wherein the third volume level is lower than the second volume level (Williams Figs. 1-18; abs. the system receives voice commands and may determine speakers playing output audio in proximity to the voice commands; the system may generate voice output and send the voice output to the speakers, along with a command to reduce a volume of output audio while playing the voice output; col. 3 [line 54] – col. 4 [line 14], a speaker controller 22 may control multiple speakers 20 and may send audio data to the multiple speakers 20 so that the multiple speakers 20 collectively generate output audio 30; col. 7 [line 18], the server(s) 112 may select every speaker 20 and/or output zone, may identify a preferred output zone (e.g., living room) based on previously received commands, may identify speaker(s) and/or an output zone associated with the device 110 that received the input audio 11; col. 8 [line 1], the user 10 hears the voice output at a first volume and the music at a second, lower, volume; col. 8 [line 18], the system 100 may enable the user 10 to instruct the server(s) 112 to generate output audio 30 using any combination of the speaker(s) 20; the system 100 may control the multiple speaker systems to play music from an audio source in response to a voice command (e.g., input audio 11); the system 100 may control the multiple speaker systems to play audio corresponding to a video source, such as playing output audio 30 over the speaker(s) 20 while displaying output video on a television; col. 8 [line 46], an audio capture component, such as a microphone of device 110, captures audio 11 corresponding to a spoken utterance; col. 13 [line 19], the device 110 may be associated with domains for different applications such as music, telephony, calendaring, contact lists, and device-specific communications; col. 25 [line 51], As illustrated in FIG. 9B, device 110b may receive input audio 940 from user 10 including a command and the device 110b may send audio data corresponding to the input audio 940 to the server(s) 112. The server(s) 112 may determine the command and may send data 950 to speaker(s) 20 to generate output audio 960, which includes music and voice output; In response to some commands, the server(s) 112 may generate voice output indicating to the user 10 that the command was performed. For example, the voice output may state “audio muted,” “increasing volume,” “decreasing volume” or the like. Thus, the output audio 960 may include the music playing at a first volume and the voice output playing at a second volume higher than the first volume; col. 27 [line 50], the system 100 may control the multiple speaker systems to play audio corresponding to a video source, such as playing output audio over the speaker(s) 20 while displaying output video on a television. When the system 100 receives the input audio, the system 100 may control the speaker(s) 20 to lower a volume of the output audio while pausing the output video on the television; see also col. 17 [line 33], col. 22 [line 32], col. 22 [line 46], col. 22 [line 54], col. 25 [line 51], col. 32 [line 44])
Regarding claims 12 and 19, claims 12 and 19 contain substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 5. Consequently, claims 12 and 19 are rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 6, Williams in view of Hart in further view of Rumi teaches all the limitations of claim 3, further comprising:
determining that the media content is lean in audio (Williams Figs. 1-18; abs. the system receives voice commands and may determine speakers playing output audio in proximity to the voice commands; the system may generate voice output and send the voice output to the speakers, along with a command to reduce a volume of output audio while playing the voice output; col. 3 [line 54] – col. 4 [line 14], a speaker controller 22 may control multiple speakers 20 and may send audio data to the multiple speakers 20 so that the multiple speakers 20 collectively generate output audio 30; col. 7 [line 18], the server(s) 112 may select every speaker 20 and/or output zone, may identify a preferred output zone (e.g., living room) based on previously received commands, may identify speaker(s) and/or an output zone associated with the device 110 that received the input audio 11; col. 8 [line 1], the user 10 hears the voice output at a first volume and the music at a second, lower, volume; col. 8 [line 18], the system 100 may enable the user 10 to instruct the server(s) 112 to generate output audio 30 using any combination of the speaker(s) 20; the system 100 may control the multiple speaker systems to play music from an audio source in response to a voice command (e.g., input audio 11); the system 100 may control the multiple speaker systems to play audio corresponding to a video source, such as playing output audio 30 over the speaker(s) 20 while displaying output video on a television; col. 8 [line 46], an audio capture component, such as a microphone of device 110, captures audio 11 corresponding to a spoken utterance; col. 13 [line 19], the device 110 may be associated with domains for different applications such as music, telephony, calendaring, contact lists, and device-specific communications; col. 25 [line 51], As illustrated in FIG. 9B, device 110b may receive input audio 940 from user 10 including a command and the device 110b may send audio data corresponding to the input audio 940 to the server(s) 112. The server(s) 112 may determine the command and may send data 950 to speaker(s) 20 to generate output audio 960, which includes music and voice output; In response to some commands, the server(s) 112 may generate voice output indicating to the user 10 that the command was performed. For example, the voice output may state “audio muted,” “increasing volume,” “decreasing volume” or the like. Thus, the output audio 960 may include the music playing at a first volume and the voice output playing at a second volume higher than the first volume; col. 27 [line 50], the system 100 may control the multiple speaker systems to play audio corresponding to a video source, such as playing output audio over the speaker(s) 20 while displaying output video on a television. When the system 100 receives the input audio, the system 100 may control the speaker(s) 20 to lower a volume of the output audio while pausing the output video on the television; see also col. 17 [line 33], col. 22 [line 32], col. 22 [line 46], col. 22 [line 54], col. 25 [line 51], col. 32 [line 44])
Hart further teaches:
wherein causing output of the determined feedback for playback by the first playback device comprises causing output of only visual feedback elements of the determined feedback for playback (Hart Figs. 1-8; col. 2 [line 10], the first device includes a microphone for generating audio signals representative of user speech, as well as a speaker for outputting audible content in response to identified voice commands in the user speech. However, the first device might not include a display for displaying graphical content. As such, the first device may be configured to identify devices that include displays and that are proximate to the first device. The first device may then instruct one or more of these other devices to output visual content associated with a user's voice command; col. 3 [line 4], the second device may display content in any number of ways. In some implementations, the second device may include an application that is specifically configured to interact with the first device (e.g., a “companion application”). The companion application may be configured to receive information and/or instructions from the first device and/or a remote computing resource and display the appropriate content associated with the user's command. For instance, the application may display one or more links that lead to web sites, applications, or other destinations that include content about Benjamin Franklin. Additionally or alternatively, the application may directly pull in and display this content, such as detailed information about Benjamin Franklin; col. 3 [line 32], the second device awakens and directly causes display of the content upon receiving the instruction from the first device; col. 6 col. 10 [line 25], the first content comprises audible content while the second content comprises visual content; col. 10 [line 39], the process 600 identifies a device on which to output the content by identifying a device that is within a threshold distance of the first device and/or the user. In other instances, the process 600 identifies and selects a device on which to output content based on a type of the device, information regarding whether the device is powered on, and the like. The process 600 may also ensure that this other device is associated with the user. At 608, the process 600 visually presents the content on the identified device that is within the threshold distance)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein causing output of the determined feedback for playback by the first playback device comprises causing output of only visual feedback elements of the determined feedback for playback as suggested in Hart into Williams in view of Rumi. Doing so would be desirable because homes are becoming more wired and connected with the proliferation of computing devices such as desktops, tablets, entertainment systems, and portable communication devices. As computing devices evolve, many different ways have been introduced to allow users to interact with these devices, such as through mechanical means (e.g., keyboards, mice, etc.), touch screens, motion, and gesture. Another way to interact with computing devices is through a user speaking to a device and the device outputting audio to the user in return. However, in some instances, certain content is best output in a form other than audio alone (see Hart col. 1 [line 14]). The system of Hart would improve the system of Williams by enabling the master device to provide both audible and visual output to the slave devices (see Hart col. 6 [line 28]), thereby ensuring the user receives desired audible and visual feedback in the best output form (see Hart col. 1 [line 14]).
Regarding claims 13 and 20, claims 13 and 20 contain substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 6. Consequently, claims 13 and 20 are rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 7, Williams in view of Hart teaches in further view of Rumi teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein the first playback device and the second playback device are part of a home theater system (Williams Figs. 1-18; col. 3 [line 37], a volume of the audio; col. 3 [line 54] – col. 4 [line 14], a speaker controller 22 may control multiple speakers 20 and may send audio data to the multiple speakers 20 so that the multiple speakers 20 collectively generate output audio 30; col. 7 [line 18], the server(s) 112 may select every speaker 20 and/or output zone, may identify a preferred output zone (e.g., living room) based on previously received commands, may identify speaker(s) and/or an output zone associated with the device 110 that received the input audio 11; col. 8 [line 18], the system 100 may enable the user 10 to instruct the server(s) 112 to generate output audio 30 using any combination of the speaker(s) 20; the system 100 may control the multiple speaker systems to play audio corresponding to a video source, such as playing output audio 30 over the speaker(s) 20 while displaying output video on a television; col. 8 [line 46], an audio capture component, such as a microphone of device 110, captures audio 11 corresponding to a spoken utterance; col. 17 [line 33], the server(s) 112 may generate output audio 30 using the speakers 20a-1/20a-2/20b/20c and/or device 110c in Room 1, Room 3 and/or Room 4 of the house 440; col. 19 [line 8], the user 10 and/or the server(s) 112 may select output devices and generate output zones, as illustrated in FIG 5C; Zone 5 (not shown) may include Zone 1, Zone 2, Zone 3 and Zone 4 and may be used to generate output audio 30 all over the house 540b; col. 19 [line 50], an output zone may include input devices and/or output devices in multiple rooms; see also col. 22 [line 32], col. 22 [line 46], col. 22 [line 54], col. 25 [line 51], col. 32 [line 44])
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 contains substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 7. Consequently, claim 14 is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 22, Williams in view of Hart teaches in further view of Rumi teaches all the limitations of claim 8, further comprising:
wherein the first playback device, the second playback device, and the visual output device are in the same room (Williams Figs. 1-18; abs. the system may generate voice output and send the voice output to the speakers, along with a command to reduce a volume of output audio while playing the voice output; col. 8 [line 18], the system 100 may control the multiple speaker systems to play music from an audio source in response to a voice command (e.g., input audio 11); col. 18 [line 44], FIG. 5A illustrates output devices located in house 540a, such as device 110a in Room 1, speaker 20a-1 and speaker 20a-2 in Room 1, device 110c (e.g., television) in Room 1, speaker 20b in Room 3 and speaker 20c in Room 4; col. 26 [line 28], FIGS. 10A-10B illustrate communication and operations among devices to determine that a voice command is being received and lower a volume of corresponding output audio; FIG. 10A illustrates an example of the server(s) 112 sending output audio data to speaker(s) 20 directly when receiving the voice command; as illustrated in FIG. 10A, the server(s) 112 may send (1006) output audio data to the speaker(s) 20 and the speaker(s) 20 may play (1008) output audio using the output audio data; while the speaker(s) 20 are playing the output audio, a device 110 may receive (1010) input audio; the device 110 may identify a wakeword in the input audio; col. 25 [line 51] – col. 26 [line 2], the output audio 960 may include the music playing at a first volume and the voice output playing at a second volume higher than the first volume; col. 32 [line 4], after the system 100 interprets a command from the input audio data, the system 100 may generate the voice output data and send the voice output data to the speaker(s) 20; col. 32 [line 21], while the speaker(s) 20 is playing the output audio, an input device 110 may receive (1214) input audio and send (1216) input audio data to the server(s) 112; the server(s) 112 may determine (1218) a first command from the input audio data; the server(s) 112 may generate (1220) voice output data corresponding to the first command),)
Response to Arguments
Applicant alleges that Williams in view of Hart in further view of Rumi as described in the previous Office action, does not explicitly teach claim 1. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As discussed in the rejection above, Williams is considered to teach A media playback system associated with a listening environment, the media playback system comprising: a first playback device; and a second playback device comprising: at least one microphone, one or more processors, and tangible computer-readable memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the second playback device to perform operations comprising (Williams Figs. 1-18; col. 8 [line 18], col. 17 [line 33], col. 18 [line 44], col. 19 [line 8], col. 22 [line 13], col. 36 [line 12]): receiving, via the at least one microphone, voice input data from a first source; determining, in response to receiving the voice input data from the first source, feedback for playback, the determined feedback for playback comprising at least one audio feedback element (Williams Figs. 1-18; col. 8 [line 18], col. 18 [line 44], col. 26 [line 28], col. 25 [line 51] – col. 26 [line 2], col. 32 [line 4], col. 32 [line 21]), determining, based on information related to a bonded configuration of the first playback device and the second playback device, selecting the first playback device for playback of the determined feedback for playback, and causing output, of the determined feedback for playback, by the first playback device (Williams Figs. 1-18; col. 7 [line 18], col. 8 [line 46], col. 17 [line 33], col. 18 [line 44], col. 19 [line 8], col. 19 [line 50], col. 22 [line 22], col. 22 [line 32], col. 22 [line 46], col. 22 [line 54], col. 25 [line 51], col. 32 [line 21]). Hart is cited to clarify at least one visual feedback element (Hart Figs. 1-8; col. 2 [line 10], col. 3 [line 4], col. 3 [line 32], col. 6 [line 28], col. 10 [line 25], col. 10 [line 39]). Rumi is cited to clarify determining, based on information related to a bonded configuration of the first playback device and the second playback device, that the first playback device is closer to a visual output device than the second playback device is to the visual output device; after determining that the first playback device is closer to the visual output device than the second playback device is to the visual output device, selecting the first playback device for playback of the determined feedback for playback, and causing output, of the determined feedback for playback, by the first playback device (Rumi Figs. 1-4; [0070], [0075]). Thus, Williams in view of Hart in further view of Rumi is considered to teach the claim.
Specifically, applicant alleges Rumi fails to disclose determining, based on information related to a bonded configuration of the first playback device and the second playback device, that the first playback device is closer to a visual output device than the second playback device is to the visual output device (see remarks p. 8). The relied upon portions of Rumi describe routing audio to an output means based on the location of a remote control (900) or the on-screen location of the second display area (42). (Rumi, ,i [0075].) The relied-upon portions of Rumi, however, neither disclose nor suggest determining that one of the output means is closer to a visual output device than the other output means "based on information related to a bonded configuration," as claim 1 recites. Furthermore, as shown in Rumi's Figure 11 (provided above), output means 802 and 803 are the same distance away from the video/audio output device (800) (see remarks pp. 9-10). Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As discussed in the rejection above, Rumi discloses a system including a plurality of output means in a bonded configuration for outputting a second sound to different spaces ([0075]). The bonded configuration includes information on the position of each of the output devices that is stored in a table ([0075]). Rumi discloses the output means may include a variety of different devices that would be at different distances from the display screen, such as a speaker and an earphone. Rumi discloses that when outputting display information, “the output device at the position closest to the second display area is selected” from the information on the positions of the output devices and the sound is output ([0075]). Thus, Rumi’s disclosure of determining, based on information related to a bonded configuration of the first playback device and the second playback device, that the first playback device is closer to a visual output device than the second playback device is to the visual output device; after determining that the first playback device is closer to the visual output device than the second playback device is to the visual output device, selecting the first playback device for playback of the determined feedback for playback, and causing output, of the determined feedback for playback, by the first playback device (Rumi Figs. 1-4; [0070], [0075]) is considered within the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed limitations.
Similar arguments have been presented for claims 8 and 15 and thus, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive for the same reasons.
Applicant states that the dependent claims recite all the limitations of the independent claims, and thus, are allowable in view of the remarks set forth regarding the independent claims. However, as discussed above, Williams in view of Hart in further view of Rumi is considered to teach the independent claims, and consequently, the dependent claims are rejected.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Luna (US 20140279889 A1) see Figs. 1-18 and [0031-0037], [0042-0054].
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN T REPSHER III/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2143