Claim Objections
2. Claims 6 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
a) Claims 6 and 16 are identical and both dependent of claim 4;
Appropriate correction is required.
Specification
3. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Examiner is suggesting the following title: TERMINAL, BASE STATION, AND WIRELESS COMMUNICATION METHOD OF DETERMINING NUMBER OF SUBGROUPS OF THE PAGING OCCASION.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a receiving unit which receives, from a base station,…..” and “control unit which determines and which controls monitoring….” in claim 1. [for support, see fig.14 of present application, items 101 and 103 and supporting paragraphs (¶0180-206) describing the details of receiving unit and control unit].
“control unit which determines a total number….” and “transmitting unit which transmits, to the terminal,….. in claim 8. [for support, see fig.15 of present application, items 202 and 203 and supporting paragraphs (¶0208-219 describing the details of transmitting unit and control unit].
“a step of receiving, from a base station,…..” and “ a step of determining and controlling….” in claim 11. [for support, see fig.14 of present application, items 101 and 103 and supporting paragraphs (¶0180-206) describing the details of receiving unit and control unit].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A) Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by LI (US 2023/0397159 A1).
As per claim 8, LI discloses a base station (Fig.11, base station) comprising: a control unit (Fig.11, paging UE determination circuitry) which determines a total number of subgroups of a paging occasion and a number of paging occasions, and which determines a subgroup of the paging occasion for a terminal (¶0258-260, determining number of paging sub-group(s) of paging occasion and first paging occasion of paging occasions); and a transmitting unit (Fig.11, paging sub-group signaling transmitter) which transmits, to the terminal, system information including information for indicating the total number of subgroups of the paging occasion and information for indicating the number of paging occasions, and which transmits, to the terminal, first downlink control information including a field for indicating the subgroup of the paging occasion (Fig.7 and ¶0187, transmit to the UE the number of POs in a paging frame (PE) is configurable via system information and PO consist of multiple time slots (e.g., subframe or OFDM symbol) where the paging DCI can be sent. One PF is one radio frame and may contain one or multiple PO(s) or starting point of a PO), wherein a number of bits for the field is determined based on the information for indicating the total number of subgroups and the information for indicating the number of paging occasions (¶0260 and ¶0264, several bits for field based on the information indicating sub-group index and the information for indicating number of paging occasions (e.g., the first paging occasion of the paging frame)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A) Claims 1, 5, 11, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI (US 2023/0397159 A1) in view of SAMSUNG: "Paging Enhancements -UE Grouping", 3GPP DRAFT; R2-2102704, 3RD GENERATION PARTNERSHIP PROJECT (3GPP), MOBILE COMPETENCE CENTRE; 650, ROUTE DES LUCIOLES; F-06921 SOPHIA-ANTIPOLIS CEDEX; FRANCE, vol. RAN WG2, pp. 1-4, hereinafter SAMSUNG.
As per claim 1, LI teaches a terminal (Fig.9, UE/terminal) comprising: a receiving unit which receives (Fig.9, paging sub-group signaling receiver which receives), from a base station, system information including information for indicating a total number of subgroups of a paging occasion and information for indicating a number of paging occasions, and which receives, from the base station, first downlink control information including a field for indicating a subgroup of the paging occasion (Fig.7 and ¶0187, receiving from base station number of POs in a paging frame (PE) is configurable via system information and PO consist of multiple time slots (e.g., subframe or OFDM symbol) where the paging DCI can be sent. One PF is one radio frame and may contain one or multiple PO(s) or starting point of a PO); and a control unit which determines (Fig.9, a paging sub-group index determination circuitry which determines) a number of bits for the field based on the information for indicating the total number of subgroups and the information for indicating the number of paging occasions (¶0260 and ¶0264, several bits for field based on the information indicating sub-group index and the information for indicating number of paging occasions (e.g., the first paging occasion of the paging frame)).
However, LI does not explicitly teach control unit which controls monitoring of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for second downlink control information in the paging occasion based on a value of the field.
In the same field of endeavor, SAMSUNG teaches control unit which controls monitoring of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for second downlink control information in the paging occasion based on a value of the field (section 2.1 and section 2.2 and Fig.1, monitoring of PDCCH for paging DCI (i.e. second DCI) in the paging occasion as reserved bits (i.e. value of the field) used to indicate paging group).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of SAMSUNG into invention of LI in order to minimize unnecessary paging receptions by UE grouping within a paging occasion to provide power saving gains.
As per claim 5 as applied to claim 1 above, LI does not explicitly teach, wherein the control unit performs the monitoring of the PDCCH for the second downlink control information in the paging occasion in a case where the value of the field indicates a subgroup of the paging occasion to which the terminal belongs.
In the same field of endeavor, SAMSUNG teaches wherein the control unit performs the monitoring of the PDCCH for the second downlink control information in the paging occasion in a case where the value of the field indicates a subgroup of the paging occasion to which the terminal belongs (section 2.1 and section 2.2 and 3, monitoring of PDCCH for paging DCI (i.e. second DCI) in the paging occasion as reserved bits (i.e. value of the field) used to indicate paging group of the paging occasion to which the terminal belongs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of SAMSUNG into invention of LI in order to minimize unnecessary paging receptions by UE grouping within a paging occasion to provide power saving gains.
As per claim 11, LI teaches a wireless communication method of a terminal (Fig.9, UE/terminal) comprising: a step of receiving, from a base station, system information including information for indicating a total number of subgroups of a paging occasion and information for indicating a number of paging occasions, a step of receiving, from the base station, first downlink control information including a field for indicating a subgroup of the paging occasion (Fig.7 and ¶0187, receiving from base station number of POs in a paging frame (PE) is configurable via system information and PO consist of multiple time slots (e.g., subframe or OFDM symbol) where the paging DCI can be sent. One PF is one radio frame and may contain one or multiple PO(s) or starting point of a PO); and a step of determining (Fig.9, a paging sub-group index determination circuitry which determines) a number of bits for the field based on the information for indicating the total number of subgroups and the information for indicating the number of paging occasions (¶0260 and ¶0264, several bits for field based on the information indicating sub-group index and the information for indicating number of paging occasions (e.g., the first paging occasion of the paging frame)).
However, LI does not explicitly teach a step of controlling monitoring of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for second downlink control information in the paging occasion based on a value of the field.
In the same field of endeavor, SAMSUNG teaches a step of controlling monitoring of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for second downlink control information in the paging occasion based on a value of the field (section 2.1 and section 2.2 and Fig.1, monitoring of PDCCH for paging DCI (i.e. second DCI) in the paging occasion as reserved bits (i.e. value of the field) used to indicate paging group).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of SAMSUNG into invention of LI in order to minimize unnecessary paging receptions by UE grouping within a paging occasion to provide power saving gains.
As per claim 15 as applied to claim 11 above, LI does not explicitly teach, a step of monitoring of the PDCCH for the second downlink control information in the paging occasion in a case where the value of the field indicates a subgroup of the paging occasion to which the terminal belongs.
In the same field of endeavor, SAMSUNG teaches a step of the monitoring of the PDCCH for the second downlink control information in the paging occasion in a case where the value of the field indicates a subgroup of the paging occasion to which the terminal belongs (section 2.1 and section 2.2 and 3, monitoring of PDCCH for paging DCI (i.e. second DCI) in the paging occasion as reserved bits (i.e. value of the field) used to indicate paging group of the paging occasion to which the terminal belongs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of SAMSUNG into invention of LI in order to minimize unnecessary paging receptions by UE grouping within a paging occasion to provide power saving gains.
B) Claims 2-4, 6-7, 12-14, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI (US 2023/0397159 A1) in view of SAMSUNG and further in view of MODERATOR (MEDIATEK): "Summary of Paging Enhancements" 3GPP DRAFT; R1- 2103848, vol. RAN WG1, 23 April 2021, pp. 1-61 hereinafter MEDIATEK
As per claim 2 as applied to claim 1 above, LI in view of SAMSUNG does not explicitly teach wherein the field includes a bitmap with the number of bits equal to a value obtained by multiplying the total number of subgroups by the number of paging occasions.
In the same field of endeavor, MEDIATEK teaches wherein the field includes a bitmap with the number of bits equal to a value obtained by multiplying the total number of subgroups by the number of paging occasions (section 3, table 8, bits equal to total of 12 sub-groups which obtained by multiplying of four PO and 3 subgroups; therefore 3x4=12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of MEDIATEK into invention of LI and SAMSUNG in order to use DCI payload for PDCCH-based PEI to convey the sub-group indication and PEI indication bits for multiple paging occasions.
As per claim 3 as applied to claim 2 above, LI further teaches wherein respective bits of the bitmap from a most significant bit to a least significant bit correspond to respective subgroups of the paging occasions, firstly in ascending order of index values of the paging occasions and secondly in ascending order of index values of the subgroups (¶0260 and ¶0264 and ¶0319, subset of bits could be, e.g., a number of the most-significant bits of the value or a number of the least-significant bits of the value and subset of bits of a value derived from the UE identification is the same as, or larger than, or smaller than bits representing the paging sub-group index and index values of the paging occasions).
As per claim 4 as applied to claim 1 above, LI in view of SAMSUNG does not explicitly teach, wherein the control unit skips the monitoring of the PDCCH for the second downlink control information in the paging occasion in a case where the first downlink control information is not detected or the value of the field does not indicate a subgroup of the paging occasion to which the terminal belongs.
In the same field of endeavor, MEDIATEK teaches wherein the control unit skips the monitoring of the PDCCH for the second downlink control information in the paging occasion in a case where the first downlink control information is not detected or the value of the field does not indicate a subgroup of the paging occasion to which the terminal belongs (section 2.6, table 6, not require to continue monitoring paging PDCCH in the PO when UE does not detect PEI/DCI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of MEDIATEK into invention of LI and SAMSUNG in order to use DCI payload for PDCCH-based PEI to convey the sub-group indication and PEI indication bits for multiple paging occasions.
As per claim 6 as applied to claim 4 above, LI in view of SAMSUNG teaches wherein the control unit derives an index value of the subgroup of the paging occasion to which the terminal belongs based on an identifier of the terminal and the total number of subgroups (SAMSUNG, section 2.1, value of the subgroup of the paging occasion to which the UE belongs based on UE ID and total number of subgroups).
As per claim 7 as applied to claim 4 above, LI in view of SAMSUNG teaches, wherein the receiving unit receives, from a network, information for indicating the subgroup of the paging occasion to which the terminal belongs (SAMSUNG, section 2.1, section 2.2, receiving from the network information for paging frames/paging occasions to which UE belongs).
As per claim 12 as applied to claim 11 above, LI in view of SAMSUNG does not explicitly teach wherein the field includes a bitmap with the number of bits equal to a value obtained by multiplying the total number of subgroups by the number of paging occasions.
In the same field of endeavor, MEDIATEK teaches wherein the field includes a bitmap with the number of bits equal to a value obtained by multiplying the total number of subgroups by the number of paging occasions (section 3, table 8, bits equal to total of 12 sub-groups which obtained by multiplying of four PO and 3 subgroups; therefore 3x4=12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of MEDIATEK into invention of LI and SAMSUNG in order to use DCI payload for PDCCH-based PEI to convey the sub-group indication and PEI indication bits for multiple paging occasions.
As per claim 13 as applied to claim 12 above, LI further teaches wherein respective bits of the bitmap from a most significant bit to a least significant bit correspond to respective subgroups of the paging occasions, firstly in ascending order of index values of the paging occasions and secondly in ascending order of index values of the subgroups (¶0260 and ¶0264 and ¶0319, subset of bits could be, e.g., a number of the most-significant bits of the value or a number of the least-significant bits of the value and subset of bits of a value derived from the UE identification is the same as, or larger than, or smaller than bits representing the paging sub-group index and index values of the paging occasions).
As per claim 14 as applied to claim 11 above, LI in view of SAMSUNG does not explicitly teach, a step of skipping the monitoring of the PDCCH for the second downlink control information in the paging occasion in a case where the first downlink control information is not detected or the value of the field does not indicate a subgroup of the paging occasion to which the terminal belongs.
In the same field of endeavor, MEDIATEK teaches a step of skipping the monitoring of the PDCCH for the second downlink control information in the paging occasion in a case where the first downlink control information is not detected or the value of the field does not indicate a subgroup of the paging occasion to which the terminal belongs (section 2.6, table 6, not require to continue monitoring paging PDCCH in the PO when UE does not detect PEI/DCI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of MEDIATEK into invention of LI and SAMSUNG in order to use DCI payload for PDCCH-based PEI to convey the sub-group indication and PEI indication bits for multiple paging occasions.
As per claim 16 as applied to claim 4 above, LI in view of SAMSUNG teaches wherein the control unit derives an index value of the subgroup of the paging occasion to which the terminal belongs based on an identifier of the terminal and the total number of subgroups (SAMSUNG, section 2.1, value of the subgroup of the paging occasion to which the UE belongs based on UE ID and total number of subgroups).
As per claim 17 as applied to claim 5 above, LI in view of SAMSUNG teaches, wherein the receiving unit receives, from a network, information for indicating the subgroup of the paging occasion to which the terminal belongs (SAMSUNG, section 2.1, section 2.2, receiving from the network information for paging frames/paging occasions to which UE belongs).
C) Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI (US 2023/0397159 A1) in view of MODERATOR (MEDIATEK): "Summary of Paging Enhancements" 3GPP DRAFT; R1- 2103848, vol. RAN WG1, 23 April 2021, pp. 1-61 hereinafter MEDIATEK
As per claim 9 as applied to claim 8 above, LI does not explicitly teach wherein the field includes a bitmap with the number of bits equal to a value obtained by multiplying the total number of subgroups by the number of paging occasions.
In the same field of endeavor, MEDIATEK teaches wherein the field includes a bitmap with the number of bits equal to a value obtained by multiplying the total number of subgroups by the number of paging occasions (section 3, table 8, bits equal to total of 12 sub-groups which obtained by multiplying of four PO and 3 subgroups; therefore 3x4=12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of MEDIATEK into invention of LI in order to use DCI payload for PDCCH-based PEI to convey the sub-group indication and PEI indication bits for multiple paging occasions.
As per claim 10 as applied to claim 9 above, LI further teaches wherein respective bits of the bitmap from a most significant bit to a least significant bit correspond to respective subgroups of the paging occasions, firstly in ascending order of index values of the paging occasions and secondly in ascending order of index values of the subgroups (¶0260 and ¶0264 and ¶0319, subset of bits could be, e.g., a number of the most-significant bits of the value or a number of the least-significant bits of the value and subset of bits of a value derived from the UE identification is the same as, or larger than, or smaller than bits representing the paging sub-group index and index values of the paging occasions).
Conclusion
/FARIDEH MADANI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2643
/JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643