Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s arguments with respect to 102/103 rejection and in view of the current amendment to claims have been considered but are moot, please refer to rejection below for details.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A) Claims 1, 5, 8, 11, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI (US 2023/0397159 A1) in view of Basu Mallick (US 2020/0107358 A1).
As per claim 1, LI teaches a terminal (Fig.9, UE/terminal) comprising: a memory storing instructions; and one or more processors configured to execute the instructions (¶0229, storage or memory and processor configured to execute) to: receive, from a base station, system information including information for indicating a total number of subgroups of a paging occasion and information for indicating a number of paging occasions, and which receives, from the base station, first downlink control information (DCI) including a field for indicating a subgroup of the paging occasion (Fig.7 and ¶0187, receiving from base station number of POs in a paging frame (PE) is configurable via system information and PO consist of multiple time slots (e.g., subframe or OFDM symbol) where the paging DCI (i.e. first DCI) can be sent. One PF is one radio frame and may contain one or multiple PO(s) or starting point of a PO).
However, LI does not explicitly teach determine a number of bits of the field included in the first DCI based on the information for indicating the total number of subgroups and the information for indicating the number of paging occasions; and monitoring of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for second DCI in the paging occasion based on a value of a bit of the field, the bit of the field corresponding to a subgroup of a paging occasion to which the terminal belongs.
In the same field of endeavor, Basu Mallick teaches determine a number of bits of the field included in the first DCI based on the information for indicating the total number of subgroups and the information for indicating the number of paging occasions (¶0077-79 and ¶0089, determine number of bits included in first DCI based on the information for total number of subframes and information of POs); and monitoring of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for second DCI in the paging occasion based on a value of a bit of the field, the bit of the field corresponding to a subgroup of a paging occasion to which the terminal belongs (¶0077-79 and ¶0089, and monitoring PDCCH for second DCI in PO based on a value of bit of the field corresponding to a subframe of PO to which the UE is associated).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of Basu Mallick into invention of LI in order to transmit a physical downlink shared channel after losing uplink synchronization for allocating resources to wireless devices.
As per claim 5 as applied to claim 1 above, LI does not explicitly teach monitoring of the PDCCH for the second DCI in the paging occasion in a case where the value of the bit of the field indicates the monitoring of the PDCCH for the second DCI in the paging occasion.
In the same field of endeavor, Basu Mallick teaches monitoring of the PDCCH for the second DCI in the paging occasion in a case where the value of the bit of the field indicates the monitoring of the PDCCH for the second DCI in the paging occasion (¶0077-79 and ¶0089, and monitoring PDCCH for second DCI in PO based on a value of bit of the field corresponding to monitoring of PDCCH for second DCI in PO).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of Basu Mallick into invention of LI in order to transmit a physical downlink shared channel after losing uplink synchronization for allocating resources to wireless devices.
As per claim 8, LI discloses a base station (Fig.11, base station) comprising:
a memory storing instructions; and one or more processors configured to execute the instructions (Fig.11, memory and processor for base station) to:
determine a total number of subgroups of a paging occasion and a number of paging occasions, and determine a subgroup of the paging occasion for a terminal (¶0258-260, determining number of paging sub-group(s) of paging occasion and first paging occasion of paging occasions); transmit, to the terminal, system information including information for indicating the total number of subgroups of the paging occasion and information for indicating the number of paging occasions, and which transmits, to the terminal, first downlink control information including a field for indicating the subgroup of the paging occasion (Fig.7 and ¶0187, transmit to the UE the number of POs in a paging frame (PE) is configurable via system information and PO consist of multiple time slots (e.g., subframe or OFDM symbol) where the paging DCI can be sent. One PF is one radio frame and may contain one or multiple PO(s) or starting point of a PO).
However, LI does not explicitly teach wherein a number of bits for the field included in the first DCI is determined based on the information for indicating the total number of subgroups and the information for indicating the number of paging occasions, and a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for second DCI in the paging occasion is monitored by the terminal, based on a value of a bit of the field, the bit of the field corresponding to a subgroup of a paging occasion to which the terminal belongs.
In the same field of endeavor, Basu Mallick teaches wherein a number of bits for the field included in the first DCI is determined based on the information for indicating the total number of subgroups and the information for indicating the number of paging occasions (¶0077-79 and ¶0089, determine number of bits included in first DCI based on the information for total number of subframes and information of Pos), and a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for second DCI in the paging occasion is monitored by the terminal, based on a value of a bit of the field, the bit of the field corresponding to a subgroup of a paging occasion to which the terminal belongs (¶0077-79 and ¶0089, and monitoring PDCCH for second DCI in PO based on a value of bit of the field corresponding to a subframe of PO to which the UE is associated).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of Basu Mallick into invention of LI in order to transmit a physical downlink shared channel after losing uplink synchronization for allocating resources to wireless devices.
As per claim 11, LI teaches a wireless communication method of a terminal (Fig.9, UE/terminal) comprising: receiving, from a base station, system information including information for indicating a total number of subgroups of a paging occasion and information for indicating a number of paging occasions, receiving, from the base station, first downlink control information (DCI) including a field for indicating a subgroup of the paging occasion (Fig.7 and ¶0187, receiving from base station number of POs in a paging frame (PE) is configurable via system information and PO consist of multiple time slots (e.g., subframe or OFDM symbol) where the paging DCI can be sent. One PF is one radio frame and may contain one or multiple PO(s) or starting point of a PO).
However, LI does not explicitly teach determining a number of bits of the field included in the first DCI based on the information for indicating the total number of subgroups and the information for indicating the number of paging occasions; controlling monitoring of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for DCI in the paging occasion based on a value of a bit of the field, the bit of the field corresponding to a subgroup of a paging occasion to which the terminal belongs.
In the same field of endeavor, Basu Mallick teaches determining a number of bits of the field included in the first DCI based on the information for indicating the total number of subgroups and the information for indicating the number of paging occasions (¶0077-79 and ¶0089, determine number of bits included in first DCI based on the information for total number of subframes and information of Pos); controlling monitoring of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for DCI in the paging occasion based on a value of a bit of the field, the bit of the field corresponding to a subgroup of a paging occasion to which the terminal belongs (¶0077-79 and ¶0089, and controlling by monitoring PDCCH for second DCI in PO based on a value of bit of the field corresponding to a subframe of PO to which the UE is associated).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of Basu Mallick into invention of LI in order to transmit a physical downlink shared channel after losing uplink synchronization for allocating resources to wireless devices.
As per claim 15 as applied to claim 11 above, LI does not explicitly teach, monitoring of the PDCCH for the second DCI in the paging occasion in a case where the value of the bit of the field indicates the monitoring of the PDCCH for the second DCI in the paging occasion.
In the same field of endeavor, Basu Mallick teaches monitoring of the PDCCH for the second DCI in the paging occasion in a case where the value of the bit of the field indicates the monitoring of the PDCCH for the second DCI in the paging occasion (¶0077-79 and ¶0089, and monitoring PDCCH for second DCI in PO based on a value of bit of the field corresponding to monitoring of PDCCH for second DCI in PO).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of Basu Mallick into invention of LI in order to transmit a physical downlink shared channel after losing uplink synchronization for allocating resources to wireless devices.
B) Claims 2-4, 6-7, 9-10, 12-14, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI (US 2023/0397159 A1) in view of Basu Mallick (US 2020/0107358 A1) and further in view of MODERATOR (MEDIATEK): "Summary of Paging Enhancements" 3GPP DRAFT; R1- 2103848, vol. RAN WG1, 23 April 2021, pp. 1-61 hereinafter MEDIATEK.
As per claim 2 as applied to claim 1 above, LI in view of Basu Mallick does not explicitly teach wherein the number of bits of field is equal to a value obtained by multiplying the total number of subgroups by the number of paging occasions.
In the same field of endeavor, MEDIATEK teaches wherein the number of bits of field is equal to a value obtained by multiplying the total number of subgroups by the number of paging occasions (section 3, table 8, number of bits equal to total of 12 sub-groups which are obtained by multiplying of four PO and 3 subgroups; therefore 3x4=12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of MEDIATEK into invention of LI and Basu Mallick in order to use DCI payload for PDCCH-based PEI to convey the sub-group indication and PEI indication bits for multiple paging occasions.
As per claim 3 as applied to claim 2 above, LI further teaches wherein respective bits of the field from a most significant bit to a least significant bit correspond to respective subgroups of the paging occasions, firstly in ascending order of index values of the paging occasions and secondly in ascending order of index values of the subgroups (¶0260 and ¶0264 and ¶0319, subset of bits could be, e.g., a number of the most-significant bits of the value or a number of the least-significant bits of the value and subset of bits of a value derived from the UE identification is the same as, or larger than, or smaller than bits representing the paging sub-group index and index values of the paging occasions).
As per claim 4 as applied to claim 1 above, LI in view of Basu Mallick does not explicitly teach, skip the monitoring of the PDCCH for the second downlink control information in the paging occasion in a case where the first downlink control information is not detected or the value of the bit of the field does not indicate the monitoring of the PDCCH for the second downlink control information in the paging occasion.
In the same field of endeavor, MEDIATEK teaches skip the monitoring of the PDCCH for the second downlink control information in the paging occasion in a case where the first downlink control information is not detected or the value of the bit of the field does not indicate the monitoring of the PDCCH for the second downlink control information in the paging occasion (section 2.6, table 6, not require to continue monitoring paging PDCCH in the PO when UE does not detect PEI/DCI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of MEDIATEK into invention of LI and Basu Mallick in order to use DCI payload for PDCCH-based PEI to convey the sub-group indication and PEI indication bits for multiple paging occasions.
As per claim 6 as applied to claim 4 above, LI in view of Basu Mallick teaches derive an index value of the subgroup of the paging occasion to which the terminal belongs based on an identifier of the terminal and the total number of subgroups (Basu Mallick, ¶0077-79, value of the subframe/subgroup of the PO to which the UE associated with based on UE ID and total number of subframes).
As per claim 7 as applied to claim 4 above, LI in view of Basu Mallick teaches, receive, from a network, information for indicating the subgroup of the paging occasion to which the terminal belongs (Basu Mallick, ¶0077-79, receiving from the network information for paging frames/paging occasions that UE is associated with).
As per claim 9 as applied to claim 8 above, LI in view of Basu Mallick does not explicitly teach wherein the number of bits of field is equal to a value obtained by multiplying the total number of subgroups by the number of paging occasions.
In the same field of endeavor, MEDIATEK teaches wherein the number of bits of field is equal to a value obtained by multiplying the total number of subgroups by the number of paging occasions (section 3, table 8, number of bits equal to total of 12 sub-groups which are obtained by multiplying of four PO and 3 subgroups; therefore 3x4=12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of MEDIATEK into invention of LI and Basu Mallick in order to use DCI payload for PDCCH-based PEI to convey the sub-group indication and PEI indication bits for multiple paging occasions.
As per claim 10 as applied to claim 9 above, LI further teaches wherein respective bits of the field from a most significant bit to a least significant bit correspond to respective subgroups of the paging occasions, firstly in ascending order of index values of the paging occasions and secondly in ascending order of index values of the subgroups (¶0260 and ¶0264 and ¶0319, subset of bits could be, e.g., a number of the most-significant bits of the value or a number of the least-significant bits of the value and subset of bits of a value derived from the UE identification is the same as, or larger than, or smaller than bits representing the paging sub-group index and index values of the paging occasions).
As per claim 12 as applied to claim 11 above, LI in view of Basu Mallick does not explicitly teach wherein the number of bits of the field is equal to a value obtained by multiplying the total number of subgroups by the number of paging occasions.
In the same field of endeavor, MEDIATEK teaches wherein the number of bits of the field is equal to a value obtained by multiplying the total number of subgroups by the number of paging occasions (section 3, table 8, bits equal to total of 12 sub-groups which obtained by multiplying of four PO and 3 subgroups; therefore 3x4=12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of MEDIATEK into invention of LI and Basu Mallick in order to use DCI payload for PDCCH-based PEI to convey the sub-group indication and PEI indication bits for multiple paging occasions.
As per claim 13 as applied to claim 12 above, LI further teaches wherein respective bits of the field from a most significant bit to a least significant bit correspond to respective subgroups of the paging occasions, firstly in ascending order of index values of the paging occasions and secondly in ascending order of index values of the subgroups (¶0260 and ¶0264 and ¶0319, subset of bits could be, e.g., a number of the most-significant bits of the value or a number of the least-significant bits of the value and subset of bits of a value derived from the UE identification is the same as, or larger than, or smaller than bits representing the paging sub-group index and index values of the paging occasions).
As per claim 14 as applied to claim 11 above, LI in view of Basu Mallick does not explicitly teach, skipping the monitoring of the PDCCH for the second DCI in the paging occasion in a case where the first DCI is not detected or the value of the field does not the monitoring of the PDCCH for the second DCI in the paging occasion.
In the same field of endeavor, MEDIATEK teaches skipping the monitoring of the PDCCH for the second DCI in the paging occasion in a case where the first DCI is not detected or the value of the field does not the monitoring of the PDCCH for the second DCI in the paging occasion (section 2.6, table 6, not require to continue monitoring paging PDCCH in the PO when UE does not detect PEI/DCI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of MEDIATEK into invention of LI and Basu Mallick in order to use DCI payload for PDCCH-based PEI to convey the sub-group indication and PEI indication bits for multiple paging occasions.
As per claim 16 as applied to claim 14 above, LI in view of Basu Mallick teaches deriving an index value of the subgroup of the paging occasion to which the terminal belongs based on an identifier of the terminal and the total number of subgroups (Basu Mallick, ¶0077-79, value of the subframe/subgroup of the PO to which the UE associated with based on UE ID and total number of subframes).
As per claim 17 as applied to claim 15 above, LI in view of Basu Mallick teaches, receiving, from a network, information for indicating the subgroup of the paging occasion to which the terminal belongs (Basu Mallick, ¶0077-79, receiving from the network information for paging frames/paging occasions that UE is associated with).
Conclusion
4. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FARIDEH MADANI/Examiner, Art Unit 2643
/JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643